197 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V17, The secret is yet to be unleashed...

XiuKeong
post Apr 30 2009, 03:06 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Apr 30 2009, 02:59 AM)
I think its nearly 2 years plus since I was the Overclockers United daily poster and after a longgggg 'holiday' I would like to start again...

But before I start, I would like to ask regarding which boards listed below would be the best for OC stuffs...

Probably go for the 780G chipset, but I still find there are variations of SB700 and SB750. Is the later has better functions? Owh and I probably pair it with 7750 BE...

1.Gigabyte MA78GM-S2H
2.ECS A780GM-A Ultra
3.ASUS M3A78 Pro
I've paired 7750BE with MA78GM-S2H before. Manage to get 3.0ghz out from it.
kuntawakaw
post Apr 30 2009, 03:09 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 29 2009, 02:13 AM)
lower multi also cant go 300mhz.. owh.. wc. my cooler crappy one.. 64pro only. later ill ty harder..how about the vcore? now i +0.06v make it 1.44v. not sufficient cooling to pump more.
i tried with x5 multi last time... myb shud borow my fren red scorpion for a while.. mind to tell u running ur rig with what core speed for daily use? not banchmarking.

vnb and vht? is that safe since i use stock nb heatsink only.. planing to change . nxt week maybe.. owho.vnb and vht is what mobo voltage are am i right? was wondering how to increase the mobo voltage before.thanks.will try. and. in hwmonitor.. is the tmpin2 shows nb temp?
all sifu..can i have my answer here? still curious
verdict
post Apr 30 2009, 06:16 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

Im retire for a while...consider half way OCER...as my second MOBO might follow as the first one.... doh.gif

RMA schooling... sweat.gif sweat.gif
cyberloner
post Apr 30 2009, 06:18 AM

1,560 posts

I think its nearly 2 years plus since I was the Overclockers United daily poster and after a longgggg 'holiday' I would like to start again...

But before I start, I would like to ask regarding which boards listed below would be the best for OC stuffs...

Probably go for the 780G chipset, but I still find there are variations of SB700 and SB750. Is the later has better functions? Owh and I probably pair it with 7750 BE...

1.Gigabyte MA78GM-S2H
2.ECS A780GM-A Ultra
3.ASUS M3A78 Pro
None of that... DFI 790FXB M2RSH tongue.gif
I remember argue with u smile.gif
fuzore
post Apr 30 2009, 08:11 AM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

1.Gigabyte MA78GM-S2H
2.ECS A780GM-A Ultra
3.ASUS M3A78 Pro
hu..hu..hu... bro why still wanna play with 780g for oc.... htpc ok la....

straight go either 790GX or FX la ..... still much2 more choice.... and u should alredy know that rite... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 8:19 am@verdict update ur database la... my 4.0ghz still not listed la...

This post has been edited by fuzore: Apr 30 2009, 08:19 AM
verdict
post Apr 30 2009, 08:21 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

Going for Intel Rig after this as i might send both of my DK to RMA... whistling.gif

Phenom II future user please submit your result to my Phenom II data base...

Phenom II only... brows.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by verdict: Apr 30 2009, 08:24 AM
hezda
post Apr 30 2009, 08:23 AM

402 posts

I'd pushed my X4 810 to 3GHz with stock cooler... biggrin.gif and also with unlocked extra 2MB cache with the ACC trick. Now I have a PII X4 940 already.
cloudwan
post Apr 30 2009, 08:23 AM

- Knob -
8,517 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Apr 30 2009, 08:21 AM)
Going for Intel Rig after this as i might send both of my DK to RMA... whistling.gif
Send for RMA?? Then while waiting for RMA lend me ur 955 or 940 ah brows.gif brows.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 8:24 am
QUOTE(hezda @ Apr 30 2009, 08:23 AM)
I'd pushed my X4 810 to 3GHz with stock cooler... biggrin.gif and also with unlocked extra 2MB cache with the ACC trick. Now I have a PII X4 940 already.
Ur using what mobo?? hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Apr 30 2009, 08:24 AM
hezda
post Apr 30 2009, 08:29 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 30 2009, 08:23 AM)

Ur using what mobo??  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Asus M4N78 Pro... not ACC though, it's NCC (Nvidia Core Calibration). biggrin.gif
verdict
post Apr 30 2009, 08:32 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Apr 30 2009, 09:11 AM)
hu..hu..hu... bro why still wanna play with 780g for oc.... htpc ok la....

straight go either 790GX or FX la ..... still much2 more choice.... and u should alredy know that rite... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 8:19 am@verdict update ur database la... my 4.0ghz still not listed la...

