medical / critical illness insurance enquiry

chew_ronnie
post Sep 23 2011, 06:14 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(phra09 @ Sep 23 2011, 05:53 PM)
Just curious if there is such processing fee during sign up insurance?

For my case, I apply via my friend agent and submit via auto debit from cc. Few days later, prudential deducted my rm180 on 6/9/11

Later on they need my medical checkup n some report.
It's been delay till now n pending for approval.

My problem is I'm curious why they deduct my money since my policy not approve yet?

Let say my policy approve on next 1/10, prudential will deduct rm180 frm me again.
Then what about the rm180 they deducted on 6/9 ?
So meaning the rm180 from 6/9 to 1/10 is processing fee?
This is what been told by my agent, not sure how true

Can anyone advise?thanks a lot
Sounds funny.

I presume ur monthly installment shall be 180 right? By right the 1st payment to the insurer shall be 2 month advance ie 360 for ur case.

Say they deduct on 6/9 for 360, then say ur polic gets in force on 1/10, then the 360 will be the payment for 1/10 and 1/11. The next payment due will be on 1/12. It's not the processing fee.

I'm curious why u kena med checkup? Overweight? Pre existing illness or ur age is old?
phra09
post Sep 23 2011, 06:44 PM

165 posts

Hmm I call the callcentre and they seem confused about this too.

I'm being deducted rm180 on 6/9, which is one month installment.
I even got a receipt via post from prudential

My agent told me they will deduct another rm180 once approved. N if approved, the first installment is processing fee.
Otherwise, if reject they will send me cheque.

I find this quite weird too
rekamaju
post Sep 23 2011, 08:58 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(phra09 @ Sep 23 2011, 06:44 PM)

My agent told me they will deduct another rm180 once approved. N if approved, the first installment is processing fee.

Agree with chew_ronnie. Why medical? If you are what insurers say "sub-standard" risks, maybe be due to weight
or medical history, I suggest you grab whatever comes your way first, and then only, look around and
try to improve your coverage ( ps reconfirm your height/weight I have seen many medical requirements
due to error in filling up height/weight ). Also if anything that normally goes from good to bad, it is almost always health

Having said that, whatever the outcome, you still have 15 days to look over the policy from the day you
receive it to decide if you want it or not. You have the right to cancel the policy without giving any reason
and the insurer will return back all the premium LESS ANY MEDICAL REPORT COSTS.

Another thing I would like to share with you. All insurance companies are the same. While everyone debates on which company is better, the CEO of all companies have meetings every now and then and discuss how they are going
to sell more insurance to the market.

Insurers always never compete with same products. If one is cheap, maybe less profits, another more expensive
but more cash value, Some protection better, some risks higher, even some more guaranteed profits. If one company
sell Australian apple, another fellow will sell Fuji apple. How to compare?

Most important is agent who is trustworthy, can service you properly, more committed (maybe full-time), more knowledgeable, etc. Somebody, when you are in the hospital, will come and visit you and help you make the claims, maybe even fight with his/her insurance company to pay you more if possible

Colaboy
post Sep 24 2011, 12:21 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(phra09 @ Sep 23 2011, 05:53 PM)
Just curious if there is such processing fee during sign up insurance?

For my case, I apply via my friend agent and submit via auto debit from cc. Few days later, prudential deducted my rm180 on 6/9/11

Later on they need my medical checkup n some report.
It's been delay till now n pending for approval.

My problem is I'm curious why they deduct my money since my policy not approve yet?

