11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

FAQ on justifying your iPhone purchase 3G & 3GS, Includes general discussions & debates

tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 11:11 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@sanzo86,
Both SingTel & Maxis sets are UNLOCKED sets which means it's usable worldwide on any foreign SIMS. As to JB, if U wanna JB it U still can except it voids all warranty [but if U do decide to JB and if something happens to the phone, just do a full restore before U go claim ur warranty]
hokkianu
post Jul 16 2009, 12:23 PM

257 posts

for me, since maxis already selling 3g/3gs unlocked version ... what for still go and jailbreak it?

because of the cydia/installer!!?? ... app store are much more better than both of them
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 12:26 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hokkianu,
Some people just wants to JB it; be it so they can customise settings, etc.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 16 2009, 01:43 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(hokkianu @ Jul 16 2009, 12:23 PM)
for me, since maxis already selling 3g/3gs unlocked version ... what for still go and jailbreak it?

because of the cydia/installer!!?? ... app store are much more better than both of them
Dude, JB-ing allows you to install 3rd party apps and THEMES.

think of it like Stardock for the PC. If you're satisfied with how Windows looks, then stick to Windows themes, but if you want to look different (and install tons of useful utils for free (legal) like SMS blacklister JB-ing is the only way to go.

I've already met some iPhone owners who ask me "how come you can change the theme one ah?"

I just smile back.

This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Jul 16 2009, 01:43 PM
sanzo86
post Jul 16 2009, 01:43 PM

51 posts

Hi tinkerbel. thnx for the info. I already ordered my i phone 3Gs from singtel. Reason y i dont 1 to get from maxis is because is still expensive compare to singtel. As for the plan, some1 in sg will use it. so i still save alot.

Tinkerbel, can a maxis broadband sim put in i- phone and manage to go on9 w/o paying? because i have maxis broadband wit unlimited access.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 16 2009, 01:44 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(sanzo86 @ Jul 16 2009, 01:43 PM)
Hi tinkerbel. thnx for the info. I already ordered my i phone 3Gs from singtel. Reason y i dont 1 to get from maxis is because is still expensive compare to singtel. As for the plan, some1 in sg will use it. so i still save alot.

Tinkerbel, can a maxis broadband sim put in i- phone and manage to go on9 w/o paying? because i have maxis broadband wit unlimited access.
My friend puts in a celcom 3G broadband card and uses his iPhone as an internet device only. Seems to work.
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 02:17 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@sanzo86,
I believe the SIM will work but only for data. U will not be able to use the voice/phone functions with that Maxis BB SIM.

sanzo86
post Jul 16 2009, 02:47 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jul 16 2009, 01:44 PM)
My friend puts in a celcom 3G broadband card and uses his iPhone as an internet device only. Seems to work.
wow thanks alot.

Hope that the i-phone still got stock.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 02:17 PM)
@sanzo86,
I believe the SIM will work but only for data.  U will not be able to use the voice/phone functions with that Maxis BB SIM.
ic. thanks for the info.
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 02:53 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@sanzo86,
Y don't U cancel the Maxis BB and open Unlimited data plan on your voice SIM; that way you still can Internet Tether through ur i3G/i3GS when U need to, and when U don't u can still use ur i3G/i3GS to do whatever U want biggrin.gif
hokkianu
post Jul 16 2009, 03:35 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 02:53 PM)
@sanzo86,
Y don't U cancel the Maxis BB and open Unlimited data plan on your voice SIM; that way you still can Internet Tether through ur i3G/i3GS when U need to, and when U don't u can still use ur i3G/i3GS to do whatever U want biggrin.gif
totally agree! that's why i still dont understand why people still subscribe to their ivalue/idata plan?

just buy the iphone only with RRP price ... then subscribe to the rm99 unlimited data package ... siap pasang! brows.gif

any objection/comment pls!?

This post has been edited by hokkianu: Jul 16 2009, 03:36 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 03:39 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hokkianu,
People have different needs. Also, forummer raoul did caution about battery lifespan when using iPhone to Internet Tether - I read that on one of the other discussion threads earlier but I dont use mine often enough to have to worry - my Internet Tethering is really only for emergency purposes onli biggrin.gif

Also, I gather from the few responses is that people just wanna go for the iData plans and iValue plans because there's a 'rebate' on the price of the phone. To me, I don't think I be using it lah so it's penny wise pound foolish kinda scenario tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 16 2009, 03:41 PM
sanzo86
post Jul 16 2009, 03:47 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 02:53 PM)
@sanzo86,
Alrite. 1st of all, the Maxis Broadband is provided by my company.

2nd, I can on9 wit my laptop using the Maxis Broadband while making a phone calls.

Yah using 1 sim is better than haveing 2 but i got no choice.
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 03:53 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@sanzo86,
Ah well.. in that case U will then need to keep swapping SIMS. Meaning, if U don't want to pay for any data charges on ur Voice enabled SIM then U just have to disable APN when ur Voice SIM is in the i3GS.

When U think U wanna surf the net or check stuff online, then swap SIMS and use the data services one. From what I can tell it will be utmost inconvenient but it's your call biggrin.gif
cic.lemur
post Jul 17 2009, 09:58 PM

376 posts

Went to get an iPhone today, saw the leaflet showing the 3GS 32GB selling for RM2990, and inquired the CS guy about the 32GB model. After a bit of questioning, since I wanted to remain with Celcom, CS guy said I needed to register a prepaid pack and get RM10 top up.

