GATHERING OF VICTIM OF NVIDIA 8400M, PLEASE STAY AWAY OF NVIDIA 8400M & 8600M

miloy2k
post Jun 13 2010, 01:49 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 13 2010, 01:38 AM)
depends on ur luck.. not everyone will get the defective one. but this 8600 and 8400 are proven as defective products.
afaik certain model for dell, seems doesn't have much/issue sweat.gif
evolution120
post Jun 13 2010, 02:13 AM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

not really.. friend of mine used to have this inspiron 1420 with 8400m gs.. not even a year, the dell dude came over to fix his notebook..

This post has been edited by evolution120: Jun 13 2010, 02:13 AM
miloy2k
post Jun 13 2010, 02:54 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 13 2010, 02:13 AM)
not really.. friend of mine used to have this inspiron 1420 with 8400m gs.. not even a year, the dell dude came over to fix his notebook..
i mean the model that having bigger screen like Dell Vostro 1710 and etc.. so far there less complain from them
jarrot
post Nov 1 2010, 11:53 PM

23 posts

I got my Dell Inspiron 1420 on April 2008 with the nvidia 8400m gs GPU. I've been hit by the issue last week......arghhhhhhhhhhhh cry.gif

Any of you guys know any good repair shop here in Malaysia that can reball the GPU with the estimated price??
calvin_ng
post Nov 2 2010, 12:19 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

I JUST FILE A TRIBUNAL AGAINST HP

claim on my Notebook V3713 AU which the sound card and DVD failed

go into HP they say my Motherboard complete failed and there are forcing me to get a new MOBO cost RM1300.00

I am now complaining against them for killing my MOBO..!!!
dextrozine
post Nov 2 2010, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(jarrot @ Nov 1 2010, 11:53 PM)
I got my Dell Inspiron 1420 on April 2008 with the nvidia 8400m gs GPU. I've been hit by the issue last week......arghhhhhhhhhhhh  cry.gif

Any of you guys know any good repair shop here in Malaysia that can reball the GPU with the estimated price??
u can sent it to bgs solution... cost around RM 450.00... i also face same problem...
jarrot
post Nov 4 2010, 05:55 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(dextrozine @ Nov 2 2010, 02:35 PM)
u can sent it to bgs solution... cost around RM 450.00... i also face same problem...
thanks for the info smile.gif do you know what kind of repair that they did to your laptop? How is it so far after the repair?
astria
post Nov 4 2010, 07:49 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(jarrot @ Nov 4 2010, 05:55 AM)
thanks for the info  smile.gif  do you know what kind of repair that they did to your laptop? How is it so far after the repair?
same thing, change the whole mobo...
jarrot
post Nov 7 2010, 03:18 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 4 2010, 07:49 AM)
same thing, change the whole mobo...
how much did u pay? the problem never come back after change the mobo?
lee_what2004
post Nov 7 2010, 04:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The problem will still come back even if you change the mobo...
astria
post Nov 7 2010, 09:15 AM

22,158 posts

mine was covered by warranty...

anyway, sold my laptop after 1.5yr... cannot tahan anymore even though it's free...
telurmasin
post Nov 8 2010, 10:56 AM

38 posts

anybody knows how much is the motherboard for inspiron 1420 with Intel integrated gc at lowyat? planned on buying 1 and fixing it myself.
D.Sync
post Nov 8 2010, 07:03 PM

777 posts

Wow that's a lot of text being typed in full caps. Angry emoticon ?

Anyway I'm one of those 8600 MGT user (Acer Aspire 5920G) and as the TS stated, the GC died over me after serving me for over 3 years. I had nothing to complaint with it as I leave it on most of the time without any laptop cooler.

But I did use the 'oven trick' method to revive the card and it's now usable again. It seemed to me that the solders get loose over time and a simple reheat will somehow remelt and harden the solder joint. At least it worked for me.
huattk
post Nov 16 2010, 06:27 PM

271 posts

Friend of mine is using BenQ S41 I think last last revision with 8600. Now going on 3rd year without any smoke coming out. Truly the gods of Asgard are smiling on him.

This post has been edited by huattk: Nov 16 2010, 06:27 PM
areiza
post Nov 16 2010, 09:19 PM

43 posts

same here.
my lappy is using 8600m.
burnt alredy.
thinking abt selling it.
anyone know where i can sell it?
because mostly even if i change the mobo, the prob will happen again in the future.
ali_xstone
post Dec 14 2010, 08:29 PM

67 posts

my dell inspiron 1420 with 8600 used to have problem once..heat issue....need to change the mobo...lucky me still under warranty that time..dell technician came to my home and change it...but now the lcd screen is blank...no more FOC change since warranty expired...have to used crt monitor since no money to repair/change....can only placed and used at home...

AND until now my laptop run smooth even on for 24hrs(downloading)....

This post has been edited by ali_xstone: Dec 14 2010, 08:34 PM
Mayomythical
post Dec 30 2010, 10:52 AM

48 posts

Seems a lot of Dell Inspiron 1420s are having this problem, and mine is no exception. Now only works without a hitch if tied to an external monitor, and even then some application will crap out the display e.g. FM2010. Oh and mine's also on Nvidia 8400m gs GPU. Wondering if it's worth it to repair or just sell and get a new notebook. BTW, some trader is offering only RM350 for my faulty lappy. sad.gif
RayKazansky
post Jan 15 2011, 01:08 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

Hi Guys,
After using this lappy (Aspire 4720G), the display went slowly to white colour. Connected to plasma TV, no problem at all. And now, on and off, can display but only 1024x768 with the display moved to left side of the screen (another size, blackout). Any idea where i can get the replacement GPU cheap?
astria
post Jan 15 2011, 11:27 PM

22,158 posts

u'll ve to replace the whole mobo...

probably will set u back for a few hundred rm if u dun go Acer... and guarantee it will happen again...
SonicSpyro
post Jan 16 2011, 04:09 AM

500 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/15/nvidias...ng-out-file-yo/

I wonder if this also affects us... I have a few friends affected by the faulty GPU and they spent quite a bit getting the laptop repaired because their warranty expired.

Direct link: http://www.nvidiasettlement.com/index.html

16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0356sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:43 PM