9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Wireless Broadband ★★DiGi 3G Broadband Thread★★, Broadband done right

ks98
post Sep 7 2009, 09:41 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(transformer88 @ Sep 7 2009, 09:07 AM)
Expanded is one thing, but keeping the connection stable is another issue bro!! better test it 1st before commiting.. otherwise become celcom/maxis again... overpromise!!
You have a good point here... however, if you compare Digi with Celcom/Maxis when they just started its wireless broadband business, i can Digi is much better than Celcom/Maxis... base on my personal experience (first month of usage experience) with Maxis BB vs Digi BB, i will give 3.5/5 star to Digi whereas Maxis is 0/5.

If Digi can keep its momentum as it is, then i don't see a reason why Digi BB can't over take Celcom/Maxis in Wireless BB...

So, the question is whether Digi can maintain its service quality with more and more subscribers now... only time can prove this...

Btw, if you subscribe to your-own-modem package, it's kind of contractless for Digi BB... so, no issue if you want to terminate it... so, it's kind of no commitment to me...

This post has been edited by ks98: Sep 7 2009, 09:45 AM
ks98
post Sep 8 2009, 01:45 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2009, 09:38 AM)
the agent who sold me the package said if i terminate within 7 days, i can return the modem and only lose the RM10 stamp duty
so it is like RM10 for a 7-day trial usage
I don't know if this is the deal within you and the agent... as far as i know, you'll still need to pay pro-rated charges during the 7-days trial period.
ks98
post Sep 10 2009, 01:31 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(awang @ Sep 10 2009, 12:15 PM)
just got sms from celcom.."ENJOY up to 1200mins of free voice/video calls & 1500sms.mms /month to yout family plan".....F**K!!!!!!! it's getting ridiculous..the first time i subscribe for celcom is bcoz of it's free call and sms unlimited to family..than reduce to 40hours; i can still coupe, now further reduce to only 20hours/ monthly!!!!!!!!! F**k..seriously made my fasting rites dented...fuming.......damn u celcom!!!!!

NOW i'm going to change for DIGI plan with broadband...GTH celcom!!!!
As far as I know, Digi BB (or 3.5G specifically) doesn't come with any voice plan... but, you can have data plan with EDGE.
ks98
post Sep 11 2009, 08:22 AM

460 posts

Hi bro... this thread is meant for Digi BB and i believe there are more appropriate thread to discuss about Celcom...
ks98
post Sep 11 2009, 10:03 PM

460 posts

It used to have some Digi personnel at here to listen to customer feedback and issue... where are they now???
ks98
post Sep 18 2009, 07:51 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Sep 17 2009, 02:15 PM)
is it true?? yesterday the dg salesmen said dg broadband goes unlimited?? i confused  rclxub.gif
Don't be confused with the word "unlimited"... The unlimited over here meant "Unlimited browsing with throttle speed"... In other words, you can still browse the net after over your monthly limit, e.g 3GB for Discover or >RM138 on monthly bill, but the speed will be capped at ~230kbps or EDGE speed, i think. But, the faq in Digi website says 128kbps only (which i doubt Digi will cap to such a low speed)

This is how the FUP works... so, there is no so called "Unlimited browsing with full speed". Unless you're subscribing to this kind of packages which usually come higher premium.
ks98
post Sep 19 2009, 03:45 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ Sep 18 2009, 02:37 PM)
Maybe the CS gave you wrong information cause i don't think that digi has implemented a way for you to check your bandwidth with digi online yet..
Digi is still working on the solution for customer to check usage status.... as far as i know, the solution is still not ready... so, i also think that the CS had not given the updated info...
ks98
post Sep 21 2009, 04:16 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Sep 17 2009, 04:11 PM)
How long it's take for a new registration to be activated? Register 1pm but still not able to use the broadband...
it took me 2 hours to activate... however, this really depend on the dealer...
ks98
post Sep 22 2009, 10:31 AM

460 posts

if we follow what has mentioned in Digi webpage, the backbone bandwidth is 14.4Mbps...

However, >14.4Mbps is possible if Digi is using HSPA+ that supports up to 42Mbps... but, i doubt we can get HSPA+ in "Boleh Land" at this point of time, even though we're Boleh!!!
ks98
post Sep 22 2009, 09:23 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(e_trade_pj @ Sep 22 2009, 12:16 PM)
yes, what i'm concern is what actual we can get, using the M and C broadband now, not up to performance, their excuse is location problem or congestion.. sad.gif ..
HSPA = what kind of the modem have to use, is it same as HSDPA modem?
i think this is truly depend on ISP and what type of modem to use does little help... However, Digi BB has so called Likely Average Speed at 700kbps/200kbps... this is kind of a warranty from Digi that you will get this speed at 70% of the time... it's a very new concept in wireless broadband and this is good to customer as well so that we don't have to hear all the excuse most of the time. But, so far i don't know how to measure the 70% of the time, e.g 70% of my browsing time or 70% of 24/7/7

