135 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

loumou
post Nov 6 2009, 12:31 AM

579 posts

guys, how much maxis charge for 1mb online?
Ken
post Nov 6 2009, 08:36 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

1mb is rm10 ...

saksoba
post Nov 6 2009, 09:05 AM

478 posts

regarding Maxis 3G rate, is it "cheap" compare to other telco in Malaysia? perhaps, other than Malaysia? i think its quite expensive liao.

This post has been edited by saksoba: Nov 6 2009, 09:06 AM
tinkerbel
post Nov 6 2009, 11:11 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@loumou,
Maxis charges for data are based on p/kb download usage. It's at 1sen/kb but if you're on a subscribed plan, it drops to 0.5sen/kb.
loumou
post Nov 6 2009, 02:33 PM

579 posts

wow...1mb rm10....that's kind of costly.....
anyone knows is there any daily or hourly online subcription for maxis??
i heard they do have rm2 per hour / daily pass -rm8

anyone can clarify this? brows.gif
tinkerbel
post Nov 6 2009, 03:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@loumou,
Yes Maxis does have daily/hourly pass. Please get more information from www.maxis.com.my smile.gif
ilyas_jamal
post Nov 6 2009, 11:07 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Oct 29 2009, 04:32 PM)
Yep, best way is to put garbage in the APN settings.. as even if you can't turn off edge.. it still can't access anything.. you can do it manually, so no JB needed (provided you installed the carrier bundle)
how can we do that.. mind to guide me...
loumou
post Nov 7 2009, 12:02 AM

579 posts

Thanks a lot for the info
Ken
post Nov 7 2009, 12:07 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(loumou @ Nov 6 2009, 02:33 PM)
wow...1mb rm10....that's kind of costly.....
anyone knows is there any daily or hourly online subcription for maxis??
i heard they do have rm2 per hour / daily pass -rm8

anyone can clarify this? brows.gif
last time i suscribe RM8 for 5mb ... see the different ? if i pay per use, it is RM50 ... but i save RM42 from the plan ...
zijian
post Nov 7 2009, 09:40 AM

33 posts

I have changed to Digi from Maxis and register for the Digi Unlimited 58 Plan, but I found out my phone has disable the Tethering function. Anyone know what is the problem? Digi doesn't allow to have tethering?
tinkerbel
post Nov 7 2009, 12:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ilyas_jamal,
Please refer to pinned threads on how to disable APN. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281

@zijian,
Internet Tethering apparently has been disabled across all non-official networks. Pop a Maxis SIM in and ta-dah, U get Internet Tethering again smile.gif At this point, nothing can be done, I think.
hades86
post Nov 7 2009, 12:14 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(zijian @ Nov 7 2009, 09:40 AM)
I have changed to Digi from Maxis and register for the Digi Unlimited 58 Plan, but I found out my phone has disable the Tethering function. Anyone know what is the problem? Digi doesn't allow to have tethering?
As of iPhone 3.1, the *.ipcc carrier bundles are signed, and you can no longer force tethering capability simply by crafting your own bundle.

in other words, only official telco such as maxis is tethering enable.

read this if u want to enable urs
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281/+11
wz3k
post Nov 7 2009, 03:28 PM

109 posts

Just got my iPhone. I was checking with a few maxis customer service ppl abt tracking data usage. Unfortunately most of them told me that you can only check at the end of yourbilling cycle. One lady told me I can check via *100# but itried without success. maxis CS (123) also can't give me my data usage.

My question is, how are you guys tracking your data usage? Using iPhone itself is the only option I have currently but maxis CS told me it is not accurate. Looking at forums I read that some discrepency may occur because of packet loss, but that should be be alot.
anti-LAx2
post Nov 7 2009, 05:12 PM

19 posts

hello guys,

im using an iphone 2g, but the bill includes a 3g data usage...?

i would like to know how are the mobile internet(3g data usage) for celcom postpaid being charged?
what kinda apps would attract these kinda data usage fees?

a few of the apps im using(which i think are related) are like irealsms and swirlymms2.
i seriously did not know iphone 2g would have any 3g data usage fees. im using everything via wifi and have not browsed thru anything via wap.

