126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

mixologist84
post May 23 2009, 02:08 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 22 2009, 10:50 AM)
have to be patient and sometime depends on luck to get a good used unit.
A new one will cost RM780-790, ever consider that??
yep most prolly will settle for a new one if cant get a good deal.
will wait till mth end
alpha_company
post May 23 2009, 03:45 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

hey guys.. for outdoor/sports what should i get?

the new tamron 18-270mm OR 70-300VR OR 18-200VR?
loon1031
post May 23 2009, 09:56 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

I vote for 70-300VR... fast len
darthbaboon
post May 23 2009, 10:05 AM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ May 23 2009, 03:45 AM)
hey guys.. for outdoor/sports what should i get?

the new tamron 18-270mm OR 70-300VR OR 18-200VR?
All those three lenses can be used to shoot sports and outdoors.

And it depends on what other lenses you already have. If you have the 17-50, 18-70, 18-105, it doesn't make sense to get the 18-270, 18-200 jack of all trades, master of none lenses because the range overlaps.

In my example, since I already have the 24-70, I'd supplement my lens with an ultra wide (14-24, 10-24, 11-16) and a telephoto (70-200, 70-300, 80-400, 150-500)

TSkimurastanley
post May 23 2009, 10:20 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

Went to penang recently, share some pics here

Camera:Nikon D60
Exposure: 1/320
Aperture: f/9
ISO Speed: 100
TSkimurastanley
post May 23 2009, 10:28 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ May 23 2009, 10:05 AM)
All those three lenses can be used to shoot sports and outdoors.

And it depends on what other lenses you already have. If you have the 17-50, 18-70, 18-105, it doesn't make sense to get the 18-270, 18-200 jack of all trades, master of none lenses because the range overlaps.

In my example, since I already have the 24-70, I'd supplement my lens with an ultra wide (14-24, 10-24, 11-16) and a telephoto (70-200, 70-300, 80-400, 150-500)
I agree with that, but for ppl who want a all-in-one lens which can save trouble of changing the lens and miss precious shoots(like me tongue.gif ), u may want to get a 18-200/18-270 lens for travelling.
However if u shoot sports and dont mind the issue I mentioned above, can a 70-300 VR or 70-200 f/2.8 (very expensive). These lenses have better build quality and can take better image quality.
darthbaboon
post May 23 2009, 10:35 AM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 23 2009, 10:20 AM)

Here's my comment/critique...

There's too much hill slope from the left. It eats into the focal subject in the photo which I believe is the pagoda. The cloud formation is nice, but might wanna apply the rule of third when framing the pagoda. As it is, the pagoda is too much to the left... move it to the center a little (might have to sacrifice some of the nicer cloud formations on the right). You got too little of the buildings at the bottom to allow them to compliment the photo. In fact, that long stick-thing coming out in the middle annoys me as it seems out of place. Overall, with a little work on framing and composition, this can be improved further. The catch is, you might be standing on a cliff or edge while shooting this so can't move any much further to the right... so... tongue.gif

Alternatively, I'll do a vertical crop of just the pagoda and the temple below it, ending right before the annoying stick.
TSkimurastanley
post May 23 2009, 10:45 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ May 23 2009, 10:35 AM)
The catch is, you might be standing on a cliff or edge while shooting this so can't move any much further to the right... so...  tongue.gif
U are right about this, cant find any places to shoot more of the pagoda. Thanks for ur comment, will crop like wat u said and see how the effect.

Added on May 23, 2009, 10:49 amuser posted image

Cropping has been done.... better??

This post has been edited by kimurastanley: May 23 2009, 10:49 AM
darthbaboon
post May 23 2009, 10:53 AM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 23 2009, 10:45 AM)
Cropping has been done.... better??
The pagoda's still too much to the left. Again rule of thirds need to come in play. Here's what I had in mind. There's still too much of the hill, but at least focal attention is on the pagoda now.

TSkimurastanley
post May 23 2009, 10:55 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ May 23 2009, 10:53 AM)
The pagoda's still too much to the left. Again rule of thirds need to come in play. Here's what I had in mind. There's still too much of the hill, but at least focal attention is on the pagoda now.

The hill is really too much. When I take the photos and see thru the viewfinder, and think WTF hill was blocking my way. Haha.. but no better place already, so just take the photo
babymiki
post May 23 2009, 11:07 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

hi guys,

im a newbie here still thinking of which DSLR to get...

does D60 have internal AF motor? i asked a few friends but they gave me diff ans so im kinda confused...hee

Added on May 23, 2009, 11:08 pmhi guys,

does D60 have internal AF motor? i asked a few friends but they gave me diff ans so im kinda confused...hee

This post has been edited by babymiki: May 23 2009, 11:08 PM
rickylaw86
post May 23 2009, 11:18 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ May 23 2009, 11:07 PM)
hi guys,

The answer is no
TSkimurastanley
post May 23 2009, 11:21 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ May 23 2009, 11:07 PM)
hi guys,

Added on May 23, 2009, 11:08 pmhi guys,

Definitely no.. Camera range from D90 above have internal motor
babymiki
post May 24 2009, 01:27 AM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

Yeah Ive got the answer at the other thread biggrin.gif Thanks anyway.

razuryza
post May 24 2009, 02:49 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 23 2009, 11:21 PM)
Definitely no.. Camera range from D90 above have internal motor
D80 also got leh..
General_Nic
post May 24 2009, 02:56 AM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 24 2009, 02:49 AM)
D80 also got leh..
he's giving examples of new models la, not to left out D80...
TSkimurastanley
post May 24 2009, 10:05 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 24 2009, 02:56 AM)
he's giving examples of new models la, not to left out D80...
forget D80 already..... discontinued already tongue.gif tongue.gif
loon1031
post May 24 2009, 10:08 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 23 2009, 10:20 AM)

Wellcome to Penang ...
If you visit during CNY, more beautiful scenery at night.

General_Nic
post May 24 2009, 01:34 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ May 24 2009, 10:08 AM)
Wellcome to Penang ...
If you visit during CNY, more beautiful scenery at night.

wow, like neon city drool.gif
kinda like scenery from Tokyo or HK city night time
robb234
post May 24 2009, 03:17 PM

106 posts

hay guise,
i'm kind of thinking to get me a D60
but i can't find any pricing info in 1st page
so anyone know what's the current street price now ?

thx guise

126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:38 AM