126 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

IliekIZ
post Jan 25 2010, 11:44 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Jan 25 2010, 02:18 PM)
Ya, what about you? I'm doing P1 P2 P3. Cause here got alot of people from KL college.

Sunway students, majority once pay the fees, won't really bother about what's available outside. Because most of the ACCA students at Sunway who started from CAT are sort of 'loyal' and wants campus life, so they won't really move around whereas those at KL college are always on the look for cheaper and better options else where, and most of them are working already.
Came in from sunway a levels, doing F1-4 now. i know what u mean but on the other hand ACCA is not that exp to begin with so fee difference is not that big a deal. me thinks smile.gif
pcm123
post Jan 26 2010, 12:12 AM

468 posts

lol , how " big " is subjective , actually u can save thousands lol.
one thing is some ppl from outstation can have a complete to be at sunway, accomodation + study + entertainment lol .

if KL , u can ask some seniors here ,about the LRT and stuff ; sunway is simpler since they have hostels.

elviratkh
post Jan 26 2010, 12:30 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jan 25 2010, 12:05 AM)
PT(Progress Test) for F4 will be held on next week, 3 weeks right after I started on this totally foreign subject to me!

Any tips/focus area for this particular paper?
F4 is memory work. You need to put in some effort to memorize some sections and cases. You can't exactly bluff your way through without the sections and case law. All the best yo! biggrin.gif
karhoe
post Jan 26 2010, 12:59 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(pcm123 @ Jan 26 2010, 12:12 AM)
lol , how " big " is subjective , actually u can save thousands lol.
one thing is some ppl from outstation can have a complete to be at sunway, accomodation + study + entertainment lol .

if KL , u can ask some seniors here ,about the LRT and stuff ; sunway is simpler since they have hostels.
Yeap, the thousands of premium come in form of better study environment, conducive classes, facilities, additional classes, job placements, student services, and so on.

Added on January 26, 2010, 1:00 am
QUOTE(elviratkh @ Jan 26 2010, 12:30 AM)
F4 is memory work. You need to put in some effort to memorize some sections and cases. You can't exactly bluff your way through without the sections and case law. All the best yo!  biggrin.gif
Without doubt, F4 is the only paper which really, the only way to score is to memorize from the text book.

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 26 2010, 01:00 AM
nothingz
post Jan 26 2010, 09:07 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

F4 after you have understood the principles, if you want to memorise it then just keep on reading the pass year exam answer sheet.

Most of them are just the same, you will write exactly what the examiner wants
aaron1kee
post Jan 26 2010, 09:16 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

The problem with F4 is that there's whole load of things to be memorized!

& my aim ain't just a meagre pass, I need to secure at least >75 to get the first-class honour from OBU.

I'm contemplating to drop F4 before mock just in case I couldn't reach the mark. But currently, it remains quite unrealistically.
nothingz
post Jan 26 2010, 09:22 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jan 26 2010, 09:16 AM)

& my aim ain't just a meagre pass, I need to secure at least >75 to get the first-class honour from OBU.

I'm contemplating to drop F4 before mock just in case I couldn't reach the mark. But currently, it remains quite unrealistically.
I find it easier than doing those complicated calculations

each paper at least 68 marks is already enough to get first class but it is safer to set it high biggrin.gif

in order for you to get the OBU, make sure you are opted into the OBU scheme and pass F4 before F7/F8/F9. Otherwise, your OBU is gone...

This post has been edited by nothingz: Jan 26 2010, 09:23 AM
MegRyan
post Jan 26 2010, 09:56 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(IliekIZ @ Jan 25 2010, 11:44 PM)
Came in from sunway a levels, doing F1-4 now. i know what u mean but on the other hand ACCA is not that exp to begin with so fee difference is not that big a deal. me thinks smile.gif
I agree that the fees are not that big a difference for most of us come from families of middle income . We all want to graduate from this tough tough course. 2 ways to achieve it:

1. good campus facilities esp space like chairs and tables in quiet study environment. We can work hard, so long as we put in effort we can pass. one or two such colleges are devoid of lecturers who can't communicate clearly, let alone teach us, EXCEPT for P2 Lecturer. Good and dedicated! on other papers, so we have to rely on ourselves.

2. good lecturers. We still have to work hard, but this time our learning curve (F9 theory smile.gif ) is faster.

But I think for many CAT loyalists who passed would think that current college is good. "I am OK so far in exam, why change school?" mentality. Perfectly understandable. But one should look ahead, are seniors are passing at higher levels? I can vouch many many students failed. June 2009 results, we have about 20 of us taking a F Level paper and only 3 of us passed! 3!

So 2 options for CAT loyalists:

a) I don't believe what you say. stay and try anyway the F Level lecturers.
b) wise up. I know too many failed. I better find much better lecturers.

Please bear in mind, we still have to work very hard.

I think the above doesn't apply to straight A students. whistling.gif I mean they are already good, never mind about experienced lecturers.

On good study environment but with new new young young lecturers, is like going into a restaurant because it has nice chairs tables, lightings and oh yeah never mind about the Lousy Chef (Lecturers) and low quality food ingredients (Textbooks and manuals). That's is least important. doh.gif doh.gif

In my humble opinions only. to pass is combination of very good lecturers and personal hard work. all other things like concourse, nice condo living, pools, sports courts are distractions.

