Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

winner
post Jun 27 2009, 11:37 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 27 2009, 10:26 AM)
hehe, now that you've mentioned it, i just noticed all my 3 scb ccs are at 13.5%, even though i just applied the cards on last march and may respectively shocking.gif
Whatever interest rates, to me, is meaningless. For people who ensure full payment is done before the due date like us, the so called "lower interest rates" never benefit us. I'd rather be awarded with more cash rebates and reward points.
winner
post Jun 27 2009, 09:35 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Kazachok @ Jun 27 2009, 05:53 PM)
debit card not an option.
need credit card for extended financial support.
thanks for the info
Hey...for some people, owning a cc is easy, but managing it is difficult. You shouldn't view cc as a tool to extract easy money.

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jun 27 2009, 06:13 PM)
can we reiterate a mantra/

Don't use a Credit Card to carry debt.
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 27 2009, 09:08 PM)
@Kazachok,
You're a student and u still take ur money from ur parents; so how then is it that you're going to manage your own finacials and expenses?!

Also, I see no reason for U to need a CC of ur own unless U intend to make purchases ur folks do not approve of!
Absolutely right. He should own a dc first, and apply for cc when he has entered the job market later. If he really needs a cc for emergency use, getting a supp card with small CL is good enough, at least for the time being.

This post has been edited by winner: Jun 27 2009, 09:37 PM
winner
post Jun 28 2009, 01:36 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 28 2009, 12:01 PM)
You need to request for card replacement and how fast you get it back depends on the bank's efficiency. This can range from between 1 hour, days or even weeks.
1 hour - I suppose it is Citibank. And weeks - you know which bank I think of, supposedly one of the famous local banks. Do feel free to share your experience.
winner
post Jun 28 2009, 06:06 PM

2,221 posts

Heheee...the inefficient bank I implied is one of your above-mentioned banks.

It looks like you have made quite a number of card replacements. So far I only replaced my HLB. But I did hear lots of complaints from my friends and colleagues about their frustration due to inefficiency of some banks.
winner
post Jun 28 2009, 07:08 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(whojen @ Jun 28 2009, 06:54 PM)
Wat the best card for petrol rebates and etc

Looking at citibank, Maybank and CIMB
anyone more ideas? got the rebate % as well?
SCB Just1 Titanium - The hottest cc in town! 5% cash rebate for Fridays and 2% for non-Fridays. We have discussed the concept, as well as pros and cons of this cc. Browse through this thread for details.
winner
post Jun 29 2009, 08:29 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Jun 29 2009, 12:04 AM)
AMBANK credit card CASH BACK 10%

today i received my statement. surprisingly, there is NO rebate on the transaction that i made at petrol stations and the hypermarket.

i called the CS and the reason for me not getting the rebate is becoz they have filled up the max RM100,000 pool. It's based on first come first serve basics. pls read the FAQ question 12)
http://www.ambg.com.my/ambank_webmedia/file/cashback_faq.pdf

i had a transaction date 10june and also did not get the rebate. In other words, the RM100,000 pool finish on the first 9 days of the month (june).

questions:
1.any one of you get the rebate?
2. When is the transaction date?
As discussed when Ambank launched this cc few months ago, we had already put a cautious remark on this cc. The reason being the rebate quota can finish in just the 1st few days of each month. The bank won't update you on the quota status on a daily basis.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 29 2009, 02:07 AM)
Yes.

By the way guys, i was at Hong Leong Bank website just now checking out the range of credit cards offered and found that Hong Leong Bank is offering up to 2% cash rebate for their Platinum cardholders on top of the RM1 = 1 Reward Point system. Any idea how does the 2% cash rebate works ? Is it something like Alliance Bank credit card ?
I was a HLB cardholder until early this month. FYI, the cash rebate system for its Plat cc is completely worthless, as you need to carry forward your outstanding balance in order to be entitled to cash rebate.
winner
post Jun 29 2009, 09:01 AM

2,221 posts

But the previous cash back promotion for HLB Gold cc (not sure for Classic and Plat) was quite good. I was rewarded with RM50 each for 3 consecutive months, after spending RM1k++ for each month. Neverthelers, I have terminated this cc as the promotion is over.
winner
post Jun 29 2009, 04:17 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jun 29 2009, 03:57 PM)
Have use citibank gold quite a long time..
Recently feel looking some cash rebate card.. on petrol ,grocery.

