QUOTE(developer @ Apr 18 2009, 04:24 AM)
That engine halfcut got Turbo and N/A one. Just depends on the pricing only. I think the pricing not much different though.LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V2~, come come join small lil devil in here~
LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V2~, come come join small lil devil in here~
Apr 18 2009, 08:06 AM
241 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Saitama-ken, Japan/ Penang |
Apr 25 2009, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(Brian O'Connor @ Apr 25 2009, 02:35 PM) I think so far JPJ never stop. I saw like the whole Opti Local Club go through the JPJ block infront of me and a heavily modded EK9 with Neon and he switched it off. All never got into trouble actually. Umm, well they can issue you the letter to revert back to original set. |
Apr 26 2009, 10:21 PM
May 1 2009, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(JasonB @ Apr 30 2009, 03:00 PM) guys? I was planning to install OCT for my car actually. Haha. But its out of budget though. I guess I save up money for next time usage though.any of you have made/installed your own OCT? any pics to share? want to make one for my kancil. its spewing oil and vapour on my air filter.. |
May 1 2009, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(JasonB @ May 1 2009, 10:48 PM) I know that ppl DIY their OCT for less than RM20 or so. I saw some of them even use the Metal water bottle from those departmental free one comes from FOS or more. Here I paste some of the thingy about the hose.try searching it online. Want to try but not sure where the hoses are and where they go? # Brass hose connectors for PVC hoses. You'll need two 5/8" hose barbs. Mine were 1/2" threaded on the other side. # Oil level tube. To make this, you need two 3/16" hose barbs and two male to female elbows to get the barbs oriented correctly. A short length of 3/16" clear hose will allow you to see how much oil has been collected. # Heater hose. I was able to reuse the heater hose that connected my PVC to the intake. Depending on whether you reuse some of the heater hose you already have, you'll need 3 to 5 feet of heater hose. You'll need at least 3 feet of new hose to make the new connection. # Drain valve To make emptying the oil catch can easier, you'll want a drain valve. I used a 1/4" ball valve. It is offset from the bottom of the can by a 1/4" male to male pipe. I also used 3/8" hose barb to allow me to run a drain line to the underside of the bumper. A few feet of 3/8" hose is needed to make this drain. |
May 3 2009, 12:18 PM
Guys, have anyone using 3Max Performance Bars? I was planning to get one of those soon. Trying to compare UR Bars and 3max bars. Anyone can give any comment on those bars?
Thanks. |
May 5 2009, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(JasonB @ May 5 2009, 10:17 AM) Thanks Deto for your extensive explanation. Owh ic ic. Umm Overhauling better not do it since your transplanting so maybe you transplant the L5 engine NA one. 4-piston. I heard got high maintainence for the 4-piston engine. Spare part kind of hard to get though. Umm trying to get a L5 3 piston one or maybe a 850cc Kelisa Engine Twin Cam 12v one.Sounds like alot of work to transplant the ED-DE then. Deto and LYN Kancil gang! I have started restoring my old Kancil since Nov last year. The last item for me to do is the engine. I want to complete this project of mine before end of this year. So hope you guys don't mind me bugging & asking too much questions ya. Need all your opinion on this. What i want: - Improve FC. (current 12.5cents/Km, +/-) - Easy to maintain. (currently every month sure have something to fix..old car ma..) - Spare parts easily available. - Just enough power to climb Genting cukup la..heheh no need power power..kepish! (Currently with 2 ppl can only reach Gotong Jaya, engine struggling gear 3 or 2.. What i have: - Daihatsu 660 6v na (M) - RM3.5k to transplant. (if able to cut down cost better la haha..) Options: - Top overhaul. - Overhaul. - L5 660 4piston na (M) - any more ideas?? Greatly appreciate all your contributions. Thanks! Jason QUOTE(yott-chan @ May 5 2009, 03:02 PM) how much it costs if u dont mind me asking? Hmm, this one I think carburator dirty i guess. Well not really sure. My RPM with Aircond around 1.5 sometimes unstable. I saw my throttle body quite dirty though. Before on my carb engine i was having the same problem as well.me also facing same prob, even in idle, RPM stay at 2000-2500rpm but i see the engine, nothing weird also, no broken hose or anything.. maybe carburetor.. anyone knows how much should i prepare if carb got prob? tqtq |
May 7 2009, 08:40 PM
Aih. Wait till I come down with my twin bro also ler! haha. Aih cannot wait.. Ish. Anyone in Penang who can TT with me?
May 9 2009, 02:40 PM
I am a student haha. Lol. Aih when is the TT? If its in July then confirm my attendance ler haha. Wha is the function of Electronic Distributor and normal one? Haha. My distributor looks old though.
This post has been edited by nixZorus: May 9 2009, 02:41 PM |
May 10 2009, 08:33 AM
I kind of agree with tommi. There are alot more fortunate teenagers out there. I just saw a teenager driving a R35 the other day =.=. Aih.
May 10 2009, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(detomaso @ May 10 2009, 03:50 PM) if u were on JB series engine u dont have distributor. u're were likely COP system. (coil on plug) something like kelisa engine though. Ah nope im not on JB series engine. Im on EF series though. COP system. But I cant differentiate between a normal distributor or a electronic distributor system though. |
May 11 2009, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(detomaso @ May 11 2009, 04:56 PM) electronic use skru on the cap while normal distributor use clips. Umm got more efficiency on the electronic distributor? compare to the normal distributor? Aha. I haven got the time to check and see.and at coil@firewall there... normal one got like 2 extra white terminal. while electronic one already bypass the terminal. |
May 21 2009, 04:49 PM
Hie everyone Im back too! Haha. Yet I still have exams. Aih my rear tail lamp also break dunnu for what.
