126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

jsc_tidus
post Sep 4 2009, 02:12 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 4 2009, 07:22 AM)
I have used Sigma 10-20mm, Tokina 12-24mm f/4 and now Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8.

IMHO, Tokina has the better build. The sigma is only sharp wide open. When you stop it down to even f/11, the sides are significantly softer than the center. I think you may have mentioned you don't like distortions. So, that leaves you only once choice, which is the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8.
is the 11mm on the tokina and 10 on the sigma is really different? in terms of distortions & 10mm is much more wider?

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Sep 4 2009, 01:15 PM)

btw,d3000 is already available in market
drool.gif camera on the left..
alpha_company
post Sep 4 2009, 02:53 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(xcrue @ Sep 4 2009, 09:01 AM)
Thanks lot Alpha smile.gif
Appreciate your details explainations and guide man thumbup.gif  . Will use it as a bible or guide for my lens upgrade smile.gif
I think IQ option is much better ,maybe i will go for Nikon 18-105VR / Nikon 18-70 + 55-200VR (IQ Wise) + either Nikon 35mm f/1.8 or 50mm f/1.8 primelens smile.gif
I would have to agree with project-o on the Nikon 18-105VR, IQ wise I'm not sure which are better but the 18105 has longer reach and would give you more versatility in shooting. Th

IQ - I'm not sure which are better
VR - The 18-105VR has it and it's a definite plus
Range - The 18-105VR has a longer reach & would give more versatility in shooting
Mount - The 18105VR has a plastic mount but the 1870 has a metal mount which is very good. Built quality wise I think the 1870 is better.

The 50mm replicates the human eye field of view on 35mm film/full frame dslr.
The 35mm is the closest thing to the human eye field of view on a aps-c dslr like D5000/D90/D300 etc.

To have AF capabilities on D5000 these are your options:

- Nikon AFS 50mm f/1.4 (RM 18xx) This would give you a better bokeh than the 35mm because of the 50mm focal length and big aperture size.
- Nikon AFS 35mm f/1.8 (RM 8xx)
Sp00kY
post Sep 4 2009, 03:01 PM

3,366 posts

D3000 is so cheaP!
alpha_company
post Sep 4 2009, 03:52 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Sep 4 2009, 03:01 PM)
D3000 is so cheaP!
that's why la..if the OFFICIAL RRP is that cheap, i wonder how cheap it is on the street?
HiroBoroi
post Sep 4 2009, 04:18 PM

1,319 posts

The Hundred Ringgit VR Question
Does VR cause image degradation? I know that one of the lens element move a lot when you use VR. In lens assembly, I think they go all out to ensure that all optical elements are symmetrical about the optical axis. With VR, suddenly you have one element going up and down off axis. Will VR cause more lens distortion than without VR? Are you trading off a bit more distortion for gains in shutter speed?

Here a quote from the Sony Alpha 900 catalog:

The a900 features a SteadyShot INSIDE image stabilization system that is 1.5x more powerful and 1.3x faster than our previous systems. Enabling you to enjoy handheld shooting at shutter speeds up to 4 steps slower than would otherwise be possible, the body-mounted SteadyShot INSIDE system works with all compatible alpha lenses  - including macro and  wide-angle lenses - AND doesn't cause the image degradation that can occur with lens-based optical stabilization systems.

Below the IS video again:

Added on September 4, 2009, 4:23 pm
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 4 2009, 07:10 AM)
A real macro lens would cost a lot more and macro lenses are basically "Prime" lenses with fixed aperture.
Are there "Prime"s with varying aperture? shocking.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Sep 4 2009, 01:15 PM)

btw,d3000 is already available in market
Raya promo kepala bapak dia la!! mad.gif vmad.gif D90 lagi mahal ada la. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Sep 4 2009, 04:26 PM
alpha_company
post Sep 4 2009, 04:41 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

Limited "sony" lens choices (can use minolta but no new ones) & proprietary hardware like sony's flash hot shoe is enough to keep me away from them..

How much image degradation is there? Percentage? hmm.gif I guess not enough to keep pros like photojournalist and wildlife photographers away from Nikon and Canon. laugh.gif

I would say that there's not much concern here as a lot of professional photographers use Nikon VR lenses and Canon IS lenses. Plus keep in mind that if you're using a tripod during a model photoshoot or landscape shooting etc, you need to turn the VR off anyways..so no worries for me. I'm guessing that you also need to turn off the SteadyShot INSIDE when using tripod.

