QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 25 2009, 11:27 PM)
Heard that they have a special promo this weekend at Lowyat & Digital Mall.Wireless Broadband ★★DiGi 3G Broadband Thread★★, Broadband done right
Wireless Broadband ★★DiGi 3G Broadband Thread★★, Broadband done right
Jun 26 2009, 09:15 AM
335 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Jun 26 2009, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 26 2009, 04:56 PM) Where are you staying and using your modem? Didn't you check the coverage first before subscribing? Are you staying in the cyan blue coverage zone (referring to the coverage map)?If you have a problem with your connection and not satisfied with the service, return the modem and terminate the service at any Digi Center. |
Jun 27 2009, 07:01 AM
QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 26 2009, 10:49 PM) Raki >> That's some really good SS and advice. Thanks very much, appreciate it. I will try that and report soon. Pantai Hillpark, I assume that you are staying in one of the condo. Which floor? It's quite normal if you can't get the signal after the 5th floor.My update for is that I'm still on EDGE only and when I force WCDMA, I still get nothing, no bars no words. =( I didn't take offence, I'm just disappointed, and the fact I was accused didn't help at all. adslgourou >> Sigh. Thanks, who ever you are, but unless you think I'm an idiot, I'd appreciate it if you try to give more constructive advice. There's only so many "dumb" innuendos a guy can take on a bad day. Oh, I'm staying at Pantai Hillpark. And using the modem Digi gave me...errrr..E230? The dealer that sold to you the plan may not have told you the limitations. Just return the modem and terminate the service. |
Jun 28 2009, 07:38 AM
QUOTE(HappyGuy @ Jun 28 2009, 12:28 AM) May I know the usage limit is start calculate from the date of activation or the first day of every month? Thanks. Based on my understanding it is from the first date of your bill cycle. If your bill cycle is on every 12th of the month then the quota is calculated from every 12th of the month. |
Jul 1 2009, 10:00 PM
Jul 3 2009, 05:15 PM
Jul 8 2009, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 7 2009, 05:44 PM) There is no 3G broadband for campus offer (as far as I know). I heard that there is a DiGi Discover Campus plan at RM58, Free modem, 12 months contract.Only DiGi EDGE, it is a prepaid and has no minimum tenure. Eligible only for students between 18 to 25 years old. Currently available at Asia Cafe, roadshows at KDU, HELP... Check it out. |
Jul 8 2009, 10:24 PM
Jul 11 2009, 08:25 AM
QUOTE(love4ver @ Jul 11 2009, 12:54 AM) hello there, i got some questions to ask you all . (1) Yes, the speed will be capped but I think they are capping on selected applications and not all. That is why if you breach the 10GB cap you can still perform speedtest with the result of 1Mbps(1) will there be any speed capped if i excess more then 10gb? (2) how much is the 3.5g wireless router cost normally ? as i'm currently staying with my friends so i do need a router so that all people can online together. (3) will 10gb usage limit sufficient for gamer ??? 4people sharing and the game that will we mostly played are such as DOTA, DRAGONICA, Facebook application and so on. (NO DOWNLOAD , YOUTUBE OR ANY ONLINE BUFFING FOR US) P/S: i got check the recommend package, and the usage that i'm going to get for 1 people is around 3gb so the question is can it be trusted because i scare later we won't get enough usage for 1 month if we use the EXPLORE PACKAGE. (3gb x 4 = 12gb already over the usage limit and i know it but there are people who only stay at the house for 3~4days only so mostly there will be 3 days that only 2 user will be using the BB) (2) The wireless router costs around RM4xx depending on the model and brand. (3) The question here is not on quota but on the latency. Wireless network may have a slightly higher latency which could affect your gaming experience (depending on the games that you play). |
Jul 12 2009, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(ks98 @ Jul 11 2009, 09:53 PM) Yes, i don't like the additional charges... too bad that there is no way to stop the auto charging for old subscribers... Apparently the existing subscriber will not have to pay additional charges as well.Is it that difficult for Digi to stop this auto-charging? Added on July 11, 2009, 9:55 pmYes, i don't like the additional charges... too bad that there is no way to stop the auto charging for old subscribers... Is it that difficult for Digi to stop this auto-charging? The latest bill that I received did not have any additional charges and I have used more than 10GB... DiGi Always the Smartest Choice!!! |
