98 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

soonwai
post Aug 26 2011, 10:09 PM

11,459 posts

Better copy out your important data before doing anything else. either take out your HD or mount it in target disk mode.

It could be software prob but sounds like your HD got bad blocks. Check your logs to see if got i/o errors. Can you boot into single user mode?

SUStelefunken
post Aug 26 2011, 10:19 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Aug 26 2011, 08:57 PM)
guys my macbook pro [snow leopard] can boot up but really takes a long time, then it hangs after the dock has appeared.

i can move my mouse, but my wallpaper wont load, the dock would react to my mouse, but the finder wont open.

therefore my mac is unusable. is it hardware or software issue?
boot up with ur mac osx install dvd and run disk utility and verify ur partition for error.
soonwai
post Aug 26 2011, 10:23 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(telefunken @ Aug 26 2011, 10:19 PM)
boot up with ur mac osx install dvd and run disk utility and verify ur partition for error.
Good idea, it won't find any bad blocks but at least it'll let you know if your mac is booting and therefore not a logic board problem.
TSwei
post Aug 26 2011, 10:42 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Can try booting into Safe Mode and see if the problem occur.
bontotalan
post Aug 26 2011, 11:36 PM

Lalafell - FFXIV -
935 posts

the thing is, my mom threw out the cd without me knowing. [yea living with parents]. i have no idea what to do.

last time i open with safe mode, it still hangs, but havent tried doing it again recently.
alexng2208
post Aug 29 2011, 11:32 AM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

any of your have any idea how to clean the fans of a MBP?

soonwai
post Aug 29 2011, 12:53 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Aug 29 2011, 11:32 AM)
I use compressed air. Open up the MBP and spray away. Just be careful of the condensation.
SUStelefunken
post Aug 29 2011, 12:55 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Aug 29 2011, 11:32 AM)
i usually just open the metal cover at the bottom and attach a tiny nozzle on the vacuum cleaner and vacuum away the dust. not sure if its the right way to do it but yeah, thats how i do it. hopefully wei can answer this. he's the expert.
soonwai
post Aug 29 2011, 12:57 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(telefunken @ Aug 29 2011, 12:55 PM)
i usually just open the metal cover at the bottom and attach a tiny nozzle on the vacuum cleaner and vacuum away the dust. not sure if its the right way to do it but yeah, thats how i do it. hopefully wei can answer this. he's the expert.
Vacuum cleaner = lots of static electricity. Actually I do that on PCs sometimes but just be careful. Don't want to zap your motherboard.
SUStelefunken
post Aug 29 2011, 05:12 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 29 2011, 12:57 PM)
Vacuum cleaner = lots of static electricity. Actually I do that on PCs sometimes but just be careful. Don't want to zap your motherboard.
if u open up an mbp, the fan part and the areas surrounding it are all plastic. you're not supposed to touch any of the circuitry. only made contact with the fan. but since the outer body is aluminium, just touch it to remove any static charge from your body.
TSwei
post Aug 29 2011, 07:06 PM

6,496 posts

Yes, normal household vacuum will generate electrostatic. Which is bad for micro components.

Our cleaning process involve taking out each component and further take apart for cleaning. We will disassemble the fan and brush clean the blade. Other component are clean with special vacuum design for electronic components which is static safe. You have to be careful that not to damage anything, we don't want a simple cleaning job end up replacing logicboard for client.
olivur
post Aug 30 2011, 02:58 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,283 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 29 2011, 12:53 PM)
I use compressed air. Open up the MBP and spray away.  Just be careful of the condensation.
which is generated by..? (please don't say compressor please don't say compressor >.<)

if not, where do you get your stash of can-o-compressed air :E? i only brought back like a can back with me and i've already used it up ;-;
TSwei
post Aug 30 2011, 10:37 AM

6,496 posts

Compressed air can do the job. But the dust will fly around the room or place wherever you are doing the dusting. Which is very bad for health.

We have experience with canned air. The air blow out are cold and causing condensation on the surface. Not ideal for electronic components.
olivur
post Aug 31 2011, 07:33 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,283 posts

nuu i didn't mean for my mac, but for my gaming rig :P

anyways i got a few canisters of compressed air from ace hardware. pretty costly compared to price in states though at 51? myr per bottle.

TSwei
post Aug 31 2011, 08:42 PM

6,496 posts

They ain't cheap. We remember buying at RM40+, thats bulk buying in carton boxes. Any electronic equipment share the same principal. Did you notice the air blowing out is cold? Those that we used have this problem.
olivur
post Aug 31 2011, 10:14 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,283 posts

yeah, if you shake the bottle around when using it it'll spit out the white stuff. so i know to release it small blasts only :P

i used to use the stuff frequently :x
limkj
post Sep 1 2011, 10:35 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Aug 26 2011, 11:36 PM)
the thing is, my mom threw out the cd without me knowing. [yea living with parents]. i have no idea what to do.

last time i open with safe mode, it still hangs, but havent tried doing it again recently.
See if you can borrow a copy of the install DVD from a friend who is using the same type of Mac. If not, you will need to call AppleCare to purchase a replacement DVD.
elfreakz
post Sep 4 2011, 02:07 PM

3,905 posts

ok out of the blue i have airport problem. im using snow leopard, while using airport, it simply gone... and showing no airport card installed.

i have tried all the resetting tips, but did not help.

also i even formatted my macbook with SL dvd, it didnt install airport. its like someone take out my airport from macbook.

weird... how come it suddently stop working. my airport card died?

anybody repair airport card at machines? mine still under warranty. how long do i have to wait for it to be fix if the card dead?
TSwei
post Sep 4 2011, 02:44 PM

6,496 posts

The card burnt and need a replacement. This is expected if you use wifi often and have heavy traffic all the time.
elfreakz
post Sep 4 2011, 02:48 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 4 2011, 02:44 PM)
The card burnt and need a replacement. This is expected if you use wifi often and have heavy traffic all the time.
ouch.. if still under warranty, is the replacement free?

98 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:31 PM