Added on September 4, 2009, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 4 2009, 04:18 PM)
Are there "Prime"s with varying aperture?  shocking.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 4:26 pm
Raya promo kepala bapak dia la!!  mad.gif  vmad.gif D90 lagi mahal ada la.  biggrin.gif
You need to understand this.. I need beginners in dslr to easily understand that prime lenses have a fixed aperture. I dont want them to think that the ONLY difference of primes & zooms are that they are fixed focal length. I also want them to know that fixed focal/primes = fixed aperture.

Tu harga RRP Nikon bukan harga street price cik.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 4 2009, 05:02 PM
HiroBoroi
post Sep 4 2009, 04:54 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 4 2009, 04:41 PM)
Limited "sony" lens choices (can use minolta but no new ones) & proprietary hardware like sony's flash hot shoe is enough to keep me away from them..

How much image degradation is there? Percentage? hmm.gif I guess not enough to keep photojournalist and wildlife photographers away from Nikon and Canon.  laugh.gif

I would say that there's not much concern here as a lot of professional photographers use Nikon VR lenses and Canon IS lenses. Plus keep in mind that if you're using a tripod during a model photoshoot or landscape shooting etc, you need to turn the VR off anyways..so no worries for me. I'm guessing that you also need to turn off the SteadyShot INSIDE when using tripod.

Added on September 4, 2009, 4:44 pm

You need to understand this.. I need beginners in dslr to easily understand that prime lenses have a fixed aperture. I dont want them to think that the ONLY difference of primes are that they are fixed focal length. I want themm to know that fixed focal/primes = fixed aperture.

Tu harga RRP Nikon bukan harga street price cik..
Errr ... this is not a Sony vs Nikon who is better. shakehead.gif The thing I'm asking is whether VR (in lens stabilization) cause image degradation. All the lens test data for distortion, MTFs etc, I think they are done on tripod or concrete metal bases with VR turned off. If you use long telephotos to shoot sports/birds, then this is irrelevant. Most of the pics will be wide and "bokeh"ed anyway. But if you shoot architectural, interior, cityscapes with buildings where you want absolute straightness and perfect symmetry ... hmmm ... aren't you curious to know? hmm.gif
alpha_company
post Sep 4 2009, 05:00 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

Sorry for that statement..im not implying which is better etc..

To be honest...I want to know about it too..

Maybe this potential problem would effect zoom lenses a lot more? I dont know as there's not much info/data about this..

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 4 2009, 05:02 PM
HiroBoroi
post Sep 4 2009, 05:21 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 4 2009, 05:00 PM)
Sorry for that statement..im not implying which is better etc..

To be honest...I want to know about it too..

Maybe this potential problem would effect zoom lenses a lot more? I dont know as there's not much info/data about this..
Another thing ya. VR is for handheld picture taking right? Then how come some of the big Nikon/Canon guns also have VR? For example the AF-S Nikkor 600mm f/4G which weight at 5 kilos, also got VR. Put this lens on D3 (1.2kg), can handheld ka? Wah sure pancit one. Can you still use VR if its on a monopod or Wimberly type thingy? hmm.gif
alpha_company
post Sep 4 2009, 05:41 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

hehe.. maybe like this guy kot

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 4 2009, 06:24 PM
jsc_tidus
post Sep 4 2009, 08:06 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 4 2009, 05:41 PM)

i bet he damaged his right eye with that.. laugh.gif

1D mark3?
alpha_company
post Sep 4 2009, 09:49 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 4 2009, 05:21 PM)
Another thing ya. VR is for handheld picture taking right? Then how come some of the big Nikon/Canon guns also have VR? For example the AF-S Nikkor 600mm f/4G which weight at 5 kilos, also got VR. Put this lens on D3 (1.2kg), can handheld ka? Wah sure pancit one. Can you still use VR if its on a monopod or Wimberly type thingy?  hmm.gif
Maybe super telephotos need VR even on a monopod because of it's focal length unlike normal zooms with VR. Just a theory.

Maybe those super tele lenses need VR not for handheld but for shooting on moving vehicles like in the african safari and helicopters. I would guess that with a large stable tripod on firm ground, the VR on those lenses still needs to be turned off.
HiroBoroi
post Sep 4 2009, 11:57 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 4 2009, 09:49 PM)
Maybe super telephotos need VR even on a monopod because of it's focal length unlike normal zooms with VR. Just a theory.