May 25 2009, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(JasonB @ May 25 2009, 06:01 PM) Stumbled across this engine.. This one ah? It can be in various form. Is a conversion of a normal 850cc engine 6 Valve to 12 Valve only I guess. I think this one is the fuel injection one. So maybe is the air intake manifold change to L2 intake manifold and ECUed and some using pure 12 valve Carburator. My twin brother is doing on this project half way I guess. He just wont let me know about it.didnt know they exist. Daihatsu 850cc 12v - where can i get one?? i want! Credits to blog owner.KZ Auto |
May 26 2009, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(JasonB @ May 25 2009, 11:03 PM) Hmn..u sure its just a 6v to 12v conversion? The blog owner says its from Japan..but 12v 850 EFi sound really nice.. Haha, mine the same thing as well actually. Aih again another headache. This time my car will be in the workshop for a week I guess. Leaking black oil.wha..your bro so secretive sure some big project! Nice of you to have a bro that shares the same passion. Btw update on car: My signal lights wont work. Don't know why. Checked fuse. working Hazard lights are working. Workshop say the steering console problem. ask me go look for one at chop shop. $$$ L5 rack with console? Last night jack up my car. Found out Oil seeping. The whole bottom part of engine has traces of oil and grime.. even to the gear box..adei.. Decided to send the Kancil for general overhaul tomorrow.. To change seals, filters, clutch, oil, belts, clean cylinders, head, tb and all the works.. Looks like its gonna be a major cleanup. More $$$$ Can't wait for it to be done... QUOTE(tommi88 @ May 26 2009, 12:34 AM) if its a major repair...u might wanna consider transplanting a 850cc engine in it...it really improves overall performance...since u gonna do major repairs on the current engine,y not opt for a better engine and then do the same thing??not to say it provides alot more power but at least it improves drivability...no need to struggle so much in a 660cc... Umm that one is an EFI though cause that engine has an Intake Manifold and a throttle body. Fueling system much efficient that way. I think that conversion which converted the oil tank also as well.btw...the engine from the blog is no simple conversion...its really from japan...and its more powerful than our local made 850cc...even the parts are much better...but the fueling system im not sure its EFI or carburetor...even if its carb fueling system its definitely better than our local made 850cc...and its cheaper too...dats what i read from the blog..xD QUOTE(budakhops @ May 26 2009, 01:50 AM) my sis's kancil is year 2002.. so seven years... biasa la girls.. only take care the looks... stuff in the engine bay xjaga sangat... Aih, not all girls are like that though. Its around Rm800 like that to convert from Carb to EFI. You have to change the Intake Manifold and the Oil Tank.i'm not sure how many km done... later i check.. but it used to travel kl-jb-kl in its early days... bout the locking mechanism in the front passenger door... anybody having the same problem??? I want to know the estimate for restoring this car... coz it will be handed to me in august... wanna start saving money for it... n another thing.. how much will it cost if i wanna convert the carburetor to fuel injection system?? can it be done?? |
May 28 2009, 09:10 PM
Aih. My bro and me is coming down during end of July have gathering that time ler.
May 31 2009, 10:56 PM
Hie everyone haha. nice to meet everyone. Welcome! yay! Haha. Finally got some new members. Where are you guys from?
Jun 1 2009, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(ajashi @ Jun 1 2009, 07:18 AM) all car coming from japan have speed cut. True it is set at 140 km/h originally before removing the speed cut. At 160 I can feel part of the car is very light. Owh yes, I still have that indicator siren also. Above 140km/h will have a ting ting ting sound. Even loaded with 4 person its still quite light.for compact car it is 140km/h. regardless l2,l2s,l5,l6,l7,l9. its 140km/h. for bigger car it's 180km/h. l2s, when still have speedcut, u drive till 140kmh,ok. then press a bit more, estimate la 150kmh, then u c the needle kick up, speed come down to 120kmh. l2s is nice, go up karak-kL all the way can gear5. even when thru bukit tinggi, genting sempah. no need drop gear. its called halfcut because when its being imported into malaysia, from japan, the car is cut. whether half, or nose cut, still a cut. this way the tax will be less, and also can put more item in the kontena. if its not cut (full), how can u say it cut? doesnt make sense another thing, imho weight of a car doesnt relate to how fast and safely can a car go. on windy road, yes it take guts, skills and superb suspension. but on a straight, i have driven a kancil at 170kmh++.shah alam - kuantan : slightly more than 2 hours. but its not my car. |
Jun 4 2009, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(JasonB @ Jun 4 2009, 11:50 AM) I got my L2s anti roll bar for 180. Hahaha! Haha. I am finding people to source me for the Anti Roll Bar. I need one. Cause in Penang, they dont have UR Bars. Even I went to those half cut shop for L2s anti roll, they look like overcharge me for it. Expecially I want that Anti-Roll Bar. Anyone can get it for me? Ultra Racing's are cheaper and thicker. 13mm? L2s 11mm i think. Its a different design than the L2s. Didn't want that cause its too rigid. I have the UR strut bars 2 point. Great stuff for handing. Your car will feel stiffer. Btw, update on my L9. Repair cost estimated 1.8k. But I guess I will still be sending it to the workshop. I like the engine. Maybe the FMIC Plan would be postpone due to maintainence. A leakage of engine oil from the engine. Even the Ignition Coil is spoilt. 6.5krpm of the engine sounds like dropping. This post has been edited by nixZorus: Jun 4 2009, 06:28 PM |
Jun 9 2009, 06:37 PM
Welcome welcome. haha. When is the TT guys? and Where? Can you guys make it around 25th like that? Cause I be down in KL with my twin bro by then.
| Change to: | 0.0341sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:10 AM |