Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share
carcrazy
Sep 10 2013, 05:32 PM

QUOTE(mpyw @ Sep 10 2013, 03:36 PM) This is the case of SOUND > DISPLAY  not really..after being thru a diff kind of HT setup, noticed the biggest culprit is the AVR pre or AV pre/proc. the AV preamp stage has yet to match the hifi pre.. solution: 1. run hifi n HT in a single system. but stereo listening has its own dedicated source and preamp. external power amp shared by HT n Hifi. to do so, amp must have double input(balanced & unbalanced) or 2. venture into more premium AV pre/proc. but according to some of sifu dealers, still cant beat a hifi pre. yet to experience a better AV pre/proc
htkaki
Sep 10 2013, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 10 2013, 05:32 PM) not really..after being thru a diff kind of HT setup, noticed the biggest culprit is the AVR pre or AV pre/proc. the AV preamp stage has yet to match the hifi pre.. solution: 1. run hifi n HT in a single system. but stereo listening has its own dedicated source and preamp. external power amp shared by HT n Hifi. to do so, amp must have double input(balanced & unbalanced) or 2. venture into more premium AV pre/proc. but according to some of sifu dealers, still cant beat a hifi pre. yet to experience a better AV pre/proc I have done systems based on solution no. 1. Also, there is another solution. An int amp with HT bypass. I used this for most than 2 years until recently.
carcrazy
Sep 11 2013, 01:06 PM

htkaki, what do u think of mac mx121?
jchong
Sep 11 2013, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 10 2013, 05:32 PM) not really..after being thru a diff kind of HT setup, noticed the biggest culprit is the AVR pre or AV pre/proc. the AV preamp stage has yet to match the hifi pre.. solution: 1. run hifi n HT in a single system. but stereo listening has its own dedicated source and preamp. external power amp shared by HT n Hifi. to do so, amp must have double input(balanced & unbalanced) or 2. venture into more premium AV pre/proc. but according to some of sifu dealers, still cant beat a hifi pre. yet to experience a better AV pre/proc I think what mpyw meant was that the display is small relative to the level of the audio equipment. Would have thought the owner would go for large projection system.
ADJ
Sep 11 2013, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(iman_210 @ Sep 6 2013, 11:02 AM) m referring to pioneer ones. I have the set, using with a Denon 2311. Got it as a gift, but considering the price that it sells for, minus the cost of the receiver, I think it's really really good for non-demanding casual users. It is easily better than most satellite systems/HTIB, and brings down the cost of entry for "proper" speakers. Something like, if you wanted to get floorstander/bookshelf/center/sub system, but even the cheapest brands would require like RM3-5k, then now you can get this for much lower than that, and the quality is decent enough. As always, always audition it, and if it's acceptable to you, and within your budget, then go with it. Assuming you get the cheapest HTP-AJ3222 set, you will get everything you need on the audio portion except for speaker cables. A simple RCA cable is included for the sub. In KL you can audit it in most electrical stores that sell Pioneer products. Some reviews here (ignore the sub, the Malaysian sub is different): http://www.analogplanet.com/content/tads-a...peakers-pioneerhttp://reviews.cnet.com/surround-speaker-s...oneer-sp-pk52fshttp://news.cnet.com/8301-13645_3-57490890...dable-speakers/http://hometheaterreview.com/pioneer-sp-fs...eaker-reviewed/http://www.audioholics.com/tower-speaker-r...oneer-sp-pk52fshttp://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/spe...tem-review.htmlhttp://thewirecutter.com/reviews/a-great-bookshelf-speaker/http://www.theabsolutesound.com/articles/p...lr-loudspeaker/hope this helps This post has been edited by ADJ: Sep 11 2013, 04:58 PM
rx330
Sep 17 2013, 04:07 PM
is it possible to have the same set of speakers, but when doing HT, use avr, and when listening to music anohter set of amps?
htkaki
Sep 17 2013, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 17 2013, 04:07 PM) is it possible to have the same set of speakers, but when doing HT, use avr, and when listening to music anohter set of amps? You only need an int amp with ht bypass to connect to avr. Your front Spkr will be connected to the int amp.
rx330
Sep 18 2013, 10:13 AM
i tot its the avr that need to be able to do ht bypass? so its the avr that power the speakers or the int amp?
htkaki
Sep 18 2013, 12:05 PM
Avr left and right pre out to int amp line in. Then connect spkrs to int amp.
