126 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

karhoe
post Jan 26 2010, 08:37 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 26 2010, 04:44 PM)
until u reach the point where theory meets dbl entry tongue.gif
That's P2 which is a killer right now tongue.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 26 2010, 09:10 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

tongue.gif shud be pretty easy for u kua tongue.gif
karhoe
post Jan 26 2010, 09:30 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 26 2010, 09:10 PM)
tongue.gif shud be pretty easy for u kua tongue.gif
Very pressure one, seat right infront of Ms Menon, and she goes "Faster, Quicker! No! You are a consultant! tongue.gif "
IliekIZ
post Jan 26 2010, 10:05 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(semivalue @ Jan 26 2010, 08:18 PM)
Sometimes these tips are not accurate at all.
I had a lecturer. He so claimed that he was invited by ACCA tips publisher (ie opentuition, pqmagazine, BPP, Kaplan, etc... However, which one it is, I don't know) to write his spot areas for ACCA exams.
He agreed. And when comes to writing the tips, he wrote 'what he thinks may not come out' for the tips publisher, and gave 'what he thinks will come out' to his students. "Because my students pay me!!", he said.
And true enough, the tips publisher published the tips  doh.gif
lol nice one, but i meant tips as in guides rather than what's come out.. i don't really like spotting questions even though i'm a shortcut person haha
elviratkh
post Jan 26 2010, 10:31 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Jan 26 2010, 09:30 PM)
Very pressure one, seat right infront of Ms Menon, and she goes "Faster, Quicker! No! You are a consultant!  tongue.gif "
lol, i second that! Her favourite line should be 'turn to page XX, QUICKLY!!' *all student flip pages like mad* i wonder why she cancel Wednesday's class... :-/

aaron1kee
post Jan 26 2010, 11:03 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

hahaha Thanks for the kind words, will definitely try my best for F4.

Guess I just need some time to settle down & understand the whole picture.
karhoe
post Jan 27 2010, 07:15 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(elviratkh @ Jan 26 2010, 10:31 PM)
lol, i second that! Her favourite line should be 'turn to page XX, QUICKLY!!' *all student flip pages like mad* i wonder why she cancel Wednesday's class... :-/
Oh, so we're classmates?
Fight3Rz
post Jan 27 2010, 08:19 PM

36 posts

notworthy.gif Sorry For interupt can any1 tell me the route way to ACCA / CIMA? How Long it will take?? Tough??
aaron1kee
post Jan 27 2010, 11:28 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(Fight3Rz @ Jan 27 2010, 08:19 PM)
notworthy.gif Sorry For interupt can any1 tell me the route way to ACCA / CIMA?  How Long it will take??  Tough??
There are a lot of ways to get into ACCA. Not sure about CIMA tho. But it all depends on your qualification now.
karhoe
post Jan 27 2010, 11:35 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Fight3Rz @ Jan 27 2010, 08:19 PM)
notworthy.gif Sorry For interupt can any1 tell me the route way to ACCA / CIMA?  How Long it will take??  Tough??
Route to ACCA

1) CAT -> ACCA - shortest, hardest
2) Degree -> ACCA
3) Pre U - ACCA
4) Diploma -> Advance Diploma -> ACCA
starz92
post Jan 27 2010, 11:39 PM

1,679 posts

Is kaplan book obtainable at normal bookstore?
*angel of love*
post Jan 28 2010, 01:19 AM

40 posts

Hi, i'm new here..

Would like to gather comments on INTI Subang and KDU PJ ACCA lecturers..

As i know, both colleges are quite new in providing ACCA tuitions and currently INTI doesn't hold any status yet in ACCA recognised institution while KDU is a gold status tuition provider.
semivalue
post Jan 28 2010, 03:32 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(*angel of love* @ Jan 28 2010, 01:19 AM)
Hi, i'm new here..

Would like to gather comments on INTI Subang and KDU PJ ACCA lecturers..

