6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

nokia2003
post Jun 9 2009, 08:03 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(mannequion @ Jun 9 2009, 07:59 PM)
Owning my phone for almost 2 years, only made 2 video calls so far. Other than that, never use it, even to take photo.

So the dual camera isnt in my requirement list.

ayai
, typical human deficiencies la i.e. the grass always look greener on the other side

even IF the 3GS was preloaded with one, these minorities will still somehow find a fault somewhere.

either you love it or hate it. no point moaning like an "anjing betina" or worse of all, organise a product boycott (???!!!)
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2009, 08:53 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jun 9 2009, 08:51 PM)
what i heard is the O.S3 wont support mms for iphone 2g.... have 2 confirm back with u later on
i can confirm that.

konon-nya hardware incompatibility. but ironically the cydia/installer version works fine.

Added on June 9, 2009, 8:57 pm
QUOTE(duckevo @ Jun 9 2009, 08:53 PM)
why are still people asking about USD99?????  rclxub.gif

this has been mentioned from time to time again when iphone 3g was launched last year on USD199
because these people believe that free lunches do come by easily.

heck, even financial fund managers do not believe that there is such thing as a free lunch. so much so, only by diversification of your portfolio, you can obtain the closest way to a free lunch. weird, how these people believe otherwise. either they don't read or...

edited: sorry the USD99 issue brought back some unpleasant university memories tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 9 2009, 09:00 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2009, 09:12 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 9 2009, 09:07 PM)
I just newbie on phone .
Just ask , why you all so angry ?

So what's the exact price at US without bounding with contract ?
being a newbie is one thing; everyone here was once.

but RM380? come on... even my old, black and white third hand nokia 3310 also cost more than that

what more a brand new, boxed apple product.
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2009, 09:13 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 9 2009, 09:03 PM)
"pesanan ini disokonong sepenuhnya dari Taka"

haha.. of course it will, and we can expect more and more people will ask why here in malaysia (other country also)sell it so expensive and it was USD99 only at U.S. sweat.gif  instead of thinking cost of bring the phone officially, the warranty wise etc. shakehead.gif

Added on June 9, 2009, 9:06 pm@rushmode , yes it was conform by apple, but maybe, "MAYBE only" deav team or other hacker can mod the os3 making it works for mms in iphone 2G who knows, everything can happend out there.

yes swirlymms can works fine but not with the default mms in os3, apple confirm that, but we can try and error when get the firmware on this 17 june then. rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif
malaysians are not alone as well!!! everyone is getting the heat yo!
nokia2003
post Jun 9 2009, 09:16 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(fumjusta @ Jun 9 2009, 09:14 PM)
i noticed that we can have 11 screens now.

http://www.apple.com/iphone/iphone-3g-s/home-screen.html

Is this one of the new features of 3.0? or was this a previous update?
yup. characteristics of 3.0

it sounds all great, but i'm already perpetually low on space and i cannot see how i can fit all 11 pages + 4 apps
nokia2003
post Jun 10 2009, 06:44 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Shock @ Jun 10 2009, 06:38 PM)
with better proc, and according to some website which compare the open gl, 3gs is using opengl 2.0. which makes me think (me only) it will perform better than current 3g.
for more information, head here
nokia2003
post Jun 10 2009, 10:06 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 10 2009, 09:53 PM)
Guys, I made a mistake...

Apparently iPhone 3G does not support OpenGL ES 2.0 after all. Its only OpenGL ES 1.1. Check this site --> HERE

The iPhone 3G has the PowerVR MBX while the iPhone 3G[S] has the newer PowerVR SGX  graphics chipset.
LOL. yeah i read about that already and davidgary73 has included that very same link in the relevant thread.

but honestly, it is hard to convince people that the inner "bit" matters.

it is like those comments in paultan.org; where the new accord v6 3.5 is being featured, and a lot of people ridiculed those who actually contemplate purchasing that accord as the same price could get you the entry model bmw 3 series laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

i mean, there is no point ridiculing people la. after all it is their money.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 10 2009, 10:09 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 10 2009, 11:38 PM

5,786 posts

well i have scrutinised the iPhone 3Gs (featured on the website and advertisements); they are not enclosed with a matte casing.

even those who has a personal grasp of the new iPhone (in the states) refuted the existence of such casing.

but believe me, i would be well chuffed (it's been a long time, since i used that word tongue.gif) if the 3GS comes with such casing.

Added on June 10, 2009, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(Oris @ Jun 10 2009, 11:38 PM)
Ok one last question... How can we have to get into the menu to get the info about the version of the baseband and firmware,without activate the phone? Cannot right? Then buying a locked IP3G have to depend on luck o ? If it is baseband 2.30.00 & firmware 2.2.1 then we can use yellowsnow, if its version is above that, gameover...
incorrect. you can check against the serial number (they indicate when they are being manufactured) and the part number (they demonstrate the country of origin).

these vital information are all printed outside the box, without the need of removing the relevant packaging.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 10 2009, 11:42 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 11 2009, 01:03 PM

5,786 posts

oh boy. it is 2.30pm and i just got up... overslept overslept! vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

anyway interested in "iPhone 3GS Unboxed Pictures (32GB Unboxing Photos)" ?

click here
nokia2003
post Jun 11 2009, 01:41 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Jun 11 2009, 01:30 PM)
Is it me, or is the screen slightly different from the iPhone 3G when you looked at it?

