156 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions

toobad
post Dec 2 2012, 06:07 PM

291 posts

Hello, is there a better/cheaper plan than Umobile UMI 28? I personally like the unlimited (500MB) data.
http://www.u.com.my/prepaid/unlimited-mobile-internet

I'm not planning to sign any postpaid contract at the moment because I already have one.

Which telco offers the cheapest prepaid calls/sms rate with 3G internet besides Digi?

aspire2oo6
post Dec 2 2012, 07:04 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Dec 2 2012, 06:07 PM)
Hello, is there a better/cheaper plan than Umobile UMI 28? I personally like the unlimited (500MB) data.
http://www.u.com.my/prepaid/unlimited-mobile-internet

I'm not planning to sign any postpaid contract at the moment because I already have one.

Which telco offers the cheapest prepaid calls/sms rate with 3G internet besides Digi?
Just tell yourself digi also is cheap in price , internet bandwidth and stability. If I am not wrong speed is 700kbps only max. The cheapest is maxis skmm rm25 monthly can reach up to 2mbps to 7mbps depending on location and phone with good coverage and stability.

Rm25 for 700mb. I using on my ipad 3

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Dec 2 2012, 07:06 PM
toobad
post Dec 2 2012, 11:23 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 2 2012, 07:04 PM)
Just tell yourself digi also is cheap in price , internet bandwidth and stability. If I am not wrong speed is 700kbps only max.  The cheapest is maxis skmm rm25 monthly can reach up to 2mbps to 7mbps depending on location and phone with good coverage and stability.

Rm25 for 700mb. I using on my ipad 3
Hello,

I'm more concerned regarding coverage and bandwidth. The speed doesn't really matter to me because I don't usually browse the internet with my phone, only whatsapp.

Yes digi has a reputation of bad coverage but has been one of the cheapest by far. So just want to check if there are any bad reviews on umobile UMI 28 prepaid plan? in terms of coverage?
aspire2oo6
post Dec 2 2012, 11:26 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Dec 2 2012, 11:23 PM)
Hello,

I'm more concerned regarding coverage and bandwidth. The speed doesn't really matter to me because I don't usually browse the internet with my phone, only whatsapp. 

Yes digi has a reputation of bad coverage but has been one of the cheapest by far. So just want to check if there are any bad reviews on umobile UMI 28 prepaid plan? in terms of coverage?
many said in city umobile is excellent but outstation abit bad
toobad
post Dec 2 2012, 11:40 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 2 2012, 11:26 PM)
many said in city umobile is excellent but outstation abit bad
lol okay. I guess UMI28 it is then! until the new samsung galaxy comes out then i'll sign a post paid.

Thank you for your info!
Cynox
post Dec 3 2012, 01:12 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

I am thinking of getting a line for my son so that he can call me when he has finished his tuition. I am currently using Maxis Surfmore 50. What is the best cost effective plan i should get for this purpose? I won't mind prepaid or post paid - just need to be the cheapest in term of yearly. Thinking of signing up a new Maxis sub-line and paid RM10 every month plus some minimal call charges but i heard there is a DiGi prepaid plan which they charge RM30 per year and the call charges is pay as you use. I can't find that DiGi plan at their web site.
Chisinlouz
post Dec 4 2012, 11:09 AM

848 posts

Hi, currently planning to get a Note 2.

Interested to get Digi Smartplan RM38, because now it has promotion of internet @2gb for 24 months after sign up

1) My internet usage is only FB, whatsapp, maybe viber in future; not too often thou. FB only scroll down and sometimes see leng lui pics.. haha
2) Not many calls per month. I assume 60-90 min is max. Often sms, if data plan comes in, watsapp will replace sms alrdy.
3) Heavy usage ie: youtube/playstore i will use wifi at home.

Question:
1) Better getting bundle or buy phone and telco plan seperately? I plan to get seperate at the moment.
2) First time getting into smartphone. Now only using Galaxy Y; prepaid; surfing internet currently is via wifi at home. Is line coverage affecting the internet as well? No line=no internet?
3) old question: charges. Digi page shown rm38 monthly bill. Im confuse whether the plan is for data only, or is inclusive voice call/sms.. too good to be true for me
4) if i choose to buy bundle with phone; the proposed plan is a MESS for me.. especially EPP.
5) I am existing digi prepaid card user, can i maintain my number if i change into postpaid?

