9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

business in catfish(ikan keli)

rafizi
post Jun 26 2009, 10:39 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(maxsteel2001us @ Jun 24 2009, 11:59 PM)
Are there any guidance how to do it small? Like a manual for newbies. If got guidance, maybe can have a clearer picture.
Yes there are lots of books regarding rearing keli from small to large scale, but in the end they are just in theory. U can even start with very minimal cost <RM100 or so. Junkyard will usually have the polytank for home water supply or maybe even hardware shop sell used ones, just get that, buy around 100 anak keli and a bag of starter feed plus the regular filter system for aquarium. U can also come to my place to get some info. PM me for tel. no.

Masta-killa: Keli will live in any kind of water. But problem is when we are doing it big scale (>50 tanks), the smell can murder u rclxub.gif So it is on our interest to keep it clean. The keli meat will also taste better if it lives in clean running water. There are other things to monitor about the water such as Ph level, ammonia content etc. Speaking in relative to other freshwater fish like kelah, kelisa etc. then keli definitely less manja to water quality la biggrin.gif

TSJo3y666
post Jun 27 2009, 06:18 PM

20 posts

rafizi seems to be very pro in this kind of business..hehe.. and yeah! rearing ikan keli in a big scale really smell terrible rclxub.gif
Canopies
post Jun 27 2009, 11:01 PM

2,733 posts

haha...keli how much can sell 1 kg ? tilapia price better or keli ?most chinese dun eat keli.
maxsteel2001us
post Jun 28 2009, 01:34 AM

851 posts

QUOTE(Canopies @ Jun 27 2009, 11:01 PM)
haha...keli how much can sell 1 kg ? tilapia price better or keli ?most chinese dun eat keli.
yup..that's the thing that i want to ask too.
x132755
post Jun 30 2009, 03:48 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

ONCE OF MY MALAY FRIENDS IS DOING TIS, INVESTMENT 8K STARTING... THEN FEED THEM IS VERY EASY I THINK... AFTER FISHES BECOME BIG THEN CAN SELL BACK TO THE SUPPLIER
rafizi
post Jun 30 2009, 06:14 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Jo3y666 @ Jun 27 2009, 06:18 PM)
rafizi seems to be very pro in this kind of business..hehe.. and yeah! rearing ikan keli in a big scale really smell terrible rclxub.gif
You can say it is sweet smell of success coming your way hehehe.

Canopies: price range from RM3.00-6.00 depends on the type of customer. If you can compete with prices from Tesco/Carrefour etc it is considered OK. Yes most chinese don't eat keli, but then I cannot even satisfy demand of malay market hehehhe. Tilapia price definitely better but turnaround time for tilapia is too long if you are doing small scale. I have a bit of tilapia I harvest from time to time to supplement keli. I give you guys 1 clue, tilapia and keli have something in common, their type of meat. This is the key to a bigger market (worldwide) brows.gif
maxsteel2001us
post Jul 1 2009, 12:12 AM

851 posts

QUOTE(rafizi @ Jun 30 2009, 06:14 PM)
You can say it is sweet smell of success coming your way hehehe.

Canopies: price range from RM3.00-6.00 depends on the type of customer. If you can compete with prices from Tesco/Carrefour etc it is considered OK. Yes most chinese don't eat keli, but then I cannot even satisfy demand of malay market hehehhe. Tilapia price definitely better but turnaround time for tilapia is too long if you are doing small scale. I have a bit of tilapia I harvest from time to time to supplement keli. I give you guys 1 clue, tilapia and keli have something in common, their type of meat. This is the key to a bigger market (worldwide)  brows.gif
the price range for RM3-6 is it in per kg?

is the market for malay ppl that big? what's ur average of sales then per mth? heh...

This post has been edited by maxsteel2001us: Jul 1 2009, 12:16 AM
4lenAngel
post Jul 1 2009, 05:14 AM

280 posts

Hmm i heard singapore is buying more expensive then malaysia n even more higher demand of the catfish..
Yeah 1 of my friend doin it.. He juz started with 3 canvas pond..
But a question.. For the breeds..
-do u require running water ??
-and wht type of food u feed them ??
Coz i heard got alot of foods like pallets and also organics ??
Which 1 is better in terms of fish growth n qualities ?

He said no need to worry about buyers coz the breed supplier will buy back from him..
He also asked me to invest but im not sure.. coz i wanna see the turnover 1st.. flex.gif
TSJo3y666
post Jul 1 2009, 11:46 AM

20 posts

yea, and one more thing, to start making the business big require a big capital oso right? are there any ways that can make us do the business with small capital yet a handsome earning? nod.gif i saw in www.mudah.my before that, there are people who actually sell baby keli for RM0.05 each for 1 inch if i am not mistaken. If i were to sell it in 2-3 months' time at the range of RM3-6, i have just earned many hundred percents! rclxms.gif LOL..is that really possible?

Added on July 1, 2009, 11:52 amperhaps rearing worms seem to be the least budget of business that can earn quite alot of money? comments anyone? because i don't want to spend so much on a business full of uncertainties though.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by Jo3y666: Jul 1 2009, 11:52 AM
Eng_Tat
post Jul 1 2009, 12:05 PM

2,216 posts

tagging this topic. very interested to explore this field as well.
phlwoo
post Jul 1 2009, 12:05 PM

18 posts

wow.. seems interesting business...
rafizi
post Jul 1 2009, 01:46 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(maxsteel2001us @ Jul 1 2009, 12:12 AM)
the price range for RM3-6 is it in per kg?

is the market for malay ppl that big? what's ur average of sales then per mth? heh...
oops sorry forgot to put /kg. Yes it is about RM3-6 per kg. Average sales I can say, makes it worth to breath the stinky water day in/out and break your back harvesting la hehhe. Funny you should ask the market size of malay segment, what is the demographics of malaysia anyway biggrin.gif Basically what you see at pasar borong, pasar biasa, pasar malam, tesco, carrefour, giant bla bla is not enough.....