So I got the prepaid pack and RM10 top up, went to bank and withdraw money, came back after work to buy, then only stupid CS guy said the 32GB version will only start selling on 31 July doh.gif

Anyway here is the latest price if you want to get from Maxis center.

3G 8GB - RM1990

3GS 16GB - RM2490

3GS 32GB - RM2990

I think if got contract with maxis can get cheaper.

Originally was waiting for Android, but got tired of waiting.

For those complaining about the price, it's actually pretty decent if you compare with top end Windows Mobile products by HTC, Samsung, etc, which are more pricey but no where near as nice...
swee5420
post Jul 18 2009, 02:20 PM

120 posts

Just one quick question, is there any possibility to determine whether the

phone is refurbish or not?

PeeEl
post Jul 18 2009, 03:32 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(swee5420 @ Jul 18 2009, 02:20 PM)
Just one quick question, is there any possibility to determine  whether the

phone is refurbish or not?
AFAIK, most if not all refurbished units are from the States. Therefore, by checking the Part/Model No., you would know.

Anyone, please let me know if I stand corrected.
viosowner
post Jul 18 2009, 05:08 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 03:39 PM)
@hokkianu,
People have different needs.  Also, forummer raoul did caution about battery lifespan when using iPhone to Internet Tether - I read that on one of the other discussion threads earlier but I dont use mine often enough to have to worry - my Internet Tethering is really only for emergency purposes onli biggrin.gif

Also, I gather from the few responses is that people just wanna go for the iData plans and iValue plans because there's a 'rebate' on the price of the phone.  To me, I don't think I be using it lah so it's penny wise pound foolish kinda scenario tongue.gif
tink, u r soooooooo correct! rclxms.gif
no way better to put it : it's penny wise pound foolish kinda scenario
take the monthly payment u need to pay, x12 or 24 based on the contract, THEN plus sms price, now compare that to the $$ saved from the phone. izzit worth it?
u might argue about the free talk time in the ivalue package. if tat's the case, u still need to pay for the sms.
u might argue iData plan, but u pay ur monthly commitment, on top of that, plus rm30 for 250mb?? crap! dont forget to x 12 foir contract, and no savings on phone price (assuming rm30 data package)
i will still think prepaid is the way to go: no contract, 500mb free, active10 free (value packages need to pay rm8 to activate), sms almost same price to other operator (who can beat 1sen/sms to 10 maxis numbers?)
PeeEl
post Jul 18 2009, 08:33 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(viosowner @ Jul 18 2009, 05:08 PM)
tink, u r soooooooo correct!  rclxms.gif
no way better to put it : it's penny wise pound foolish kinda scenario
take the monthly payment u need to pay, x12 or 24 based on the contract, THEN plus sms price, now compare that to the $$ saved from the phone. izzit worth it?
u might argue about the free talk time in the ivalue package. if tat's the case, u still need to pay for the sms.
u might argue iData plan, but u pay ur monthly commitment, on top of that, plus rm30 for 250mb?? crap! dont forget to x 12 foir contract, and no savings on phone price (assuming rm30 data package)
i will still think prepaid is the way to go: no contract, 500mb free, active10 free (value packages need to pay rm8 to activate), sms almost same price to other operator (who can beat 1sen/sms to 10 maxis numbers?)
Can I just say that if one is already on a prepaid plan, there's no issue. What if one is on postpaid? He/she must inform all and sundry the change of number, if he/she intends to use it or if the prepaid no. is kept for just the data usage since 500mb is free, he/she must live with the hassle of changing the SIM card (and changing it on an iPhone is not the simplest thing in the world) if he/she doesn't own another phone, not to mention the top up charges which if I am not mistaken, is mandatory within a certain period.

The above may be frivolous but something to consider nonetheless.
z3171600
post Jul 18 2009, 09:14 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(hokkianu @ Jul 16 2009, 03:35 PM)
totally agree! that's why i still dont understand why people still subscribe to their ivalue/idata plan?

just buy the iphone only with RRP price ... then subscribe to the rm99 unlimited data package ... siap pasang!  brows.gif

any objection/comment pls!?
I have some questions regarding rm99 unlimited data package. Is it possible to have 2 sim but with one number? I want to be able to use the data with my iphone or when I bring my laptop outside, I can slot another SIM into USB modem and use it with my laptop?
viosowner
post Jul 18 2009, 11:39 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jul 18 2009, 08:33 PM)
Can I just say that if one is already on a prepaid plan, there's no issue. What if one is on postpaid? He/she must inform all and sundry the change of number, if he/she intends to use it or if the prepaid no. is kept for just the data usage since 500mb is free, he/she must live with the hassle of changing the SIM card (and changing it on an iPhone is not the simplest thing in the world) if he/she doesn't own another phone, not to mention the top up charges which if I am not mistaken, is mandatory within a certain period.

The above may be frivolous but something to consider nonetheless.
i posted in another thread. i am with maxis postpaid for 10 yrs+.
all it took for me to change to prepaid, AND MAINTAIN my number, is to sign a form over the counter.
wat top up? just activate Active365 package, pay rm30+ , pay another rm30 for top up, and u can forget about the validity period for the next 1 year! cool2.gif

beats the idata rm30/monthly anytime thumbup.gif

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:14 PM