Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues
TSwei
May 29 2012, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(sanik @ May 29 2012, 12:51 PM) A) Im not prefer to do this B) Install OSX into external drive seems ok. But have you heard about FireWire target disk mode? Is it possible to do? Thats my problem  Target disk will need another Mac. @creative zn, I'm no sifu. Battery can be swollen by many reason. Heat is one of the factor. Dying/ exhausted cell also another reason. In the end inside the battery are packs of chemical. So chemical reaction have can many variable. Apple is still selling most the battery for intel Mac: http://store.apple.com/my/browse/home/shop...cessories/power
TSwei
Jun 4 2012, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(elgato @ Jun 4 2012, 04:15 PM) macbook al the sudden cannot detect wifi at home. anybody know whats the prob? solutions? Can you still turn the Airport on and off? Usually it's the wifi card. You can try reset PRAM, try different wifi hotspot and see.
TSwei
Jun 26 2012, 04:07 AM
QUOTE(Unwritten law @ Jun 25 2012, 07:05 PM) Hey! just recently purchased a MBP 2012 and found out that there isn't any OSX lion cd in it :/ Can someone tell me how does the 'back up' and 'time machine' thingy work? so if anything happens, i can reboot it safely? Sorry new to mac but loving it! An absolute convert! Hi, Read: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1427And: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718And here's a good place to start learning more bout Mac: http://www.apple.com/support/mac101/
TSwei
Jun 29 2012, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(dannygeni @ Jun 29 2012, 08:43 AM) guys, my mbp i5 8gb ram seems slow when start and kind of lag.. any particular software i can scan what running on my mbp? i mostly use it online photo, music. Didint install much of software. Open up Disk Utility and perform Repair Permission. Google if you not sure what I'm talking about.
TSwei
Jun 29 2012, 01:07 PM
Yeah sure, send to Authorized Service Center. If they refuse, call AppleCare.
TSwei
Jun 29 2012, 02:58 PM
Send to service, might be hardware issues.
TSwei
Jun 30 2012, 02:13 PM
The compact single fan design of MBA is not a very good heat dissipation design. We found that MBA generally very easy to heat up. Even the older model. Sometime it could also due to overdose stock thermal compound: link. This post has been edited by wei: Jun 30 2012, 02:14 PM
TSwei
Jul 11 2012, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jul 11 2012, 08:06 PM) hello. can I know how long usually apple takes response to complaint? I file a complaint regarding the incorrect information of warranty and sent my POP to them 2 days ago. thank you. Usually in 3 days. Longest a week. You can call AppleCare to check.
TSwei
Jul 13 2012, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 12 2012, 07:59 PM) Just got my 2011 Mac mini back from machines after sending in for warranty. The HDMI port is dead so they replaced the whole logic board. Went home & start it up & all is fine but after running for 30 minutes, it rebooted by itself & keep doing so every time upon reaching the Apple boot logo. Never went passed there. Anyone has any clue what might be the problem? Really dissapointed as been living with it without 2 weeks & now gotta send it back again.  I strongly suggest you send to other authorized service center. If you wish to troubleshoot, you can hold option during power up and insert alternative boot device (USB, FireWire, Thunderbolt or Network). See it can boot.
TSwei
Jul 13 2012, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(ezzydizzy @ Jul 13 2012, 11:56 AM) Hi all sifus, I have a 11" MBA year late 2010. My keyboard and trackpad tend to work only if they like. Sometimes work sometimes not. Using external usb key and mouse runs fine. but the power button still work fine. Any help? You could try reset PRAM and SMC. Else send to service, there's nothing much you can do since it's mechanism issues.
TSwei
Jul 18 2012, 11:54 AM
@b48753, I usually order online, local dealer doesn't worth my money, all know shit about the products one. Only know sales.
TSwei
Jul 23 2012, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(BotakPrince @ Jul 23 2012, 04:41 PM) hey guys,not sure if this is the correct place to ask:- the eject button on my MBP 13" 2012 seems a little unresponsive sometimes. i mean when i put a disk in and tried to eject it, it sometimes wouldnt register when i pressed the button, i had to press another time before it registers. any idea? this macbook is less than a week old. i could send it back for a 1to1 exchange but just thought i'd ask before i send it You have to press and hold for 1 second. That is to ensure it is not an accidental press.
TSwei
Jul 24 2012, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(shockk @ Jul 23 2012, 09:54 PM) Weird. Is this a new feature of OSX? I tried on my MBP previously and it seemed to work with only 1 click and no need to hold, or maybe I wasn't being observant enough.  http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?stor...070316233431364This feature was introduced in 10.4.9, your MacBook Pro must be very old one.
TSwei
Jul 24 2012, 03:41 PM
Windows virus won't affect Mac OS (well, at the moment). Unless you run Windows in your Mac then the Windows side might get infected.
TSwei
Jul 26 2012, 10:55 PM
The mouse is non-serviceable parts. So only replacement. If its still in warranty you can try send it to service center.
TSwei
Jul 27 2012, 11:33 AM
Unplug and check both port and plug head does not have alien object. Replug-in again. Power cycle both Mac and charger.
Sometime it takes awhile before it start charging as the Mac and charger is busy talking to each other.
If still not charging. Reset SMC.
TSwei
Jul 27 2012, 01:49 PM
It won't start charging at minor deplete. it will start charging only when it drop lower. Maybe 95%.
TSwei
Jul 27 2012, 08:11 PM
QCD technologies in Berjaya TimesSquare Level 8.
TSwei
Jul 30 2012, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(kord @ Jul 28 2012, 03:57 PM) Hi wei.. tq for the reply. i guess need to get a new one since its ady out of warranty..  I see, since it's out of warranty, we can try. Heck it out for your, but no promise. PM me.
TSwei
Aug 4 2012, 02:29 PM
Guys... this topic is meant for general discussion on Mac issues/ emergency help. For enquiry on my company's service, please PM or divert to my other topic in Service Noticeboard. TQVM.