Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
Chronolisme
Dec 21 2009, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 21 2009, 09:55 AM) Ok thanks for the feedback . What if I want to install snow leopard into my new hdd first ? Or it is advisable to do so after restoring my mac ? Can I install snow leopard and restore then ? Nope you don't install Snow Leopard again. When you restore, it just copies your entire backup (including your OS, so all your settings still remain) back to your newly inserted HDD, which will take some time depending on both drive's speed and the size of your backup. (Mine took about 2 1/2 hours with 7200rpm internal, Firewire 800 External. Mine's probably very big.) You CAN install SL and then restore, but I'm not too sure what will happen to your settings, I've never tried that.
Thalmes
Dec 21 2009, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(Chronolisme @ Dec 21 2009, 05:47 PM) Nope you don't install Snow Leopard again. When you restore, it just copies your entire backup (including your OS, so all your settings still remain) back to your newly inserted HDD, which will take some time depending on both drive's speed and the size of your backup. (Mine took about 2 1/2 hours with 7200rpm internal, Firewire 800 External. Mine's probably very big.) You CAN install SL and then restore, but I'm not too sure what will happen to your settings, I've never tried that. Oh , But it would work as well if I restore first and install Snow Leopard right ? Just to make sure my settings are all intact .
sonnettech-asia
Dec 22 2009, 04:58 PM
my 7200RPM 500GB HDD, 16MB cache is arriving this friday. look forward to the HDD on my macbook pro.  I am getting seagate
b48753
Dec 22 2009, 05:08 PM
How to use current FW800 interface with FW400 device? is there any adapter or cables to suit this?
Chronolisme
Dec 23 2009, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 21 2009, 09:16 PM) Oh , But it would work as well if I restore first and install Snow Leopard right ? Just to make sure my settings are all intact . You just restore. Don't have to install again. QUOTE(b48753 @ Dec 22 2009, 05:08 PM) How to use current FW800 interface with FW400 device? is there any adapter or cables to suit this? Firewire 800 is backwards compatible. You can get a cable that looks like this: 9pin to 6pin cable
sonnettech-asia
Dec 23 2009, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(b48753 @ Dec 22 2009, 05:08 PM) How to use current FW800 interface with FW400 device? is there any adapter or cables to suit this? are you referring to this? Sonnet Firewire 800 to 400 adapter http://www.mackingdomain.com/play/apple/ac..._id=16&vmcchk=1
Thalmes
Dec 23 2009, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(Chronolisme @ Dec 23 2009, 10:29 AM) You just restore. Don't have to install again. Firewire 800 is backwards compatible. You can get a cable that looks like this: 9pin to 6pin cableThe Problem is , I'm using Leopard now . I want to upgrade to Snow Leopard ... What I don't know is to upgrade into the new HDD first or restore from backup then upgrade ?
b48753
Dec 23 2009, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(Chronolisme @ Dec 23 2009, 10:29 AM) You just restore. Don't have to install again. Firewire 800 is backwards compatible. You can get a cable that looks like this: 9pin to 6pin cableThanks for the info.. but need 4pin FW400 for transferring my video capture in future Mac Mini.. Added on December 23, 2009, 12:38 pmQUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Dec 23 2009, 11:31 AM) are you referring to this? Sonnet Firewire 800 to 400 adapter http://www.mackingdomain.com/play/apple/ac..._id=16&vmcchk=1looks like ur's is more practical.. Nway is there any FW400 or FW800 hubs sells on open market? This post has been edited by b48753: Dec 23 2009, 06:15 PM
nubnub75
Dec 23 2009, 08:36 PM
Hi everyone. Yeah so I just bought a 320GB western digital elements and i'm currently running on Mac OSX Tiger. I want to back up my hard drive (120GB in my macbook) plus i also want to use the hard drive i just bought as a supersized thumbdrive that can also be accessed by a PC. Is there a way to do this? To recap: 1) Want to back up my Mac OSX Tiger laptop 2) And also use the hard drive like a normal thumbdrive. Help please. Much appreciated... P.s: Not sure if this is the right section to post. And also, i tried searching for the relevant topics but cannot find  So, if i am in violation of any board rules please tell me nicely. I'll happily close this thread. This post has been edited by nubnub75: Dec 23 2009, 08:36 PM
boonwuilow
Dec 23 2009, 08:41 PM
The File System need to be in Fat32 for the Mac OSX tiger...
