28 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Official Microsoft Sidewinder Thread, Every Sidewinder - Framed and Reviewed

Aura
post Apr 29 2009, 09:25 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

The rated 30 hrs is actually continuous usage on one go based on full charge...
wingster
post Apr 30 2009, 02:45 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

hehe going to get my beloved X8 .... good bye my Explorer Mousie .... >.<
eternity4av
post Apr 30 2009, 04:46 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Apr 30 2009, 02:45 PM)
hehe going to get my beloved X8 .... good bye my Explorer Mousie .... >.<
wow, congratz 1st, lolz, waiting for your reviews!
wingster
post Apr 30 2009, 09:36 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by wingster: May 9 2009, 01:15 AM
Silverfire
post Apr 30 2009, 09:46 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

WOW! Didn't knew SideWinder X8 will have QA/QC issue... Wanted to buy it from kingcom few days ago until I saw Razer Mamba coming to M'sia...
eternity4av
post Apr 30 2009, 10:51 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Apr 30 2009, 09:36 PM)
Alright finally take off my X8 ... Sidewinder

Here's my self review:

First I like the mouse design, looks more sexy than G9 Gaming Mouse. This mouse has 4000 dpi which good for RTS game and fast dpi user ...

However I starting to hate the mouse ... after I found the cons

1) Dunno some Sidewinder X8 user, I'm has the unbalancing Mouse Feet ! What the hell which means the mouse feet comes with certain unbalancing stances, I did change all the mouse feet I found out that the mouse will be comes unbalance is because the 2 mouse feet at the back part of the Sidewinder mouse, seriously this is troublesome while playing FPS game, how do I describe ... while you use sniper or toggle your mouse will lean down! what the makes the mouse keeps shaking until I mad ... and the end I remove 2 of the mouse feet at the back and yet it becomes smooth and precision .... however still can feel the unbalance because losing of the 2 mouse feet but is better than wearing that 2 mouse feet at the back.

Another shit or maybe the advantage of the DISADVANTAGES .. the mouse punk cannot be used under 2.0 USB port means you cannot plug in any G15, Reclusa, Sidewinder keyboard because is high energy supply.

Last cons is oh yea scroll problem, scroll down still fine but when scroll you will said what the hell is .... kek kek kek sound will heard on your ears, but this is the small cons than the others two

Now conclusions ... dunno is my problem I found that X8 is a nice but still bad mouse
this is gonna increase my doubts in getting x8
wingster
post May 1 2009, 10:58 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

However after the study of this mouse, ya it has much pros than cons
expect the mouse feet problem (because thats my problem) ...

This mouse has very good thumb button design, instead of using the front and back thumb button, Sidewinder series breaking the design by using top and bottom thumb button, in X8 the design is much more better because the button are dent inside and feet in with the thumb make it comfort and easy to press off without tweaking off your thumbnail.

The main clicking button, in my feel this mouse clicking has a fast clicking feel (meaning the click down and up feel is faster)

Lastly the Intellpoint software, yet I say the Precision Booster and the 360 Angle Turning is an ownage ability in FPS, first precision booster can slow down your mouse movement even the mouse pointer dpi sensor is quite high, you can use it while you facing difficulty of switching dpi in speed. Yeap, meaning you using your sniper rifle and aim the enemy in slow and precision while holding on the button (Precision Booster) after you kill off, release off the button and switch to normal settings fps aim.
And thats the only function I do like very much ...... in FPS is awesome !

About the mouse feet, yup those spare mouse feet has thier small tiny difference on each surface ..

Black mouse feet
-Smooth in half transparent glass, smooth metallic surface and marble surface but quite little rough in wood(smooth) surface, very rough in wall or solid surface

White mouse feet
-Smooth in half transparent glass, smooth metallic suface and marble also very smooth wooden surface but little tiny rough on smooth wooden surface followed by wall and solid surface also

Grey mouse feet
-Smooth in smooth to very smooth wooden surface, pvc table surface and paper surface but rough in most solid, metallic surface

... and actually not much difference also =_= just the grey mouse feet show a little difference

yet still not disappoint me yet ... I contact with kingom and he can help me to change the mouse ... =.=

eternity4av
post May 1 2009, 12:31 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

wow, this is damm detailed review, thanks. how about pinned this at front page?
auraxis
post May 1 2009, 01:02 PM

39 posts

Is the promo in thundermatch still available? going to reach mas in 1 week.
eternity4av
post May 1 2009, 04:35 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

mind to elaborate more on which product that have promo at thundermatch?
XiuKeong
post May 1 2009, 04:39 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Seems like quite a good mouse indeed. Does the X8 tracking good in wood table? Feel like getting it for my laptop.
wingster
post May 1 2009, 06:15 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by wingster: May 9 2009, 01:16 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSEnigmare
post May 2 2009, 09:37 AM

Microsoft SideWinder™ Maverick
550 posts

Finally! Another fellow X8 user! What's with the Unbalanced feet? Care to take a picture to show?? I've never experienced that problem before...