Invite the responses of Karhoe, Semivalue, 88XAVIER88, Carlosandy, ThanatosSwiftfire and of course not to forget the wise one - Topace111 notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MegRyan: Jan 26 2010, 10:05 AM
*angel of love*
post Jan 26 2010, 01:00 PM

40 posts

Would like to ask anyone here who study at KDU or INTI Subang for ACCA programme,
how is the lecturers and study like?

Please share it with me. Thanks smile.gif
karhoe
post Jan 26 2010, 03:38 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 26 2010, 09:22 AM)
I find it easier than doing those complicated calculations

each paper at least 68 marks is already enough to get first class but it is safer to set it high  biggrin.gif

in order for you to get the OBU, make sure you are opted into the OBU scheme and pass F4 before F7/F8/F9.  Otherwise, your OBU is gone...
Try to get an average as high as possible, if possible an average of 80 for F4, F5, F6 - it's really doable. So you can pass F7 F8 F9 and still get first class hons in OBU icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(MegRyan @ Jan 26 2010, 09:56 AM)
But I think for many CAT loyalists who passed would think that current college is good. "I am OK so far in exam, why change school?" mentality.  Perfectly understandable. But one should look ahead, are seniors are passing at higher levels? I can vouch many many students failed. June 2009 results, we have about 20 of us taking a F Level paper and only 3 of us passed! 3!

In my humble opinions only. to pass is combination of very good lecturers and personal hard  work. all other things like concourse, nice condo living, pools, sports courts are distractions.

Invite the responses of Karhoe,  Semivalue, 88XAVIER88, Carlosandy, ThanatosSwiftfire and of course not to forget the wise one - Topace111 notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Eh, which college is that? 20 take F level papers and only 3 pass? I thought the real challenge is at core level?

Anyway I have some realistic facts to share, sometimes the college success cannot be attributable 100% to the lecturers, sometimes it's really the students own hard work.

And applying this to the current situation, when you have a college which has advertised itself as the best, obviously the 'best' would go there and the 'best' would be the ones maintaining the status quo of the above mentioned college.

For instance, I have known of some straight A SPM scorers and these people continue to be the one winning prizes in CAT/ACCA. So obviously they are born intelligently.

This is just my opinion, which is why lucrative scholarships are given out to attract these students.

Added on January 26, 2010, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jan 26 2010, 09:16 AM)

Dude, don't worry, I read your blog before, straight A students, you should be able to do it. When I started my first semester in ACCA, I took 4 papers, F4, F5, F6 and F9 then I got scared the hell out of F4, that I dropped F9, which was a mistake I regret, after everything settles in, F4 is really an easy paper.

The chances of passing - 10 questions, just get a mere 5 from each questions and the questions are VERY repetitive.

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 26 2010, 03:42 PM
nothingz
post Jan 26 2010, 04:14 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

I said bye bye to first class already.... now the hope is on second upper class which i think is not a problem
dinie90
post Jan 26 2010, 04:21 PM

76 posts

hai guys,i want to ask.....CAT is really hard???
nothingz
post Jan 26 2010, 04:24 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(dinie90 @ Jan 26 2010, 04:21 PM)
how can we answer you without knowing your past results in SPM etc?

anyway, i did not study accounts in secondary school. CAT was not really that hard, at least for me. Even if it is easy, you don't put in effort also sure fail la
karhoe
post Jan 26 2010, 04:28 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(dinie90 @ Jan 26 2010, 04:21 PM)
If you are hardworking, nothing is difficult.

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 26 2010, 04:24 PM)
how can we answer you without knowing your past results in SPM etc?

anyway, i did not study accounts in secondary school.  CAT was not really that hard, at least for me.  Even if it is easy, you don't put in effort also sure fail la
Accounting in SPM only give you advantage in T1 ONLY, in CAT there's 9 papers and easily the advantage you have will only last you 1-2 weeks into CAT, after that even those with accounting background in SPM will have to study hard.

FYI, accounting in SPM is not even accounting, it's BOOK KEEPING
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 26 2010, 04:28 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Cat was rather easy. I mugged rather hard in 1st sem, and things gotten easier after that. Just show abit of interest in how everything works and you'll be fine. =D

Double entry is a science, once u get it, u shud get it all the time, and when in doubt, double entry is ALWAYS where u revert back to biggrin.gif If double entry tak masuk akal, ur screwed tongue.gif
nothingz
post Jan 26 2010, 04:43 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 26 2010, 04:28 PM)
Cat was rather easy. I mugged rather hard in 1st sem, and things gotten easier after that. Just show abit of interest in how everything works and you'll be fine. =D

Double entry is a science, once u get it, u shud get it all the time, and when in doubt, double entry is ALWAYS where u revert back to biggrin.gif If double entry tak masuk akal, ur screwed tongue.gif
theory part no need double entry skill biggrin.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 26 2010, 04:44 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

until u reach the point where theory meets dbl entry tongue.gif
semivalue
post Jan 26 2010, 06:07 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(MegRyan @ Jan 26 2010, 09:56 AM)
I agree that the fees are not that big a difference for most of us come from families of middle income . We all want to graduate from this tough tough course. 2 ways to achieve it:

1. good campus facilities esp space like chairs and tables in quiet study environment. We can work hard, so long as we put in effort we can pass. one or two such colleges are devoid of lecturers who can't communicate clearly, let alone teach us, EXCEPT for P2 Lecturer. Good and dedicated! on other papers, so we have to rely on ourselves.