As i know, both colleges are quite new in providing ACCA tuitions and currently INTI doesn't hold any status yet in ACCA recognised institution while KDU is a gold status tuition provider.
What I would say is, status does not really reflect the true quality of the lecturers. It reflects more towards the quality of the students.
And for KDU and Inti, the lecturers are both under the same umbrella, McOrange boss. These two colleges, and one more currently being Taylors, are partnering with McO boss, Daniel to provide ACCA courses. Some of the lecturers in KDU/Inti/Taylors teach in these tuition centres as well as McO. What can I say? That chap really knows how to do business =)

If you want to know about those lecturers, you may visit the first page of this thread and see whether are your lecturers shortlisted!
aaron1kee
post Jan 28 2010, 12:17 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Jan 27 2010, 11:35 PM)
Route to ACCA

1) CAT -> ACCA - shortest, hardest

2) Degree -> ACCA
3) Pre U - ACCA
4) Diploma -> Advance Diploma -> ACCA
I lol-ed hard at the first, cause I'm coming from that route. It's hard, but worth the sacrifice.
karhoe
post Jan 28 2010, 03:28 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jan 28 2010, 12:17 PM)
I lol-ed hard at the first, cause I'm coming from that route. It's hard, but worth the sacrifice.
CAT - > ACCA is a very sad route, you make and lose friends along the journey, every 6 months, tears are sheds, friends are lost, and new friends are made. You absorb others into your clique or get absorbed into other clique.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 28 2010, 03:38 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Jan 28 2010, 03:28 PM)
CAT - > ACCA is a very sad route, you make and lose friends along the journey, every 6 months, tears are sheds, friends are lost, and new friends are made. You absorb others into your clique or get absorbed into other clique.
And we all end up lonely people because 6 months isn't enough to build very strong friendships biggrin.gif
Topace111
post Jan 28 2010, 04:17 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(MegRyan @ Jan 26 2010, 09:56 AM)
I agree that the fees are not that big a difference for most of us come from families of middle income . We all want to graduate from this tough tough course. 2 ways to achieve it:

1. good campus facilities esp space like chairs and tables in quiet study environment. We can work hard, so long as we put in effort we can pass. one or two such colleges are devoid of lecturers who can't communicate clearly, let alone teach us, EXCEPT for P2 Lecturer. Good and dedicated! on other papers, so we have to rely on ourselves.

2. good lecturers. We still have to work hard, but this time our learning curve (F9 theory  smile.gif ) is faster.

But I think for many CAT loyalists who passed would think that current college is good. "I am OK so far in exam, why change school?" mentality.  Perfectly understandable. But one should look ahead, are seniors are passing at higher levels? I can vouch many many students failed. June 2009 results, we have about 20 of us taking a F Level paper and only 3 of us passed! 3!

So 2 options for CAT loyalists:

a) I don't believe what you say. stay and try anyway the F Level lecturers.
b) wise up. I know too many failed. I better find much better lecturers.

Please bear in mind, we still have to work very hard.

I think the above doesn't apply to straight A students. whistling.gif  I mean they are already good, never mind about experienced lecturers.

On good study environment but with new new young young lecturers, is like going into a restaurant because it has nice chairs tables, lightings and oh yeah never mind about the Lousy Chef (Lecturers) and low quality food ingredients (Textbooks and manuals). That's is least important.  doh.gif  doh.gif

In my humble opinions only. to pass is combination of very good lecturers and personal hard  work. all other things like concourse, nice condo living, pools, sports courts are distractions.

Invite the responses of Karhoe,  Semivalue, 88XAVIER88, Carlosandy, ThanatosSwiftfire and of course not to forget the wise one - Topace111 notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I really dont know where you get the inspiration for those analogies but its a good one biggrin.gif .
To me, I prefer the smart way of learning rather than study by hard cos I am not that hardworking. Its quite impossible to know everything from the textbook so the lecturers are there to point out those relevant and useful knowledge. They act like a guide rather than a mechanism for study. You dont have to absorb their every word and use it back in exam. Thats why I prepare my own notes based suited to my own style rather than the lecturer's point of view. They don't to be correct all the time, cos they are also spotting and forecasting.

Over reliance on a lecturer is also quite a dangerous game as the lecturer has no obligation to make you pass "like a degree". So student have to rely on their own prowess and intuition to push through. Like in my working life, I was often left alone to think and medidate before reporting to my superior. And whey they explain or teach, they will talk quite fast so its no longer like learning in school. ACCA works the same way too.

Most people will be contend with "If it ain't broken, don't fix it" mentality. One always need to change and adapt especially when comes to acca. The rate of progression from CAT to part 2 and to part 3 is not linear but a curve hence many that stick with their old method will find it difficult at advance level which requires more reasoning and analysis compared to digestion of facts & figures.