Anyway, I've linked your reviews to the first page wingster. wink.gif Hope to hear more positive comments (hopefully laugh.gif) from u soon..
wingster
post May 3 2009, 09:55 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

yea ... by the way Im seal back the mouse for exchange ....

hope to get a really 100% non-problematical problem to me again ..

astria
post May 4 2009, 12:03 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

hi bros...

i am interested with Sidewinder and Sidewinder X5...

wanna hear some opinions abt them, especially the bad... ( i can always read the good in MS website)

which one is more worthy???

i am going to use it with a laptop, btw...

thx

Added on May 4, 2009, 12:47 amoh yeah, for X8 rit, issit suitable for laptop users??? cuz wingster said the diameter of the dongle is 8cm, which is still pretty bulky...

This post has been edited by astria: May 4 2009, 12:47 AM
Aura
post May 4 2009, 12:52 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ May 1 2009, 06:15 PM)
Surfaces                                         Performance
_______                                         ___________
Cloth                                                    Weak
What kind of cloth 1st??? I'm using a cloth mousepad and I dun hav any problems with it.... Explain weak... I've tested between exactMat and Qck..... Conclusion is both feels the same to me.....

Added on May 4, 2009, 12:54 am
QUOTE(astria @ May 4 2009, 12:03 AM)
hi bros...

i am interested with Sidewinder and Sidewinder X5...

wanna hear some opinions abt them, especially the bad... ( i can always read the good in MS website)

which one is more worthy???

i am going to use it with a laptop, btw...

thx

Added on May 4, 2009, 12:47 amoh yeah, for X8 rit, issit suitable for laptop users??? cuz wingster said the diameter of the dongle is 8cm, which is still pretty bulky...
Go for X8.... I will avoid Sidewinder and X5 due to the design and comfort level that it delivers....

The reason why the dongle is kind of large is bcos it houses 2 sets of mouse feet and it helps u to manage ur cables....

This post has been edited by Aura: May 4 2009, 12:54 AM
astria
post May 4 2009, 01:03 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

ya, i understand y the size, but i am going to use it with my laptop + moving around pretty often... thus i find the dongle may be cumbersome...
Aura
post May 4 2009, 01:49 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 4 2009, 01:03 AM)
ya, i understand y the size, but i am going to use it with my laptop + moving around pretty often...  thus i find the dongle may be cumbersome...
I also understand.... It is actually ur choice.... But I prefer that a mouse should give u comfort in terms of long usage.... That's why I suggest X8.... So, to me, the dongle won't be cumbersome..... Personal preference.... Depends on u...
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 4 2009, 05:12 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Apr 26 2009, 05:17 PM)
BlueTrack is the next generation of Laser tracking fellas... Unlike normal laser mice, this mice can track on Glass and Marble. wink.gif Oh, and no, there are only 2 mice so far with BlueTrack tech - Microsoft's X8 and the Intellimouse Explorer something if not mistaken...
BlueTrack its Optical (BlueLight) not Laser.

Blue Specular Optics
Microsoft’s proprietary high-angle imaging optics generate more exact surface images — even of shiny surfaces such as granite and marble — instead of blurry, out-of-focus images, as can be produced by many of the leading laser mice. And blue light helps create high-resolution, high-contrast images for better navigation.

Four Times as Wide, More Diffuse Beam for Better Imaging and Tracking
The wider beam enables illumination of a larger surface area and allows more light to return to the sensor. This helps for tracking on irregular surfaces such as carpet, where smaller laser beams often get lost between the individual fibers. The BlueTrack Technology light source is optimized to provide illumination at the tracking surface that is more uniform than current laser or optical mice. This illumination is accomplished by using a new optical element, never before used in a mouse. The light source is encapsulated in a diffusing optic that smoothes out hot spots within the illumination profile. While the concept of diffused lighting is well known, the application of diffused light sources to mice is a Microsoft proprietary technology.

Incoherent Blue Light
Laser mice use coherent light that’s easily disrupted by dust and dirt, leading to poor tracking. The Explorer Mouse and Explorer Mini Mouse’s incoherent blue light doesn’t have the extreme sensitivity to dust, so the signal quality is maintained. This means your mouse will provide excellent performance even in a less than clean environment — you’ll get great precision performance in a dusty workshop or outdoors just as you do on an ideal clean surface.

