120 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

dvlzplayground
post Dec 3 2009, 06:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ibrick @ Dec 3 2009, 01:37 PM)

Just want to ask few stuff regarding iMac 24.

1. Can the graphic been upgraded? (send to service center perhaps!)
2. What is the best RAM for iMac?

btw, this is my spec:

Processor 2.66 Ghz Interl Core 2 Duo
Memory 4GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
Graphic NVIDIA GeForce 9400 256MB

your help are highly appreciated! Tq2 laugh.gif
1. cannot upgrade the graphics. even service center cannot help u. the GPU is soldered to the motherboard..meaning if u wanna change the GPU u have to change the whole motherboard...including the CPU n such. dats y u should get AppleCare Protection Plan, cuz if GPU rosak, the whole thing have to change

2. i would recommend the brand Crucial but its very hard to get in malaysia. those normal kingston KVR, mushkin, corsair works as well. just make sure its this spec: DDR3, 1066 (or 1067) Mhz, SODIMM.

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Dec 3 2009, 06:06 PM)
hey guys i'm planning to get an MBP 13", im wondering which hdd's are compatible with it since the 160 GB hdd is too small. also what are the price range?

thanks.
most notebook hdd's in the market are compatible. make sure its 2.5" SATA, 9mm (most under 500gb are 9mm btw...if u're buying >500gb better check 1st). price range uhh depends on how big u want ofcoz... 160gb is around rm170 and 500gb around rm280. as u can see 500gb has a very good value now... 56 cents per gb smile.gif

for 500gb i'd recommend WD scorpio blue and hitachi 5k500. for 320gb, u can consider the faster 7200rpm models
defectivelasagna
post Dec 3 2009, 07:48 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 3 2009, 06:23 PM)
1. cannot upgrade the graphics. even service center cannot help u. the GPU is soldered to the motherboard..meaning if u wanna change the GPU u have to change the whole motherboard...including the CPU n such. dats y u should get AppleCare Protection Plan, cuz if GPU rosak, the whole thing have to change

2. i would recommend the brand Crucial but its very hard to get in malaysia. those normal kingston KVR, mushkin, corsair works as well. just make sure its this spec: DDR3, 1066 (or 1067) Mhz, SODIMM.
most notebook hdd's in the market are compatible. make sure its 2.5" SATA, 9mm (most under 500gb are 9mm btw...if u're buying >500gb better check 1st). price range uhh depends on how big u want ofcoz... 160gb is around rm170 and 500gb around rm280. as u can see 500gb has a very good value now... 56 cents per gb smile.gif

for 500gb i'd recommend WD scorpio blue and hitachi 5k500. for 320gb, u can consider the faster 7200rpm models
oo that's not too pricey. Well i would be content with 320GB hdd, how much would that cost?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 3 2009, 08:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

320gb... for 5400rpm around rm190... 7200rpm around rm230
JasonKid
post Dec 3 2009, 09:38 PM

157 posts

Last time I just help my friend change his harddisk to 7200RPM 320GB ~
Surprise!! The harddisk can't get use, it's 15" MBP ~
It show cannot allocate the memory, can't even format ~

BUT

My Macbook white can use @@

BTW, the harddisk brand is Hitachi, taken out from his previous DELL Studio notebook.
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 03:04 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(JasonKid @ Dec 3 2009, 09:38 PM)
Last time I just help my friend change his harddisk to 7200RPM 320GB ~
Surprise!! The harddisk can't get use, it's 15" MBP ~
It show cannot allocate the memory, can't even format ~

BUT

My Macbook white can use @@

BTW, the harddisk brand is Hitachi, taken out from his previous DELL Studio notebook.
some 7200rpm drives got this extra feature to protect the HDD...something like shock protection. the MBP already has this built-in called Sudden Motion Sensor. so SMS will clash with the HDD's shock protection, making the HDD useless.

if i recall correctly there's already a fix for this, that's y u can use now
JasonKid
post Dec 4 2009, 03:36 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 4 2009, 03:04 PM)
some 7200rpm drives got this extra feature to protect the HDD...something like shock protection. the MBP already has this built-in called Sudden Motion Sensor. so SMS will clash with the HDD's shock protection, making the HDD useless.

if i recall correctly there's already a fix for this, that's y u can use now
Any solution to let MBP use the harddisk?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 03:51 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i think its this one

http://www.macrumors.com/2009/08/19/apple-...d-drive-issues/
ibrick
post Dec 4 2009, 06:20 PM

48 posts

oOoo. Okok.. Thx dude!!!
xjukie
post Dec 8 2009, 10:53 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

Before i open up the casing upgrading the RAM, everything is ok. I can login into Tiger as usual.
But after that no more, when start machine then it stuck at the Apple Icon with the rounding circle (boot up)
Dun have idea what to troubleshoot, is it hard disk failure?