Multi-Touch

With its large Multi-Touch display and innovative software, iPhone lets you control everything using only your fingers. How does it work? A panel underneath the display’s glass cover senses your touch using electrical fields. It then transmits that information to an LCD screen below it. The display also features an oil-resistant coating that keeps the iPhone screen clean.

source
nokia2003
post Jun 11 2009, 09:09 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kellyeung13 @ Jun 11 2009, 09:05 PM)
I have a few questions regarding the iphone 3g(s)...May i know if the iphone 3gs will be released in Malaysia like in Usa, the same day. Is this iphone 3gs a new model or they just simply update the 'software'? what is this iphone 3.0 software? Does it related to the 3gs? sorry, i 'm not a iphone user but i want to know more about this device as i plan to get one soon. thanks
no

I have a few questions regarding the iphone 3g(s)...May i know if the iphone 3gs will be released in Malaysia like in Usa, the same day. Is this iphone 3gs a new model or they just simply update the 'software'? what is this iphone 3.0 software? Does it related to the 3gs? sorry, i 'm not a iphone user but i want to know more about this device as i plan to get one soon. thanks
new

related. but all three models (first, 3G & 3GS) will be able to use the 3.0
nokia2003
post Jun 11 2009, 11:13 PM

5,786 posts

Buy your iPhone 3G S at an Apple Retail Store and have it activated and set up.
Stores open at 8 a.m. on 26 June. Just come in to your favourite Apple
Retail Store and we'll be happy to help you.

anyone in melbourne, who wants to accompany me that day? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 12:18 AM

5,786 posts

@ hihihehe

from the e-mail i received from apple, i think the launch is applicable to the standalone apple retail store (and not those premium resellers)

there are two in melbourne; chadstone and doncaster
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 12:00 PM

5,786 posts

@ BlueHeng

my last paper is on the 30th as well. but screw it! the dark side is too strong for me to resist. worse come to worst, i will study outside the store whilst queuing up for the iPhone.

not like i haven't done that before; i have done my revision during the macD hello kitty plush toys frenzy... *shy*
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 04:38 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jun 12 2009, 04:27 PM)
Could I say in response to your statement that the price of a luxury car, say, a Merc, is like buying a bungalow, perhaps even 2, so is it really worth paying such sums for a car? You tell me.
good one, mate.

the price quoted by maxis, even before the 3G S launch was already at "8GB is going for RM 2540, whilst the 16GB goes for RM2960 ".

hence how on blinking earth, could be "max price for iphone3GS be RM2500"?

anyway kudos to Valentineday for being so wishful (and hopeful). this spirit is indeed required to keep humanity faith alive! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 12 2009, 04:39 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 05:27 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 12 2009, 05:14 PM)
Yeah, 3K for a phone! There are other more robust options like those HTC, etc. At least you get a 'fully functional phone'. Anyway the only time I see myself spending RM3000+ would be the day Palm Pre is launching. Hehehe!

By the way, the reason I got myself an iPhone THIS LATE is because of the Maxis offer. Come to think of it, a phone around RM1500~2000 is ideal and just nice. RM3000, you better think twice and hard.  biggrin.gif

-------

Ooh by the way, I got an SMS from Maxis saying that the new iPhone OS v3.0 will be shipped to every iValue subscriber in the form of a CD. Official launching date is 18 June 2009. CD may either arrive before, on time or later than that.
can la.

very mint condition (without exaggeration) second hand units.

even before the release of 3G S, i have seen typically on ebay.com.au, unlocked ones they go for about AUD500 (RM1400-ish) with its original packaging, warranty et cetera.

now the major question here is, are you alright with used products? some people are pretty peculiar as in everything they touch must be brand new.
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 05:36 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(al3p @ Jun 12 2009, 05:33 PM)
Thats the thing, in Aussie, you need to take out the iphone first to legally unlock so that they can retrieve the IMEI. I dont mind as long it is opened for unlocking purposes. I dont know about Malaysia, but it is really easy to get Iphone replaced here even you have minor problem such as stiff mute button. I already have white 16 gig Iphone and might find any minor defect so that i can get a new 3GS lol. Read this story here and you'll know what im talking about.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=1218921
yeah i read about that.

but his story could be fabricated and i have some qualms about it.

and nice try about the underlined statement. apple has loads of refurbished iPhone 3Gs waiting at their disposal and no way they will upgrade to a brand new model.

Added on June 12, 2009, 5:41 pmand i'm scratching my head off, contemplating to opt for the 12 or 24 months contract.

are you planning to get this 3G S?

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 12 2009, 05:41 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 06:17 PM

5,786 posts

sigh... a real unnecessary waste of resources to burn the firmware into a CD (and then having to snail mail them) in my humble opinion.

it will not be long before apple detects hiccups or the mighty dev team is able to hack it, a new firmware will be up again.
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 06:32 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Valentineday @ Jun 12 2009, 06:27 PM)
Sound like u have better solution o....mind share it out? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
obtain it directly from the iTunes?

or if you are more tech savvy, find the standalone download link, and use a download program (like DAP, getright) to accelerate and resume your download.

apple on average has 4 sources to feed its downloads, so by using those download programs, you can speed your download even more.
nokia2003
post Jun 12 2009, 06:33 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(supermassive @ Jun 12 2009, 06:32 PM)
i think Maxis trying to give a little more by doing little little things, well its part of client service dude. I certainly dont think its a waste of resource from my side. After all Malaysia mah, already kena wasted so much
what a typical stereotype thinking/mentality. even if something is unlimited or free of charge, doesn't imply that we are entitled to abuse the system.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 12 2009, 06:35 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0492sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:09 PM