Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

nothingz
post May 4 2009, 11:35 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ May 4 2009, 12:03 AM)
hi guys! there's sth i would like to clarify here. hope i can get some feedback here.
according to the student accountant magazine published months ago, there's this article on completing OBU degree.
it states that upon completing ur OBU, students must at first cleared the P1 Professional Accountant paper before u can officially graduate as an OBU grad.
is that true?
was kinda confuse with that and worried. papers im taking now were f4, p2 and p3.
f4 would be the last paper in my fundamental papers and i would like to start my OBU project starting july 2009. problem is my P1 is still outstanding. referring to the article, if my P1 is still to be attempt, i cant continue with my OBU project until i cleared it? is that it?
are you sure that you are still OPTED INTO THE OBU SCHEME? because the OBU eligibility has been changed in the last December, one of the changes is.. 'you must post sufficient english proefficiency' which means you have to pass F4 before passing any of the F7-F9 papers.

Please refer to the bottom part of your latest ACCA results slip or log on to MyACCA to check your status. I was one of those who are affected by the above clause, however my appeal on it was successful, now i am re-OPTED INTO THE OBU SCHEME again. rclxms.gif
nothingz
post May 4 2009, 12:40 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(jacktai @ May 4 2009, 12:30 PM)
It seem ACCA & OBU are getting harder then before. So friend faster complete all the paper before suffer the change again. Lucky I took my OBU before the change, that time the requirement are very low. Just pass all the Part 2 paper do the project thats all. Then the certificate are send to you house.
my lecturer said, 50 pound for a degree, where else can you find? somemore now Oxford Brooke got over 30k students opted into this scheme, what other University got this amount of students?

therefore, OB does not really bother about having not enough students biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 4 2009, 12:43 PM
nothingz
post May 4 2009, 01:40 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(jacktai @ May 4 2009, 12:51 PM)
So had you granted your OBU?? Just last year, I even went for the OBU convocation (Asia region) which held in KL.
not yet, still got F8 and F9(make me sicked). the OBU Scheme was changed in Dec 2008 which is after our December exam.
nothingz
post May 4 2009, 02:34 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(jacktai @ May 4 2009, 02:10 PM)
If you really want to laid back and study, go for local university. Sure ACCA is not a playground average world passing rate is 50% for every paper. Other Uni program very hard to get in but very easy to get out, but ACCA is very easy to get in, but very hard to get out.
laugh.gif laugh.gif

ya, i am working full time and studying part time. therefore, it slows down my graduation. if family can support then better study full time and fast fast finished the course, then can concentrate to earn money icon_idea.gif
nothingz
post May 4 2009, 03:11 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

i worked in 2 different accounting firms for almost 4 years already since CAT till now ACCA. Now my main aim is to get the OBU first then only consider the rest
nothingz
post May 8 2009, 03:55 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(king_coolice @ May 8 2009, 10:24 AM)
does Kasturi and McOrange offer night class for CAT? if yes, then how long would it take for the whole session? as normally CAT only need 1 year to finish it
after finish CAT paper then must work for 1year before proceeding to ACCA paper?
you can continue your study on ACCA after you finished your CAT, no problem about that.
the 'work for 1 year' is for you to use the title 'CAT' behind your name, means you are fully qualified rclxms.gif

QUOTE(YH90 @ May 8 2009, 02:39 PM)
Hi guys, need some help here. I'm a Sunway CAT student currently taking my T7, T8 and T9 examination for the June session.

I just received my examination entry acknowledgment letter from ACCA. There was an error in the letter where it states that the variant/stream of my T9 Preparing Taxation Computation is United Kingdom. When I submitted the exam entry docket to Sunway-TES, I am quite sure that the stream I entered is in MYS.

I will be going to the Sunway office on Monday to ask about this as I am still currently in my hometown, but I just want to know is there any additional solutions to settle this?

Thanks in advance.

P/S. I have been studying the MYS syllabus since January, taking the UK stream later in the exam will be committing suicide. =/
send email to ACCA Connect (if i'm not mistaken) as soon as possible so that your exam variant can be changed
nothingz
post Jun 5 2009, 09:35 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Jun 4 2009, 01:45 AM)
Because most scanning software used to scan OCR forms, only can detect black and white, so my bet is the examiner will see your writing in black as well, that's why highlighter all will not be visible.