Jul 14 2009, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(allrightall @ Jul 13 2009, 08:02 PM) Wow so FAST I think they have taken out the additional charges on all the packages... Check your bills.Pre launch package. Added on July 13, 2009, 8:03 pm None atm, all have charges after the quota. Added on July 13, 2009, 8:04 pmMy mistake the Extreme is fix at Rm 188, no extra charges. Added on July 14, 2009, 7:20 pm QUOTE(momusu @ Jul 14 2009, 06:50 PM) just registered digi bb at alamanda this noon around 4pm i think. Try to subscribe to the web acceleration software.got home at 6pm and straight can use. took the discover +modem. the modem hv minisd slot also! test result: *note:my area only hv edge, no 3g signal ![]() can i go any higher with edge? This post has been edited by adslgourou: Jul 14 2009, 07:20 PM |
Jul 18 2009, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jul 17 2009, 06:41 PM) Things seem to have returned to normal throughout of today. Youtube speed has restored and everything... seems to be as usual. I wonder what yesterday's congestion about. Apparently something is brewing for PC Fair. Don't get your router yet!!!By the way, I will be scouting for the HW550-3G router tonight. Added on July 18, 2009, 8:38 am QUOTE(talrasha @ Jul 18 2009, 12:25 AM) ohh gosh! lately, the connection has become problematic at my place. for online gaming that is. Are you within the coverage area??? The more users come in the sites will shrink. So if you are not within the blue colored plot and you used to experience good speeds, you may encounter some performance issue now.Web surfing is just fine, since at below 300kbps, that should be fine. But for online gaming. I need the constant ping with at least constant 400kbps. it has been almost 3 weeks now : Online gaming has somehow not at smooth as before. Usually on weekends (but hey most ppl play games on weekends). Games were Stuttering !! right now - ping keeps showing time out request. starting at 11.00pm. And youtube streaming stutters. last two weeks, around 12pm - 2+am games were stuttering. And trying at 1-5pm was okay previously at 6pm - 8pm, ping wasnt smooth with frequent time-out. I guess i need to e-mail them with screenshots of everything. Hmmm.. i wonder Now now now DG, hope you do something about this.. hate to see if DG falls on the same issue of wireless internet. More subscriber = services deteriorate. Please DG i need a stable connection for everything I am going to see how this weekend is going to fare. p/s : speed is a bit slow now. FYI - The blue colored plot is their quality control. If you are within the mentioned area and still have a problem, you should call in to complain. This post has been edited by adslgourou: Jul 18 2009, 08:38 AM |
Jul 22 2009, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(nbee @ Jul 22 2009, 07:28 PM) I'm really really pissed right now... Has digi become another isp that let me down... Can you perform a speedtest from DiGi Broadband web site and tell us what is your speed?My World of Warcraft latency is now constantly above 1k/1000+ms and always spikes to 3k/3000+ a few times per minute... It has become more unstable than before... Can any digi personal explain this? It wasn't like this when i subscribed 1 month ago, it was very stable... Lol, now even Dragonica, game with local server(not exactly but near) lags like hell... Are you within the coverage area? Which location? Can you perform a traceroute to the remote server? Where is the bottleneck? Easier to troubleshoot if you could provide all these information. |
Jul 22 2009, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(Raki @ Jul 22 2009, 08:58 PM) my worries abt digibb overselling maybe coming truth. But i seriously hope thats not true... local is fine only INTL connection is suffering... i hate it when during the evening i have to waiting for video hosting site to buffer Can you perform traceroute test to your video server. Good to know where the bottleneck is...p/s: Dragonica is not a local server but a regional server. Its hosted by Iah games in Sg... which the traffic is already going out of MY. out of topic:personal advice.. iah is a money sucker worser than asiasoft Added on July 22, 2009, 9:04 pm QUOTE(nbee @ Jul 22 2009, 07:28 PM) I'm really really pissed right now... Has digi become another isp that let me down... Here is one way on how to improve your latency. Got this from WoW forum:My World of Warcraft latency is now constantly above 1k/1000+ms and always spikes to 3k/3000+ a few times per minute... It has become more unstable than before... Can any digi personal explain this? It wasn't like this when i subscribed 1 month ago, it was very stable... Lol, now even Dragonica, game with local server(not exactly but near) lags like hell... http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.h...031371666&sid=1 This is what the ACK-freq program does in a nutshell, if you're knowledgeable enough to venture into your registry. (I've made a few edits to clarify for people who aren't very familiar with computers or are scared to mess with registry files.) I tracked this down in the forums as a fix for people that have high latency. I generally only have 90 - 150 ms or so latency, but I tried this and now Im running at around 50 ms. People with higher latency have reported improvements as well. Worst case scenario it doesnt do any harm to your computer and it might help. 1) Determine your IP (ipconfig or similar) Peavy edit: Start->All Programs->Accessories->Command Prompt, type in "ipconfig" and push enter. 