Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

scpt
post Mar 19 2014, 06:45 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 19 2014, 09:21 AM)
NZ is visa upon arrival, can stay maximum 3 months. Immigration might ask where you plan to go, how much money you have, etc. if you plan to stay so long though. Make sure you have all your documents prepared.

Car rental, shouldn't be a problem in Auckland. Ask your gf studying there to look/ask around. Will be easier for her to get info for cheaper car rentals.
munkey lurking here also! u been to NZ lots? biggrin.gif

I'll be going there soon!
scpt
post Mar 20 2014, 07:48 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 19 2014, 06:50 PM)
Causing stress for other drivers laugh.gif

I was searching up and down for translators in Auckland (not exactly in the city, more like the smaller towns out of Auckland) and fail, couldn't find it. Had to translate my Malaysia driving license so that I can convert it into NZ driving license. doh.gif Lucky I manage to dig up my expired international driving license.

So yea, just do the translation here in Malaysia, so much cheaper and save the hassle.
Yea, I have family there. biggrin.gif
Go there once in two years or so. Next trip maybe Feb 2015. tongue.gif

Where will you be heading to?
Will start my trip in Wellington, after that will travel all over NZ biggrin.gif I'm on a working holiday visa
scpt
post Mar 21 2014, 07:41 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Mar 20 2014, 10:55 PM)
Hi, can you tell me more about working holiday visa.

Have a second thought of working in NZ to gain some experience and exposure on the country and its culture. biggrin.gif

P/S: Sadly, all 2014 applications are filled. Is there any other way or I have to wait till next year's?  ohmy.gif
Thanks for the rich info there monkey biggrin.gif

Btw, is there any general heads up for NZ? Anything I still need to know over there?

Like daily activities to help me be a little street smart there at the very least.  rolleyes.gif
ya, you'll have to wait till next year's application is open
scpt
post Mar 25 2014, 10:10 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(sbd18 @ Mar 24 2014, 10:40 PM)
i am planning with 2 other mates to self drive around NZ...auckland to christchurch...

are there any tour agencies recommended that we can use to prepare the bookings for car and hotel plus possible routes to take...

am presuming it would cost around RM12k or so per person...

any advise is appreciated...

thanks in advance!
I think that's a huge budget! drool.gif
When I get there, my budget for food & accommodation will be 200 dollars a week sweat.gif

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 25 2014, 02:33 AM)
Whattttt???!
Means next cheapest way to auckland would be MAS already?
take AA to Aus then NZ lo laugh.gif
scpt
post Mar 25 2014, 03:47 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Mar 25 2014, 10:24 AM)
How u able to do NZD200 per week?
Cheapest backpacker also need NZD30 perday = NZD210 perweek.
exclude food some more.
i calculated, car from queenstown to auckland, petrol alone already cost NZD700.
I've read about people doing this budget before, hence I'm confident I'll be able to pull it off too biggrin.gif
Cheaper accommodation might be to find room to rent, but I think it's on weekly basis

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Mar 25 2014, 10:33 AM)
Jetstar purpose me a 10 hours transit at Melbourne.... crazy..

6.45am reach and departure at 4.45pm to auckland

typo, 4.45pm and not 4.45am
10 hours ok what, since you're going there for a few weeks at least.
if you're only going for a few days then might not be worth it to take a long transit

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 25 2014, 10:50 AM)
Say about RM2k per person return. But transit 10 hours worrr. I'd rather pay the extra 1k for a direct flight.
1k is a lot wei sweat.gif

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:32 AM)
If u are a member of Youth hostel Association,
can get 10% discount. Thus NZD30 become NZD27/day.

It depend on the season and hostel location as well, some out of tourism
location can get a cheaper rate like NZD26/day.( befero discount)

It is possible to travel with NZD200/week.
you've been there with this budget? rclxms.gif

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Mar 25 2014, 11:39 AM)
assume NZD27 perday, end up to NZD189 per week,

How about food?
how cheap it can go?

