Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues
naughtyz
Apr 20 2014, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(wei @ Dec 28 2013, 07:07 PM) Very common fault on all 2011 model (15 & 17) that have dual graphics. Be aware if you keep hard reboot your Mac, your OS might corrupt at one point. The powder are non related. This post has been edited by naughtyz: Jun 14 2014, 03:41 AM
TSwei
Apr 20 2014, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(naughtyz @ Apr 20 2014, 11:26 AM) i have a same problem right now, any solution of this case? should i reformat back? and how to? tq What problem? If graphic components issue is not related to software, so reformat won't help.
naughtyz
Apr 24 2014, 01:50 AM
done
This post has been edited by naughtyz: Jun 14 2014, 03:40 AM
TSwei
Apr 24 2014, 10:40 AM
naughtyz
Apr 24 2014, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(wei @ Apr 24 2014, 11:40 AM) thanks wei, i went to mac authorised dealers, they all just suggest me to let them do it for,at everything and charge me rm250.00, not resourcefull they are.
chingwooi
Apr 27 2014, 08:00 PM
hi guys,
wanna ask, if i were to connect my old imac mid 2011 version to optoma hd 25 projector, will i b able to get the 3D from it?
unpronounciable
Apr 30 2014, 02:48 PM
Hi, I have a problem with my MacBook Air (11" late 2010 1.4 GHz). The problem is it would not start.
My 2-year old son spilled his grape-flavoured cultured milk on the keyboard, and it seeped in. My Mac was still able to run. Then I installed some updates so I shut it down (not restart). Then I tried to switch it on using the power button at top-right, it would not turn on.
There is no sound at all, fan is not running. When I charge it, the charger still responds by illuminating orange light until a few hours then it turned green (which indicates battery is fully charged).
I tore my MacBook apart (took a lot of effort finding the pentalobe screwdriver), detached everything (logic board, SSD, fan, everything) and swabbed every sticky part with 95% alcohol (ethanol or ethyl alcohol) and cloth (the one for glasses/spectacles). Then I assembled it back, tried to switch it on (both with charger connected and not connected) but to no avail.
I sent it to Machines Suria KLCC, an authorized Apple service provider. I told them what happened. After a week, they said that I need to replace my keyboard, logic board (i.e. MacBook's motherboard) and touch pad. I asked for the method of diagnosis, and they said they'll test it by replacing a part with a known-good part.
Somehow I am highly suspicious that they did not perform that replacement of part with a known-good part. I suspected that because I told them what happened, they immediately assumed the logic board and the keyboard need to be replaced.
I paid the RM60 cancellation fee and took back my MacBook.
I suspect that the problem is with my power button, but how to confirm it?
Any Apple service provider (authorized or not authorized, I don't mind) that can show in front of me that it is really the logic board and/or the keyboard and/or the track pad is kaput? At least I have the comfort of paying what I know really needs replacement.
naughtyz
Apr 30 2014, 05:47 PM
buy new laptop
This post has been edited by naughtyz: Jun 14 2014, 03:39 AM
TSwei
May 1 2014, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 27 2014, 08:00 PM) hi guys, wanna ask, if i were to connect my old imac mid 2011 version to optoma hd 25 projector, will i b able to get the 3D from it? Have no experience with 3D projection. I presume it depends highly on what media & player you using.
TSwei
May 1 2014, 09:40 AM
@unpronounciable First thing, after a liquid spill and try to turn it on and charge it is the worst thing you can do. Next time, unplug the battery and perform cleaning or send to service immediately. We was told done Service Center will reject any unit with liquid damage. No comment on what they've done for you or not. But you should send to another place for checking.
unpronounciable
May 2 2014, 10:46 PM
Hi wei, Thanks for the reply. Now that you mentioned it, I guess it was not the wisest of things to do. But my MacBook actually ran a few hours after the spill (half-day or so) before I shut it down, so I thought the liquid did not seep in. Only after I shut it down, I can't turn it back on. Any place you know that I can send my MacBook for another diagnosis? QUOTE(wei @ May 1 2014, 09:40 AM) @unpronounciable First thing, after a liquid spill and try to turn it on and charge it is the worst thing you can do. Next time, unplug the battery and perform cleaning or send to service immediately. We was told done Service Center will reject any unit with liquid damage. No comment on what they've done for you or not. But you should send to another place for checking. QUOTE(unpronounciable @ Apr 30 2014, 02:48 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Hi, I have a problem with my MacBook Air (11" late 2010 1.4 GHz). The problem is it would not start.