Base on my personal experience, so far Digi had handled all my complaints (on speed issue) at a very professional way... at least, they didn't give me all kind of unacceptable excuses or tips (reboot PC, modem, etc)

This post has been edited by ks98: Sep 22 2009, 09:26 PM
ks98
post Sep 23 2009, 08:20 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Yoshz @ Sep 23 2009, 01:22 AM)
1- Anyone ever use Discover Plan to play DotA? How is it?
2- Usage volume is not affected when we surfing internet ( with no download ) / PPS / youtube / playing online games?
i have no experience on online gaming. However, i believe the performance should not depend on package as both Discover and Explore are having same bandwidth, 700kbps/200kbps (LAS, Likely Average Speed)... only monthly limit is different.

On question #2, i guess you're asking if browsing internet will consume the monthly limit. The answer is YES, whatever upload and download (regardless of the usage or application) from your modem is calculated from your monthly limit. However, if you only use it for surfing the net, then most likely you will not over the monthly quota.
ks98
post Sep 24 2009, 08:18 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Sep 23 2009, 09:54 PM)
This is my first bill, view online.
My package is RM88 explore sign-up at road show.
RM10 for stamp duty, so RM98 for this month, minus RM100 deposit, i no need to pay anything this month.

1 thing not good is digi still not able to check total of usage when login to OCS from time to time.
We only can trace using modem usage stats.
I know maxis can check online, at least we know how many actual total usage up to date.

i can say digi bb is stable, i can get 1MB average.
Even i went to some place like out of coverage ( Sekinchan ), i'm still able to use EDGE at least, still able to access email and facebook, web browsing. Slow but still can load the page.

If compare to WiMax, if no coverage, you will totally not able to get online.

so Digi bb is suitable if you travel a lot, or need mobile internet.
The issue had been highlighted to Digi and they're working on the solution for customer to get usage status... Base on my last conversation with Digi, i was told the solution will be rolled out end of the year (why so long??? Frankly speaking, I don't know)...

In order to shorten the time, i had recommended Digi to involve some beta users but looks like it's not as easy as I thought.
ks98
post Sep 24 2009, 01:34 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(gsJackMin @ Sep 24 2009, 10:21 AM)
i jz applied digiBB 2 days ago, but still doesnt seem able to connect yet. how long for u guys to get activated? do i need to disable my current streamyx connection via lan b4 trying to use the digi's usb 3g connection?
Mine took only 2 hours (or even shorter as i went to shopping after done the registration)... or probably you can call up Digi BB CS... I registered at a Digi specialize store and they entered all the info on the spot.

The activation should be done very fast... 2 days is definitely too long, something must be wrong...

You should be able to connect to Digi BB network even without disabling your streamyx... but, this is just my thought. i stopped using streamyx once i got my Digi BB... nod.gif

ks98
post Sep 25 2009, 08:21 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(zonan4 @ Sep 25 2009, 04:03 AM)
hmmm so i need a digi number lol.... maybe tomorrow I will go and test... btw is it worth it the package?
From my personal opinion, if you're a heavy internet user with average ~16GB usage per month and completely fine with 24 months contract (as many ppl is still questioning if Digi can sustain its BB service quality with the increase of subscribers) then i think the package is a good choice. Also, since you're also looking for a Netbook at this moment.

One good thing about this package is the 3G modem is built in so it's much more convenient when you move around... I feel the USB modem stick is a bit inconvenience when i move around, you need to take care the modem so as not to hit by somebody or something accidentally.

However, i believe the modem is supportable up to 3.6Mbps only... so a drawback for future upgrade.

On simple calculation,
RM138 X 24 = RM3312 (Total you pay for the package with 16GB monthly limit) * I learnt that there is no auto-billing rebate for this package.

If you subscribe Explore package and buy a netbook separately:
Explore package:
RM73 X 12 (Assume you manage to get such a promotion package for first year with monthly auto-billing rebate, RM5)
= RM876 (only 10GB monthly limit)

RM103 X 12 (The package will go back to normal price after first year and after auto-billing rebate, RM5)
= RM1236 (With only 10GB monthly limit)

Total spend on Explore package for 24 months, RM876+RM1236 = RM2112

So, the netbook price will be RM3312 - RM2112 = RM1200...

From the calculation, if you can get a netbook at <RM1200 and your monthly usage is always around 10GB, then this is not a package for you.

For me, i will take the package if i'm looking for a netbook and a wireless BB now. As built-in modem is more convenient than the USB stick... (but, it's harder to remove the sim card from a built-in modem). However, the decision is still at your side. There are always good and bad point for every decision.

