harrychoo
post Sep 2 2009, 12:45 PM

3,589 posts

Expensive meh?

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-DMC-GF1-Fo...51866476&sr=1-1

USD900 (RM3100) with 20mm f1.7 pancake.

The 20m f1.7 alone already cost around 1k.

I lost my interest on E-P1 when i tested the AF tongue.gif

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Sep 2 2009, 12:46 PM
dazzle
post Sep 2 2009, 12:47 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Sep 2 2009, 12:45 PM)
Expensive meh?

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-DMC-GF1-Fo...51866476&sr=1-1

USD900 (RM3100) with 20mm f1.7 pancake.

The 20m f1.7 alone already cost around 1k.

I lost my interest on E-P1 when i tested the AF  tongue.gif
I'm another way round............
E-P1 is classis....
seaotter
post Sep 2 2009, 12:51 PM

601 posts

There will be one BIG problem i can forsee - panasonic not having enough units to go around the world.

Also, Panasonic G series isnt that well-known in Malaysia - shadowed by the Canon G series.

harry: still, for a camera with only the pancake lens - that is not really cheap, like the E-P1.

And without IBIS, feel not so confident la
dazzle
post Sep 2 2009, 12:54 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

what is IBIS???
seaotter
post Sep 2 2009, 01:02 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Sep 2 2009, 12:54 PM)
what is IBIS???
In Body Image Stabilization

Admitably though, pangs of envy, regret and should-have-waited is starting to surface.

But i will stick to my E-P1. For now
harrychoo
post Sep 2 2009, 01:02 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Sep 2 2009, 12:51 PM)
There will be one BIG problem i can forsee - panasonic not having enough units to go around the world.

Also, Panasonic G series isnt that well-known in Malaysia - shadowed by the Canon G series.

harry: still, for a camera with only the pancake lens - that is not really cheap, like the E-P1.

And without IBIS, feel not so confident la
I agreed on Panasonic not having enough units to ship. It might even delay for 2-3months before coming here, just like the GH1.
Dam those Panasonic sales.

G1 and GH1 are not well known in Malaysia but this GF1 might changed it judging from the hot reception of E-P1 here.

E-P1 with 17mm going for RM2600 here, and the USD900 is Amazon price, might be listed for 2800-2900 street price in Malaysia when it reached here so i don't really see it being labeled as expensive unless u labeled E-P1 being expensive as well. smile.gif

In body IS is useful when u want to use alot different lenses which i dun see a need for me. Most important for me is this GF1's AF speed can be as fast as G1/GH1 which E-P1 failed terribly.

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Sep 2 2009, 01:04 PM
dazzle
post Sep 2 2009, 01:03 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

is c...........
no regret after make any decision..
queness
post Sep 2 2009, 01:19 PM

56 posts

From Dpreview, auto focus compatibility for GF1:
Currently Limited to Micro Four Thirds lenses and those Four Thirds lenses that allow Live View AF on a DSLR.

Any affordable zoom lens on the market supporting live view AF?
harrychoo
post Sep 2 2009, 01:27 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(queness @ Sep 2 2009, 01:19 PM)
Currently Limited to Micro Four Thirds lenses and those Four Thirds lenses that allow Live View AF on a DSLR.

Panasonic mFT 45-200mm or Olympus FT 45-150mm with adapter
dazzle
post Sep 2 2009, 01:29 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

if m4/3 lens is limited............Olympus OM lens is unlimited.
U can get all the lens from f2.0 to 2.8....................Sweet.
seaotter
post Sep 2 2009, 01:36 PM

601 posts

How far you want the zoom?

Also just to remind you - fitting any 4/3 lens on the G1/GH1/GF1/EP1 you need the adaptor.
queness
post Sep 2 2009, 01:38 PM

56 posts

yea, I know about the adapter... zoom lens... 18-200mm?
Like... from signma or tamron... haha, im still a beginner in this...
any of them support live view AF?
dazzle
post Sep 2 2009, 01:39 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

maybe...........queness.
you can use mount or adapter to use 4/3 lens or any lense that provide adapter.

This post has been edited by dazzle: Sep 2 2009, 01:39 PM
seaotter
post Sep 2 2009, 01:41 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(queness @ Sep 2 2009, 01:38 PM)
yea, I know about the adapter... zoom lens... 18-200mm?
Like... from signma or tamron... haha, im still a beginner in this...
any of them support live view AF?
The closest lens i can recommend would be the 14-140 from panasonic.
UNFORTUNATELY.... that lense is as rare as a dodo around these parts.

Costs about 300 USD, if you can find it la
queness
post Sep 2 2009, 01:59 PM

56 posts

nothing from sigma or tamron? is Live view AF is proprietary tech from panasonic?
seaotter
post Sep 2 2009, 02:04 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(queness @ Sep 2 2009, 01:59 PM)
nothing from sigma or tamron? is Live view AF is proprietary tech from panasonic?
Live View AF is currently the 'in' thing among camera makers - as all producers has some form of Live View on their dslr lines.

http://www.four-thirds.org/en/products/matching/index.html

Here's a handy guide on available lenses for the 4/3 line.
dazzle
post Sep 2 2009, 02:16 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

for sure we will see all lot of m4/3 lenses in the market..........
People like old concept but doing great as the big Camera...
Like me Leica always the best of the best.
queness
post Sep 2 2009, 02:22 PM

56 posts

hmm, im interested to GF1... might get the pancake version...
and buy a zoom lens... and an adapter as well..
dazzle
post Sep 2 2009, 03:55 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

let us know if you have it........u might share the experience on the GF1 with us...
stringfellow
post Sep 2 2009, 04:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Sep 2 2009, 01:41 PM)
The closest lens i can recommend would be the 14-140 from panasonic.
UNFORTUNATELY.... that lense is as rare as a dodo around these parts.

Costs about 300 USD, if you can find it la
Sad truth unfortunately. Got mine together with the GH1, and had a blast with it since. The GH1 had been with me to to Universal Studios Japan Osaka, and the Vatican City 3 days back. 1080p24 video of Magical Starlight Parade at Universal's, hell, the GH1 even went up with me to the very top of St. Peter's cupola at the Basilica, breathtaking view of ancient Rome 360 degrees around.

Pardon the IQ, taken with the iPhone.

Next stop, the GF1. Was thinking of using the funds I had for the Panasonic UWA m4/3, but since this news broke, that will have to wait. Probably gonna get the package with the prime/pancake. If it is made available by the end of this month in Japan, I could possibly get one from Yodobashi Camera in Osaka. Otherwise, will just have to wait till it's available here. Thinking very hard of ditching the E-P1 sans the lenses and going all Panasonic with the GF1. The E-P1 had been relegated to my backup camera since I had the GH1.

122 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:30 AM