Cause actually i also still budgeting my coming trip.
i workout to be NZD1720 for 25night for 2 person.
Include BBH discount.

1 person = NZD860 for 25 night.
Average 34.4 per night per person.

For food, i budgeting about NZD 50 perday perperson?
i have no idea how expensive or cheap the food in NZ.
food 50 per head per day is a quite a lot, i think u can eat lamb chop for every meal laugh.gif (just guessing, I've not been there yet)

This post has been edited by scpt: Mar 25 2014, 03:53 PM
scpt
post Apr 29 2014, 08:08 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 28 2014, 09:08 AM)
for domestic flight, i take air new zealand.
but u need to use vpn with New Zealand ip to access the cheap ticket.
Else no cheap ticket for you.
thanks for sharing! Is it cheaper by a lot?
scpt
post Apr 30 2014, 08:20 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 29 2014, 08:11 PM)
http://promos.airnz.co.nz/wenza/

Use the link above, cheaper ticket.
thanks!
but for the route & date I checked, Jetstar is still cheaper
scpt
post Jun 5 2014, 01:13 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 5 2014, 11:20 AM)
Which part you going? North or South? North island Auckland still okay la. South I dunno and don't wanna know. I hate cold, I hate winter, I don't really like snow. laugh.gif
diver's syndrome tongue.gif
scpt
post Jun 5 2014, 08:39 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 5 2014, 04:12 PM)
Yaa prefer sea sand sun and hot weather laugh.gif
North should be fine. South especially the southern parts may be quite cold. I didn't go there during winter, last year was around late april early may but I found it quite cold for me already. Generally, July is still the coldest month in that country.
vitamin sea wub.gif

anyways, I'll be in NZ from end September, hate cold too but gotta try skiiing coz it looks so awesome!

This post has been edited by scpt: Jun 5 2014, 08:40 PM
scpt
post Jun 6 2014, 01:27 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 5 2014, 08:59 PM)
Oh yes vitamin sea wub.gif

September should have good weather. I'll be going there lepak next year March/April. biggrin.gif Want to try out diving there someday. They say you can just go and catch your own crayfish and cook.
I'll be looking to do some diving there too!

QUOTE(howszat @ Jun 5 2014, 10:12 PM)
The best skiing months are typically July-Aug. Sept is a bit late.

Reason is you want the coldest months to get the dry powdery snow which makes for smooth, fast, fantastic skiing.  rclxm9.gif When it get warmer in Sept, the snow tends to get icy and chunky and not so smooth. But no worries, as a beginner you can stick to the beginner areas where they make artificial snow and groom it with grooming tractors so you don't really know the difference.  biggrin.gif

Don't really fancy the lift pass rates though (http://www.mtruapehu.com/winter/lift-passes) at x2.7 exchange rate. Wasn't a problem when I was working there though...
oh icic. It'll be my first time so as long as I get to do it I'll be happy laugh.gif

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 6 2014, 10:10 AM)
Cheapest now would be to transit in Aussie.
I paid RM811 for my flight KL-Sydney return (booked last few days during AA promo). And Jetstar promo Sydney-Auckland was around AUD150 one way.
That makes up about RM811 + RM900 so RM1.7k return KL-Auckland stopover in Sydney for a few hours/days.
that's super cheap! I jumped at my purchase and didn't wait for promo and came up to be around 1.2k KL>MEL>AUK. Wanted to transit in Sydney and visit for a day but since the Jetstar from Sydney to Auckland will stop at Melbourne first, so might as well go straight to Melbourne
scpt
post Jun 6 2014, 02:15 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 6 2014, 01:59 PM)
Lucky scpt told me. I just checked, the flight I was checking the other day was direct 3 hours 5 minute flight biggrin.gif

Depart 6.35pm arrive auckland 11.40pm. Price now AUD180. Dunno want buy now or wait future promo.
haha. They consolidate most of their flights, all go through the same route. So, say if u go to Christchuch, you'll have to stop by Auckland/Wellington too laugh.gif
Rarely they have direct flights

0.0789sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:28 PM