135 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

dragna
post Feb 2 2010, 10:42 AM

5,252 posts

You should be paying RM100 since it's the plan requirement even if you used less than that, and the balance of RM32 should be your iData? Did you sign up for it?
jphlau
post Feb 2 2010, 07:42 PM

1,202 posts

Sorry if this has been covered, does digi support tethering?? Now looking at jumping ship from maxis to digi
yuvanesh
post Feb 2 2010, 07:44 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Feb 2 2010, 07:42 PM)
Sorry if this has been covered, does digi support tethering?? Now looking at jumping ship from maxis to digi
i think they should...but the coverage is bad...(for 3g)
jphlau
post Feb 3 2010, 10:13 AM

1,202 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Feb 2 2010, 07:44 PM)
i think they should...but the coverage is bad...(for 3g)
in sarawak, maxis also has a bad 3g coverage
yuvanesh
post Feb 3 2010, 11:53 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Feb 3 2010, 10:13 AM)
in sarawak, maxis also has a bad 3g coverage
well maybe there updating the 3g coverage area...hope for the best

Mackiddo
post Feb 3 2010, 02:01 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Feb 2 2010, 07:42 PM)
only telcos on the Apple approved list can do tethering. For others, you will need to JB

Added on February 3, 2010, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(cromox @ Feb 2 2010, 06:35 AM)
Just wanna share.

I been an iphone user for about 6 months now. Not having the problem until a weeks ago when I notice my prepaid goes down the drain in a jiffy. Imagine RM100 in a day!! wtf. Why only after 6 month this thing happened? To me a smartphone should do what the user wants instead of what the telco wants ie your money... Just my 2 cent.

Now I tried SB and fakeAPN after reading this thread. Don't know if it gonna work but I'll keep my fingers crossed!
Maxis just updated their Carrier version not long ago, the smart phone become 'super-smart', auto configure to connect to the net rclxms.gif . Telcos didn't not install all the apps for you, you did it yourself, so it's not the telcos fault.
There is a downside installing SB, you battery will drain faster nod.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 3 2010, 02:10 PM
my44
post Feb 4 2010, 10:38 AM

2,479 posts

Hello guys, seems a lot of information here smile.gif

Anyhow, here's my current setup:

- I purchased my iPhone from outside and I put in my own Celcom 3G sim card
- I subscribed to Celcom data plan RM38/mo for 500MB
- As a long time Celcom 3G user, I can say Celcom 3G is about 80% satisfactory and the 3G connection in my iPhone is within expectation of what Celcom can offer (but their EDGE is almost unusable, LOL)
- For this 1st month, I used about 150MB of data only with 3 weeks of billing cycle to go. I guess I need to turn on the 3G more, haha!
- No, Celcom will not charge for excess data. They will only do their magic called 'throttling'. Been there, done that.

On issues on FakeAPN or what not:
- If your iPhone is non-JailBroken, by default it will continue to 'accidentally' download data whether it's on GPRS (O), EDGE (E) or 3G.
- For JailBroken iPhone with SBSettings done correctly, any attempt to download data will result in error "not connected to the internet"
- FakeAPN? I've tried it before and it did not work. I imagine this was specific to a Celcom sim card, I can't speak for Maxis or DIGI sims.

I probably can show the snapshot of SBSettings that I know is working for me.
garyngkt
post Feb 4 2010, 11:14 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:38 AM)
Hello guys, seems a lot of information here smile.gif

Anyhow, here's my current setup:

- I purchased my iPhone from outside and I put in my own Celcom 3G sim card
- I subscribed to Celcom data plan RM38/mo for 500MB
- As a long time Celcom 3G user, I can say Celcom 3G is about 80% satisfactory and the 3G connection in my iPhone is within expectation of what Celcom can offer (but their EDGE is almost unusable, LOL)
- For this 1st month, I used about 150MB of data only with 3 weeks of billing cycle to go. I guess I need to turn on the 3G more, haha!
- No, Celcom will not charge for excess data. They will only do their magic called 'throttling'. Been there, done that.

On issues on FakeAPN or what not:
- If your iPhone is non-JailBroken, by default it will continue to 'accidentally' download data whether it's on GPRS (O), EDGE (E) or 3G.
- For JailBroken iPhone with SBSettings done correctly, any attempt to download data will result in error "not connected to the internet"
- FakeAPN? I've tried it before and it did not work. I imagine this was specific to a Celcom sim card, I can't speak for Maxis or DIGI sims.