Done updating la BRO... whistling.gif

Sorry for late update as i busy with my current work... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by verdict: Apr 30 2009, 08:32 AM
fuzore
post Apr 30 2009, 08:35 AM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Apr 30 2009, 08:29 AM)
Asus M4N78 Pro... not ACC though, it's NCC (Nvidia Core Calibration).  biggrin.gif
Wow didnt know nvidia chipset could actually do this kind of thing...

bro u still giving up on the CCF arrr.... dont wanna give it a last try ahhh... tongue.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 8:37 am
QUOTE(verdict @ Apr 30 2009, 08:32 AM)
Done updating la BRO... whistling.gif

Sorry for late update as i busy with my current work... laugh.gif
where cannot see my 4.0ghz suicide mode in list only the 3.9ghz... whistling.gif

wei why ur DK all going boink..boink... ha... go and get gaygay 790FXT la bro .... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by fuzore: Apr 30 2009, 08:37 AM
cloudwan
post Apr 30 2009, 08:37 AM

- Knob -
8,517 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Apr 30 2009, 08:35 AM)
Wow didnt know nvidia chipset could actually do this kind of thing...

bro u still giving up on the CCF arrr.... dont wanna give it a last try ahhh... tongue.gif
Tuh lah 1st time hearing this.. sweat.gif

cdlim87
post Apr 30 2009, 08:38 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 29 2009, 10:59 PM)
owh.. last time i read goldfries article...iirc he said ram will not getting too hot and the fins and the fan for ram is more to deco rather than cooling. i donno is that correct..
or isit ram easily affected by small increment of heat only?
so ur ram setting will stay at 400..i keep that in mind and copy u since u have more exp than me..
my bad aod cant be use in my system... so it will be troublesome to enter bios each time to change clock...
now i stick at 2.5gb and my ram at 667 only since i have to limit myself from play any games... (2moro will be the last and the toughest exam to be faced)

Added on April 29, 2009, 11:02 pm

thinking of 4gb kit..1066.rockrock sell it real cheap.donno how long the price will last.
is there anything that i need to know about the 2gb one?
yup mostly i will make my ram run at 800mhz. oni few time run in OC'ed condition.. neway its depend on ur own taste too.. wink.gif

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ Apr 29 2009, 11:05 PM)
Im actually planning to buy this M3A78CM Mobo from our fellow lyn member.. now just wondering if this mobo is suitable for gaming and OC-ing.. really interested in gettin this..

anyways plan to match it up with a 7750BE AMD proc.

maybe some sifu can guide me what kind of mobo good for OC and gaming  my budget is actually not more than 250 for mobo.. and im gettin the M3A78CM for RM220 used 5 months only.. so people advice me !

anyways this mobo got potential to OC properly ah.. 450w should be able to run this mobo and the 7750BE ryte.

Added on April 29, 2009, 11:07 pmanybody sellin 7850 BE ah? interested in it le..
make it fair, i shoud tell u this board not really allow u OC nicely... 2.8-3.0GHz hopefully no prob blush.gif

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 29 2009, 11:22 PM)
my bad...
one more question
if i obtain the 1066mhz one, so i can keep my ram running fast with high htt.
but the hyper x 1066 one is cl5... and the 800 one available in cl4..
the latency and the mhz... which one will be more advantage? (or need i post it in ram thread?)
this is a nice ques that u gotto test by ur own n tell every1 here.. coz at diff cont, it hv diff result.. sometimes tight timing with lower speed can do better then higher speed loose timming. but is not 800 vs 1066 laaa, that is too much diff.....

the best 1 still the high speed low timing.. , to get this , pump ur vDIMM to 2.5-2.6v, am i rite master ram? (point to xixo tongue.gif )

QUOTE(shinjun @ Apr 29 2009, 11:48 PM)
I guess the answer will soon to be reveal.

