for those who take P1,2,3 together..
will it be heavy?
thinking of taking 2 or 3 paper..hvnt decide..
for parttimers,pls giv your opinion too..
greatly appreciated..
Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D
Jun 10 2009, 11:38 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
for those who take P1,2,3 together..
will it be heavy? thinking of taking 2 or 3 paper..hvnt decide.. for parttimers,pls giv your opinion too.. greatly appreciated.. |
Jun 10 2009, 11:47 PM
44 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Jun 11 2009, 12:21 AM
858 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Jun 11 2009, 12:28 AM
144 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Sheila John from Orange good in F8 I think.
Jun 11 2009, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(n406 @ Jun 10 2009, 08:26 PM) You better go for Philip Woo for F8. He is good and detail in explaination.Added on June 11, 2009, 12:35 am QUOTE(antarkuzs @ Jun 10 2009, 09:43 PM) hello, noob here. pls recommend me the best place to study the final level of acca (the last five papers)? planning to do part time. thanks! Since you plan to study part time, then KL college should be best place for you. Most of the P1 to P3 recommendation lecturers are from Kasturi and MCO. You can look at 1st page for all recommended lecturers.This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jun 11 2009, 12:35 AM |
Jun 11 2009, 12:40 AM
121 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(dreamerJD @ Jun 10 2009, 11:47 PM) I cannot check the KB timetable so I cannot check whether it will clash with my papers.QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jun 11 2009, 12:21 AM) Not recommended F8 for Jackson Chan. I know last time got student complaint about his teaching method. Yea, I googled around and saw ALL bad feedbacks about him lolQUOTE(n406 @ Jun 11 2009, 12:28 AM) But she is much more expensive than KSA QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jun 11 2009, 12:28 AM) You better go for Philip Woo for F8. He is good and detail in explaination. Yea, everyone is recommending him but I have major transportation problem at night |
Jun 11 2009, 12:42 AM
How about Andrew Kok for F6? If I am not mistaken, full time students can only opt for Andrew Kok is it? Sorry first time reading this timetable, kind of confused
Jun 11 2009, 01:04 AM
Jun 11 2009, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(dreamerJD @ Jun 11 2009, 01:04 AM) Thanks! Honestly, which lecturer is better? Philip Woo or this Low Chin Ann? |
Jun 11 2009, 02:26 AM
Each has his own good points.
Phillip Woo has a lot of experience in the field so he gives a lot of practical examples. But one thing i dislike is his long class hours which can be really tiring, because his style is talking non-stop (not that he's boring, he jokes once in a while & tells interesting stories). He writes very little, just the main points of the topic & he'll elaborate it by talking. So you'll have to pay 100% attention & jot down your own notes. It would be useful if you have a recorder. He gives several tests during the 2nd term so that we can judge our own standard. But it's entirely up to the student whether he/she wants to make the effort to do the test. Whereas for Low Chin Ann, he writes a lot in class. He gives 2-3 tutorial classes during the end of 2nd term & do PYQ teaching us how to write the answers. This is useful because reading examiner's answers can be confusing. I feel Low Chin Ann's notes & teaching sequence is more organized. Both are dedicated lecturers who are willing to listen & help the students so you can't go wrong with any one of them |
Jun 11 2009, 04:06 AM
552 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Anfield |
QUOTE(antarkuzs @ Jun 10 2009, 09:43 PM) hello, noob here. pls recommend me the best place to study the final level of acca (the last five papers)? planning to do part time. thanks! please spend sometime reading previous posts before asking. dropping a 1 liner here without specifying which area you are at and which optional papers you intend to take will not help. be dedicated! cheers |
Jun 11 2009, 09:50 AM
2,293 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(kuntaker @ Jun 10 2009, 11:38 PM) for those who take P1,2,3 together.. I am part timer, I take P1 & P2 (June 09 sitting)will it be heavy? thinking of taking 2 or 3 paper..hvnt decide.. for parttimers,pls giv your opinion too.. greatly appreciated.. Initially, I study 3 subjects. But 1 day b4 exam entry, I drop P3. And try to focus on only 2 subject (P1 & P2 ) I felt that it is quite tough lo even to cope 2 subjects , frankly speaking. (with my intelligence ability) |
Jun 11 2009, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(dreamerJD @ Jun 11 2009, 02:26 AM) Each has his own good points. Both sounds really good, thanks for your detailed explanation Phillip Woo has a lot of experience in the field so he gives a lot of practical examples. But one thing i dislike is his long class hours which can be really tiring, because his style is talking non-stop (not that he's boring, he jokes once in a while & tells interesting stories). He writes very little, just the main points of the topic & he'll elaborate it by talking. So you'll have to pay 100% attention & jot down your own notes. It would be useful if you have a recorder. He gives several tests during the 2nd term so that we can judge our own standard. But it's entirely up to the student whether he/she wants to make the effort to do the