Let say my policy approve on next 1/10, prudential will deduct rm180 frm me again.
Then what about the rm180 they deducted on 6/9 ?
So meaning the rm180 from 6/9 to 1/10 is processing fee?
This is what been told by my agent, not sure how true

Can anyone advise?thanks a lot
alright...its normal for company to deduct your cc once you sign up a proposal under an insurance company
basically your case is pending for approve maybe due to some requirement like medical report or etc. . . .
the premium you paid will be used for the following month once its approve or we say the commencing date.
If its approve before 16/9/11 . . . the 1st premium shall be for sept, if its after 16/9/11 the premium shall be for oct thumbup.gif

chew_ronnie
post Sep 24 2011, 01:48 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(phra09 @ Sep 23 2011, 06:44 PM)

Ur agent is misleding u.there is no such thing as processing fee. Processing fee IMHO, is like non refundable fee wherein insurance,the instwllmentnpaid shall mean ur 1st month premium once ur applications approved.
phra09
post Sep 24 2011, 11:22 AM

165 posts

Thanks a lot. Indeed very useful info you provided over there smile.gif

Back to your question, the doctor confirm my weight for 82kg n 173cm. So the agent made some amendments after the correction.
The reason they opt me for checkup is I have gout history even its rare attack. 3 to 4 mth pain once on the feet. It's been stopped since last year but i declare anyway as advised by agent
Another thing would be post traumatic injuries on my right wrist. I have chronic pain due to hamate bone bruises since 6 months back and still following up with doctor. This is all under my company insurance.

Well my main concern is actually how the payment works.
As per your advise, let say the 1wt installment is commence once my application approved, they should not deduct me again once got approve right?
Next payment should be one month thereafter, for my 2nd months onward...

Hmm I guess I need to wait till my policy approve n see how the charges goes ...

Kinda hard to get a real good agent as stated by you lol.
Some of them can't even explain or describe in detail when I questioned them

MaxWealth
post Sep 24 2011, 12:57 PM

421 posts

There is no procesing fees.

When submit proposal, usually Insurance company will dedubt 2 months premium in advanced. (If you are in monthly mode, other will be the exact premium)

Within this period, if your case is standard and approved ( set inforced), on the following month (2nd) , there will be no deduction from your credit card. It will deduct on the 3rd month onwards.

If your case is decline, they will refund your premium less medical check up fees.
chew_ronnie
post Sep 25 2011, 12:42 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(phra09 @ Sep 24 2011, 11:22 AM)
Thanks a lot. Indeed very useful info you provided over there smile.gif

Back to your question, the doctor confirm my weight for 82kg n 173cm. So the agent made some amendments after the correction.
The reason they opt me for checkup is I have gout history even its rare attack. 3 to 4 mth pain once on the feet. It's been stopped since last year but i declare anyway as advised by agent
Another thing would be post traumatic injuries on my right wrist. I have chronic pain due to hamate bone bruises since 6 months back and still following up with doctor. This is all under my company insurance.

As per your advise, let say the 1wt installment is commence once my application approved, they should not deduct me again once got approve right?

Hmm I guess I need to wait till my policy approve n see how the charges goes ...
Kinda hard to get a real good agent as stated by you lol.
Some of them can't even explain or describe in detail when I questioned them
I guess it would be substandard case seeing ur health condition. Not easy to get approved or with lots of exclusion + loading.

Check with ur agent or customer service, why 1 month but not 2months?
Colaboy
post Sep 25 2011, 08:42 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(phra09 @ Sep 24 2011, 11:22 AM)

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif that should be the way
gtfan
post Sep 27 2011, 06:53 PM

932 posts

I am relooking at my insurance coverage policy again and i realise i have been paying too much to my agents for minimal medical coverage.

Now, i plan to reorg my medical coverage and have found tokio marine medic plus and axa smartcare optimum which suits me.

The question now i am seeking, which company offers critical illness standalone coverage as i don't want to buy another life insurance policy as most agents tend to push that ? And no investment linked fund either. Had enough of that as i seek coverage instead of investment.

Cheers.
SUSMNet
post Sep 27 2011, 07:44 PM

11,954 posts

tokio marine medic plus and axa smartcare optimum is deductible plan.

if ur bill exceed the rm5k then u can only use tokio marine medic plus and axa smartcare optimum
rekamaju
post Sep 27 2011, 07:49 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(gtfan @ Sep 27 2011, 06:53 PM)

I am relooking at my insurance coverage policy again and i realise i have been paying too much to my agents for minimal medical coverage.

Now, i plan to reorg my medical coverage and have found tokio marine medic plus and axa smartcare optimum which suits me.

