Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

ae8za
post Jul 24 2009, 09:41 PM

Whoot WHOOT!
724 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jul 24 2009, 12:43 PM)
One question though.

What are you guys using for a bag for the E-P1?
Either I'm hand holding it (not using the strap, only wrist strap), rclxms.gif
or it's in my TTP Speed Demon with the FL-36R and E-420+25mm Pancake and 50 f/2... laugh.gif
seaotter
post Jul 24 2009, 11:53 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(ae8za @ Jul 24 2009, 09:41 PM)
Either I'm hand holding it (not using the strap, only wrist strap), rclxms.gif
or it's in my TTP Speed Demon with the FL-36R and E-420+25mm Pancake and 50 f/2...  laugh.gif
The Speed Demon is nifty....but is huge for me.
I am thinking of getting the Crumpler 2 million or Large Bundle or 4 million.

One of these days i will be going to KLCC to see it.
xandman
post Jul 25 2009, 09:08 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jul 24 2009, 07:49 PM)

Have some more poison from the E-P1.

ISO1600 f3.5@ 1.6 seconds.
Photoshoped via manipulating the curves and cropping off glass reflection. Nothing more
thats a very clean ISO1600 indeed!

but the overblown highlights distract me a bit...
other than that... thumbup.gif
qtee
post Jul 25 2009, 09:15 PM

73 posts

anyone got any idea when they'll have the white EP1 with twin lens package?
I understand the 1st launch is only for silver EP1 with twin lens.

Added on July 25, 2009, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(ASAP @ Jul 19 2009, 05:05 PM)
Be careful, they charging it higher now...Not very honest ppl
Oh, how much they charged you for the EP1+twin lens package?
As I was there after the 1st batch sold out, i think they told me is around RM3200 or RM3300 and I checked around, that's the cheapest price.

And how much you bought for the flash?

This post has been edited by qtee: Jul 25 2009, 09:33 PM
wcs2798
post Jul 25 2009, 11:39 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(qtee @ Jul 25 2009, 09:15 PM)
anyone got any idea when they'll have the white EP1 with twin lens package?
I understand the 1st launch is only for silver EP1 with twin lens.
Oh, how much they charged you for the EP1+twin lens package?
As I was there after the 1st batch sold out, i think they told me is around RM3200 or RM3300 and I checked around, that's the cheapest price.
And how much you bought for the flash?
wont have any chance getting white twin lens kit in malaysia
FL-14 flash around RM500
xandman
post Jul 26 2009, 08:16 AM

7,214 posts

wcs...
u sell the flash?
i m looking for one! biggrin.gif
qtee
post Jul 26 2009, 09:30 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Jul 25 2009, 11:39 PM)
wont have any chance getting white twin lens kit in malaysia
FL-14 flash around RM500
really? any idea why?
If bought it separately, is about rm1100?
Siilisili
post Jul 26 2009, 12:14 PM

Anyone know where to find Pen in JB area?
Price range?
Mr.LKM
post Jul 26 2009, 01:49 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

What's the longest exposure of E-P1? Is it 60s?
harrychoo
post Jul 26 2009, 06:50 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jul 26 2009, 01:49 PM)
What's the longest exposure of E-P1? Is it 60s?
60sec, same as most DSLR.

Should be set to BULB mode as well.
snowfire64
post Jul 26 2009, 07:01 PM

305 posts

I have a minor question here.

How do you guys hold/hand position on the ep-1 when taking pictures?

i.e. : For a slr you put your eye onto the viewfinder while your hands grip the lens and camera body.

Considering the PEN do not have a viewfinder, how do you guys do it?
The same method as a PnS?

Mr.LKM
post Jul 26 2009, 07:19 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jul 26 2009, 06:50 PM)
60sec, same as most DSLR.

