Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions

capoi
post Nov 10 2012, 01:41 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Nov 10 2012, 11:18 AM)
HI,

Can anyone suggest me me the best prepaid plan for usage rm50 a month, no data plan needed , is the umobile prepaid 28 is the best?
Umobile 28 also offer 500mb data, 100minute call and 30sms. For me, that more than enough.
capoi
post Nov 11 2012, 10:42 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(nyeknyek @ Nov 11 2012, 03:28 PM)
I just bought my first smartphone so i am not familiar with data plan. Need some recommendation.

If i use internet for twitter, facebook, whatsapp, viber and a little google search sometimes, how much of internet usage i need?

50mb per day?
100mb per day?
100mb per week?

another question is can android phone use BIS plan? i'm hotlink user.
thanks smile.gif
I'm not try to recommend just want to share. Now I'm using umobile prepaid. Subscribe data plan at RM28 / month. I'm just using Corby 2. Not a really smartphone. I had install opera mini 4 to my corby 2 and it seem can save a lot of MB. After 1 week, my usage just around 50mb. Umobile offer 500mb data plan together with 100 minutes call and 30 sms. I can't review much about speed because my phone just support GPRS and EDGE. If you are not active downloader, youtuber and live stream, 500mb/month sufficient already. Before I use umobile, I'm planning to use Digi but after check coverage, Umobile have a good coverage at my village.

capoi
post Nov 16 2012, 11:28 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(help me lah @ Nov 16 2012, 04:40 PM)
Hi there,

I've got a question on whether postpaid and prepaid is better. I used to think postpaid has the most value for money, but am starting to think otherwise. For instance, U Mobile...

U Mobile postpaid U28 (RM 28/month)
Data : 1GB
Calls : -
SMS : free 100 to UMobile ; 200 to others

Sounds very decent but when I look at their prepaid...

U Mobile prepaid UMI28 (also RM 28/month)
Data : 500Mb
Calls : free 100mins (extra unused rolls over to max of 200mins)
SMS : free 30 to all (extra unused rolls over to max of 60sms)

Sounds less beneficial at first with the lower data and free sms, but when you think about it if you are a light user...in a month let's say I use 60mins of call and 20sms...I get a roll over of 40 mins calls and 10 sms-es. So if I topped up RM 28 for 1st month and I stay within the "free calls n sms" and at the end of 30days, I still have a balance of RM 28 in my credit untouched which after top up another RM 28 for next month I will have a credit of RM 56 to spare...betul kah?

Digi also have a sweet sounding prepaid deal...they even roll over data until 2GB max! What does the sifus think of prepaid and postpaid value-for-money? =)

Thank you all!
What I understand for prepaid user, we need to topup rm30 and rm28 will deduct from account. Whats left from account is rm2 with 500mb internet, 100minute call n 30sms. No more rm28 from account. We can carry forward call time and sms for next month but still have limit. This prepaid really suit for light internet user and at same time not make much call like me.
capoi
post Dec 9 2012, 01:58 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Dec 8 2012, 10:14 PM)
So I have recently registered for Umobile prepaid, UMI 28

100 mins talk time and 30 sms and 500 MB 3G

Does anyone here who uses the prepaid notice that the network switched automatically to roaming?

WHY IS THIS HAPPENING!
When outside coverage it will automatically roam using maxis network. Thats normal. So far as a light user, i'm satisfied. To save usage, i recomment using opera mini for browsing and when on wifi connection i will other browser. Even at my kampung in kedah got umobile coverage.
capoi
post Mar 1 2013, 10:33 PM

473 posts

Hi all..

I'm planning to convert celcom postpaid for my wife and my mother. Currently my wife as a mainline and both my mother and I as a subline. Just now I heard about celcom xpax kaw kaw and try to google about it but unfortunately my 3g signal not strong enough to load a xpax website which have a lot content and image. I hope someone is kind enough to tell me latest call/sms rate within celcom number, other telcos and also rate for 8pax.
capoi
post Mar 16 2013, 12:06 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(MG4 @ Mar 13 2013, 12:43 PM)
I'm also in the same dilemma...
Does 2GB quota enough for FB,Twitter and whatsapp?
Enoughla..2gb for fb and Twitter more than enough. Fb will consume more data than Twitter and whatsapp. Me just umobile 500mb per month.

0.0622sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:40 PM