This post has been edited by xjukie: Dec 8 2009, 11:01 AM
chewlf
post Dec 8 2009, 10:59 AM

1,217 posts

Is it due to the new RAM not compatible? Try to take out the RAM and put back the original RAM to see whether it can boot or not.
xjukie
post Dec 8 2009, 11:01 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Dec 8 2009, 10:59 AM)
Is it due to the new RAM not compatible? Try to take out the RAM and put back the original RAM to see whether it can boot or not.
if the ram problem and not compatible i found it will prompt the folder icon look alike, when i take out and put it back the icon disappear.
So nothing to do with the RAM i think, correct me if im wrong.
air
post Dec 8 2009, 11:01 AM

644 posts

Check the RAM compatibility before you upgrade dude.
xjukie
post Dec 8 2009, 11:02 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

QUOTE(air @ Dec 8 2009, 11:01 AM)
Check the RAM compatibility before you upgrade dude.
now im using STOCK RAM, still the same
Wonder i touch something that might cause booting problem, hardisk maybe?
air
post Dec 8 2009, 11:05 AM

644 posts

QUOTE(xjukie @ Dec 8 2009, 11:02 AM)
now im using STOCK RAM, still the same
Wonder i touch something that might cause booting problem,  hardisk maybe?
Your description are too vague, you not even specify the size, specs, steps etc.
xjukie
post Dec 8 2009, 11:08 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

QUOTE(air @ Dec 8 2009, 11:05 AM)
Your description are too vague, you not even specify the size, specs, steps etc.
step at the first post, to make it clear .. i put everything as before i upgraded the RAM
but the situation still the same, after turn on machine with the chime sound .. it stuck at the boot up with the Apple icon and rounding circle below
Got what im saying?
air
post Dec 8 2009, 11:29 AM

644 posts

QUOTE(xjukie @ Dec 8 2009, 11:08 AM)
step at the first post, to make it clear .. i put everything as before i upgraded the RAM
but the situation still the same, after turn on machine with the chime sound .. it stuck at the boot up with the Apple icon and rounding circle below
Got what im saying?
Oh YEA? I think you are the one who did not get THIS CLEAR, POWERPC G4 got 3 generation, who knows which model you got before you telling us?

Furthermore, POWER PC G4 using type: 333 MHz DDR SDRAM and up to 1GB only(not sure 2GB can or not), what is the new ram specs you upgrading?

When booting failure occurs, one of the cause might be the way you open your Mac Mini is spoiling the parts within it(if I not getting the wrong meaning that: you put back the stock RAM and reboot again)
xjukie
post Dec 8 2009, 11:36 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

just curious if the system troubleshooting depends on the which generation. Not sure which version, the default ram DDR400. I never dealing with PowerPc machine before.

Again i state, i take out the upgraded RAM 512MB and put it back the old ram 256MB wonder if the 512MB not compatible, but after restore back the boot up still problem with the Apple logo and rounding below.

This post has been edited by xjukie: Dec 8 2009, 11:39 AM
Playboy21
post Dec 10 2009, 11:14 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Can someone recommend me a good, compatible RAM for my iMac?

Mac : iMac, 1.83GHz Intel Core Duo, Currently have 512MB, 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM. (Maximum memory = 2GB).

I checked out crucial, and the price is $60. Anything cheaper?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 11:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Dec 10 2009, 11:14 PM)
Can someone recommend me a good, compatible RAM for my iMac?

Mac : iMac, 1.83GHz Intel Core Duo, Currently have 512MB, 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM. (Maximum memory = 2GB).

I checked out crucial, and the price is $60. Anything cheaper?
i used 2x1gb kingston RAMs for my old MBP (2.0 Core Duo, ddr2 667)

according to c-zone pricelist they're selling 1GB DDR2-667 for rm85
mattyc246
post Dec 19 2009, 06:51 PM

Hi people, im wanting to upgrade my macbook in the near future for the more recent model or even maybe going to the 13" pro. I use windows on my mac as well as snow leopard so i use a lot of my drive space. I was just wondering if anyone knows the price it is to upgrade from the 250GB to the 500GB option. Im on a strict budget to precise values would be greatly helpful. Thanks.

120 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:46 PM