Touching about food rclxms.gif , cos I am outstation,...... long story.
Doesnt mean its famous, come out of newspaper, got celebrity gone before..... means its good. There are many hidden gems while those polished ones will also wear out one day. Do not be fooled by the appearance.
pcm123
post Jan 28 2010, 09:25 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(MegRyan @ Jan 26 2010, 09:56 AM)
I agree that the fees are not that big a difference for most of us come from families of middle income . We all want to graduate from this tough tough course. 2 ways to achieve it:

1. good campus facilities esp space like chairs and tables in quiet study environment. We can work hard, so long as we put in effort we can pass. one or two such colleges are devoid of lecturers who can't communicate clearly, let alone teach us, EXCEPT for P2 Lecturer. Good and dedicated! on other papers, so we have to rely on ourselves.

2. good lecturers. We still have to work hard, but this time our learning curve (F9 theory  smile.gif ) is faster.

But I think for many CAT loyalists who passed would think that current college is good. "I am OK so far in exam, why change school?" mentality.  Perfectly understandable. But one should look ahead, are seniors are passing at higher levels? I can vouch many many students failed. June 2009 results, we have about 20 of us taking a F Level paper and only 3 of us passed! 3!

So 2 options for CAT loyalists:

a) I don't believe what you say. stay and try anyway the F Level lecturers.
b) wise up. I know too many failed. I better find much better lecturers.

Please bear in mind, we still have to work very hard.

I think the above doesn't apply to straight A students. whistling.gif  I mean they are already good, never mind about experienced lecturers.

On good study environment but with new new young young lecturers, is like going into a restaurant because it has nice chairs tables, lightings and oh yeah never mind about the Lousy Chef (Lecturers) and low quality food ingredients (Textbooks and manuals). That's is least important.  doh.gif  doh.gif

In my humble opinions only. to pass is combination of very good lecturers and personal hard  work. all other things like concourse, nice condo living, pools, sports courts are distractions.

Invite the responses of Karhoe,  Semivalue, 88XAVIER88, Carlosandy, ThanatosSwiftfire and of course not to forget the wise one - Topace111 notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
lol , not bad .
Actually ppl dun really dare to change la , thats also why they stay at the same college , coz its troublesome to change place , u need to start again and need some time to get used to. Lots of things are new to you.
And also staying at the same place, you have a group of friends to be with already , some companionship , grouping.

But I agree , " straight A students " dont need to care bout all of these . Its like giving them the relevant texts and they will pass haha .

1GTR1
post Jan 29 2010, 04:01 PM

75 posts

Hello, I have something to ask you all. Regarding about studying ACCA, I guess some of you doesn't really study all of the papers in one college or place, right? But instead will hop to wherever there are good lecturers for some particular papers. May I know around which area or in what places these good lecturers will usually be around? I mean, like maybe kasturi has some good ones, and where else? and what are their names?

I need to be very particular about this now, because my experience during CAT time wasn't a good one sweat.gif in terms of lecturers' experience, ability and environment. Thanks in advance smile.gif
hurly
post Jan 29 2010, 04:32 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(1GTR1 @ Jan 29 2010, 04:01 PM)
Hello, I have something to ask you all. Regarding about studying ACCA, I guess some of you doesn't really study all of the papers in one college or place, right? But instead will hop to wherever there are good lecturers for some particular papers. May I know around which area or in what places these good lecturers will usually be around? I mean, like maybe kasturi has some good ones, and where else? and what are their names?

I need to be very particular about this now, because my experience during CAT time wasn't a good one  sweat.gif  in terms of lecturers' experience, ability and environment. Thanks in advance  smile.gif
First page is the rule of the thumb.Most of the information are there. Just use it as a guide but lecturers move from one college to another just like students. I hop from one college to another simply because I try to find lecturers that will tend to my needs and I use LRT so I prefer the area like Masjid Jamek and Pasar Seni.. because some colleges are so near to each other. Everybody expects differently from lecturers. There is no perfect lecturer.As for colleges there's Kolej Bandar, Kasturi College, McOrange,Inti,Taylors, Sunway, Inti Nilai,FTMS and so on.

If you want study enviroment,people kept telling Sunway is good but I never enrolled there. Too pricey $_$.

Where did you study before?

My opinion: mix and match your timetable.

126 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:32 PM