Movies Stephen King's IT, Why So Serious? - Horror Version

carpathia
post Sep 4 2019, 11:17 AM

2,619 posts

Seriously, why is this movie so damn long?

6so
post Sep 4 2019, 11:40 AM

135 posts

Not as worthy as the first outing. Movie length and wishy-washy pacing puts me off. Started to feel Pennywise overstaying his welcome by the second act. As good as the grown up casting, but they don't stick the landing on a whole.
tonYe
post Sep 4 2019, 10:25 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

Didn't like it as much as the first film. Somehow it's funnier and not scarier than before.

Mov_freak
post Sep 6 2019, 12:33 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

It Chapter Two (2019)

It is no secret, I liked the 2017 IT.

Casting, Sets and direction were spot on!

So, how does the second one fare?

Well, casting is great. Apart from Bill (James McAvoy), the other adult casts do look like their younger counterpart.

James Ransone really capture his younger counterpart mannerism. Kudos

The direction and cinematography started great. Shots were well planned and followed on well with what was done in the first movie.

Story-wise... it suffers a little.

And I blame the source material.

This movie suffers the same issue I had with the book.

The cutting back and forth between the past and present, made the flow of the movie a little clunky at times.

I am also not sure if they shot the kids bits during the first episode, because they look the same as when they were in the first movie (eg. kids grow up so quickly)

I did guess Richie Tozier's secret and I have to admit, I got the subject wrong.... Am I making sense?

So, overall, great movie.

Would have been better if there are more scary.

As per usual, the above is my two sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 7 2019, 09:51 AM
cringe
post Sep 6 2019, 10:36 PM

330 posts

I don't know why so much hate for the 2nd chapter of this movie.

Tbh, I enjoyed it a lot compared to first chapter. Alot of my friends that watched the 1st chapter, they said it's boring.

Beware for the 2nd chapter, not suitable for weak heart.

Banyak scene terkejut tak henti henti. I can't sit properly due to this.

I feel more satisfied watching the 2nd chapter compared to first one.

My rating 4/5.
red1982
post Sep 7 2019, 07:38 PM

488 posts

already watch it . in terms of the creativity on the scary part is something unique .. thou theres some issues on certain characters that like bowers and his friend . dunno what is actually his friend is . a zombie or else ..
6so
post Sep 8 2019, 07:35 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 6 2019, 01:33 AM)
And I blame the source material.

This movie suffers the same issue I had with the book.

The cutting back and forth between the past and present, made the flow of the movie a little clunky at times.
As with majority of King's books, his third act usually spiral into mumbo jumbo territory. On the pages, the effect not that pronounce but on a visual medium, it's jarring and messy.
cringe
post Sep 9 2019, 09:12 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(red1982 @ Sep 7 2019, 07:38 PM)
already watch it . in terms of the creativity on the scary part is something unique .. thou theres some issues on certain characters that like bowers and his friend . dunno what is actually his friend is . a zombie or else ..
Agreed. They didnt explained details on how Bowers and his friends become like that. This is the part I don't really understand
gaeria84
post Sep 10 2019, 11:20 PM

837 posts

Remember that one scene from the IT 2017 film (where Billy found Georgie's raincoat at the end) that made you bawled your eyes out? Despite its flaws, it managed to deliver a solid story and that sweet emotional payoff in the end.

Replace the above with messy plot, a little too much levity and little emotional payoff, and you get this film. doh.gif

3/5 from me

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Sep 10 2019, 11:20 PM
elm0001
post Sep 11 2019, 10:00 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

definitely a downgrade for me.
meamth
post Sep 12 2019, 05:47 PM

328 posts

....uhhh maybe they could step up the scale a bit?

For all the talk of the clown as the eater of worlds, they should make it even more threat.

Why do i feel like it's a same old shit?

Pennywise, the eater of worlds...MEH.

At least Stranger Things stepped up every season for bigger threat.

6/10 for me.

This post has been edited by meamth: Sep 12 2019, 05:48 PM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0147sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:02 AM