My 2-year old son spilled his grape-flavoured cultured milk on the keyboard, and it seeped in. My Mac was still able to run. Then I installed some updates so I shut it down (not restart). Then I tried to switch it on using the power button at top-right, it would not turn on.
There is no sound at all, fan is not running. When I charge it, the charger still responds by illuminating orange light until a few hours then it turned green (which indicates battery is fully charged).
I tore my MacBook apart (took a lot of effort finding the pentalobe screwdriver), detached everything (logic board, SSD, fan, everything) and swabbed every sticky part with 95% alcohol (ethanol or ethyl alcohol) and cloth (the one for glasses/spectacles). Then I assembled it back, tried to switch it on (both with charger connected and not connected) but to no avail.
I sent it to Machines Suria KLCC, an authorized Apple service provider. I told them what happened. After a week, they said that I need to replace my keyboard, logic board (i.e. MacBook's motherboard) and touch pad. I asked for the method of diagnosis, and they said they'll test it by replacing a part with a known-good part.
Somehow I am highly suspicious that they did not perform that replacement of part with a known-good part. I suspected that because I told them what happened, they immediately assumed the logic board and the keyboard need to be replaced.
I paid the RM60 cancellation fee and took back my MacBook.
I suspect that the problem is with my power button, but how to confirm it?
Any Apple service provider (authorized or not authorized, I don't mind) that can show in front of me that it is really the logic board and/or the keyboard and/or the track pad is kaput? At least I have the comfort of paying what I know really needs replacement. 
ResQ
May 10 2014, 01:43 AM
currently im using macbook air mid 2013, i want to change the battery because the batt indicator state that Service Battery, anyone know which shop accept postage? because currently im in alor setar, bought it at mac city kl festival
zwanvedder
Jun 3 2014, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(ResQ @ May 10 2014, 01:43 AM) currently im using macbook air mid 2013, i want to change the battery because the batt indicator state that Service Battery, anyone know which shop accept postage? because currently im in alor setar, bought it at mac city kl festival how many batt cycle...so fast ya u need to change d batt
str4n93r
Jun 11 2014, 04:55 PM

Anyone know where can i reballing my graphic card chipset for macbook pro 15 early 2011.. go to LYP once, they charge me 500rm and can use my mbp for only 5month.
NoKusshon
Jun 16 2014, 11:22 AM
Hello, I have 1 question..The situation is like here, I already quit all my applications then shut down. Sometimes, when i open back my macbook, the finder is already open and pop out at desktop. is it normal ? 😰
Townshend
Jun 16 2014, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Jun 16 2014, 11:22 AM) Hello, I have 1 question..The situation is like here, I already quit all my applications then shut down. Sometimes, when i open back my macbook, the finder is already open and pop out at desktop. is it normal ? 😰 Hmm, maybe you did not close the Finder window when you shut it down ? When you shut down your Mac, uncheck the 'Reopen windows when logging back in" box.
NoKusshon
Jun 16 2014, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(Townshend @ Jun 16 2014, 05:37 PM) Hmm, maybe you did not close the Finder window when you shut it down ? When you shut down your Mac, uncheck the 'Reopen windows when logging back in" box. Hmm, can we quit Finder window ??
Townshend
Jun 16 2014, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Jun 16 2014, 05:43 PM) Hmm, can we quit Finder window ??  If you want to have "Quit Finder" option enabled in menu bar, type the command below in Terminal CODE defaults write com.apple.finder QuitMenuItem -bool YES Hit enter and proceed with the command below CODE killall Finder And press enter.
NoKusshon
Jun 16 2014, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(Townshend @ Jun 16 2014, 07:45 PM) If you want to have "Quit Finder" option enabled in menu bar, type the command below in Terminal CODE defaults write com.apple.finder QuitMenuItem -bool YES Hit enter and proceed with the command below CODE killall Finder And press enter. Ah i see, thank you townshend. I already solve the problem by your ealier solution. I need to close all my finder first hehe.. now it's okay.. thank you again