2) Run Regedit Peavy: Start->Run, type "regedit", click ok 3) Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces Peavy: In this directory, there are going to be several folders with seemingly random letters and/or numbers as names. You're going to have the find the correct one to edit, which is done by doing the next step. 4) Determine which interface is for your IP. The correct interface will have a DhcpIPAddress set to your current IP. Peavy: this is displayed to the right after clicking one of the directories mentioned earlier, and should be the fifth or sixth entry down. 5) Right-click on the interface and select New->DWORD Peavy: right click anywhere in the area that has your IP displayed nexted to the DhcpIPAddress entry. 6) Set the name to TcpAckFrequency (case sensitive) Peavy: right click->rename. 7) Set to a decimal value of "1" Peavy: right click->modify, type "1" in the value field, select "decimal," and click OK. 8) Save Peavy: there's no save function, just close out of RegEdit. 9) Restart your computer This post has been edited by adslgourou: Jul 22 2009, 09:04 PM |
Jul 22 2009, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(Raki @ Jul 22 2009, 09:36 PM) err... its not my video hosting server la... but video hosting like youtube/googlevideos/metacafe/ something... videos in cnn or bloomberg or myspace Then hard to say. Most video services run on Content Delivery servers located all around the world. Example: Youtube & Google are running on Limelightnetwork CDN servers. Symantec runs on Akamai etc...the problem is they mostly use another server and/or ip/location to host their video. and ihave problem getting the exact ip or link to do a tracert Load balancing between the different servers to the different locations due to increased traffic load may result in inconsistent experience for most users. Example: if you are rerouted from the Hong Kong server to the one in Australia (normally these are the 2 countries where the CDN servers will be located in APAC), there may be an increase on the latency which results in buffers. |
Jul 23 2009, 08:02 AM
QUOTE(Raki @ Jul 22 2009, 11:10 PM) ya... now is fine but u try loading at 4-8pm... around this time i face slow buffer but still overall digibb is fine compare to amax and streamyx that i also have access to. Where are you located? Maybe DiGi guys who are reading this can boost up your location also... u may need more than 1 week b4 u can register ur ocs. thats wht happen to me. p/s: out of topic @elico... ur avatar just keep tempting me to play the visual novel... haha p/p/s: wonder wht is digi's problem with the slow bill processing. Added on July 23, 2009, 8:11 am QUOTE(nbee @ Jul 23 2009, 06:02 AM) @ adslgourou Where is your location?thx for ur attention, My point is, it wasn't like this 1 month ago, it used to be smooth... It says that now Digi isn't is giving the best performance... There's a problem, is it about congestion starting to build? Is Digi going to do something about it instead of asking customers to do something like 'try moving ur modem, reseting it' like other isp?(i'm not denying it that sometimes it really helps) Thx again fer the regedit tip, googled n researching on it, will try soon. This post has been edited by adslgourou: Jul 23 2009, 08:11 AM |
Jul 23 2009, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(elico @ Jul 22 2009, 10:42 PM) my average latency for oversea site was above 150ms, if local site than it was around 80-90ms... at Section 17 now I think there is a delay somewhere in their process to get the OCS service available for their customers. If it happens again after a week, call their customer service and file a complaint.btw i have issue register on Digi website to view my account, it keep saying that it cannot process the registration and ask me to try again later... any idea what is the issue? |
Jul 23 2009, 02:35 PM
Jul 23 2009, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(nbee @ Jul 23 2009, 04:09 PM) @adslgourou where are you located?subang jaya ss15 i've done the registry editing, it helps... not much... cuz since the latency is 1000+ to 2000+ms, it reduces 100ms and still makes it 1k to 2k =.= **Is Digi doing something? Is it getting congested and making the line unstable? It's getting really frustrating... I applied digi cuz i can't tahan my brother's streamyx and now even his line can maintain latency below1.2k at peak hours... |
Jul 27 2009, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jul 26 2009, 09:39 PM) Just came back from Maybank's TreatsFair at Midvalley Convention Center. And I subscribed another Digi Broadband account Lucky you!!!! I wonder what they will offer in the coming PC Fair this weekend???Another amazing thing is they call me back few hours later that I have won a Samsung C100 <-- old model. Any Digi staff can confirm? The roadshow this weekend is operated by Dynacom. |
| Change to: | 0.0447sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:00 AM |