GATHERING OF VICTIM OF NVIDIA 8400M, PLEASE STAY AWAY OF NVIDIA 8400M & 8600M

k3v1n
post Oct 6 2009, 11:51 AM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

shit...now i just saw this thread...my 8400gs just dead on dell vostro 1400...sad.gif so should i go to Dell service center repair or go third party shop??? sad.gif
k3v1n
post Oct 6 2009, 12:06 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 6 2009, 11:59 AM)
better u go Dell... since the card is soldered to the mobo...
i know but dell is soo expensive le...i can't effort since the warranty is over sad.gif
k3v1n
post Oct 6 2009, 12:31 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

But i have no budget to get a new one for now...it is totally out of my expectation...huhuhuhuhu...sad.gif
k3v1n
post Oct 6 2009, 01:16 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 6 2009, 12:34 PM)
repair also wast money only, imho...

maybe sell to those 2nd hand shops, try to savage watever u can... then get a cheap one like Asus K40Ab...
Thanks...can you recommend some second hand shop to me? at kl area?
k3v1n
post Oct 6 2009, 02:46 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(JoLee @ Oct 6 2009, 02:18 PM)
I thought someone posted that Dell would offer a limited extended warranty if it is related to the GPU problem and that the model is listed in their list?
Ya i read the post...but does it apply to Malaysia too?? Anyone can comfirm about this?
k3v1n
post Oct 8 2009, 05:10 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

Ok here an update, i called Dell yesterday to tell them about my situation, and ask for the extended warranty thingy, the technical support said yes it is applied to the selected model and luckily my laptop (Vostro 1400) is under the list. Then next day means today they sent a technician come help me to fix it, but only the motherboard is refurbished part. Well nvm...just let me use one more year then is enough edi...tongue.gif

k3v1n
post Oct 8 2009, 05:39 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Oct 8 2009, 05:19 PM)
hey guy.. same victim here.... so what can i do next step? since my warranty dead on February... how? help me..
Saw your signature tag, i guess u are using Vostro 1400 too? If yes, please call to dell technical support to tell them ur situation, and then they will act like innocent to tell u that ur warranty is over bla bla bla....then u just tell them u saw on the internet or official Dell forum there got some information said if similar GPU problem can extended one year warranty...ask them to check. You must tell them u know about the extended warranty thing if not they sengaja think u dunno and charge u...

k3v1n
post Oct 8 2009, 09:52 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Oct 8 2009, 07:47 PM)
ya i using Vostro 1400... now my GC kaboom.... screen black then restart still appear then black screen again   cry.gif
so i need to tell them that i know extend warranty for such issue rite?
then how much for extend warranty? since my warranty dead on February... February until now is already half year lo...
Brother, this "special extended warranty" is only for your GC kaboom for free another 12 months...means that, if your warranty ends on february 2009, u still got another one year warranty for the GC issue only, until february 2010. If ur laptop dead for other reason, u wont be able to claim this special warranty...so before you call the technical support, make sure u are comfirm it is GC issue, once the technician come ur house and find out your laptop is dead for other reason, then they will charge u for service charge...about rm160 if im not mistaken.

Added on October 8, 2009, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Oct 8 2009, 09:17 PM)
do u mind to ask for the price and publish it out here?
previously i ask is around 1.1k to extend 1 year
Today the technician told me, if your laptop is still under warranty, you can purchase another extended warranty in quite low price (few hundred?), if your laptop's warranty is over and over long time ago, then would be very high price like 1.1k to 1.2k per year that you've mentioned just now, 1k per year? siao ah...i rather buy a new laptop then add few hundred add 3 years warranty lo like tat... doh.gif

This post has been edited by k3v1n: Oct 8 2009, 09:55 PM

0.0156sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:22 AM