One day a guys come approach me HSBC Plat .. offer lifetime AF waived, 5% cash rebate.. decided to applied.  End up, 2 Gold card sent to my place, AF waived if 12trasaction, cash rebate only 0.5%...  mad.gif  mad.gif

Feel get cheated!!
Just cancel the card you don't need. You have the right to do so.

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Jun 29 2009, 04:03 PM)
recently public bank launch a new promotion.. 8% cash back.. still capped to RM 50 per month though.. anyway it still good for me.. swap swap swaaap!
Yes, it's awesome. But the promotion period is too short, and it does have a max payout pool.
winner
post Jun 29 2009, 08:13 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jun 29 2009, 04:38 PM)
Oh.. thanks.. overlook it.
Going to cancel it both.. seem lik no benefit at all.
Yes, if you feel that the cards don't give you much benefit, you should cancel them asap. You just need to be more alert when dealing with agents and CS staff next time. In fact, you can always browse through this thread as it is indeed very informative. Most forummers here are willing to share their real personal experience, except for minority who try to influence others because of personal interest and benefit. Overall, we should feel lucky as forummers here help do research and homework for each other! tongue.gif
winner
post Jun 30 2009, 09:04 AM

2,221 posts

Well, as compared with SCB Visa Infinite, the new CIMB Visa Infinite is nothing to shout about. It may look attractive to those die-hard golfers. It does not offer free access to worldwide plaza premium lounge? The 0.5% cash rebate on local retail transaction is marginal. However, the strongest selling point is free for life. Btw, has anybody here managed to get AF waiver for SCB Visa Infinite?
winner
post Jun 30 2009, 07:28 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jun 30 2009, 02:30 PM)
as expected, directaccess visa infinite min requirement will be lower than CIMB visa infinite..

http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?c...rd&ac=47&tpt=da
I wonder why CIMB issues Visa Infinite too under its subsidiary DA. I don't feel they will complement each other. They are under the same group. This will only confuses customers.

It's time for CIMB to drop DA brand. DA alone doesn't sound like a bank. CIMB brand is much stronger and more recognised than DA. Southern Bank had long been acquired by CIMB and it's already a past story.
winner
post Jul 1 2009, 09:34 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 30 2009, 11:44 PM)
MBB TreatsFair at Mid Valley Exhibition Centre 23-26 July 2009  smile.gif
What's so special at the threat fair? Any good freebies? The new Amex gold cc might be promoted at the event.

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 1 2009, 07:51 AM)
Actually DA was a spin-off from Southern Bank, which was then bogged down and sloggish in order to improve services for personal banking thus taking out the corporate element and other unnecessary obstacles related to full fledge banking. It took off very successfully since it has a different management composition and it was them who introduced the first plat card to malaysian shore and not Southern Bank.

When CIMB took over Southern Bank, they too saw the wisdom of maintaining the independance of DA, which surprisingly has a much better card portfolio ie. much much lower repayment issue and provides better ROI than the generic CIMB cards. In fact the so called prestige CIMB cards today are a direct legacy from Southern Bank as otherwise they will still be another Bank Simpanan kind of card issuer.

Further, they both have individual card centre and staff fyi. And for a lot of graduates/professionals, they are indeed proud to hold the DA cards as opposed to the generic CIMB cards as it truly differentiates them. So in a way, the DA card label is actually even more prestige than CIMB's generic label, which will ensure its here to stay for quite awhile  tongue.gif
Personally, I don't think having 2 entities selling the same concept within the same organisation is good in the long run. In today's challenging market, cost efficiency and branding are crucial to successful management.

In the case of CIMB/DA, they offer same products which may confuse public. If CIMB is worried about losing its market share from existing DA customers in the event that such consolidation happens, the effect, in my opinion, is insignificant. The reason being all the existing DA cardholders are already aware that DA is part of CIMB, with the exemption of a number of retailers and public. Moreover, CIMB has now learnt enough the success story of the "free for life" concept as well cc innovation and marketing.