2. good lecturers. We still have to work hard, but this time our learning curve (F9 theory  smile.gif ) is faster.

But I think for many CAT loyalists who passed would think that current college is good. "I am OK so far in exam, why change school?" mentality.  Perfectly understandable. But one should look ahead, are seniors are passing at higher levels? I can vouch many many students failed. June 2009 results, we have about 20 of us taking a F Level paper and only 3 of us passed! 3!

So 2 options for CAT loyalists:

a) I don't believe what you say. stay and try anyway the F Level lecturers.
b) wise up. I know too many failed. I better find much better lecturers.

Please bear in mind, we still have to work very hard.

I think the above doesn't apply to straight A students. whistling.gif  I mean they are already good, never mind about experienced lecturers.

On good study environment but with new new young young lecturers, is like going into a restaurant because it has nice chairs tables, lightings and oh yeah never mind about the Lousy Chef (Lecturers) and low quality food ingredients (Textbooks and manuals). That's is least important.  doh.gif  doh.gif

In my humble opinions only. to pass is combination of very good lecturers and personal hard  work. all other things like concourse, nice condo living, pools, sports courts are distractions.

Invite the responses of Karhoe,  Semivalue, 88XAVIER88, Carlosandy, ThanatosSwiftfire and of course not to forget the wise one - Topace111 notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Since you've quoted my ID, I have to reply you...

Well, i think lecturers play the most important role in your studies. If you have good lecturers, more or less you are save. If you have bad lecturers, you might even be demotivated by their lectures, ie go to their lectures without 'semangat'. Good lecturers save most of your work, produce summarize notes, key words, examination techniques, and committed in reaching to your problems. You can't really study P3 by studying everything from Kaplan, BPP to GTG and even JSW shocking.gif Well, I feel that students are the customers, and to some certain extent, they should be treated nicely (stakeholders kept satisfied?) given that they are the one who are paying (forget about those scholarship holders). It's useless for a student attending lectures, and listening them merely 'elaborating' from the textbooks.

Straight A students or not straight A, I don't think they different a lot. They are still human. They still need to be treated equally with other students, with care by the university/college. My friend once participated in an accounting competition, and he said the winner of the competition failed a subject in his/her P paper. And I actually find the paper is the easiest among P papers (if you know how to tackle the questions, and have the techniques)! If not mistaken, what she lacks of is really the techniques (which usually colleges don't teach), and also some luck (merely because you don't learn luck in ACCA doesn't mean that it is not important).

Regarding the environment, I think to a certain extent, it plays. For example, I can't study well in a hot, and cramped single-storey small terrace-house with 5 rooms. There are also some facilities that students really need when it comes to study. Other than than, clubs, pubs, I think they don't serve any purpose in your ACCA studies, unless the they relate to the scenario tested in P7.

This post has been edited by semivalue: Jan 26 2010, 08:21 PM
IliekIZ
post Jan 26 2010, 06:51 PM

33 posts

wow guys din't know that what i said earlier could lead on this train of thoughts. There're more than just fees differences that convinced me to finish my ACCA in sunway, since I'm not staying that far from the college, plus i'm used to the place and environment there.

Lecture quality-wise I'm not in a position to comment since i'm still a newbie here but my senior friends have no big issue with teaching quality so guess won't be a "big deal" then haha.

Just wondering do u guys have any good websites for ACCA tips and notes?
been exploring opentuition.com just to see what i can get =)
semivalue
post Jan 26 2010, 08:18 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(IliekIZ @ Jan 26 2010, 06:51 PM)
wow guys din't know that what i said earlier could lead on this train of thoughts. There're more than just fees differences that convinced me to finish my ACCA in sunway, since I'm not staying that far from the college, plus i'm used to the place and environment there.

Lecture quality-wise I'm not in a position to comment since i'm still a newbie here but my senior friends have no big issue with teaching quality so guess won't be a "big deal" then haha.

Just wondering do u guys have any good websites for ACCA tips and notes?
been exploring opentuition.com just to see what i can get =)
Sometimes these tips are not accurate at all.
I had a lecturer. He so claimed that he was invited by ACCA tips publisher (ie opentuition, pqmagazine, BPP, Kaplan, etc... However, which one it is, I don't know) to write his spot areas for ACCA exams.
He agreed. And when comes to writing the tips, he wrote 'what he thinks may not come out' for the tips publisher, and gave 'what he thinks will come out' to his students. "Because my students pay me!!", he said.
And true enough, the tips publisher published the tips doh.gif

This post has been edited by semivalue: Jan 26 2010, 08:19 PM

126 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:17 PM