test. Whereas for Low Chin Ann, he writes a lot in class. He gives 2-3 tutorial classes during the end of 2nd term & do PYQ teaching us how to write the answers. This is useful because reading examiner's answers can be confusing. I feel Low Chin Ann's notes & teaching sequence is more organized. Both are dedicated lecturers who are willing to listen & help the students so you can't go wrong with any one of them Okay, so I need some comments here: F6-1) Andrew Kok: Didn't get much feedback about him 2) Alan Yeo: Seems to be an experienced lecturer, but seems that he is only catering for part time students? Correct me if I am wrong, I have yet to understand fully the timetable lol 3) Low Chin Ann: Not much feedback about him teaching this paper F7-1) Haneef: Sounds like a boring but great lecturer 2) Joe Fang: Heard that he is good in teaching consol but not everyone understands his method. Is it hard for who don't understand his method? F8-1) Philip Woo: Has really great feedback, but too bad his class is so long and ends late which I may have a problem with regarding transportation. 2) Low Chin Ann-Good feedback Any suggestion on whose class should I choose? Anyone can add other experienced lecturers as well as suggestions. Thanks This post has been edited by `twinkles: Jun 11 2009, 10:53 AM |
Jun 11 2009, 11:32 AM
2,102 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(`twinkles @ Jun 11 2009, 10:51 AM) Both sounds really good, thanks for your detailed explanation F6 :Okay, so I need some comments here: F6-1) Andrew Kok: Didn't get much feedback about him 2) Alan Yeo: Seems to be an experienced lecturer, but seems that he is only catering for part time students? Correct me if I am wrong, I have yet to understand fully the timetable lol 3) Low Chin Ann: Not much feedback about him teaching this paper F7-1) Haneef: Sounds like a boring but great lecturer 2) Joe Fang: Heard that he is good in teaching consol but not everyone understands his method. Is it hard for who don't understand his method? F8-1) Philip Woo: Has really great feedback, but too bad his class is so long and ends late which I may have a problem with regarding transportation. 2) Low Chin Ann-Good feedback Any suggestion on whose class should I choose? Anyone can add other experienced lecturers as well as suggestions. Thanks Siva Nair (FTMS) & Alan Yeo (KSA) had both become marker for ACCA tax paper b4 so both are really experience on teaching technics & tactics on tax. You can refer them as tax speciallist. However their method is more suitable for those who have some exposure in tax. They can relate student on advance stuff but fall short on the foundations of tax & "student friendly approach". Basicly : - They are quite fast (for students comprehension) - Not systematic : For tax its the most difficult to teach in the beginning since you need to understand everything about format , income & expense rule, relief, donations.....etc before computing the tax. Since teaching more than 20 years & only teaching tax they do take some teaching for granted as everything has become very easy for them but it may not be so for student. They teach from their own thick text book. Chin Ann is anew lecturer (relatively speaking) but has been teaching for 10 years or so. He has been prize winner as an acca student & his methods are more student friendly since he understand students wekaness & incompatability. he can teach the fundamental & core area very well but have a knack of spotting question but he did teach entire syllabus to student. I heard that he had been "invited" to become marker for F6. F7 : Joe Fang method is created by himself. A friend of mine who has been to his class said that he has personally shown his methods to the examiner when he came to MYS & they said the method is acceptable & he has used it ever since. Since he used his own method so he also publish the questions on his textbook based on his style of answer. He will take / photostat the student best answer based on his style as the answer for his textbook. A friend of mine said that his style can make student to score in F7 but not anymore in P2 leading many to switch to another lecturer in P2 like Keith Farmer or Haneef. A friend have shown me his techniques & its almosy like haveing 3 columns : 1 for parent, 1 for sub, 1 for the consolidation total (group). Then you need to cross out irreleavant figures & add the notes figures. This method will give you a BALANCED F/S & quick calculation. However there are very few working or none at all. So if you are correct in adjustments you get maximum marks but if you are wrong you get 0. He can make you pass but cannot make you score. F8 : There are also Sheila John in MCO another good audit lecturer. She has the best notes avaliable but you need to read it all for good effect. Phillip Woo is the more practical lecturer & will share his own experience making the class livelier. Chin Ann is the more student approach which means he can translate difficult stuff to student language. Personal note : Chin Ann has a large based of Mandarin speaking students as he speaks mandrin from time to time but he will stick with english for lecture. So if there is a Chinese blog / forum you may hear his name more often |
Jun 11 2009, 12:11 PM
6 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
I definitely agree Chin Ann is a dedicated and friendly lecturer. He could speak cantonese, mandarin and english well. So u won't find any problems in approaching him and asking him questions.
