115 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

SUSUpCar
post Apr 29 2014, 06:28 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Apr 27 2014, 07:50 AM)
did a search on cheap flight tickets in the topic and it seems like Jetstar is the way to go.

I tried looking at their site where to plan for a trip to fly straight to Queenstown but Christchurch is the closest one they have. tried using the site to book a flight from kul to chc and back but the website just refreshed without giving me any flight date options. I'll just try again when I'm at a PC.

I'd like to know of anyone has tried kul to syd to chc and then return? is that a cheaper trip?
my last trip was quite some time back.

kl -> singapore -> christchurch -> melb -> kl

i think is about 300 bucks from christchurch to melb. i forgot. but its quite a short flight, about 2-3 hours. they call it a domestic flight. errr i flew jetstar.

from sg to south island i took sia cause it was cheaper and i had to be in sg to pick up a few stuff before i head down.
scpt
post Apr 29 2014, 08:08 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 28 2014, 09:08 AM)
for domestic flight, i take air new zealand.
but u need to use vpn with New Zealand ip to access the cheap ticket.
Else no cheap ticket for you.
thanks for sharing! Is it cheaper by a lot?
angelgemini
post Apr 29 2014, 08:11 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Apr 29 2014, 08:08 PM)
thanks for sharing! Is it cheaper by a lot?
http://promos.airnz.co.nz/wenza/

Use the link above, cheaper ticket.
scpt
post Apr 30 2014, 08:20 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 29 2014, 08:11 PM)
http://promos.airnz.co.nz/wenza/

Use the link above, cheaper ticket.
thanks!
but for the route & date I checked, Jetstar is still cheaper
angelgemini
post Apr 30 2014, 08:52 AM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Apr 30 2014, 08:20 AM)
thanks!
but for the route & date I checked, Jetstar is still cheaper
Just select which is cheaper......

munkeyflo
post May 3 2014, 07:36 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Was told Jetstar no longer fly KL-SIN-Auckland after end July or so. Might have to transit in Aussie next time if travelling with Jetstar.
rjb123
post May 27 2014, 03:24 PM

1,820 posts

Is it easy in NZ to find Motels / Hotels in their winter? We'll be renting a car and driving from North down to South , but only booked hotels for the arrival / return in Auckland and planning to stop on the way in hotels / motels.
bearbear
post May 27 2014, 04:54 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 27 2014, 03:24 PM)
Is it easy in NZ to find Motels / Hotels in their winter? We'll be renting a car and driving from North down to South , but only booked hotels for the arrival / return in Auckland and planning to stop on the way in hotels / motels.
if you have the suitable pax, lookout for these 2 which satisfied me during my stay

Auckland - St Martins Waldorf Apartments (Cost me below RM300 for a 2 bed-room apartment for 4 pax but they charge for parking on per day basis)

Christchurch - Arthur's Court Motor Lodge (Very last minute find and i book through phone in the morning, lucky me they have the last room and it went to us. Not exactly cheap a unit for 6 pax goes around NZD200. Very comfortable much better than hostel and very similar pricing.

rjb123
post May 27 2014, 06:29 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 27 2014, 04:54 PM)
if you have the suitable pax, lookout for these 2 which satisfied me during my stay

Auckland - St Martins Waldorf Apartments (Cost me below RM300 for a 2 bed-room apartment for 4 pax but they charge for parking on per day basis)

Christchurch - Arthur's Court Motor Lodge (Very last minute find and i book through phone in the morning, lucky me they have the last room and it went to us. Not exactly cheap a unit for 6 pax goes around NZD200. Very comfortable much better than hostel and very similar pricing.
Only me and GF going, for Auckland have already booked hotel for arrival / departure.

Plan is to drive from Auckland down to Queenstown and then fly back from there - the trip isn't planned exactly, so was just wondering how easy it is to find random Motels/Hotels on the way that don't need booking.

Guess I could just book online whilst on the road also assuming I have 3G coverage!
angelgemini
post May 27 2014, 06:48 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 27 2014, 06:29 PM)
Only me and GF going, for Auckland have already booked hotel for arrival / departure.

Plan is to drive from Auckland down to Queenstown and then fly back from there - the trip isn't planned exactly, so was just wondering how easy it is to find random Motels/Hotels on the way that don't need booking.

Guess I could just book online whilst on the road also assuming I have 3G coverage!
When u will going?
i doing the same on winter as well.
rjb123
post May 27 2014, 06:54 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 27 2014, 06:48 PM)
When u will going?
i doing the same on winter as well.
Next week thumbup.gif
angelgemini
post May 27 2014, 06:59 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 27 2014, 06:54 PM)
Next week  thumbup.gif
me on mid july....
lol
which company you rent your car from?
rjb123
post May 27 2014, 07:24 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 27 2014, 06:59 PM)
me on mid july....
lol
which company you rent your car from?
Ended up going with gorentals.co.nz

Managed to get a RELO (ie. relocation) deal , where the company needed to transport the car back to Queeenstown anyway