Q: Why is a Blue LED light better than a red one or a laser? How does its DPI compare to other mice technologies?
A: Blue light allows the sensor to capture a high-contrast image of the surface. For example, the blue light beneficially interacts with fluorescent dyes in some surfaces to increase the amount of reflected light relative to an infrared laser beam. The physics is similar to that of the “blue light” used in crime-scene TV shows to examine surfaces for police investigations.

QUOTE(wingster @ Apr 30 2009, 09:36 PM)
Another shit or maybe the advantage of the DISADVANTAGES .. the mouse punk cannot be used under 2.0 USB port means you cannot plug in any G15, Reclusa, Sidewinder keyboard because is high energy supply.
Its normal that a high performance gaming mice to plug-in direct to yer pc due power-consumption as even my old DiamondBack Plasma LE has issue power it up if i don't direct plug into my pc.

Not to sure what u said abt "the mouse puck cannot be used under 2.0 USB port means you cannot plug in any G15, Reclusa, Sidewinder keyboard".

Is it you meant that can't be use on USB 1.1 ports?..

Btw, its "puck" (as it looks like a ice hockey puck) not "punk"... sweat.gif

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 4 2009, 06:56 AM
wingster
post May 4 2009, 08:38 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ May 4 2009, 05:12 AM)
BlueTrack its Optical (BlueLight) not Laser.

Blue Specular Optics
Microsoft’s proprietary high-angle imaging optics generate more exact surface images — even of shiny surfaces such as granite and marble — instead of blurry, out-of-focus images, as can be produced by many of the leading laser mice. And blue light helps create high-resolution, high-contrast images for better navigation.

Four Times as Wide, More Diffuse Beam for Better Imaging and Tracking
The wider beam enables illumination of a larger surface area and allows more light to return to the sensor. This helps for tracking on irregular surfaces such as carpet, where smaller laser beams often get lost between the individual fibers. The BlueTrack Technology light source is optimized to provide illumination at the tracking surface that is more uniform than current laser or optical mice. This illumination is accomplished by using a new optical element, never before used in a mouse. The light source is encapsulated in a diffusing optic that smoothes out hot spots within the illumination profile. While the concept of diffused lighting is well known, the application of diffused light sources to mice is a Microsoft proprietary technology.

Incoherent Blue Light
Laser mice use coherent light that’s easily disrupted by dust and dirt, leading to poor tracking. The Explorer Mouse and Explorer Mini Mouse’s incoherent blue light doesn’t have the extreme sensitivity to dust, so the signal quality is maintained. This means your mouse will provide excellent performance even in a less than clean environment — you’ll get great precision performance in a dusty workshop or outdoors just as you do on an ideal clean surface.

Q:    Why is a Blue LED light better than a red one or a laser? How does its DPI compare to other mice technologies?
A:    Blue light allows the sensor to capture a high-contrast image of the surface. For example, the blue light beneficially interacts with fluorescent dyes in some surfaces to increase the amount of reflected light relative to an infrared laser beam. The physics is similar to that of the “blue light” used in crime-scene TV shows to examine surfaces for police investigations.

Its normal that a high performance gaming mice to plug-in direct to yer pc due power-consumption as even my old DiamondBack Plasma LE has issue power it up if i don't direct plug into my pc.

Not to sure what u said abt "the mouse puck cannot be used under 2.0 USB port means you cannot plug in any G15, Reclusa, Sidewinder keyboard".

Is it you meant that can't be use on USB 1.1 ports?..

Btw, its "puck" (as it looks like a ice hockey puck) not "punk"...  sweat.gif

Cheers smile.gif
maybe I angry of the puck called it as punk .... thanks for the correction

hmm doesn't Bluetrack is the next generation after laser?
but yes you rite that it is optic ...

And yes ... This mouse does not support 1.1 USB port due to the huge combination ...

hmm ...

Added on May 4, 2009, 8:53 am
QUOTE(astria @ May 4 2009, 01:03 AM)
ya, i understand y the size, but i am going to use it with my laptop + moving around pretty often...  thus i find the dongle may be cumbersome...
bro ... the dongle is all in package .... so is still good for portable since it expel the charger and the huge socket ....

well I suggest to find sumthing to hang on or put your dongle into your beg might be better ... but still need a small table or some space for your mouse is a must ... if you can't then better yo use your laptop pad .... for controlling the mouse

oh well for the battery no need to afraid ... once you did charge 2 hours, you can use up to 70 hours if you not seriously gaming or to clearly tell you that ,... you don't always continues for spamming the mouse click or macros continuously ...

even is 8 cm .. but portable charging still another pro's of the portable usage .... instead of find the plug for charging go usb plug and charge thats simple =2=

Added on May 4, 2009, 8:56 am
@Aura

err.... sorry for weak mention I mean the T-Shirt cloths we wearing everyday

never try for the mousepad

This post has been edited by wingster: May 4 2009, 12:02 PM

28 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:15 PM