Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
prasys
Apr 18 2009, 09:46 AM
Heros Never Die
OSX 10.5 runs in 64-bit automatically if you have a 64-bit enabled CPU (That is why in my Hackint0sh it would automatically address my 4GB fully and it shows that its running in 64-bit mode). This applies both to PowerPC G5 and Intel Macs with EM64T enabled In other words , if you have new macbook/macbook pro , yes it could see 4GB of RAM And it could detect up to 8GB as well ! Added on April 18, 2009, 9:47 amQUOTE(longfang @ Apr 18 2009, 09:46 AM) There is only 1 version of OS X Leopard, and it has a 32-bit kernel. The reason why Macs can still currently support up to 32GB of ram is because Apple has implemented PAE in the os. Also the reason why windows can only see 3.3GB of ram is because of MMIO an intel issue. Apple has simply mapped the address space for MMIO to the upper bands of however much ram that its chipset currently supports. eg. on santa rosa chipsets it maps it to the upper 8GB range vs windows which has hardcoded it to the upper 4GB range. My friend Leopard has a 64-bit kernel and not a 32-bit kernel. If it runs on 32-bit kernel , there is no way on earth on how I did manage to compile 64-bit applications with it This post has been edited by prasys: Apr 18 2009, 09:47 AM
prasys
Apr 18 2009, 10:16 AM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(longfang @ Apr 18 2009, 10:01 AM) Well you're right. Pfft , I overlooked , the kernel is still 32-bit - however some parts of OSX are 64-bit  . We will have to wait till snow leopard CODE Chess: Mach-O universal binary with 4 architectures Chess (for architecture ppc): Mach-O executable ppc Chess (for architecture ppc64): Mach-O 64-bit executable ppc64 Chess (for architecture i386): Mach-O executable i386 Chess (for architecture x86_64): Mach-O 64-bit executable x86_64 CODE /mach_kernel: Mach-O universal binary with 2 architectures /mach_kernel (for architecture i386): Mach-O executable i386 /mach_kernel (for architecture ppc): Mach-O executable ppc
prasys
May 22 2009, 09:22 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(nas06 @ May 22 2009, 08:12 PM) i see... alright..where can i get it then..? i wanna use this notebook for work.. Ask wei if he has any old copies of Tiger DVD/CDs Anyhow , Leopard is a bit slow for G4 systems. It works fine , provided you max out your RAM !
prasys
Aug 30 2009, 01:50 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(Criollo @ Aug 30 2009, 01:01 PM) On a 32-bit system the optimal RAM is 3GB. But if you are to run dual channel, the optimum setup would be two identical rams (1GB+1GB or 2GB+2GB) of the same brand. Dual channel would not function with 3GB as the ram configuration would be 1GB +2GB, hence a slower speed. Stop giving people wrong information 32-bit with PAE is capable of going more then 4GB of RAM , thats how you see MacPros can have 16GB of RAM despite Leopards kernel being 32-bit
prasys
Aug 30 2009, 02:12 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(Criollo @ Aug 30 2009, 02:07 PM) PAE is an extention that allows your computer to TRY to run upto 4GB ram in a 32-bit environment, its not something available natively... A proton with turbo engine is still not a ferrari =X I feel Its been there since Pentium I era Anyhow , its just the kernel space that would be in 32-bit , user space would be in 64-bit if the processor is capable supporting 64-bit. So your finder , etc would be in 64-bit , but some applications will still use 32-bit due to compatibility issues if the kernel space is in 32-bit !
prasys
Aug 30 2009, 02:54 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(xjukie @ Aug 30 2009, 02:42 PM) so the conclusion is in our case its support only 3gb not 4gb and better running 2gb instead of 2gb+1gb which make it 'slower'? what i nice discussion Well thats your motherboard limitation. At most it can take is 3GB. You're better off with 2gb+1gb. No , its not going to make you slower. Its just that its not going to run in Dual Channel (I'm not sure if your model supports Mixed memory mode that is capable of taking advantage of dual channel to an extend with different memory type) It does mean that with 2gb - your performance would be 150% and with 3gb it would be 65%. The more memory , the merrier it would be. The less cache that OSX needs to use. This way performance would still shoot up If you ask me , yes go with 3GB
prasys
Aug 30 2009, 03:00 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(Criollo @ Aug 30 2009, 02:58 PM) *speechless* LOL Why not optimize with 4GB since your dual slots of ram is there  ||| But i guess it IS the consumers choice lol Well the motherboard doesn't support 4GB . Again blame apple Dual channel is nice for additional umph , but then if you use 2gb and you run 10 instances of photoshop , xcode (like i do) its going to tax the memory and it will start to use hard disk for memory usage. Once it starts to do that , you're pretty much dead. Performance would drop compared to 3GB of memory (even if it runs in single channel)
prasys
Nov 12 2009, 09:11 PM
Heros Never Die
Get 10.5.x , a lot of new programs would run and make use of the G5
prasys
Jul 30 2010, 09:04 PM
Heros Never Die
Why do you have to post your message 54052452 times. Seriously just post once and thats it , and ask your question