post Jun 8 2009, 01:41 AM

222 posts

so dv3 good or no good ??

Dackson
post Jun 8 2009, 01:42 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

haiz .. get no information from hp dv 2 renew series...
i think dv 3 abit expensive it with T6400 cost RM 3k.
dv 4 rm4k with p8600 or 2.66 with Rm4699
faint....
X.E.D
post Jun 10 2009, 01:06 AM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

More info on the new dv2.

There will be 2 types of dual core CPUs.

1. Athlon Neo X2 L335. 1.6Ghz, 2*256KB L2 Cache
2. Turion Neo X2 L625. 1.6Ghz, 2*512KB L2 Cache

Both CPUs have a TDP of 18W. Both chips are still 65nm Brisbanes, but they are quite good tempered.

Graphics is still 3410 I think, no 3200 option.

I'm wrong about the bigger battery thingy I think, that was between 4cell and 6cell.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jun 10 2009, 01:20 AM
Dackson
post Jun 10 2009, 01:38 AM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

o~
so far hp hvnt leak when release this two unit yet.
they keep selling the dv series with overprice ?? are they trying to cover 8400 lost back ??
Hico
post Jun 10 2009, 06:52 PM

4,709 posts

i am also waiting for they to release the new dv2...i wan to choose btw them with intel ulv...
X.E.D
post Jun 10 2009, 07:57 PM

1,955 posts

US Site is updated now!

DV2 is now a customizable model.

I took some options below... dual core for 625USD. Gila gila gila cheap. For HD3410 add 50USD (and 30USD for Vista premium, these sneaky bastards).

Espresso Black
• Genuine Windows Vista Home Basic with Service Pack 1 (32-bit)
• AMD Athlon™ Neo X2 Dual-Core Processor for Ultrathin Notebooks L335 (1.6 GHz)
• FREE Upgrade to 2GB DDR2 System Memory (1 Dimm) from 1GB DDR2 System Memory (1 Dimm)
• FREE Upgrade to 320GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• ATI Radeon™ X1250 Graphics w/64MB Display Cache Memory-For L335 Processor and Vista Basic
• 12.1" diagonal WXGA High-Definition HP LED BrightView Widescreen Display (1280 x 800)
• Webcam Only
• Wireless-G Card
• HP Color Matching Keyboard
• 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
• Microsoft® Works 9.0

My own "fav" model would take up 780USD, with a Turion for better gaming and more RAM.
Dackson
post Jun 10 2009, 07:59 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

haiz ... but Hp M'sia refuse to accept USA unti during warranty ...
M'sia version dont know which one ??
X.E.D
post Jun 10 2009, 08:03 PM

1,955 posts

I suspect they'll have 2 models, the current one (price cut to RM1.8-2k), and the dual core one at 2.5-2.7k with every ****ing option imaginable to man.

I hope they have more SKUs though, the sweet spot is in the middle.

NOTE: Does NOT include DVD burner anymore. Blu ray should be coming later. Bluetooth is also no longer coming by default (I assume it WAS)

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jun 10 2009, 08:06 PM
astria
post Jun 10 2009, 08:38 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

erm... Radeon X1250...

means still using 690G chipset...

u ve better CPU but worse graphic... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 10 2009, 08:39 PM
Dackson
post Jun 10 2009, 08:42 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

haiz ... hp keep gv weak weak GPU. they scared bOom ??
I heard previosuly alot hp unit come with problem made hp extend the warranty ~.~
new era notebook come with low quality ?? new technic in earning $$ ??
Hico
post Jun 10 2009, 08:57 PM

4,709 posts

quite disappointed with the spec.. if without bluetooth and weaker gpu but cost rm2.5-2.6k really overpriced... tat spec can get quite nice notebook or top up till 3k+
astria
post Jun 10 2009, 09:08 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

i was hoping HP may use GPU like HD4330...

this is really crappy spec... might as well get the old model...
Hico
post Jun 10 2009, 09:16 PM

4,709 posts

omg..the spec i choose and pick cost me 1129.98usd..turion Neo duo core, 4gb ram, hd 3140, 500gb hdd, hd3410, wireless n with bluetooth & 3 yr pick and return waranty...with tat price, can get a quite good notebook already... sad.gif

Added on June 10, 2009, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(astria @ Jun 10 2009, 09:08 PM)
i was hoping HP may use GPU like HD4330...

this is really crappy spec... might as well get the old model...
i think timeline got that GPU but not yet release..i saw from the web got 2 type graphic cards they use, one is integrated gma 4500 or ATI HD4330...i hope the price will not overprice when acer release them..

This post has been edited by Hico: Jun 10 2009, 09:22 PM
X.E.D
post Jun 10 2009, 09:46 PM

1,955 posts

^ Obviously choose the best spec stuff and the price would go up like crazy. For normal people it *will* be <800USD with Turion and 3410.

The recommended spec really fits the bill as a proper notebook that should be enough for whatever you throw at it.

The dual core 1.4Ghz Acer Timeline is RM3.2k+ I saw on shelf. With a GMA4500.

With a HD 4330 (which can't play much better stuff either) Acer Timeline prices should be 3.5-3.6k. You might as well get the Apple Macbook "Pro" 13 for a bit more.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jun 10 2009, 09:53 PM
Hico
post Jun 10 2009, 10:08 PM

4,709 posts

true also...but i dun prefer macbook...cos if i not really used to its yet..plus the problem and cost of assesories or parts.. with rm4k, i can easily get better spec than apple too..
X.E.D
post Jun 10 2009, 10:18 PM

1,955 posts

You can get better specs, but nothing comes close to the claimed 7 hours of battery life on the MBP.
So logical progression from Acer Timeline (mobility focused, kinda overpriced) would actually be the Macbook Pro 13 (mobility focused, can do more stuff, more expensive, overpriced in relative)

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jun 10 2009, 10:19 PM
Hico
post Jun 10 2009, 10:42 PM

4,709 posts

maybe it still not a right time to buy this type of notebook..need to wait few more manufacturer produce their unit then hopefully the price will drop in order to compete..
X.E.D
post Jun 10 2009, 10:54 PM

1,955 posts

Nah, the Timeline dual is expensive because the Intel Core 2 Duo SU9400 is.

Intel's ProcessorFinder says that the SU9400 and SU3500 (single core) are both 260USD, but the 3500 is subsidized much more after the CULV platform introduction. The 9400 is also subsidized, but less.

I can imagine the Neo chips selling at 50-150USD depending on version.

As for Apple, you just have to give them props for getting the unibody chasis down to 4k ringgit, regardless of the lacking specs. Build quality is a cut above anything else.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jun 10 2009, 10:55 PM
tpl
post Jun 10 2009, 11:15 PM

1,748 posts

should come with bluetooth as standard..
Hico
post Jun 11 2009, 12:12 AM

4,709 posts

but i read online that intel is going to come out with low cost culv to compete with amd neo..so the price should be cheaper a bit ..

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0342sec    1.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:06 AM