Kindly assist.. serious to get it now after N months of waiting.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Chisinlouz: Dec 4 2012, 11:13 AM
toobad
post Dec 8 2012, 10:14 PM

291 posts

So I have recently registered for Umobile prepaid, UMI 28

100 mins talk time and 30 sms and 500 MB 3G

Does anyone here who uses the prepaid notice that the network switched automatically to roaming?

WHY IS THIS HAPPENING!
capoi
post Dec 9 2012, 01:58 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Dec 8 2012, 10:14 PM)
So I have recently registered for Umobile prepaid, UMI 28

100 mins talk time and 30 sms and 500 MB 3G

Does anyone here who uses the prepaid notice that the network switched automatically to roaming?

WHY IS THIS HAPPENING!
When outside coverage it will automatically roam using maxis network. Thats normal. So far as a light user, i'm satisfied. To save usage, i recomment using opera mini for browsing and when on wifi connection i will other browser. Even at my kampung in kedah got umobile coverage.
perseides
post Dec 9 2012, 11:51 PM

140 posts

Recently i'd just saw umobile in kuching, sarawak. Im planning to take the umobile rm28 package. How is the broadband connection of umobile in kuching? Has anyone tried b4?
soulstrike29
post Dec 12 2012, 12:33 AM

59 posts

hi Guys/Gals,

I m comparing between these 2 data plan:
1) digi smart plan 48 + note 2 (total RM2951 = RM123x24months)
2) maxis surfmore 50 + note 2 (total RM2799 = 1599(device) + RM50x24months)

Question 1: is maxis plan comes in monthly installment (data plan + device)? because i see digi plan does that.
Question 2: can maxis set a limit to my data plan quota? because i read, maxis will charge when is over quota.
Question 3: how much is free talk time and free sms on both plan?
Question 4: comparing these 2 plan, which 1 worth while? because i see the offer content is same (both 2GB, both around RM50)
Question 5: if you were given these 2 plan, which 1 you will choose to subscribe?

Thanks for any replies / answers / comments. notworthy.gif
Cynox
post Dec 12 2012, 09:24 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(soulstrike29 @ Dec 12 2012, 12:33 AM)
hi Guys/Gals,

I m comparing between these 2 data plan:
1) digi smart plan 48 + note 2 (total RM2951 = RM123x24months)
2) maxis surfmore 50 + note 2 (total RM2799 = 1599(device) + RM50x24months)

Question 1: is maxis plan comes in monthly installment (data plan + device)? because i see digi plan does that.
Question 2: can maxis set a limit to my data plan quota? because i read, maxis will charge when is over quota.
Question 3: how much is free talk time and free sms on both plan?
Question 4: comparing these 2 plan, which 1 worth while? because i see the offer content is same (both 2GB, both around RM50)
Question 5: if you were given these 2 plan, which 1 you will choose to subscribe?

Thanks for any replies / answers / comments. notworthy.gif
A1: Maxis need to pay full amount upright. No installment.
A2: Since 3.12.12, no extra charge by Maxis after reaching quota, only speed throttled.
A3: No free talk time and sms, pay extra for whatever call/sms you use.
A4: Maxis wins hands down because of their superior connection in most area. Of course there is exception, but quite rare.
A5: Maxis definitely. I ditched DiGi after sufferring 2 years of turtle speed, now back to Maxis on blazing fast mobile internet everywhere in Johor Bahru. thumbup.gif

Unless you experience/know Maxis has bad speed in your area, it is a no brainer to get Maxis over DiGi. wink.gif
tanjinjack
post Dec 14 2012, 11:40 PM

4,122 posts

Hi all,

I am intending to subscribe to a data plan (roughly 1GB) for myself and another light data plan (<500MB) for my mum. I am looking at roughly base RM70-80 per month for both plan excluding additional calls and SMS. Any free minutes between the principal and supplementary line will be wonderful!