Maybe those super tele lenses need VR not for handheld but for shooting on moving vehicles like in the african safari and helicopters. I would guess that with a large stable tripod on firm ground, the VR on those lenses still needs to be turned off.
Back to the VR thing, I googled and can't any articles so far that says lens based image stabilization degrades the image. Still searching. I'm really curious after reading the statement from Sony's brochure. I'm sure they don't simply put that one in. hmm.gif

p/s - Land Rovers and helicopters, ah now I see the need for VR in the 600mm. biggrin.gif
General_Nic
post Sep 5 2009, 01:44 AM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(raptorclans @ Sep 4 2009, 11:44 AM)
Yeah mine's using the 18-105VR and personally it offers me a good balance.

Regarding the 35mm, should I go for that or save up for the 50mm?
(got poisoned the other day) tongue.gif
i suggest the 50mm, kena poisoned oso tongue.gif laugh.gif
i tried the 35mm, n i say the bokeh dissapointed me, so now aiming for 50mm instead brows.gif

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 4 2009, 05:21 PM)
Another thing ya. VR is for handheld picture taking right? Then how come some of the big Nikon/Canon guns also have VR? For example the AF-S Nikkor 600mm f/4G which weight at 5 kilos, also got VR. Put this lens on D3 (1.2kg), can handheld ka? Wah sure pancit one. Can you still use VR if its on a monopod or Wimberly type thingy?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 4 2009, 09:49 PM)

even if the super-tele lenses r on stable tripod, if wanna do panning shots u'll b turning the lens
so thats where the VR comes in useful? hmm.gif

nanti sakit belakang kot laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
a.ihsan
post Sep 5 2009, 05:47 AM

248 posts

look at his biceps, that comes in handy thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by a.ihsan: Sep 5 2009, 05:47 AM
heLL[tuRt]
post Sep 5 2009, 07:08 AM

365 posts

got my nissin di622 yesterday for rm450 rclxm9.gif
but didn't find sanyo enelop rechargeable battery like alpha_company suggested
got GP brand instead =.=`
alpha_company
post Sep 5 2009, 08:12 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Sep 5 2009, 07:08 AM)
got  my nissin di622 yesterday for rm450 rclxm9.gif
but didn't find sanyo enelop rechargeable battery like alpha_company suggested
got GP brand instead =.=`
No worries..i just suggested Sanyo 'Eneloop' and Maha 'Imedion' batteries because these batteries can still have 85% of their charge even after a year!...so if you left em charged for a month or two and still havent used them, u dont need to worry charging again..

Sanyo Eneloop is hard to get at normal shop, and even camera shops. I got em from this forum..sent via poslaju..biggrin.gif

what GP model you got? 2100? with the charger right? how much is it?

Added on September 5, 2009, 8:30 am
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 5 2009, 01:44 AM)
even if the super-tele lenses r on stable tripod, if wanna do panning shots u'll b turning the lens
so thats where the VR comes in useful?  hmm.gif 
nanti sakit belakang kot  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Look at his tangan laa...muscle naik already..hehehe..i dont have that.. blush.gif

Info from Nikon:

It is often thought that image blur caused by camera movement can be prevented by using a tripod. Actually, however, even using a tripod may result in slight blur. This is because vibration of a tripod caused by mirror or shutter movement at the time of exposure can affect an image. Nikon's VR function automatically differentiates the frequency of this vibration from that of hand movement, and changes algorithm to correct image blur caused by tripod movement. This special function is employed in some of our VR lenses ー mainly in telephoto lenses that are likely to be used with a tripod.

READ HERE TOO!

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 5 2009, 08:39 AM
heLL[tuRt]
post Sep 5 2009, 08:40 AM

365 posts

i got GP NiMH 2700 series + charger biggrin.gif
for rm134

This post has been edited by heLL[tuRt]: Sep 5 2009, 11:27 AM
illegaldragon87
post Sep 5 2009, 10:44 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 5 2009, 01:44 AM)
i suggest the 50mm, kena poisoned oso  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
i tried the 35mm, n i say the bokeh dissapointed me, so now aiming for 50mm instead  brows.gif
so thats where the VR comes in useful?  hmm.gif 
nanti sakit belakang kot  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
izit me tat poisoned u?? tongue.gif
barulagi123
post Sep 5 2009, 01:13 PM

where can i get affordable D40.
2nd or first...

126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top