I probably can show the snapshot of SBSettings that I know is working for me.
Yes, FakeAPN does not work for my Celcom but on Digi I have tested yes can work. SBSettings I turn off both 3G and Edge but data usage meter still go up. Sometimes I found there is Data IP sometimes no, so I assume when suddenly there is Data IP then usage will go up.
my44
post Feb 4 2010, 11:28 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(garyngkt @ Feb 4 2010, 11:14 AM)
Yes, FakeAPN does not work for my Celcom but on Digi I have tested yes can work. SBSettings I turn off both 3G and Edge but data usage meter still go up. Sometimes I found there is Data IP sometimes no, so I assume when suddenly there is Data IP then usage will go up.

Sounds like you are using DIGI? Maybe SBSettings 3G/EDGE disable doesn't work for DIGI but it does for Celcom?

The IP display on SBSettings can act weird. A good observation is on WiFi IP address. I know even I'm no longer on WiFi zone, the IP address can remain there. Just a bug, I think. Perhaps same issue with data IP.

dinozilla
post Feb 4 2010, 11:53 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:38 AM)

don get it wrong, 3G is the speed u get, not the amount of data
it get ur data download faster....onli if u access a lot data....
so ur key is not to turn on 3G more (u can always on, or turn on onli when u need it), but to use data access more rclxms.gif
Mackiddo
post Feb 4 2010, 11:57 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Feb 4 2010, 11:53 AM)
so ur key is not to turn on 3G more (u can always on, or turn on onli when u need it), but to use data access more rclxms.gif
agreed. why would anyone use EDGE instead of 3G, unless they are not clear on the concept of data usage.
my44
post Feb 4 2010, 11:59 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Feb 4 2010, 11:53 AM)

True, I meant I always turn off 3G coz the battery drains like crazy. And I mostly connect to Facebook, Yahoo Messenger, Microsoft Exchange server, etc, no apps download (coz use Wifi at home). Like I said, it's my first month, slowly I'll adjust my "habit" lor, so that I will use 500MB from Celcom as what I paid for smile.gif

edwinlcw
post Feb 4 2010, 12:03 PM

1,754 posts

every month i just use about 30MB of data with my iValue 1...sigh.. what a waste.. doh.gif
my44
post Feb 4 2010, 12:08 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Feb 4 2010, 12:03 PM)
every month i just use about 30MB of data with my iValue 1...sigh.. what a waste.. doh.gif

Any reason why don't you use more?

TeK_KeN
post Feb 4 2010, 05:20 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

Im still wondering why EDGE disable + FakeAPN didn't work to certain i2G owner.
dragna
post Feb 4 2010, 07:51 PM

5,252 posts

I'm a 2G owner and I can't relate if it works or not on my phone but there is definitely DataIP all time round.
Kenishi
post Feb 4 2010, 09:16 PM

91 posts

For prepiad hotlink user, how u check your monthly usage?

I try *100#, nothing show there.

So, How am i gonna know how much data i already use??????
yuvanesh
post Feb 4 2010, 09:37 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(Kenishi @ Feb 4 2010, 09:16 PM)
For prepiad hotlink user, how u check your monthly usage?

I try *100#, nothing show there.

So, How am i gonna know how much data i already use??????
well you can't check through maxis...you have to check through iPhone..in about section..
my44
post Feb 6 2010, 11:30 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 4 2010, 11:57 AM)
agreed. why would anyone use EDGE instead of 3G, unless they are not clear on the concept of data usage.
In certain places, Celcom EDGE is acceptably fast. Most of the time, very slow though, then I ll switch on 3G. Comfirmed fast. Haha.

My only concern about 3G. It eats battery very, very fast. I think the battery indicator falls 1% every few minutes. The best way is to plug your phone to USB and browse on 3G happily. LOL.
o2grexg
post Feb 6 2010, 02:29 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Feb 4 2010, 11:28 AM)
Sounds like you are using DIGI? Maybe SBSettings 3G/EDGE disable doesn't work for DIGI but it does for Celcom?

The IP display on SBSettings can act weird. A good observation is on WiFi IP address. I know even I'm no longer on WiFi zone, the IP address can remain there. Just a bug, I think. Perhaps same issue with data IP.
I was having exactly the same problem. I'm using Iphone 3G, official unlock, celcom postpaid, firmware 3.1.2 jail break with black rain, installed SB setting to toggle on off 3G and EDGE, but it doesn't help at all. Even i had toggle off all the data connection, and i tried to connect to weather , it showed update failed, and then i open up the usage , my data was actually running. Any solution from you guys, thanks

135 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:07 PM