GATHERING OF VICTIM OF NVIDIA 8400M, PLEASE STAY AWAY OF NVIDIA 8400M & 8600M

SUSM4A1
post Oct 8 2009, 09:17 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Oct 8 2009, 07:47 PM)
ya i using Vostro 1400... now my GC kaboom.... screen black then restart still appear then black screen again  cry.gif
so i need to tell them that i know extend warranty for such issue rite?
then how much for extend warranty? since my warranty dead on February... February until now is already half year lo...
do u mind to ask for the price and publish it out here?
previously i ask is around 1.1k to extend 1 year
astria
post Oct 8 2009, 09:24 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

warranty extension is always the most expensive... can be even more than the price u sell it off...
k3v1n
post Oct 8 2009, 09:52 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Oct 8 2009, 07:47 PM)
ya i using Vostro 1400... now my GC kaboom.... screen black then restart still appear then black screen again   cry.gif
so i need to tell them that i know extend warranty for such issue rite?
then how much for extend warranty? since my warranty dead on February... February until now is already half year lo...
Brother, this "special extended warranty" is only for your GC kaboom for free another 12 months...means that, if your warranty ends on february 2009, u still got another one year warranty for the GC issue only, until february 2010. If ur laptop dead for other reason, u wont be able to claim this special warranty...so before you call the technical support, make sure u are comfirm it is GC issue, once the technician come ur house and find out your laptop is dead for other reason, then they will charge u for service charge...about rm160 if im not mistaken.

Added on October 8, 2009, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Oct 8 2009, 09:17 PM)
do u mind to ask for the price and publish it out here?
previously i ask is around 1.1k to extend 1 year
Today the technician told me, if your laptop is still under warranty, you can purchase another extended warranty in quite low price (few hundred?), if your laptop's warranty is over and over long time ago, then would be very high price like 1.1k to 1.2k per year that you've mentioned just now, 1k per year? siao ah...i rather buy a new laptop then add few hundred add 3 years warranty lo like tat... doh.gif

This post has been edited by k3v1n: Oct 8 2009, 09:55 PM
akanokoboyashi
post Oct 13 2009, 03:57 AM

I have a failed Nvdia 8600M GS. Only use the laptop like for 1 year only. It Spoilt on the day the warranty is over sad huh. But I never send it to repair cause i'm using a Dell Studio 1555 now. Anyway where to get this laptop fix? It's a Hp Pavillion Dv9750 . Hp service center? Besides there any place to get it fix? Price This And That LOL. Tq
ik3da
post Oct 16 2009, 12:09 PM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

S41 here as well... Sigh, BenQ Singapore quoted me SGD600 to fix the mobo. I was like "WTF", guess I will have to hike back to KL to find someone to fix it - can't afford another machine for now.
wild_card_my
post Oct 16 2009, 12:56 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Oct 8 2009, 09:52 PM)
Brother, this "special extended warranty" is only for your GC kaboom for free another 12 months...means that, if your warranty ends on february 2009, u still got another one year warranty for the GC issue only, until february 2010. If ur laptop dead for other reason, u wont be able to claim this special warranty...so before you call the technical support, make sure u are comfirm it is GC issue, once the technician come ur house and find out your laptop is dead for other reason, then they will charge u for service charge...about rm160 if im not mistaken.

Added on October 8, 2009, 9:55 pm

Today the technician told me, if your laptop is still under warranty, you can purchase another extended warranty in quite low price (few hundred?), if your laptop's warranty is over and over long time ago, then would be very high price like 1.1k to 1.2k per year that you've mentioned just now, 1k per year? siao ah...i rather buy a new laptop then add few hundred add 3 years warranty lo like tat... doh.gif
how can we check if it is due to GC problem?
giasens
post Oct 20 2009, 02:20 PM

625 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Oct 8 2009, 05:10 PM)
Ok here an update, i called Dell yesterday to tell them about my situation, and ask for the extended warranty thingy, the technical support said yes it is applied to the selected model and luckily my laptop (Vostro 1400) is under the list. Then next day means today they sent a technician come help me to fix it, but only the motherboard is refurbished part. Well nvm...just let me use one more year then is enough edi...tongue.gif
QUOTE(k3v1n @ Oct 8 2009, 05:39 PM)
Saw your signature tag, i guess u are using Vostro 1400 too? If yes, please call to dell technical support to tell them ur situation, and then they will act like innocent to tell u that ur warranty is over bla bla bla....then u just tell them u saw on the internet or official Dell forum there got some information said if similar GPU problem can extended one year warranty...ask them to check. You must tell them u know about the extended warranty thing if not they sengaja think u dunno and charge u...
QUOTE(k3v1n @ Oct 8 2009, 09:52 PM)
thanks dude! i went google after i read your comment.

