11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

FAQ on justifying your iPhone purchase 3G & 3GS, Includes general discussions & debates

ron4
post Jun 17 2009, 11:25 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(snowieluv @ Jun 16 2009, 03:49 PM)
since 3gs will be release, i wonder how bout the previous model will b happen. is the price will be reduce like "kaw kaw"? cz i heard many people say that.im an owner of 2g iphone. n im proud of it before. but when people say that the price will be drop and previous iphone will be like useless machine, it makes me sad cz i just bought the iphone a month ago and im afraid the price wil drop sooo bad  like i cnt imagine how it is.  sad.gif

as u cn see, we can get the price for 3g nowadays 2k and for maxis plan around 2.7k. so i wonder when 3gs wil be release, will the price drop like so bad or not? 

eventho i3gs will b released, im still happy with my i2g since the first day i purchase cz this hp has been my dream like ages! (eventho it is not the latest version.  tongue.gif )
U have the same situation as me. Im also bought iPhone 3G almost a month, and now im regret that i don't aware that new iPhone gonna lunch soon after that.. Im also concerned whether the price of our belove present phone gonna reduce dramatically. Im expected the price gonna reduce around RM1700 / RM1800 for Malaysia. Because the price has been slash by Steve Job from $199 to $99 only for 8GB in the US but $99 come with the service contract.

This post has been edited by ron4: Jun 17 2009, 11:27 PM
akeys
post Jun 18 2009, 12:48 AM

18 posts

hmm..
i've found something interesting about upgrading from iPhone 3G to iPhone 3GS in US..
taken from Apple website, about the AT&T plan..

Existing AT&T customers who want to upgrade from another phone or replace an iPhone 3G should check with AT&T or use www.apple.com/iphone/buy to find out if they are eligible for early upgrade pricing: $299 (8GB), $399 (16GB), or $499 (32GB) with a new two-year contract. For those who are not eligible for an early upgrade or who wish to buy iPhone as a gift, the prices are $499 (8GB), $599 (16GB), or $699 (32GB).

so, if Maxis DO offers upgrades for iPhone 3GS from iPhone 3G, i'm sure they (Maxis) will do the same.. if they offer the upgrade la.. isk..

so, my predictions is (with 1 year new contract on top of the existing contract), RM1500+ (8GB), RM2000+ (16GB), and RM2500+ (32GB).. these price are bound to contract..
u have to renew the contract from the date of upgrading to a new period.. and the price are referring to iValue 1 plan (RM100 per month for 1 year)..

for the no contract price, my prediction is RM2500+ (8GB), RM2900+ (16GB), RM3300+ (32GB).. hmm..

well, that's my prediction only.. hope nobody's offended this time..

This post has been edited by akeys: Jun 18 2009, 12:48 AM
stringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 12:54 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm sure everyone half-expects these prices, myself included. I've already assigned up to RM3.5k for the 32GB if or should I get one from Maxis. The question is, WHEN?

Last chime from my contact within Maxis is at the end of July which is frakking late enough for me to scheme up a plan to get them somewhere else. In the era where things gets updated in a blink of an eye, Maxis cannot afford to lose more mindshare by dragging their two feets on launching these. The early adopters are watching, and any more laissez-faire approach towards putting the 3G[S] to the market will again result in what is currently happening right now : Poor uptake.

If I am Maxis, I'd just swallow my pride, screw the uproar from the current subscribers (you are just delaying the inevitable, people are going to get upset, you are just prolonging the "feel good" moments from them before they learn the truth) and come clean with the release date. At least you are being upfront about it, and allow your new subscribers time to plan their finances and/or time to sign up.
akeys
post Jun 18 2009, 01:08 AM

18 posts

yerp.. true on the dot.. btw, saves up = u'll upgrade..?? good for u..

but, by looking at Maxis history since all the rumors of Maxis will bring iPhone to Malaysia (i think since June last year), they are not reliable enough on announcing the launch/arrival date of iPhone 3GS here..

on another thing, i don't think we should be mad at Maxis, they're resellers, it's Apple that should take the blame, but, as we (users) should know, Apple do makes surprises every year.. for the early adopters (including myself), i should be blaming myself for my impatience of early adopting.. why i can't just wait 'til WWDC..?? heh..

i believe it's true that what's ur contact have said.. from WWDC'09 itself, they've announced that iPhone will be arriving at the end of July.. hopefully..
eugeneyou
post Jun 18 2009, 06:51 AM

123 posts

does anyone know when iphone 3g s will be launched in malaysia? bout how much? unlocked?
ocdetective
post Jun 18 2009, 10:44 AM

