6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Carnivourous Plants, Plant that eat Fauna

TScaseyhoo
post Aug 30 2009, 12:37 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(randytsx @ Aug 29 2009, 07:55 PM)
KC, is it possible to grow our own sphagnum then later use as a medium for the VFT?
Yeap, it is possible. I will give you some live spagnum moss when we meet. But, please remind me!!! Else, sorry hor... I always forget things, especially FOC that I had promise. doh.gif

rclxm9.gif
rclxm9.gif
rclxm9.gif

For the live spagnum moss, they need high humidity to grow nicely. That is the most difficult part. For me, I still unable grow it nicely. But, still got some lar... can give you around 10~20cent size of them. sweat.gif paiseh...
TScaseyhoo
post Aug 30 2009, 12:44 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Aug 30 2009, 12:39 AM)
I wan spagnum moss too tongue.gif
Spagnum moss also nid strong sunlight?
As I read, they need strong light. But, my friend grow it under shade. No problem as well.

For my case, I grow it together with my CP. Especially VFT and sarracenia. So, you want some as well. hehe... as usual, please remind me when we meet whistling.gif DON't BE SHY. SHY=Nothing. wakaka
TScaseyhoo
post Aug 30 2009, 10:18 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(randytsx @ Aug 30 2009, 09:42 AM)
Wow, thanks a lot!!! So the sphagnum harder to grow than the vft? Wah...
But, live spagnum moss need really high humidity to grow nicely...
TScaseyhoo
post Sep 9 2009, 08:34 AM

48 posts

sad to hear that. You can give it a water tray. With water tray, you dont need to water it every day lor... Good for lazy people like me.
TScaseyhoo
post Sep 29 2009, 08:59 AM

48 posts

HyourinMaru, I think potting soil can be use.

You can buy live spagnum moss from Fauzi. He have it for sale. But, not sure whether got stock or not.

------------------------

I started a new blog and hope able to share the limited knowledge that I have to others. Please enjoy it...

http://carnivorousplants.wordpress.com

-----------------------
N. bicalcarata
I got this from a kind forumer. When I got it, the plant dont have pitcher. This is 1st pitcher. And now, there is total 3 pitchers at my house

N. albomarginata 'penang red'

N. hookeriana 'speckled hot lip'

N. viking x rafflesianas the matured pitcher is really nice!!!!

N.veitchii x hurreliana is pitchering now

N. ampullaria 'brunei red' latest pitcher

N. ampullaria

1st pitcher of N. bicalcarata "red flush"

On top of that, last week, also added below 2 S size plant to my collection

N. mirabilis var. echinostoma

N. ampullaria x sibuyenensis

This post has been edited by caseyhoo: Nov 18 2009, 06:21 AM
TScaseyhoo
post Jan 3 2010, 10:10 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Jan 3 2010, 12:25 AM)
Sifu Sifu or anyone where can i find this : Sphagnum Moss

Any place at KL got sell it?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
There is high quality and low quality spagnum moss. Those from china can get it from some nursery. But, not high quality. So far, I only know the orchid nursery at OUG selling that.

May I know how many you want?

This post has been edited by caseyhoo: Jan 3 2010, 10:15 AM
TScaseyhoo
post Jan 3 2010, 05:35 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Jan 3 2010, 01:36 PM)
How about high quality? Is it brown/yellow colour (dried)? Actually i use for my turtle enclosure  biggrin.gif
Find 1 day, I take photo and posted it here...

Added on January 3, 2010, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(cphcphcph @ Jan 3 2010, 01:41 PM)
nice collection u hav.....wish to exchange spesis with member here...hehe
They are just tiny list, if compare with others...

Im interested to exchange with others as well. May I know what sp. you have for exchange? So far, there is N. x hookeriana 'speckled hot lip' is ready. Others nepenthes, I need to double check. Lets back to batter system!!!!

This post has been edited by caseyhoo: Jan 3 2010, 05:38 PM
TScaseyhoo
post Jan 19 2010, 09:15 AM

48 posts

ngan, you have a nicely grow D. intermedia!!!!

If is no problem for the media. Why dont you just use all spagnum moss?

You need to bury part of the VFT leaf into media, may be 0.5cm ~ 1cm
TScaseyhoo
post Mar 22 2010, 12:17 PM

48 posts

N. rafflesiana

N. rafflesiana var alata

N. rafflesiana

N. rafflesiana var alata

N. ampullaria all red

N. ?

N. viking

This post has been edited by caseyhoo: Mar 22 2010, 12:43 PM
TScaseyhoo
post Mar 22 2010, 09:27 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Mar 22 2010, 04:07 PM)
wow! Casey, ur rafflesiana looks very healthy !

The D.paradoxa that took back home now looks very good, hope it keep on the reds....

My propagating of the VFT had failed already.
Thanx for yours compliment... And happy that the paradoxa doing well... Why propagation of VFT failed?

N. mirabilis x rafflesiana

N. x hookeriana

N. x hookeriana 'speckled hot lip'

N. mirabilis '___' need to double check

N. ampullaria tricolor green lip that not belong to me (how i wish it is mine)

N. ampullaria

N. viking x rafflesiana

This post has been edited by caseyhoo: Mar 22 2010, 09:28 PM
TScaseyhoo
post Mar 23 2010, 11:31 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Mar 23 2010, 11:03 AM)
I'm also dunno, for sure i dun see any green on the media, the leaf had already rotted also.

btw, your Nepenthes cup, does it still got potential grow big ?
Leaf is rooted is normal. Dont pull the dry leaf out 1st. There may b plantlet forming in progress...