Car is a TOYOTA RAV4

For 7 days comes to 364 NZD including GPS, Snow chains, and extra insurance (ie 350 NZD excess rather than 2500 NZD) did this because GF has never driven in snow/ice before - and I don't even have a license doh.gif

angelgemini
post May 27 2014, 07:36 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 27 2014, 07:24 PM)
Ended up going with gorentals.co.nz

Managed to get a RELO (ie. relocation) deal , where the company needed to transport the car back to Queeenstown anyway

Car is a TOYOTA RAV4

For 7 days comes to 364 NZD including GPS, Snow chains, and extra insurance (ie 350 NZD excess rather than 2500 NZD) did this because GF has never driven in snow/ice before - and I don't even have a licenseĀ  doh.gif
not a bad price.
why not get full insurance?

actually how excess work?
till now i still not understand.

I planning to rent from APEX.
it look cheaper and free ferry for the car.

Your GF drive alone from auckland all the way to queenstown in 7 days?

This post has been edited by angelgemini: May 27 2014, 07:43 PM
rjb123
post May 27 2014, 07:47 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 27 2014, 07:36 PM)
not a bad price.
why not get full insurance?

actually how excess work?
till now i still not understand.

I planning to rent from APEX.
it look cheaper and free ferry for the car.

Your GF drive alone from auckland all the way to queenstown in 7 days?
That's the plan.

Actually only Basic Insurance is included , additional NZD 20 per day for the 350 NZD excess, 35 extra per day for no excess.

Otherwise excess is 2500 NZD, no matter if you're at fault or not (according to car rental website that is)

Basically means that if you have an accident with basic insurance, you need to fork out 2500 NZD rather than 350, quite a difference. Since the car was much cheaper than standard rate (86 NZD per day standard vs. 19) thought might as well spend this on the extra insurance.

Driving time is approx 3-4 hours per day, split over 7 days smile.gif

This post has been edited by rjb123: May 27 2014, 07:48 PM
angelgemini
post May 27 2014, 07:58 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 27 2014, 07:47 PM)
That's the plan.

Actually only Basic Insurance is included , additional NZD 20 per day for the 350 NZD excess, 35 extra per day for no excess.

Otherwise excess is 2500 NZD, no matter if you're at fault or not (according to car rental website that is)

Basically means that if you have an accident with basic insurance, you need to fork out 2500 NZD rather than 350, quite a difference. Since the car was much cheaper than standard rate (86 NZD per day standard vs. 19) thought might as well spend this on the extra insurance.

Driving time is approx 3-4 hours per day, split over 7 days smile.gif
if you have buy travel insurance, the excess can be cover right?
I think better buy travel insurance as it is first time drive on winter.

rjb123
post May 27 2014, 08:02 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 27 2014, 07:58 PM)
if you have buy travel insurance, the excess can be cover right?
I think better buy travel insurance as it is first time drive on winter.
Travel insurance will cover you for lost luggage, long flight delays, hospital costs in case of injuries.

I doubt it will cover the cost for any excess relating to accident that happens in a rented car

Looks like I'm wrong smile.gif

Looking at : http://malaysia.kurnia.com/Insurance/Kurni...me/Default.aspx

BENEFIT 20 - RENTAL VEHICLE EXCESS COVER
Reimburses any excess/deductible which Insured Person is liable under car rental contract in the event of accident while abroad
RM500 / RM1000 per person depending on policy, but I guess every insurer will be different

This post has been edited by rjb123: May 27 2014, 08:06 PM
angelgemini
post May 27 2014, 08:19 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 27 2014, 08:02 PM)
Travel insurance will cover you for lost luggage, long flight delays, hospital costs in case of injuries.

I doubt it will cover the cost for any excess relating to accident that happens in a rented car

Looks like I'm wrong smile.gif

Looking at : http://malaysia.kurnia.com/Insurance/Kurni...me/Default.aspx
RM500 / RM1000 per person depending on policy, but I guess every insurer will be different
if really can use the insurance to cover the excess, than can save on the insurance for the car.
Is not cheap for the 0 excess insurance.

need to call insurance company to ask tomorrow, for me, i can save NZD230.

This post has been edited by angelgemini: May 27 2014, 08:20 PM
rjb123
post May 27 2014, 08:33 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 27 2014, 08:19 PM)
if really can use the insurance to cover the excess, than can save on the insurance for the car.
Is not cheap for the 0 excess insurance.

need to call insurance company to ask tomorrow, for me, i can save NZD230.
Well depends on the plan, who is your insurance with?

If you use the one I found above for example, coverage is RM500 per person.

So without the extra daily NZD 20, total 2500 NZD = RM6900 - that would still leave RM5900 excess!
bearbear
post May 27 2014, 09:03 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

so expensive? i rented a toyota estima with full insurance rental 65nzd per day plus 17nzd per day for no excess. Rented from Jucy.

wow u have alot of driving to do for 7 days...somemore plus flying back. good luck man.

for personal insurance i got it from AXA...paid less than 100 per pax for 2 weeks

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 27 2014, 09:05 PM

115 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:00 AM