I really like Celcom for its best coverage, but it doesn't seem to offer a good supplementary plan for my mum (or I miss that out in the website?).
Maxis seems like a solid choice but it's not my favourite carrier for its disappointing customer service. Anyway, it's still within consideration because they have a lot of plans to choose from.
Digi promotion is good, but it's not within my consideration as their coverage (especially indoor) isn't strong enough.
UMobile has an unbelievable offering and if they roam on Maxis or Celcom with sufficient speed, it seems like the best deal! Only worry is if I need to roam all the while in Seremban (where my mum lives) and the roam is on slow network.
Don't think any other telco will have sufficient coverage in Seremban.

Any suggestion and advice?
perseides
post Dec 16 2012, 06:49 PM

140 posts

Any sifu can help give me simple direct choices?? Im gettin a smartphone and i need a minimal internet connection, (access to whatsapp, picture sending for work, and looking information on the internet,) which i think about 300mb+- per month.
Also my current monthly phone bill is quite light as i barely finish my monthly rm30 minimal digi prepaid top-ups (not connecting to the net).

Can anyone suggest a good plan for me???

And what if i need another supplementary line with light internet access with calls?

Dun mind prepaid or postpaid, just hassle free.
Is maxis value plus 50+30 for the supp line a good idea?

EDIT: im living in kch, so any other than the maxis, celcom digi provider is not a choice. (saw umobile booth in kuching but dun think dey hav good connection here)

This post has been edited by perseides: Dec 16 2012, 06:50 PM
Shadow Kun
post Dec 16 2012, 09:22 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

hey guys is it possible to convert my celcom postpaid to prepaid. not asking for the 2 in 1 prepaid in the postpaid. want to convert to the xpax prepaid i think that have no monthly dedicated fees. just wanna know if its possible. thanks
low98944
post Dec 22 2012, 07:47 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

Just want to ask, for Maxis Surfmore plan, when using Viber over 3G/HSDPA network, why Maxis still charge me?

Today, I make a very short call for about few second using Viber, why Maxis charged my RM0.05? Why it is not free since I just started my Surfmore plan yesterday. hmm.gif
kimi137
post Dec 25 2012, 10:33 AM

23 posts

guys..
is it ok to buy phone by contract with telco??
can explain about the contract..

dgboy
post Dec 25 2012, 12:16 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Dec 3 2012, 01:12 PM)
I am thinking of getting a line for my son so that he can call me when he has finished his tuition.  I am currently using Maxis Surfmore 50.  What is the best cost effective plan i should get for this purpose?  I won't mind prepaid or post paid - just need to be the cheapest in term of yearly.  Thinking of signing up a new Maxis sub-line and paid RM10 every month plus some minimal call charges but i heard there is a DiGi prepaid plan which they charge RM30 per year and the call charges is pay as you use.  I can't find that DiGi plan at their web site.
DiGi prepaid Best plan has the one year validity option for RM30. It is called Super Long Life and details can be found under Reload on their website. Best plan was updated recently and now only charges 06 sen for the first 10 seconds. Also your son could add your Maxis line as a favourite and then he could call you for only 12 sen per minute.
Mr_47
post Dec 26 2012, 02:16 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

Wanna change from current ivalue1 maxis to a cheaper one. Me and my wife. How?

Internet at least 1gb n more call

So whats the best for the both of us?

Added on December 26, 2012, 2:21 pmWhat about with call only n no internet data?

Want a very good coverage in town and out

This post has been edited by Mr_47: Dec 26 2012, 02:21 PM
Cynox
post Dec 26 2012, 04:22 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Dec 25 2012, 12:16 PM)
DiGi prepaid Best plan has the one year validity option for RM30. It is called Super Long Life and details can be found under Reload on their website. Best plan was updated recently and now only charges 06 sen for the first 10 seconds. Also your son could add your Maxis line as a favourite and then he could call you for only 12 sen per minute.
thanks a lot.... finally someone give me the exact answer i am looking for. thumbup.gif Million thanks. notworthy.gif

156 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:09 PM