But one thing u need to take note, although he's considered as an "experienced lecturer" after so many years of teaching, but one of the drawbacks about him is that he's lack of practical experience. Believe it or not, u could make a comparison after attending Philip Woo and Parmindar's classes. You would then find that Chin Ann couldn't provide you with some real life scenario and examples. After reading so many "Good feedback" about Chin Ann, i think i should also state this " little not-so-good feedback" about him. Hope everyone could make a better choice of lecturers after taking into account advices given by forummers. |
Jun 11 2009, 12:43 PM
2,102 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(shiningstar101 @ Jun 11 2009, 12:11 PM) I definitely agree Chin Ann is a dedicated and friendly lecturer. He could speak cantonese, mandarin and english well. So u won't find any problems in approaching him and asking him questions. But one thing u need to take note, although he's considered as an "experienced lecturer" after so many years of teaching, but one of the drawbacks about him is that he's lack of practical experience. Believe it or not, u could make a comparison after attending Philip Woo and Parmindar's classes. You would then find that Chin Ann couldn't provide you with some real life scenario and examples. After reading so many "Good feedback" about Chin Ann, i think i should also state this " little not-so-good feedback" about him. Hope everyone could make a better choice of lecturers after taking into account advices given by forummers. Yup no lecturer is perfect. However he mostly stick to calculational papers like F5 & F6 & he can teach the theory well compared to other lecturers that mostly focus on the calculational portion. For fundamental papers practical experience is not required that much so I dont consider it a drawback. However comes to professional papers this is the area which practical knowldege is a must which is why I still rate him for lack of experience on this areas. But i do admit after going for Pamindar or Phillip class you will felt the same way about others too but its bcos both of them stick with theoretical papers. |
Jun 11 2009, 12:46 PM
2,757 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
I still have F8 and 5 Professional papers left (assumed that my F9 has passed in the June sitting).
I have been working full time and studying part time. usually spend 2/3 weeks study leave for my exam. The results be ok so far because i only take 1 or 2 papers per sem. Dec'09 sitting i have to take F8 and i don't think that i can take another paper since i only have around 2/3 weeks time to prepare for a paper. So now, i'm in Ipoh. My friends said that the only part time F8 teacher is not really good, because the way she teach is just reading from the notes. My question is, am i able to pass by just reading the notes alone? so far, i have been better on theory part rather than calculations. Reading the notes alone, is it enough? Please advise. |
Jun 11 2009, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 11 2009, 12:46 PM) I still have F8 and 5 Professional papers left (assumed that my F9 has passed in the June sitting). It is not advise to just reading notes for study F8 even you are good in theory. F8 is very practical paper, can't study hard. If i'm not mistake, only 10% of question is on knowledge base and 90% question is application base.I have been working full time and studying part time. usually spend 2/3 weeks study leave for my exam. The results be ok so far because i only take 1 or 2 papers per sem. Dec'09 sitting i have to take F8 and i don't think that i can take another paper since i only have around 2/3 weeks time to prepare for a paper. So now, i'm in Ipoh. My friends said that the only part time F8 teacher is not really good, because the way she teach is just reading from the notes. My question is, am i able to pass by just reading the notes alone? so far, i have been better on theory part rather than calculations. Reading the notes alone, is it enough? Please advise. Do you know how many people fail F8 every sitting? I got a friend already fail 6 times, not bcos of his theory not strong but the reason was he don't understand examiner requirement. I strongly recommend you go for class for F8. |
Jun 11 2009, 04:07 PM
33 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Just wonder anybody who can recommend p5 lecturer?Mr Orange -Mr LanLim is good or not?