When you want to use bypass, just press the ht bypass button on int amp
rx330
Sep 18 2013, 12:36 PM
so in this case, the audio source for 2.0 is connected to the int amp, correct?
so when watch movies thru the avr, i need to hit the bypass button
htkaki
Sep 18 2013, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 18 2013, 12:36 PM) so in this case, the audio source for 2.0 is connected to the int amp, correct? so when watch movies thru the avr, i need to hit the bypass button YB, you manyak panlai. Yes, it is. I do hope that you ain't like Marvel and the other chap. Ask, ask and ask
rx330
Sep 18 2013, 02:41 PM
other chap is who? adam2? hahahah correct me if i salah, i get an AVR, i kasi konek ps3, xbox, media player to it then i get another int amp, but with ht bypass function, and i kasi connect turntable, airport express or cd player to it
when i watch movie, both the avr and int amp must be switch on in order to bypass, but when i listen to stereo, i just need to power the int amp
betul ka?
htkaki
Sep 18 2013, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 18 2013, 02:41 PM) other chap is who? adam2? hahahah correct me if i salah, i get an AVR, i kasi konek ps3, xbox, media player to it then i get another int amp, but with ht bypass function, and i kasi connect turntable, airport express or cd player to it when i watch movie, both the avr and int amp must be switch on in order to bypass, but when i listen to stereo, i just need to power the int amp betul ka? YB, betul.
Topet
Sep 19 2013, 04:12 PM
can do like that?
i just know...need to read more...
err..baidewey...which amp has the ht bypass?any entry level got this option?
This post has been edited by Topet: Sep 19 2013, 04:15 PM
jchong
Sep 19 2013, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(Topet @ Sep 19 2013, 04:12 PM) can do like that? i just know...need to read more... err..baidewey...which amp has the ht bypass?any entry level got this option? Apart from the int amp issue above, remember the AVR also needs to have pre-out and the entry level AVRs generally don't have it.
jchong
Sep 19 2013, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 18 2013, 12:05 PM) Avr left and right pre out to int amp line in. Then connect spkrs to int amp. When you want to use bypass, just press the ht bypass button on int amp If the amp doesn't have ht bypass and you just plug into the normal line in, what happens?
paskal
Sep 19 2013, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 19 2013, 05:05 PM) If the amp doesn't have ht bypass and you just plug into the normal line in, what happens? it will go through the same preamp stage as any other input. which could sometimes be detrimental to sound quality (if you're into that kind of thing). for those that don't mind the signal going through multiple preamp stage, can connect the avr preout to the int amp input and remember the volume level at which the calibration is done. the target is to get the int amp preamp set at a gain of 1. amps with ht bypass will fix the volume gain at a constant level so that it doesn't change with the knob. QUOTE(Topet @ Sep 19 2013, 04:12 PM) can do like that? i just know...need to read more... err..baidewey...which amp has the ht bypass?any entry level got this option? i believe only reserved at higher end of the chain. either use the method above or buy a separate stereo pre.
carcrazy
Sep 19 2013, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 11 2013, 02:47 PM) I think what mpyw meant was that the display is small relative to the level of the audio equipment. Would have thought the owner would go for large projection system. sadly projector under rm10k cant beat the curremt mid end led models. the premium projector cost too much rm20k+ not including screen. he prefer quality over quantity
Topet
Sep 20 2013, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 19 2013, 07:57 PM) it will go through the same preamp stage as any other input. which could sometimes be detrimental to sound quality (if you're into that kind of thing). for those that don't mind the signal going through multiple preamp stage, can connect the avr preout to the int amp input and remember the volume level at which the calibration is done. the target is to get the int amp preamp set at a gain of 1. amps with ht bypass will fix the volume gain at a constant level so that it doesn't change with the knob. i believe only reserved at higher end of the chain. either use the method above or buy a separate stereo pre. too complicated...
paskal
Sep 20 2013, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(Topet @ Sep 20 2013, 10:26 AM) if you consider remembering a particular knob position as complicated, well..