Should such consolidation not happen in the future, CIMB should be more proactive and innovative by creating completely different products for its CIMB cc segment which can distinguish the 2 brands.

Just my 2 cents. smile.gif
winner
post Jul 1 2009, 10:08 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 1 2009, 09:50 AM)
There's no "threat" at MBB TreatsFair wink.gif
Instant Credit Card approval at Treats Fair is one of the highlights
The bank can easily give you instant approval at the treat fair. But your card may take weeks to reach your doorstep. biggrin.gif
winner
post Jul 1 2009, 11:10 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 1 2009, 10:47 AM)
just got my SCB JustOne early bird rebate of RM50 - even though I'm existing customer
You've received your 1st month statement? Or you viewed the RM50 early bird incentive online?

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 1 2009, 10:48 AM)
CIMB will have one in August 2009
Its freebies should be better than MBB, I think. I remember CIMB gave travel luggage to new Plat customers last time.
winner
post Jul 1 2009, 06:08 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 1 2009, 11:32 AM)
I can view it fro my online statement, rebate given out on 30/06
my first statement is dated 10/06/09
Just be able to view transaction history online. Well, the RM50 early bird incentive was credited into my acc too! It was on June 30. biggrin.gif
winner
post Jul 1 2009, 06:29 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Jul 1 2009, 06:17 PM)
What are the requirements for SCB JustOne early bird rebate?

I guess if I submit an application now, it's unlikely that I'm still entitled for it?
If I'm not mistaken, the product has been launched for 2 months. The early bird incentive is given to the 1st 1000 approved cards. Chances may be slim now. But you can try and call SCB CS to check it out.
winner
post Jul 1 2009, 07:44 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 1 2009, 07:24 PM)
hey guys any new rebate/promotion cards coming out? wanted to apply CC this month lor... still considering which card to take >"< i want rebate rebate and rebate + no charges tongue.gif
Aiyah...it's you again and asking the same question! Anyway, welcome back! tongue.gif

It's been quite some time since we advised you, and you haven't decided which card to choose? You think too much. Just apply for 2 to 3 cards we recommended and wait for the result. Good luck! smile.gif
winner
post Jul 2 2009, 01:38 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 2 2009, 01:02 PM)
hjahahhaha.  rclxms.gif  yeah me again tongue.gif okie la i go apply younique first lo okie? wat say u? tongue.gif younique promotion till end of this month hor?? bring 3months payslip + ea form + epf statement enough or not ah?
biggrin.gif Hantam saje...since it's your 1st ever cc application.

Do remember to ask for design fee waiver if you wanna have personalised design on your card.

This post has been edited by winner: Jul 2 2009, 01:40 PM
winner
post Jul 2 2009, 08:07 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 2 2009, 09:47 AM)
It's in The Star on 1st July...

Careful to spend within their limits :-
Rebate shall be capped at a maximum spending of RM200 or rebate of RM10 on every 1st day of the month and subject to a maximum
spending of RM2,500 or rebate of RM50 per monthly statement.

Pretty complicated. If CIMB/DA wanna be generous, they should be like SCB extending cash rebate to all kind of retail purchases.

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jul 2 2009, 03:40 PM)
Notice the Visa Infinite has been added into my cimbclicks account summary . Maybe this friday can get the card  brows.gif .
CIMB invited you because you're qualified. Congratulations!

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 2 2009, 07:07 PM)
OMG... im just pumped my petrol TODAY! damm missed the 5% rebate!
Although 5% rebate is good, don't make it like a liability or burden forcing yourself to remember what should buy every 1st of the month. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by winner: Jul 2 2009, 08:09 PM
winner
post Jul 3 2009, 06:34 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jul 3 2009, 05:04 PM)
I have a Direct Access Gold Mastercard.

How do I get it upgraded to a Platinum Mastercard?
I owned DA Visa Gold since 8 years ago (applied through Southern Bank last time). 3 years later the bank sent me both Plat Visa and Mastercard directly even though I didn't request for it. Anyway, I'd just terminated my DA early this year.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0538sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:50 AM