Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

persona93
post Jul 28 2016, 01:52 PM

1,180 posts

hey guys,

need some help here.

my charger is not working, no led showing when i plug in.

tried different outlet and resetted the SMC and PRAM.

anything else I can do besides trying a different charger? Cycle is 303 and laptop is close to 18 months old.

Right now only got 39% sad.gif

Will service Centre layan those got no Apple care sad.gif

This post has been edited by persona93: Jul 28 2016, 02:06 PM
TSwei
post Jul 28 2016, 05:52 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Jul 28 2016, 01:52 PM)
hey guys,

need some help here.

my charger is not working, no led showing when i plug in.

tried different outlet and resetted the SMC and PRAM.

anything else I can do besides trying a different charger? Cycle is 303 and laptop is close to 18 months old.

Right now only got 39% sad.gif

Will service Centre layan those got no Apple care sad.gif
Check your charger port is clean and have nothing metal stuck on it.
Go to any reseller or friend with a Mac, just plug in another charger to confirm there's nothing wrong with your Mac.
persona93
post Jul 28 2016, 07:36 PM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jul 28 2016, 05:52 PM)
Check your charger port is clean and have nothing metal stuck on it.
Go to any reseller or friend with a Mac, just plug in another charger to confirm there's nothing wrong with your Mac.
Yea thanks bro. I will try with a different charger tmrw

Btw is there any way to rule out any internal issue with my case?
TSwei
post Jul 29 2016, 10:09 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Jul 28 2016, 07:36 PM)
Yea thanks bro. I will try with a different charger tmrw

Btw is there any way to rule out any internal issue with my case?
Try the given steps then you'll know more or less.
persona93
post Jul 29 2016, 12:03 PM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jul 29 2016, 10:09 AM)
Try the given steps then you'll know more or less.
Ok so here what has happened

Went college, used lecturer's charger, can charge.

Then I changed the three pin head of my lecturer to my brick.

So now it's my brick and my lecturer's three pin head.

Switched it on, got pop sound, and now not working.

Took back the three pin head and fixed it back to my lecturer's brick not working.

Changed another three pin head to my lecture's brick. Working.

My lecturer changed the fuse in his three pin head and attach back to his own brick, working.

So is the fault on my adapter blowing the fuse in my lecturer's three pin or what?

I don't dare to try another three pin on my brick.

Anyways I'll walk in to an AASP and see what's wrong.

Overall, it is not laptop's problem, thank God.
TSwei
post Jul 29 2016, 01:53 PM

6,496 posts

You need a new charger. And replace the blown fuse before you use on the new charger.
post Aug 10 2016, 12:17 AM

346 posts

hi guys im not sure where I can post this. ill try here.

my sisters macbook pro dropped and damaged the screen

its a 13" retina display macbook pro and apple shop quoted about 1-2k to replace. (only will tell real price upon confirming repair -.-)

any other suggestion ? I was thinking, are there scrapyards where for example i can find a working screen with broken MB etc ...?

Or any sifu here that know how to fix this without charging a bomb? hehe

OR can i buy an older macbook pro normal screen to replace retina screen? will that work?

This post has been edited by 501024: Aug 10 2016, 12:04 PM
ycngjack1
post Sep 17 2016, 03:40 PM

76 posts

Hello, just wanted to ask whether mac book pro 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 year early 2015 is eligible for ram and harddisk upgrade?
TSwei
post Sep 18 2016, 01:29 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(ycngjack1 @ Sep 17 2016, 03:40 PM)
Hello, just wanted to ask whether mac book pro 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 year early 2015 is eligible for ram and harddisk upgrade?
Memory: https://www.facebook.com/maccores/photos/a....?type=3&theater
Storage: Yes, but costly.
rebus
post Sep 21 2016, 11:57 PM

316 posts

Sifus want to ask - I have an iMac 2010 OS 10.6 with 4G Ram so if want to upgrade to 8G ram is possible right?

What's a good brand for RAM for iMac and where best to go? TQ
TSwei
post Sep 22 2016, 10:23 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(rebus @ Sep 21 2016, 11:57 PM)
Sifus want to ask - I have an iMac 2010 OS 10.6 with 4G Ram so if want to upgrade to 8G ram is possible right?

What's a good brand for RAM for iMac and where best to go? TQ
Do a search in garage sales section. look carefully.
rebus
post Sep 22 2016, 11:22 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 22 2016, 10:23 AM)
Do a search in garage sales section. look carefully.
thanks. found it.

ycngjack1
post Sep 23 2016, 11:16 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 18 2016, 01:29 AM)
laptop screen got scratch, how much to replace a new one?
Reventon
post Oct 19 2016, 11:39 PM

2,921 posts

My macbook show battery need replacement now and at the same time the macbook become quite lag in term of response of opening apps scrolling opening folder etc. does this battery problem cause this? Btw i am using the macbook when its plugged in with charger. Still lag
TSwei
post Oct 20 2016, 09:56 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Oct 19 2016, 11:39 PM)
My macbook show battery need replacement now and at the same time the macbook become quite lag in term of response of opening apps scrolling opening folder etc. does this battery problem cause this? Btw i am using the macbook when its plugged in with charger. Still lag
That is normal if your model is 2011 and newer. That is to prevent your Mac drawing too much power from the charger and damaged it. There are many article about this online.
Reventon
post Oct 20 2016, 01:03 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Oct 20 2016, 09:56 AM)
That is normal if your model is 2011 and newer. That is to prevent your Mac drawing too much power from the charger and damaged it. There are many article about this online.
So tht mean if i change a new battery the processor will run on normal speed again ?
neoadv
post Oct 20 2016, 01:15 PM

165 posts

Can I upgrade the memory in my Imac 2013 ? PM for details. Tq
TSwei
post Oct 20 2016, 01:39 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Oct 20 2016, 01:03 PM)
So tht mean if i change a new battery the processor will run on normal speed again ?
Yes.
soyabean123
post Oct 21 2016, 09:13 PM

153 posts

Hi! I am using Macbook pro 13 inch, late 2011, OS X Yosemite.
I have decided to sell my Macbook and i am not sure how to permanently delete photos from the Photos app. Instead of format the laptop, any alternate option? Kindly advice.
TSwei
post Oct 22 2016, 10:50 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Oct 21 2016, 09:13 PM)
Hi! I am using Macbook pro 13 inch, late 2011, OS X Yosemite.
I have decided to sell my Macbook and i am not sure how to permanently delete photos from the Photos app. Instead of format the laptop, any alternate option? Kindly advice.
Create a new admin user account at System Preferences > Accounts. Logout your old account. Login to new admin account. At the same System Preferences section. Delete your old user account. Remember choose not to archive. And ensure you have backup all your stuff.

Data you stored on the root directory on the HDD, you have to remove them manually.

98 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:32 AM