Note: Most importantly, make sure your area is covered by Digi BB first. And of course, i'm not considering all the warranty issue in my calculation and you've no plan to share the broadband with a 3G router (as a router may need a USB modem)

This post has been edited by ks98: Sep 25 2009, 08:28 AM
ks98
post Sep 28 2009, 08:19 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(gsJackMin @ Sep 28 2009, 01:11 AM)
this is wat im getting from the DiGi Xtreme Package RM188 : Broadband Done Right!!
p/s : nicolas i really envy u man!
After read thru all your posting, looks like Digi BB is not suitable for you and to me, this issue could be area specific (this is my guessing only). The best way is to ask Nicholas to do a speed test at your area biggrin.gif or may be you can do a speedtest at different area (the mobility is always easier!)

I have no money for extreme package, however, i can get consistent 1Mbps most of the time (again, not 100% of the time since LAS is only meant 70% of the time).

If you're an online gamer and heavy downloader, then probably streamyx could be better (since it's still unlimited smile.gif)

Btw, LAS for extreme is 2Mbps... so, if you can get 2Mbps for most of the time, then Digi has already done his job right... on the other hand, if you're consistently getting <2Mbps, then better file a complaint... something need to be rectified.

Added on September 28, 2009, 8:31 am
QUOTE(siewbun @ Sep 27 2009, 09:39 PM)
I wonder anyone has experience the same situation like mine.
I was using DGBB for a month and a half and was all fine.
I live in Jln Ipoh, near Dynasty hotel area.
My area is a non official 3G coverage area, but I've been receiving 3G signal from spillage of other 3G area i guess.
The signal wasn't strong, was around 17% to 24%, but it was good enough for me to get a stable connection.
And that was until 3 days go.
I came back from work and suddenly discovered there wasn't anymore 3G signal, only down to EDGE.
I called the DGBB customer support to relate my case to them.
They said my area is not a 3G coverage area and there's nothing he can do about it.
I told him to check my bandwidth usage as that would be a proof that I've been getting the 3G signal usage all these while.
Also I told them, I manually search for the network with my modem and my phone, DG3G did show up, but my modem failed to register to the DG3G network.
His reply was that he can't check my bandwidth and there's nothing he can do. He refused to open a case for me on the basis that my area is not in the official coverage area..
I'm so bloody pissed off rite now coz after a month of happy usage and recommending DGBB to ppl, this is what I got back in return.
Yes, your area must be covered officially then only Digi has the obligation to fix it for you. Otherwise, it's completely up to Digi if they would like to help you on this.

On the bandwidth usage, I was told by Digi CS that currently there is no way for you to know your latest usage status. You will only get your usage when the bill is out (this is too late to me)... I have feedback to Digi then this feature is very important and the answer i got is the solution will be ready by end of the year (again, this is too long for me as Digi need to do a lot of testing first before rolling it out)... i think digi should engage some beta user in order to shorten the time.

This post has been edited by ks98: Sep 28 2009, 08:31 AM
ks98
post Sep 29 2009, 07:51 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(kenjen @ Sep 29 2009, 01:02 AM)
subscribed to digi broadband RM88 promo plan (with free modem and no extra charge after 10GB usage) 2 days ago. so far am quite happy with the speed and stability. digi rocks and please keep up the good work.

guys, any 3g wifi router to recommend? heard about the new aztech hw550-3g. is it good? any other besides this one? budget should not be more expensive than hw550-3g. please recommend.
I'm using CNet CWR635M at this moment... faced some issue with my Sierra 885 before and feedback to CNet (their response was very fast... <1 day usually). No more issue after upgraded to latest firmware...

I bought it from Mika last time @RM299 but price has dropped to RM260 nowadays sad.gif ... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/316492

I don't know how much is hw550-3g in market now...
ks98
post Sep 29 2009, 11:42 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Sep 29 2009, 08:09 AM)
explore package is unlimited at rm73?
i check online...still rm108 but got additional charge max rm138.

where the promo?
RM73 is for those who signed up RM78 (minus RM5 auto-billing) promo package...

Currently, i see somebody promoting RM88 in this forum...

This post has been edited by ks98: Sep 29 2009, 11:43 AM
ks98
post Oct 2 2009, 08:12 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(deora @ Oct 2 2009, 12:56 AM)
aiiii...promotion over dy???...when got new promo again???
What promotion package are you referring to? At this moment, there are still RM88 for explore package out there... But, no more RM78 package. Besides, Digi Campus plan is still on (if you're still a student at 18 - 25 yrs old)
ks98
post Oct 5 2009, 02:33 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Melon @ Oct 5 2009, 01:13 PM)
this package is with or without modem?
If you're referring to RM48 discover promotion package, then I THINK there is no modem included. As far as i know, only Discover Campus does come with modem.
ks98
post Oct 9 2009, 03:11 PM

460 posts

Do remember that this RM48 promo package is for first 12 months... But, that's considered quite good already...

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0806sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:27 PM