nubnub75
Dec 23 2009, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Dec 23 2009, 08:41 PM) The File System need to be in Fat32 for the Mac OSX tiger... I see. So how can I do that? Plus how can I back up my laptop afterwards?  Added on December 23, 2009, 9:19 pmHelp please, anybody? This post has been edited by nubnub75: Dec 23 2009, 09:19 PM
Chronolisme
Dec 24 2009, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 23 2009, 12:11 PM) The Problem is , I'm using Leopard now . I want to upgrade to Snow Leopard ... What I don't know is to upgrade into the new HDD first or restore from backup then upgrade ? I would choose upgrade to SL first->backup->change hdd->restore. My reasons: Install then restore loses settings (i think). Restore then install will fragment your drive more. (Happened to me where spotlight became very dull and slow). Just what I would do. QUOTE(nubnub75 @ Dec 23 2009, 08:42 PM) I see. So how can I do that? Plus how can I back up my laptop afterwards?  Added on December 23, 2009, 9:19 pmHelp please, anybody?  I'm not too sure about Tiger, but I think your best bet would be Disk Utility by creating an image of your current drive and keep it in your ext hdd as a backup.
dvlzplayground
Dec 25 2009, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Dec 23 2009, 11:31 AM) are you referring to this? Sonnet Firewire 800 to 400 adapter http://www.mackingdomain.com/play/apple/ac..._id=16&vmcchk=1i got a firewire 400-to-800 cable from Belkin for rm69. i dun like the 'adapter' look  QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 23 2009, 12:11 PM) The Problem is , I'm using Leopard now . I want to upgrade to Snow Leopard ... What I don't know is to upgrade into the new HDD first or restore from backup then upgrade ? this is what i did. clone the old HDD to the new one ('Restore' from disk utility), swap the new one into the Mac, then upgrade to SL. dont disturb the old HDD for two weeks or so...until u're really confident that u didn't lose anything cuz of the upgrade. im glad i did this, bcuz i found out my 3g modem doesnt work in SL...so i just Restore the my new hdd from the old one and im back in leopard hehe
megatron007
Dec 27 2009, 12:08 AM
been using my upgraded 4G kingston CL7 DDR3....happy with it...so letting go my 2GB DDR3 for MBP
Kernkraft400
Dec 27 2009, 01:08 AM
How much did u pay for your upgrade megatron?
hapa
Dec 27 2009, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 27 2009, 12:08 AM) been using my upgraded 4G kingston CL7 DDR3....happy with it...so letting go my 2GB DDR3 for MBP  bro kingston value ram?
dvlzplayground
Dec 27 2009, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 27 2009, 12:08 AM) been using my upgraded 4G kingston CL7 DDR3....happy with it...so letting go my 2GB DDR3 for MBP  i think very hard to sell that since that's the minimum.. no one is going to upgrade TO 2gb ddr3
b48753
Dec 28 2009, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 25 2009, 08:23 PM) i got a firewire 400-to-800 cable from Belkin for rm69. i dun like the 'adapter' look  Then your plug at FW400 is 6 or 4 pins?
dvlzplayground
Dec 28 2009, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(b48753 @ Dec 28 2009, 09:18 AM) Then your plug at FW400 is 6 or 4 pins? 6-pin
b48753
Dec 28 2009, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 28 2009, 02:33 PM) Then i got problems with my DV cam which using 4pins. So the adapter is most suited, coz can connect back to my 6 pins-4 pins cable.