I think the winner should be the Asus. :/lol:
lol...
BTW js ask ask laaa.. see which 1 ppl prefer... me still prefer asus M4A79T-DLX brows.gif

QUOTE(nazseha @ Apr 30 2009, 01:54 AM)
Thanks boss/sifu/otai/master/guru... :/lol:

rite now still nid to sell my mobo first..then maybe wanna grab the m4a78t-e...looks damn tempting... :/drool:

btw,here is my oc rite now...prime95 and OCCT stable for 1 hour+..will try for 1 nite tonite..

if push to 3.3ghz , OCCT few mins cannot stable d...and any sifu here can give any suggestion to push more? Thanks...  :/respect:
NO bro.. that is AM3/DDR3 board, cnt fit urs...unless change to AM3 chip..~
if u get its bro m4a78-e, that will be not nice due to the stupid GC slot(master at bottom doh.gif )

1.Gigabyte MA78GM-S2H
2.ECS A780GM-A Ultra
3.ASUS M3A78 Pro
welcome sir!
i would say board with ACC will help ur phenom architecture chip OC futher...
which mean only board come with SB710 and SB750 support ACC feature.. hope this help. nod.gif
casperito
post Apr 30 2009, 09:01 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Apr 30 2009, 06:16 AM)
Im retire for a while...consider half way OCER...as my second MOBO might follow as the first one.... doh.gif

RMA schooling... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
QUOTE(verdict @ Apr 30 2009, 08:21 AM)

Phenom II future user please submit your result to my Phenom II data base...

Phenom II only... brows.gif  whistling.gif
retire konon... cheh... tak leh caye... tau2 g bli mobo baru trus...
going for intel? ekekekeke
ah_khoo
post Apr 30 2009, 09:15 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 29 2009, 07:25 PM)
Guys, do u think a very good PSU is also a factor to get the system prime stable??
I'm starting to feel like my PSU is holding me back plak :/sweat:
yup, fat + stable +12v rail(s) is essential for prime stable. get a decent 750watter lah bro, like zeus series of silverstone or others. smile.gif

QUOTE(bobiac @ Apr 29 2009, 07:54 PM)
lapped my ori heatsink juz now.
noticed a 5C temp diff lol. before this 35++, now oni 30.
hats off to u bro, 5'c is alot seriously... rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 29 2009, 10:01 PM)
i guess i pretty much understand about the ratio..but still not quite undersand about the divider setting.
found this
[attachmentid=935088]
http://www.overclock.net/amd-memory/146129...m-dividers.html
can pls tell me how it works and how to calculate.. since im using 10.5x multi..im taking the 10x multii only
download cpucalc @ HERE, from d gui u'll have some idea how d freq is calculated.

source HERE

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 29 2009, 10:02 PM)
DK 790FXB-M2RSH and JR 790GX-M2RS...
dk fxb = atx w/ 790fx, jr 790 = matx w/ 790gx. smile.gif

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 29 2009, 10:08 PM)
Funding :/hehe:
But does GGB have the same performance as D?
ggb ddr2 board (790gx ud4 something) has cold boot issue, not a great choice if u ask me, however, their ddr3 790fx board is doin rather well. d only few boards can match or even better than fxb are a$u$ top tier 790fx boards. price wise u know i know loh... rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 29 2009, 10:25 PM)
but if the ram limiting? personally, which one u prefer? stay close to htt or doesnt care the gab is too much?
depend on ya ram, if ur havin atleast an agena & ya ram can clock around 1066 or higher, u can always go for low htt, & high multi w/ ddr1066 divider. if not, u got play around w/ htt a 'lil. gone were d days that high fsb give better performance (d gud old athlon xp day), now, it's d MHz that counts. wink.gif

QUOTE(condevil @ Apr 29 2009, 10:55 PM)
oi lim i want oc my bike can ka kekkekekekee later gath tapau me some ln2 :/P
hint for extreme oc ke bang sepul... drool.gif