anybody can help me clarify this? need some advice.
thanks alot! =)

hello guys,

im using an iphone 2g, but the bill includes a 3g data usage...?

i would like to know how are the mobile internet(3g data usage) for celcom postpaid being charged?
what kinda apps would attract these kinda data usage fees?

a few of the apps im using(which i think are related) are like irealsms and swirlymms2.
i seriously did not know iphone 2g would have any 3g data usage fees. im using everything via wifi and have not browsed thru anything via wap. and my gprs usage is being charged separately from 3g data charge.

anybody can help me clarify this? need some advice.
thanks alot! =)

Moderator's Note: Please do not make multiple posts.
masahito
post Nov 7 2009, 05:20 PM

488 posts

you gprs maybe. jb -> sbsetting -> off gprs
tinkerbel
post Nov 7 2009, 05:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@wz3k,
U can use the iPhone to track your data Usage. If you haven't jailbroken ur phone the information on Usage is quite accurate. Also, please take into account both upload and download data.

@anti-LAx2,
So as long as you're connected and using data services u will be charged. The i2G does not have 2G capabilities but it would have GPRS/EDGE capabilities logging U onto the internet. You can disable data if U wish by tweaking APN. To know how to do that, please check out the pinned threads.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281
anti-LAx2
post Nov 7 2009, 05:30 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(masahito @ Nov 7 2009, 05:20 PM)
you gprs maybe. jb -> sbsetting -> off gprs
hi, thanks for the reply.
but in my bill statement, the gprs usage is also being charged separately?
does anybody know what are attracting the 3g charges?
thx alot

Added on November 7, 2009, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 7 2009, 05:28 PM)
@anti-LAx2,
So as long as you're connected and using data services u will be charged.  The i2G does not have 2G capabilities but it would have GPRS/EDGE capabilities logging U onto the internet.  You can disable data if U wish by tweaking APN.  To know how to do that, please check out the pinned threads.

okay thanks alot for the advice. i will try it out but why am i being charged for the gprs usage separately too? how can i disable data for gprs also?
thank you...

This post has been edited by anti-LAx2: Nov 7 2009, 05:32 PM
nokia2003
post Nov 7 2009, 05:33 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(anti-LAx2 @ Nov 7 2009, 05:30 PM)
hi, thanks for the reply.
but in my bill statement, the gprs usage is also being charged separately?
does anybody know what are attracting the 3g charges?
thx alot
3G is just a denomination of speed.

celcom probably just clumped the entire internet usage (2G, 2.5G, 3G, HSDPA) to 3G.

at the end of the day, you are being charged based on your usage (nothing to do with your speed)

hence, it doesn't make difference if you have used 1MB on gprs or 1MB on 3G

Added on November 7, 2009, 5:35 pmAFAIK, maxis operates this manner as well.

refer the picture extracted from google

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Nov 7 2009, 05:35 PM
wz3k
post Nov 7 2009, 05:37 PM

109 posts

Thanks tinkerbel. Mind to clarify what cause jailbroken phone data statistics to be inaccurate? I have fakeAPN on all the time unless when I want to connect. I also disable ads using the hosts file already.. thanks

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 7 2009, 05:28 PM)
@wz3k,
U can use the iPhone to track your data Usage.  If you haven't jailbroken ur phone the information on Usage is quite accurate.  Also, please take into account both upload and download data.

@anti-LAx2,
So as long as you're connected and using data services u will be charged.  The i2G does not have 2G capabilities but it would have GPRS/EDGE capabilities logging U onto the internet.  You can disable data if U wish by tweaking APN.  To know how to do that, please check out the pinned threads.

tinkerbel
post Nov 7 2009, 05:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@wz3k,
I've NO idea what causes the data to be inaccurate but most people here on a jailbroken set reports the data usage statistics to be inaccurate. I haven't jailbroken my phone n thus far data usage statistics seem to match my Maxis bills.

Another thing to take note is to make sure your fake APN is indeed working; some people have reported it doesn't work on theirs.

135 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:48 PM