Should be set to BULB mode as well.
Do you mean if I set it to BULB mode I can exceed 60s?
amirmunzir
post Jul 26 2009, 07:25 PM

51 posts

dear sifus.. wink.gif
i owned a E-410 together wif FL-36R..
but now,im poisoned with this PEN..im considering in trade-in/selling my dslr,since PEN for my opinion is more easy to carry,n not big as dslr and practical to use as daily camera..
now,i need all the sifus some comment..do images/setting/quality etc from this PEN is more syiok/best/excellent (generally) from my E-410??..and if im to get this PEN,FL-36R is better from FL-14 right??
plzz help me to make the decision..hehe
thank u,dear all sifus notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ae8za
post Jul 26 2009, 09:26 PM

Whoot WHOOT!
724 posts

QUOTE(amirmunzir @ Jul 26 2009, 07:25 PM)
dear sifus.. wink.gif
i owned a E-410 together wif FL-36R..
but now,im poisoned with this PEN..im considering in trade-in/selling my dslr,since PEN for my opinion is more easy to carry,n not big as dslr and practical to use as daily camera..
now,i need all the sifus some comment..do images/setting/quality etc from this PEN is more syiok/best/excellent (generally) from my E-410??..and if im to get this PEN,FL-36R is better from FL-14 right??
plzz help me to make the decision..hehe
thank u,dear all sifus notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Hi there,
I own a E-420+25mm Pancake and also the FL-36R. At first. when I 'accidentally' brows.gif bought the PEN, first thought came to mind is selling the E-420 but now that I used the PEN thoroughly, decided not to sell it anymore. smile.gif
Reason being that the PEN is not suitable for fast action photography and composing can be a challenge if you're used to using the viewfinder. Image quality wise, the PEN smoked my E-420 flat out including high ISO shots. wink.gif
The FL-36R is just nice IMHO combined with the PEN and you get swivel head and bounce action. FL-14 is nice but it's too P&S direct lighting. Never like direct flash... tongue.gif
Whatever your decisions are, I don't think any of it will be wrong as the PEN is a GREAT camera... thumbup.gif
amirmunzir
post Jul 26 2009, 10:14 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(ae8za @ Jul 26 2009, 09:26 PM)
Hi there,
I own a E-420+25mm Pancake and also the FL-36R. At first. when I 'accidentally'  brows.gif  bought the PEN, first thought came to mind is selling the E-420 but now that I used the PEN thoroughly, decided not to sell it anymore.  smile.gif
Reason being that the PEN is not suitable for fast action photography and composing can be a challenge if you're used to using the viewfinder. Image quality wise, the PEN smoked my E-420 flat out including high ISO shots.  wink.gif
The FL-36R is just nice IMHO combined with the PEN and you get swivel head and bounce action. FL-14 is nice but it's too P&S direct lighting. Never like direct flash...  tongue.gif
Whatever your decisions are, I don't think any of it will be wrong as the PEN is a GREAT camera...  thumbup.gif
hurm..1stly,thank u for comment my post..
bout the viewfinder,its ok with me to switch back to use liveview..but,ur comment bout "is not suitable for fast action photography" worried me..maybe i shud take that as one of factor, in considering..bout ur other comment on quality wise etc, i believe this PEN is more in every aspect compared to my E-410 right?..aaa personally i dun like my E-410..huhu

btw,thanks,ae8za notworthy.gif ...looking foward for another comment..thanks sifuss notworthy.gif

calvin_gsc
post Jul 26 2009, 10:16 PM

10,261 posts

Somehow, I believe this camera is more for casual use. Fast action photography is definitely not an area for this camera.
xandman
post Jul 26 2009, 10:17 PM

7,214 posts

nothing can beat a pure breed DSLR.

but the PEN can almost give most DSLR a run for its money.

so keep ur DSLR for serious shoots.
use PEN for everything else!

Added on July 26, 2009, 10:17 pm
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 26 2009, 10:16 PM)
Somehow, I believe this camera is more for casual use. Fast action photography is definitely not an area for this camera.
exactly!
it's more towards rangefinder style photography. =)

This post has been edited by xandman: Jul 26 2009, 10:17 PM
amirmunzir
post Jul 26 2009, 10:27 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 26 2009, 10:17 PM)
nothing can beat a pure breed DSLR.

but the PEN can almost give most DSLR a run for its money.

so keep ur DSLR for serious shoots.
use PEN for everything else!

Added on July 26, 2009, 10:17 pm

keep the DSLR?? hmm.gif ..then no PEN unsure.gif ..huhu..need to consider n reconsider n think n rethink rclxub.gif
xandman
post Jul 26 2009, 11:09 PM

7,214 posts

get both!
i have both!
and i m happy with....both!
ahahahaha...
ae8za
post Jul 27 2009, 12:49 AM

Whoot WHOOT!
724 posts