here's the affected dell models which can claim 12 months limited warranty for your gfx card upon expiry
Dell Precision M2300
Dell Precision M4300
Dell Precision M65
Inspiron 1420
Latitude D620
Latitude D630
Latitude D630c
Latitude D820
Latitude D830
Vostro Notebook 1310
Vostro Notebook 1400
Vostro Notebook 1510
Vostro Notebook 1710
XPS M1330
XPS M1530

Here’s the process for customers outside the United States:

* Go to support.dell.com
    * At the very bottom of the page, select your country in the Choose a Country/Region field
    * Choose Contact Us on the left hand side
    * Click on the More Details link in the Contact Tech Support section
    * Click on the green Telephone button under the Call Tech Support section
src: http://en.community.dell.com/blogs/direct2...nt-details.aspx
this limited dell warranty applies to all customers worldwide! dell

This post has been edited by giasens: Oct 20 2009, 02:21 PM
astria
post Oct 20 2009, 02:21 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Oct 16 2009, 03:09 PM)
S41 here as well... Sigh, BenQ Singapore quoted me SGD600 to fix the mobo. I was like "WTF", guess I will have to hike back to KL to find someone to fix it - can't afford another machine for now.
did u buy in Singapore or Malaysia???
giasens
post Oct 23 2009, 01:41 PM

625 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 16 2009, 12:56 PM)
how can we check if it is due to GC problem?
call up dell 1800-88-1306
- key in your ECS number
- press 1 to confirm your ECS number
- if your warranty is expired, press 1 to extend warranty > no worry, just tell you want to claim nvidia gpu limited warranty
- talk to the technical support on your problem, he/she will guide you to run diagnosis
- #1 diag: led light indicators
- #2 diag: numpad lock, caps lock
- #3 diag: shutdown, then hold the 'D' key, and press power on button (this will check your lcd screen, it will shows colors)
- if #3 manage to power up,
techsupport will suggest your to download latest nvidia driver & dell bios
and if problem persist, they will send their men to replace your mobo
- if #3 fail to load your windows,
the tech support might help you claim the nvidia limited warrany

*get & keep your case number from the technical support

more info on dell's nvidia limited warranty (selected models only)

-----------------------
how to check if your dell nvidia limited warranty is still valid:
you purchase only: 2007-12-11
your expiry: 2008-12-11
nvidia limited warranty will valid from 2008-12-12 to 2009-12-11
kenling
post Oct 27 2009, 11:25 PM

481 posts

been using a acer 5920g wif 8600gt heavily (lappy is on 24/7 wif heavy gaming) since july 2007 so far so gud...

This post has been edited by kenling: Oct 27 2009, 11:25 PM
bryon
post Nov 7 2009, 09:53 AM

400 posts

my vostro 1500 with 8600 gt mobo has died once which luckily i bought 2 yr warranty..i would stay away from dell for some time for extending 1 yr warranty to 1510 but not 1500 which is having the same chipset
imwhoiam
post Nov 9 2009, 11:03 AM

202 posts

my inspiron 1520 running on 8600m GT... got it since december 2007. Still working fine... hope nothing bad happens... don't have money to buy new lappy
penyengat
post Nov 10 2009, 02:11 PM

38 posts

My Benq R45 dead also after warranty period finish...huhu, it used nvidia geforce 8400G
I bought on Jun 08, then broke down on Jan 09, then send for repair and they change the MOBO for free,
last week it broke again after the warranty have finish, finish on sept 09...
I try to quote the price to change MOBO at Benq service center, they said more than RM1000... doh.gif
Now don have laptop anymore..... cry.gif
astria
post Nov 10 2009, 02:50 PM

22,158 posts

tell them it's the GPU problem...

i sun see y they would charge u when S41 users can get it replaced for free...
penyengat
post Nov 10 2009, 05:22 PM

38 posts

are you sure? but my warranty have ended ooo....
But I did try call the service center and told her bout the defect problem, she said she will seek advice from the person who in charge and will call me back in a week.

I do play alot of game and also used 3D software for quiet a long period such as Catia, and sumtime didnt off for few days...huhu

astria
post Nov 10 2009, 05:52 PM

22,158 posts

heard from a few users and yup, that's the case for S41, not sure if it applies to R45 as well though...
Feonfeon
post Nov 24 2009, 10:11 PM

15 posts

last week my HP died on me. been using 1 year and 6 months. a friend checked and told me d AMD burned. when i saw this thread, im horrified that my laptop got NVidia n IT MIGHT be d reason why it died on me suddenly.

i forgot wad my HP model. been sending to service. its the HP Pavilion with touch n twist screen. gahhhh
lee_what2004
post Nov 24 2009, 10:23 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

hp tx2000 series?
Feonfeon
post Nov 26 2009, 10:49 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 24 2009, 10:23 PM)
hp tx2000 series?
Yes, Exactly. HP tx2032 sweat.gif
astria
post Nov 26 2009, 10:56 AM

22,158 posts

that's a slightly different issue from this one, though still related to Nvidia...

for ur case, it's really the motherboard has problem...

16 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0239sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:28 AM