You can use blue, but use a very dark one, that also at your own risk. But in the end, the marker will see your writing in black.

Please pray that all the PC's in UK comes with LCD and no CRT exists. I can't imagine an old marker staring at the CRT at 60Hz refresh rate for hours.  doh.gif

Added on June 4, 2009, 1:47 am

Pilot pens are gel ink pens  sweat.gif  But I think Pilot gel pens are those high quality ones, should be alright I guess. The main issue with gel pens is when it contacts with water, smudges easily. But now there are already pigment gel ink pens. Waterproof gel ink pens.
i have been using Pilot G1 on my answer sheets since CAT multiple choice paper till now ACCA answer booklet, no problem so far, although i know that Pilot ink will smudge with water.

QUOTE(jactval @ Jun 4 2009, 11:03 PM)
I've been killed by F9 today...
QUOTE(jonwei @ Jun 4 2009, 11:19 PM)
F9 questions 3 n 4 so damn tricky....dunno how to do
Die liao...although question 1 n 2 calculation part damn easy la
Agree, question 1 and 2 are quite simple and straight forward.
after finishing Q1 and 2 then i moved to Q4 due to i cannot understand Q3(a). In the end, all done except for the Q3(b) - improve 2 days per month, O/D account? bla bla bla.... no time to finish it...

overall, i'm glad that those topics which i'm not familiar with such as Interest rate/foreign exchange & Business Valuation(Full Question) & asset replacement did not come out. laugh.giflaugh.gif

One thing i have to complain which is the answer sheet is so thin now.... i wrote till the last page due to some spacing in between questions

Added on June 5, 2009, 9:39 ami think i'm still manage to pass it since i spent 2 weeks of study leave just for it and now i have to do so much OT just to cover it back sad.gif

This post has been edited by nothingz: Jun 5 2009, 09:39 AM
nothingz
post Jun 11 2009, 12:46 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

I still have F8 and 5 Professional papers left (assumed that my F9 has passed in the June sitting).

I have been working full time and studying part time. usually spend 2/3 weeks study leave for my exam. The results be ok so far because i only take 1 or 2 papers per sem. Dec'09 sitting i have to take F8 and i don't think that i can take another paper since i only have around 2/3 weeks time to prepare for a paper.

So now, i'm in Ipoh. My friends said that the only part time F8 teacher is not really good, because the way she teach is just reading from the notes.

My question is, am i able to pass by just reading the notes alone? so far, i have been better on theory part rather than calculations. Reading the notes alone, is it enough?

Please advise.
nothingz
post Jun 24 2009, 09:25 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 23 2009, 02:37 PM)
Different mentor will provide different guidance on the topics you choose to pursue.
Mentor like Andrew Pang will foucs on topics on performance measure while others like Parmindar will focus on topics like business.
Andrew should cost around Rm 1xxx while Parmindar around RM 2xxx.

I dont think pass rates is important for OBU since its the grades which matter more like A, B or C. Anyway will the grades affect your OBU class at the first place ?
both the average marks and the grade of the assignment will affect the class of the OBU you are getting, unless your average marks is above 68. If it's above 68, any grade you get for your assignment, your OBU will still be first class
nothingz
post Jul 6 2009, 09:58 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(waffles @ Jul 1 2009, 12:18 AM)
sorry to interrupt u guys, but i need some help.

i've just sat for F5 and F6 last semester smile.gif

i'm taking F4 and another paper this semester. i was thinking of the combination of F4+F7 (one of the factor is the gap in between these both exam dates). say i pass these *pray hard happy.gif*,  my last 2papers of the Skill stage are F8 and F9 (exams two days in a row mellow.gif)

so should i choose F4+F7, or F4+F9?

based on my knowledge F7-->F8-->F9, meaning i need to have an understanding of F7 before proceeding to F8 and later on F9. correct? no?

or maybe i just take F4+F7 this semester and  next semester F8+any of the P paper and next next semester F9+any of the P paper.

hope u guys can give some thought on these as i believe most of u guys have passed Part 2 smile.gif.