The question now i am seeking, which company offers critical illness standalone coverage as i don't want to buy another life insurance policy as most agents tend to push that ? And no investment linked fund either. Had enough of that as i seek coverage instead of investment.

Cheers.

Since you are not interested in any life plan, then you have a few options:-
Have a Medical Plan that:-
-Has a large Annual Limit eg RM200,000/-
-Has a large Lifetime Limit eg RM1,200,000/-
- Covers outpatient Kidney Dialysis and Cancer Treatment

This should more or less cover all your medical problems, critical or not.

Generally, critical illnesses cover can be taken as:
- Critical Illness only cover with no returns
- Critical Illness with death benefit and zero returns
- Critical illness with death benefit with full premium return

Most of my clients who consider CI cover along your same thinking, generally consider premium refund type of plans

Others take cover as package with life insurance
yong417
post Sep 27 2011, 08:40 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 27 2011, 07:44 PM)

if ur bill exceed the rm5k then u can only use tokio marine medic plus and axa smartcare optimum
1) i m currently searching for my 1st medi-card... any plans to recommend wub.gif ??

axa smartcare?
tokio marine medic plus? (deductible 10k sweat.gif )
other plans??

2) better buy via agents or banks ya??

This post has been edited by yong417: Sep 27 2011, 09:21 PM
gtfan
post Sep 27 2011, 09:24 PM

932 posts

Hi rekamaju,

What kinda premium am i looking at for critical illness which you have specify the 3 types and which insurance company are you representing ?

Added on September 27, 2011, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 27 2011, 07:44 PM)

I am not so worried about the deductibles as my existing company already cover the first rm40k. I am just looking at longer term as i know if *touch wood* something happens, i am not worried about my medical bills going above rm40k.

This post has been edited by gtfan: Sep 27 2011, 09:28 PM
rekamaju
post Sep 28 2011, 08:05 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(gtfan @ Sep 27 2011, 09:24 PM)
Hi rekamaju,

What kinda premium am i looking at for critical illness which you have specify the 3 types and which insurance company are you representing ?

Added on September 27, 2011, 9:28 pm

I am not so worried about the deductibles as my existing company already cover the first rm40k. I am just looking at longer term as i know if *touch wood* something happens, i am not worried about my medical bills going above rm40k.
I do not have the first option of Critical Illness cover only

See images for comparisons of person age 30
I know you are not interested in investment plan, but maybe you might want to consider
46 Critical Illness plan where all others are 36 only

I represent MAA Assurance ( now Zurich Insurance Malaysia - 100% ownership ) and MAA Takaful

This post has been edited by rekamaju: Sep 28 2011, 08:09 AM
raph
post Sep 28 2011, 07:29 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(gtfan @ Sep 27 2011, 06:53 PM)

Cheers.
Hi gtfan,

u may check link from my signature. there are 3 plan available but the max coverage only RM150K per head for CI.

yong417
post Sep 28 2011, 08:43 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(raph @ Sep 28 2011, 07:29 PM)
Hi gtfan,

u may check link from my signature. there are 3 plan available but the max coverage only RM150K per head for CI.
any plan to recommend?? too many figures and tables d under ur signature link rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
raph
post Sep 29 2011, 03:21 PM

190 posts

which insuran plan are u looking?

medical card or critical illness?

rekamaju
post Sep 29 2011, 04:51 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(yong417 @ Sep 28 2011, 08:43 PM)
any plan to recommend?? too many figures and tables d under ur signature link  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I think you are having difficulty in deciding what you actually want

Best thing is to do is show your/the agent what you now have
and let him show you how to improve on it. You may have
to see a few solutions before you decide on the best one BASED ON YOUR BUDGET

If in Klang Valley, I can help you. PM me if interested
In the meantime I suggest you read this on my blog

http://zurichmalaysia.wordpress.com/2011/0...ell-yes-and-no/

Enjoy

SUSMNet
post Sep 29 2011, 10:20 PM

11,954 posts

Anyone know how deductible medical card work for outpatient cancer/kidney treatment?

80 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:17 AM