Tiz time , I took p4 in Daniel Ho class, but exam its crazy! but in examiner's blog, he said its available ????? I feel if u really want to pass this horrible exam, need read more high level text book than bpp. however where can buy ? Now I received e-mail from ftms, Daniel ho will teach half-term for next sitting.Maybe I think he will retire! By the way, KSA perminder singh got serious problem, in his revision class told us no need calculate ratio based on the examiner's background , but in yesterday exam got 13 marks need calculate: in leadship topic, in normal class,he told us to skip and ignore, but tiz time 18 marks Q came out lah. .... P3 exam marked by the computer tiz time , will it be more strict compare with artificial? Thanks a lot ! |
Jun 11 2009, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 11 2009, 11:32 AM) F6 : Thanks so much for the long reply. Do you mind me Pm-ing you for further discussion Siva Nair (FTMS) & Alan Yeo (KSA) had both become marker for ACCA tax paper b4 so both are really experience on teaching technics & tactics on tax. You can refer them as tax speciallist. However their method is more suitable for those who have some exposure in tax. They can relate student on advance stuff but fall short on the foundations of tax & "student friendly approach". Basicly : - They are quite fast (for students comprehension) - Not systematic : For tax its the most difficult to teach in the beginning since you need to understand everything about format , income & expense rule, relief, donations.....etc before computing the tax. Since teaching more than 20 years & only teaching tax they do take some teaching for granted as everything has become very easy for them but it may not be so for student. They teach from their own thick text book. Chin Ann is anew lecturer (relatively speaking) but has been teaching for 10 years or so. He has been prize winner as an acca student & his methods are more student friendly since he understand students wekaness & incompatability. he can teach the fundamental & core area very well but have a knack of spotting question but he did teach entire syllabus to student. I heard that he had been "invited" to become marker for F6. F7 : Joe Fang method is created by himself. A friend of mine who has been to his class said that he has personally shown his methods to the examiner when he came to MYS & they said the method is acceptable & he has used it ever since. Since he used his own method so he also publish the questions on his textbook based on his style of answer. He will take / photostat the student best answer based on his style as the answer for his textbook. A friend of mine said that his style can make student to score in F7 but not anymore in P2 leading many to switch to another lecturer in P2 like Keith Farmer or Haneef. A friend have shown me his techniques & its almosy like haveing 3 columns : 1 for parent, 1 for sub, 1 for the consolidation total (group). Then you need to cross out irreleavant figures & add the notes figures. This method will give you a BALANCED F/S & quick calculation. However there are very few working or none at all. So if you are correct in adjustments you get maximum marks but if you are wrong you get 0. He can make you pass but cannot make you score. F8 : There are also Sheila John in MCO another good audit lecturer. She has the best notes avaliable but you need to read it all for good effect. Phillip Woo is the more practical lecturer & will share his own experience making the class livelier. Chin Ann is the more student approach which means he can translate difficult stuff to student language. Personal note : Chin Ann has a large based of Mandarin speaking students as he speaks mandrin from time to time but he will stick with english for lecture. So if there is a Chinese blog / forum you may hear his name more often QUOTE(shiningstar101 @ Jun 11 2009, 12:11 PM) I definitely agree Chin Ann is a dedicated and friendly lecturer. He could speak cantonese, mandarin and english well. So u won't find any problems in approaching him and asking him questions. It is good to let us know about his drawbacks too so that we can choose the most suitable lecturers around But one thing u need to take note, although he's considered as an "experienced lecturer" after so many years of teaching, but one of the drawbacks about him is that he's lack of practical experience. Believe it or not, u could make a comparison after attending Philip Woo and Parmindar's classes. You would then find that Chin Ann couldn't provide you with some real life scenario and examples. After reading so many "Good feedback" about Chin Ann, i think i should also state this " little not-so-good feedback" about him. Hope everyone could make a better choice of lecturers after taking into account advices given by forummers. |
| Change to: | 0.0276sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:45 AM |