Nepenthes pitcher can grow bigger... But, maximum size is depends on sp.

More photos...

<N. thorelli>

N. eustachya

N. rafflesiana

N. mirabilis-winged (mirabilis x chelsonii) that under stress, because of environment changed.
TScaseyhoo
post May 13 2010, 10:05 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(raclette @ May 13 2010, 08:41 PM)
bump. i might be getting mine soon biggrin.gif
Cool... rclxms.gif Mine sharing with us what are you getting?

QUOTE(lordsapt @ May 13 2010, 09:46 PM)
caseyhoo, need to ask u 2 question hehehe

1. these carnivourous plants, does it smells?

2. i read a few first pages in this thread and i realize u guys were talking about water tray, how does it work? water tray is the tray that is under the flowing pot isit? if it is does it mean we need to fill the tray with water always?

thank you for the help smile.gif
carnivourous plants didnt smell

"water tray method" that we always refer to is put CP on top of tray or container that filled with water. And it always fill in with water... The water tray method mainly use for drosera, sarracenia and VFT. It is not recommend use it for nepenthes, but, you still can do so for nepenthes if the media is airy or the pot is big.

For more information, you can refer to my blog blush.gif
http://carnivorousplants.wordpress.com/200...er-tray-method/
TScaseyhoo
post May 13 2010, 10:30 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(lordsapt @ May 13 2010, 10:08 PM)
For the water tray method, can i put some anti-mosquitoe breeding pill inside, will it kill the plant?
Im not really sure about that... Need to ask expect about that...
TScaseyhoo
post May 21 2010, 11:34 AM

48 posts

Here is latest pitcher at my house...

N. mirabilis green

N. bicalcarata

N. "thorellii"

N. rafflesiana

N. rafflesiana pink

N. rafflesiana

This post has been edited by caseyhoo: May 21 2010, 11:34 AM
TScaseyhoo
post May 21 2010, 11:35 AM

48 posts

N. sibuyensis x merriliana

N. x hookeriana tricolor

N. gracilis x bicalcarata

N. viking x ampullaria

TScaseyhoo
post May 25 2010, 07:00 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(ReBeLLioN @ May 21 2010, 11:37 AM)
wow very nice periuk kera....
Thank you for yours complimentation... smile.gif
TScaseyhoo
post Jun 3 2010, 03:45 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ May 28 2010, 05:05 PM)
can sum1 giv me sum hlp and advice on how 2 start on tis hobby?? T^T im still blur..

Added on May 28, 2010, 5:29 pmo can sum1 spare sum 4 me?? i reli wud lyk 2 try tis hobby out.. =)
Hi there, there is many type of CP. Each of them may have need difference growing requirement. Below are just rules of tumb, certain species may need special requirement.

Nepenthes
- 50%~70% shaded sunlight
- media - normally we use spagnum moss mixed with others media, like perlite, charcoal, cocochip. You can use cocopeat as well.
- make sure the media is wet. Water it when top of media is dry.

Drosera
- direct sunlight
- spagnum moss + perlite or pure spagnum moss
- 1cm ~2cm water tray

VFT
- direct sunlight (a expert said it is better give it 50% shaded. tropical afternoon sunlight is too strong for VFT and may causing slow grow rate. Im still experience on that)
- spagnum moss + perlite or pure spagnum moss or peat moss + perlite
- 1cm water tray or always wet media

Sarracenia
- direct sunlight
- spagnum moss + perlite or pure spagnum moss
- water tray, prefer half of pot height.

For the media, you can get it from some nursery at Klang Valley.
TScaseyhoo
post Jun 13 2010, 11:23 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jun 13 2010, 05:11 PM)
Any1 think I should change to bigger pot ady?

Got lots of babies,how to separate them and grow them in other pots?
HyourinMaru, you should repot it!!! You done a great job!!!!! And I believe that the spagnum moss in the pot is melted and become peat moss and not much inside the pot already...

You should take out those VFt and media out from the pot and separate them. And plant those big plant in separate pot. For those small size VFT, repot them in a pot or 2 . You may use tweezer to help you. http://carnivorousplants.wordpress.com/200...-using-tweezer/

Added on June 13, 2010, 11:28 pmI agree with rideon, there are many nursery that selling VFT nowsady. But, please be carefull when choosing/buying VFT. Because, most of nursery dont know how to take care them.

QUOTE(HyourinMaru )
I leave mine outside only,sometimes when I check it there are flies bodies or red ants' laugh.gif
Theres once when i water it i found a baby centipede in the substrate biggrin.gif

Thats why it called Venus FLY TRAP

This post has been edited by caseyhoo: Jun 13 2010, 11:31 PM
TScaseyhoo
post Jun 13 2010, 11:32 PM

48 posts

HyourinMaru, the VFT is from me 9months ago?
TScaseyhoo
post Jun 13 2010, 11:36 PM

48 posts

I havent finish see the video yet... His name is Jacob Farin. His official websire is http://www.cobraplant.com

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0335sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:39 PM