69 posts

Just as an indicator of reflective pricing (especially non contractual) - a good comparison would be O2's (UK) pay as you go which is the equivalent of say Maxis prepaid where you are not locked into any contract.
The 16GB 3GS will be retailing for the equivalent of RM2.5K and the 32GB for RM3.1K at current exchange rates.
An even better indicator will be when Singtel reveals their pricing.
Dark Steno
post Jun 18 2009, 10:50 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(akeys @ Jun 18 2009, 01:08 AM)
yerp.. true on the dot.. btw, saves up = u'll upgrade..?? good for u..

but, by looking at Maxis history since all the rumors of Maxis will bring iPhone to Malaysia (i think since June last year), they are not reliable enough on announcing the launch/arrival date of iPhone 3GS here..

on another thing, i don't think we should be mad at Maxis, they're resellers, it's Apple that should take the blame, but, as we (users) should know, Apple do makes surprises every year.. for the early adopters (including myself), i should be blaming myself for my impatience of early adopting.. why i can't just wait 'til WWDC..?? heh..

i believe it's true that what's ur contact have said.. from WWDC'09 itself, they've announced that iPhone will be arriving at the end of July.. hopefully..
Maxis will be bringing iPhone 3GS soon afaik. Because I heard that Singaporeans will be launching iPhone 3GS on 8th of July. If what I heard is right, Maxis will be bringing the 3GS sooner or later than that.
iZuDeeN
post Jun 18 2009, 11:00 AM

3,466 posts

what does it mean upgrade?

meaning you get to keep the old phone and get a new 3gs when paying the fee?

shinchan^^
post Jun 18 2009, 11:07 AM

K66
21,256 posts

means trade in the old pump in extra to upgrade
davidmak
post Jun 18 2009, 02:10 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jun 18 2009, 11:00 AM)
what does it mean upgrade?

meaning you get to keep the old phone and get a new 3gs when paying the fee?
Thats either get a new plan with the new phone or pay full price on a prepaid or get it from somewhere else.
superooneyoi
post Jun 18 2009, 07:11 PM

323 posts

screw maxis! lets buy the 3Gs in singapore! will be alot problem for me?
TSnokia2003
post Jun 18 2009, 07:30 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(superooneyoi @ Jun 18 2009, 07:11 PM)
well it is your money at end of the day, so it is at your complete discretion to screw maxis or not.

and since it is your money, i have no idea how much problem will it generate for you, should you decide to go for SingTel's
shdwkillr
post Jun 18 2009, 07:43 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(superooneyoi @ Jun 18 2009, 07:11 PM)
Besides what was said by bro nokia2003, how do you know singtel will bring in the 3GS earlier than maxis, although there is some rumors on the 9th July release, there is no official announcement at all. Pls don't make early statement like that.
xpresside
post Jun 18 2009, 09:07 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 17 2009, 12:05 AM)
NONE, if they were to sell it without contract they will sell it with high price. because iphone it self is a high product and its an expensive phone to be conclude. thats why its price is high..
ORLY
http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/cellphones/ipho...-tax-229664.php
davidmak
post Jun 18 2009, 09:12 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Jun 18 2009, 09:07 PM)
Hehe... that is beside the point. How much it cost does not always equal to how much it sells. Like Takano puts it, its a highly desired product. A lot of stuff in the market does not always worth its cost of manufacturing. The rest is profit, taxes, and other costs.
xpresside
post Jun 18 2009, 10:39 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 18 2009, 09:12 PM)
Hehe... that is beside the point. How much it cost does not always equal to how much it sells. Like Takano puts it, its a highly desired product. A lot of stuff in the market does not always worth its cost of manufacturing. The rest is profit, taxes, and other costs.
u forget the xtra gimick and hype
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 18 2009, 11:15 PM

959 posts

including the total advance engineered thinking of apple engineer and also all electrical/electronic/mechanical/computer engineering and also R&D for the testing they put on it of course it will be high price rclxms.gif

and with @xpresside mention regarding the gimmick and hype..

totally perfect it comes with the high price... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
michael9413
post Jun 19 2009, 10:39 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well at this is my experience work with some company whom help a hp brand to assy phone and gadgets...
normally the selling price is 3 times the cost price... smile.gif

Dark Steno
post Jun 19 2009, 10:47 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jun 19 2009, 10:39 AM)
well at this is my experience work with some company whom help a hp brand to assy phone and gadgets...
normally the selling price is 3 times the cost price... smile.gif
Yeah, considering the delivery cost, manpower cost for assembling, manufacturing plant maintenance, programming cost, etc. It's a lot more needed to be paid.
elico
post Jun 20 2009, 10:41 AM

749 posts

actually the debate on actual production price are endless, look at Intel, how much cost they are using to make a processor? most of the cost of the production were not even on the production line, it was on the Research line...

and dun forget... Apple wanna earn money... the telco oso wanna earn money... the delivery boy oso wanna earn money... in the end... the user have to pay for it...

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:17 PM