4lenAngel: You are right, Singapore has higher demand as well as price. They are getting from big taikoh in JB/melaka. Some have approached me too but seems due to transport cost, it is not economical (i think they just greedy la since market in SG easily dbl price heheh). I donno maybe one day we can agree on something. Running water is good but not necessary. Just need regular change of water after a few days. Food, a few types but myself use regular pellet. Be careful out there lots of conman claiming to sell high protein la, organic la, high growth la, feed once only la all kinds of nonsense. What your friend referring to is contract farming. If they guy u signup with is good n trustworthy, ok la if not, they will just leave u high n dry after selling their stuff to u, not even answer ur call when buying back time (more often this is the case I'm sorry to say). Worst still they accuse you of not following their method la, using other ppl fish feed la all kinds of excuses so they dont hv to buy back, be careful.

Jo3y666: Hook up with restoran/pasar in your area, if u rajin enough u can even do sales in the pasar ur own. I always see ppl with just old kancil go to pasar, park their car and open one bench selling a box full of keli, in half a day all sold out. But need to 'siang' the fish there la usually if u selling direct to end user. Then u don need big modal, just enough to buy 3-4 tanks and plan your output so u get constant supply everyday. Don't plan to strike rich in one shot after a few months, u sure fail I'm telling straight to you because u dont have confidence from your customers/market. I say around RM2000-3000 modal OK oredi. Also, don't buy any anak keli less than 4 inch, death rate is higher. Thats what they dont tell you when u go for kursus etc, bcos after that they expect u to buy tiny tiny anak keli from them whistling.gif U can get 4 inch around RM0.10-RM0.15.

Worm pun OK but to me the cost is higher, last time I check a kilo of african nightcrawler selling around RM250/kg!!!
d3ga3xx
post Jul 1 2009, 02:01 PM

Ask yourself and the friends around you this

"You like to eat catfish?"
"You like to have catfish in your aquarium?"
"Your cat like to eat catfish?"

I think you should be able to find the answer on why your friend is breeding cat fish. smile.gif
4lenAngel
post Jul 1 2009, 03:25 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(Jo3y666 @ Jul 1 2009, 11:46 AM)
yea, and one more thing, to start making the business big require a big capital oso right? are there any ways that can make us do the business with small capital yet a handsome earning?  nod.gif i saw in www.mudah.my before that, there are people who actually sell baby keli for RM0.05 each for 1 inch if i am not mistaken. If i were to sell it in 2-3 months' time at the range of RM3-6, i have just earned many hundred percents!  rclxms.gif  LOL..is that really possible?

Added on July 1, 2009, 11:52 amperhaps rearing worms seem to be the least budget of business that can earn quite alot of money? comments anyone? because i don't want to spend so much on a business full of uncertainties though..  blush.gif
How much capital needed to invest in worms?? i heard that it takes too long than catfish to grow up.. n yeah i heard the turnover is high.. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSJo3y666
post Jul 1 2009, 06:53 PM

20 posts

not very sure about the modal for the worms breeding though, that's why have to ask expert rafizi.. haha.. however, worms sounds easier to rear and care compare to ikan keli though.. and african nightcrawler is one of the great species as they are highly demanded these days, so RM250 per kilo is not surprising though.. hehe
idunnolol
post Jul 1 2009, 07:18 PM

1,044 posts

i did some worm breeding mainly the African night crawler species. The worms will double itself in 2 months provided everything is done right but mortality rate is high, i lost some 20-30 worms in the past 2-5 days myself. RM 250 per kilo is bull,now you can get it at 130 per kilo
4lenAngel
post Jul 2 2009, 01:44 AM

280 posts

Ermm sounds interesting.. Initial investment ??

Added on July 2, 2009, 1:47 am
QUOTE(d3ga3xx @ Jul 1 2009, 02:01 PM)
Ask yourself and the friends around you this

"You like to eat catfish?"
"You like to have catfish in your aquarium?"
"Your cat like to eat catfish?"

I think you should be able to find the answer on why your friend is breeding cat fish. smile.gif
I dont like to eat catfish..
Tell me if u can get me Red Tail Cat Fish .. then i'll rear Catfish in the aquarium..
My cat is Vegetarian.!! brows.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 2 2009, 01:48 AM
idunnolol
post Jul 2 2009, 01:54 PM

1,044 posts

around RM 200. Note, dont expect a substantial return from worms unless you can wait it our for a year or two. and the market is getting too saturated
rafizi
post Jul 2 2009, 11:36 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 2 2009, 01:54 PM)
around RM 200. Note, dont expect a substantial return from worms unless you can wait it our for a year or two. and the market is getting too saturated
I have not much experience in worm/fertiliser industry but one common thing i found with most agricultural biz people, they tend to think for short term gains. Get in and cash out quick. Result is usually low quality products and no economies of scale (cannot meet market demand at suitable price). I have heard of people being chased out by farm/nursery when trying to promote their vermicompost, while at the same time I have friends doing vermicompost too who are flourishing and have satisfied customers. The same pattern occurs in keli, tilapia, lintah, belut......u name it. It can be a lucrative biz but if u dont have right mindset and determination....... doh.gif
idunnolol
post Jul 2 2009, 11:42 PM

1,044 posts

I am also in the bussiness of small scale cucumber farming. One good thing from these keli and vegetable thing is that you can feed your worm with dead organic matter for transformation to fertilizer hence it is like a full cycle

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0157sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:07 AM