Thank you in advance happy.gif
QUOTE(~Mew~ @ Jul 1 2009, 02:29 AM)
doh.gif I am planning to take F4 F7 F8 this semester.
make sure you pass F4 before/at the same time with F7-F9, otherwise your OBU is gone.... please check the Dec'08 revised eligibility clause. My OBU almost gone due to the amendments, luckily it has come back to me now after my appeal smile.gif
nothingz
post Jul 17 2009, 11:12 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(brandao @ Jul 17 2009, 04:13 AM)
i need some advises on my situation.I have a degree in engineering from a local U and already working in non accounting field for 2 years.Actually engineering is not my 1st choice but due to some technical problem during my degree selection and i was so naive back then to accept it.Now i am thinking to continue my study in accounting(which is my preferred subject) since im still young=25 yo

I don't have any basic accounting subjects except during my spm i took account and scored A in that subject.So should i take the CAT course than continue to ACCA or should i go straight to ACCA.

And i prefer to take it part time since im working.So any advise on this.Should i start from CAT or go straight to ACCA.Which one is better and can finish in less time?And any suggestion about good college for part timer?thanks for your help.
I'm a part time student too, thefore i may give some advice.

I studied from CAT till ACCA(now). Studying part time you will need a lot of concentration & self motivation, usually after a tired day of work, you won't have the strength to continue your lesson at night, not to mention those with non-flexible working hours due to job requirement.

As per carlosandy

1) If you prefer study CAT 1st, then strong basic knowledge but take more time to finish ACCA
2) If you straight to ACCA, faster to finish ACCA but will have some difficult during study

he is right at this point, you have to choose between the 2 options above. If you choose option 2, you will save more on tuition/exam fees too.

If you are lucky + hardworking enough, you will pass your exams all the way. If you are not, then after few times of failing, you won't have the intention to continue anymore due to the frustration of not being able to pass the exams. Some would have chosen to give up at this point. Therefore, make sure that your mind is clear and willing to take up the challenge! icon_rolleyes.gif
nothingz
post Jul 23 2009, 09:28 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

exam results would be coming out in less than 1 month time, i think i would be taking F8 this December tongue.gif
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 10:40 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

12 noon
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 10:42 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Aug 15 2009, 09:01 PM)
I see, thanks for the info

What if, I want to do my OBU while waiting for my results of F7 8 9? I heard it's possible, when would the deadline be then??
as long as you have not passed F7-9, you will still be able to opt in to OBU

based on what i read on ACCA website
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 10:44 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(pennee86 @ Aug 17 2009, 10:43 AM)
WOW..nervous......cant concentrate on my job at all..
mind to tell what paper you took?
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 10:48 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(pennee86 @ Aug 17 2009, 10:47 AM)
HAHaHA...f6...i know is nothing compare to u all P level.tongue.gif
last paper in F level..
you are faster than me, i took F9 in the last sitting. still got F8 to go.

i wish you pass the F6 paper because the next sitting of F6 will be major change due to the 2009 budget
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 10:51 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(pennee86 @ Aug 17 2009, 10:49 AM)
BUT if u dont check, can u concentrate??
this will raise another big question!! biggrin.gif

i think the feeling of loh loh luen will be worse but some people just don't want to accept the truth by keep on delaying tongue.gif
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 10:57 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

if i have a choice, i would hope to be the first to know the my results biggrin.gif

pass or fail also not much feelings but must put more effort in next sittings. yeah, i'm a part time student too

Added on August 17, 2009, 10:59 am
QUOTE(kelvinbadroyal @ Aug 17 2009, 10:55 AM)
but we can still runaway from the truth lo.. haha.. but just temporarily.. lol..
gosh!!! 1 more hour to go!!!!!!!!!!! sad.gif

Added on August 17, 2009, 10:57 am
f8 is the most tough paper in F level.. if u manage to clear tis paper, i dun find you have any problems in passing F6, as tis paper is quite an easy paper and you can score for it!
this paper may not be easy to some people because the principles are not easy to understand and the questions may be quite tricky sometimes

This post has been edited by nothingz: Aug 17 2009, 10:59 AM
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 11:05 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Aug 17 2009, 11:04 AM)
Ha Ha, this is part time student feeling la. All the best and good luck to you.
thanks, anyway i'm confident that i can pass my F9 at around 60 marks. Hope that it comes true biggrin.gif
nothingz
post Aug 17 2009, 11:09 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbadroyal @ Aug 17 2009, 11:07 AM)
i hope i can clear my F8 & F9 tis time and so my P2.. these papers drove me crazy last sem..
lol, you can take so many papers, sure you are a full time student.

all 3 papers that you take are quite different. i think it would drive me crazy too laugh.gif

0.0476sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:27 AM