Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D
1GTR1
Oct 19 2009, 11:32 PM

Erm, to those who are studying acca part time or full time, can you all please tell me what is the pros and cons of both options? I'm currently on my way to finish my CAT, and I started a thread about this question long time ago but it's in jobs & career section, so now I want to ask people over here for more opinions.
There was one time I decided that full time is the best choice, but then I became unsure again, so..anybody? to answer my question..and thanks.
1GTR1
Oct 20 2009, 11:59 PM

Thanks wkang.
May I know what is the highest salary for a CAT qualification?
1GTR1
Oct 23 2009, 02:18 AM

QUOTE(tan8 @ Oct 23 2009, 01:20 AM) i agree. i personally tried 4 before and thankfully i passed all but marks werent great. With the volume of ACCA holders doubling(or even three times) each year, i am strongly against rushing through your papers. It is better to score and try to pass it first attempt since many employers value straight passes. People dun really care how long u take to complete ACCA but they are impressed when u say: 'I'm a straight passer!' So for those who can afford to study full time, take your time and study at your own pace. 3 papers per sitting is fairly manageable but then its totally up to individual and paper combinations. Huh? Employers can see how many attempts we did?
1GTR1
Oct 23 2009, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(wkang @ Oct 23 2009, 08:33 AM) I guess you will bring ur result slips along in ur interview, hence they will be able to see there. Further, they will more or less be able guess from the time that you have spent whether you spent a lot of time passing as part of their experience in interview (for accounting firm hires). Oh I see...
1GTR1
Jan 29 2010, 04:01 PM

Hello, I have something to ask you all. Regarding about studying ACCA, I guess some of you doesn't really study all of the papers in one college or place, right? But instead will hop to wherever there are good lecturers for some particular papers. May I know around which area or in what places these good lecturers will usually be around? I mean, like maybe kasturi has some good ones, and where else? and what are their names? I need to be very particular about this now, because my experience during CAT time wasn't a good one  in terms of lecturers' experience, ability and environment. Thanks in advance
1GTR1
Jan 29 2010, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(hurly @ Jan 29 2010, 04:32 PM) First page is the rule of the thumb.Most of the information are there. Just use it as a guide but lecturers move from one college to another just like students. I hop from one college to another simply because I try to find lecturers that will tend to my needs and I use LRT so I prefer the area like Masjid Jamek and Pasar Seni.. because some colleges are so near to each other. Everybody expects differently from lecturers. There is no perfect lecturer.As for colleges there's Kolej Bandar, Kasturi College, McOrange,Inti,Taylors, Sunway, Inti Nilai,FTMS and so on. If you want study enviroment,people kept telling Sunway is good but I never enrolled there. Too pricey $_$. Where did you study before? My opinion: mix and match your timetable. I studied in melaka, and i've looked at the first page already, got all what I wanted, thanks This post has been edited by 1GTR1: Jan 29 2010, 08:07 PM