QUOTE(condevil @ Apr 29 2009, 11:17 PM)
DK BURNOUT hu hu hu hu
sshhh.... later ppl will get scare to buy 790fxb lah bang... tongue.gif

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 29 2009, 11:22 PM)
my bad...
one more question
if i obtain the 1066mhz one, so i can keep my ram running fast with high htt.
but the hyper x 1066 one is cl5... and the 800 one available in cl4..
the latency and the mhz... which one will be more advantage? (or need i post it in ram thread?)
tight timin always need more volts, where else loose timin @ higher freq need less. performance wise ofcoz d tighter d better, but i wouldn't run my ram @ tight timin for 24/7 for sure, for benchies only still ok. google around timing vs frequency, u'll easily get ya answer. at > 1066, loose timin (5-5-5-x) mite pwn tight timin @ < 450 (4-4-4-x) in some test iirc.

QUOTE(anep @ Apr 30 2009, 02:48 AM)
been a while since my last post here.. got some question here.. last time my rig can reached 3204mhz on orthos >1hour stable but now after changed my ram to crucial D9 the same setting not stable.. edy pumped 2.1vdimm there+active cooling.. i tink my previous DHX better..
lower down d divider, prime w/ same vcore, like that u can know which one is causin d problem. imc behave differently w/ diff kinda ram, u can't expect d same vcore all d time w/ diff modules used.

1.Gigabyte MA78GM-S2H
2.ECS A780GM-A Ultra
3.ASUS M3A78 Pro
780g will definitely limit ya oc sir, from d 3, only ecs board come w/ sb750, which has an edge over others as acc does help in bringin d best outta some chips. spec wise it's d best too as it's d only board offers esata. however, bios could be d weak point of it since bro casperito mentioned that there are voltage limitations, which is important for mid~heavy oc. at d end of d day, budget & how u gonna use d board will influence ya decision on which board u'll get. asus would be d most expensive one i guess. tough call if i were to choose one, gigabyte would be d least favorite, ecs has gud specs but bios mite be an issue, asus is better in bios but w/ sb700 only. i believe none of 'em are suitable for heavy oc (chipset limitation). biostar 790gx series (be it matx or atx) would be a better choice if budget is allowed. i think that's d max one can spend on a board (any higher end board will seriously overkill) for a 7750 chip unless u plan to upgrade d chip at later stage. my 2 cents only sir... nod.gif

QUOTE(verdict @ Apr 30 2009, 06:16 AM)
Im retire for a while...consider half way OCER...as my second MOBO might follow as the first one.... :/x

RMA schooling... :/sweat:  :/sweat:
ape dah jadi bro... my dk never have problem but yas... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Apr 30 2009, 09:44 AM
antonio
post Apr 30 2009, 09:16 AM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Apr 30 2009, 06:18 AM)
None of that... DFI 790FXB M2RSH  tongue.gif
I remember argue with u  smile.gif
Hehehehe...such an irony to have you vouching for DFI....because at the time when we both 'discussed' you were in the Abit camp and me was the DFI camp (and seller too)....

Anyway, I wont be spending that kinda money nowadays primarily for OC....i think the 7750 and any 780G boards that I've listed would suffice my everyday use already...

thanks... smile.gif

QUOTE(cdlim87 @ Apr 30 2009, 08:38 AM)

welcome sir!
i would say board with ACC will help ur phenom architecture chip OC futher...
which mean only board come with SB710 and SB750 support ACC feature.. hope this help.  nod.gif
ok then, will look for the ACC.... nod.gif
cdlim87
post Apr 30 2009, 09:40 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 30 2009, 09:15 AM)
780g will definitely limit ya oc sir, from d 3, only ecs board come w/ sb750, which is has an edge over others as acc does help in bringin d best outta some chips. spec wise it's d best too as it's only board offers esata. however, bios could be d weak point of it since bro casperito mentioned that there are voltage limitations, which is important for mid~heavy oc. at d end of d day, budget & how u gonna use d board will influence ya decision on which board u'll get. asus would be d most expensive one i guess. tough call if i were to choose one, gigabyte would be d least favorite, ecs has gud specs but bios mite be an issue, asus is better in bios but w/ sb700 only. i believe none of 'em are suitable for heavy oc (chipset limitation). biostar 790gx series (be it matx or atx) would be a better choice if budget is allowed. i think that's d max one can spend on a board (any higher end board will seriously overkill) for a 7750 chip unless u plan to upgrade d chip at later stage. my 2 cents only sir...  :/nod:

wow, i like ur explain way bro notworthy.gif ur word is soo nice thumbup.gif

QUOTE(antonio @ Apr 30 2009, 09:16 AM)
Hehehehe...such an irony to have you vouching for DFI....because at the time when we both 'discussed' you were in the Abit camp and me was the DFI camp (and seller too)....

Anyway, I wont be spending that kinda money nowadays primarily for OC....i think the 7750 and any 780G boards that I've listed would suffice my everyday use already...

thanks... :/)
ok then, will look for the ACC.... :/nod:
its too bad Abit stop production, else it would be our best budget choice.. am i rite??
even i nvr use it, but seem heard a lot of its positive support word since im here.. nod.gif

well, sir, if u dun mind do a small top up, BIOSTAR ta790gx 128M should be nice match with the 7750BE, IMO laaa biggrin.gif

but gotto do some trade off if getting 128M
(GC primary slot at bottom, CMOS jumper will get block IINM, else it is a nice board thou wub.gif )

_________________________________________________________________________________

BTW, i spend a few time to ply with my chip,

found out:
3360 | 1.400v (#core0 pass, #core1 not exact in round)
3360 | 1.425v (passed)
3375 | 1.425v (passed)
3390 | 1.425v (#core0 pass, #core1 not exact in round)
3390 | 1.450v (passed)
3405 | 1.450v (#core0 pass, #core1 not exact in round)

** tested with HyperPI 0.98b running 1M calculation only#
**settting: cpu multi x15, HTlink multi x4, ram setting at 533 stock timing only#
*test stop at 1.450v coz that is the max voltage in AOD only#

i would say its not easy for me to get 3400 prime stable coz seem 1 of the core really not that "gem", only 1 core can do a good job even with low vCORE..
i may get better result if i disable 1 core.. any idea? smile.gif

This post has been edited by cdlim87: Apr 30 2009, 09:55 AM
tictac
post Apr 30 2009, 10:13 AM

2,520 posts

Now running on AMD Turion X2 2.2GHz
AMD 780G with ATI3450 512MB DDR2 Sideport memory
Memory DDR2 800 6-6-6-15

doh.gif
cloudwan
post Apr 30 2009, 10:15 AM

- Knob -
8,517 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 30 2009, 09:15 AM)
yup, fat + stable +12v rail(s) is essential for prime stable. get a decent 750watter lah bro, like zeus series of silverstone or others.  smile.gif
Perghhhh bro, where got moneyh lagi to burn sweat.gif
All d duit tersepak tepi jalan burn out already biggrin.gif
Whut do u think about FSP Epsilon 600W *The one with the robot pic at d box*
Ok or not?? Thinkin of using my cc buy it at ALL IT BP.. sweat.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 10:18 am
QUOTE(tictac @ Apr 30 2009, 10:13 AM)
Now running on AMD Turion X2 2.2GHz
AMD 780G with ATI3450 512MB DDR2 Sideport memory
Memory DDR2 800 6-6-6-15

doh.gif
bro tictac ur o/c'ing ur lappy??? doh.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Apr 30 2009, 10:18 AM
tictac
post Apr 30 2009, 10:19 AM

2,520 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 30 2009, 10:15 AM)
Perghhhh bro, where got moneyh lagi to burn sweat.gif
All d duit tersepak tepi jalan burn out already biggrin.gif
Whut do u think about FSP Epsilon 600W *The one with the robot pic at d box*
Ok or not?? Thinkin of using my cc buy it at ALL IT BP.. sweat.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 10:18 am

bro tictac ur o/c'ing ur lappy???  doh.gif
Apply kad kredit je bro... Sentiasa ada money... Be Happy thumbup.gif icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif

197 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:55 AM