7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

aeiou228
post Apr 5 2009, 11:16 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Apr 5 2009, 08:27 PM)
by the way, the standalone's foundation is done, 1st floor currently in construction. i went thru the old threads about the mist system... it isn't as easy as i thought it would be, and even making an inventory of items proved to be an amazingly tough task (considering i know nuts about this stuff). if anyone can pm me regarding mist system, pumps, hoses, nozzles, Tee's, valve koks, and serial or parallel arrangements, please kindly give opinions, price lists, or whatever that might assist. thanks a bunch.
Wait till your BH is fully completed and measure the humidity level in your BH then only decide your options.
I did not install the mist system too. The humidity is quite high in the Kg area as compare to town area and I reckon yours too. I plan to get chicken farm humidifier just for standby.
aeiou228
post Apr 6 2009, 11:29 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Apr 6 2009, 12:29 AM)
nozzle wise... i found the type 1 and type 2 were the most commonly used (brass)... roughly the 2m and 3m spray distance or 6.56ft and 9.84ft... 60-70 degree angle (the size in nanometers, cant remember the exact value, i think it has something to do with how long the particles are suspended in the air... someone mentioned this before). they come with anti drip parts. basically the idea was to position the nozzles below the lower half of the wall, and ensuring no mist reaches the planks. the spacing, and layout... that might need some adjusting.

the pump itself.... macam2 ada. some high end, some so-so. still going thru the options.

i read earlier of the usage of hygrostats... was wondering how well they last in humid spaces. wont the sockets of plugs somehow be effected by the humidity? the issue of timers or hygrostats and whether to increase number of nozzles or to increase frequency of misting.... i think i'll have to do some R&D and experience it myself before deciding? assuming some BH's differ structurally (and as aeiou228 said, the locality). thanks all for the advice.
If you have a choice, don't install system that requires extensive monitoring and maintenance, especially so when you need to manage the BH from a long distance. Chiongguo's idea for maintenance free humidity control is worth considering.
aeiou228
post Apr 8 2009, 09:41 AM

5,867 posts

Though I've invested in Swiftlet farming, I wouldn't buy BN promise to pro bird's nest industry.
I would look at the broader picture and willing to sacrifice my BH investment even if my choice of government doesn't pro bird's nest industry but can rule Malaysia better and treat all rakyat equal just like our neighboring country.
aeiou228
post Apr 23 2009, 08:53 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 23 2009, 02:39 AM)
at first i wan to thank u for ur reply smile.gif i also this thread reader for quite some time ed but i stop after i think i got enough info ,which at tat moment i stil canot join u ppl for investing the BH .. cause of the budget...but i think soon i will have enough budget... willing to giv it a try... and nvr dream to get 4mil back biggrin.gif jus wan some few k per harvest ... tats enough for me .... i know tat how will u fail or success.... jus not pro enough like u guys... not so dare to start...
first if i wan to start at JB.... i should apply license first rite ? and i dun think its exp also... but the location ... where? shold i buy the bird test system first ? and try out the place.... but we canot do it on shop lots... i also knew tat.. oni if we wan to do it quietly.. but tats not the way.... we will be in bad dream everyday...scare the authorities will come kick my ass...  rclxub.gif ... if wan to do... do it the right way rite ?? biggrin.gif and if i willing to pay for some consultan.. anyone here willing to help me out ? guiding me for a period of time... smile.gif where is the Honest guy ? tongue.gif
Jack, I think the most fundamental thing you need to settle first before anything else is you need to own the property and the property must be located within the flying path of swiftlet.
aeiou228
post Apr 28 2009, 11:43 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Biscuit @ Apr 28 2009, 09:49 AM)
Hey guys, I'm in the midst of researching on swiftlets and checking on its potential for the upcoming years ahead. There are a few questions that I would like to ask over here ..

1. OK, some guy were saying that the establishment of BH is all about timing.
    Since this is the issue, then why are all the successful ones belonging to shoplots instead of those in rural areas?
2. I'm planning to buy a piece of land and build a wooden house out of it for BH. Could you please comment on
    why would this be a bad idea?
3. My initial thoughts was to get a loan from Agro Bank to finance partly (installment) on the land and the building of BH.
    I can see that not many people here actually took a loan to do this business. Were there any reasons why no one is
    getting a loan from Agro Bank so far ?
4. Wooden based house vs Bricks house .. What are the Pros and Cons?
5. I haven't finish researching and am only in the starting phase. But where do you guys go / approach to sell off your
    BN ? .. I mean, you're going through a 3rd party to sell it off ? How can I approach these 3rd party guys ..
    I can see some people are trying to do it directly with China counterparts instead of a middle men.
6. Was it hard to get a loan from Agro Bank without Bumi status ?

Please help up with the queries I have above .. It seems to be quite some business and I would like to research more on it beforehand. Thanks.
1. Because shoplot BH are pioneer.
2. Buy a land is good idea but wooden BH is a bad idea.
3. Because the average investment failure rate is more than 50%. If you dare to fail, why not ?
4. Wooden house is difficult to control the micro habitat.
5. The middle men buys your BN.
6. I bet.
aeiou228
post Apr 29 2009, 05:32 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Biscuit @ Apr 29 2009, 02:14 PM)
Well, the idea of a wooden house in the first place is due to cost factor itself. Building a brick one would be costlier and takes a longer time as well compared to a wooden house. The initial thought is to have a wooden one and as we progress, when times are good, then we'll get a brick house ..

What makes you think wooden house is cheaper than brick house ?? Try asking the prices of hard wood timber from the store kayu and sawmiller 1st, it's not cheap. Unless you wanna build your BH with "chap ch'ar" grade timber. The labour cost for building wooden house is also more expensive than brick house. Also you need to spend more micro habitat for wooded house.

You will end up paying more for an inferior BH

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Apr 29 2009, 05:40 PM
aeiou228
post May 2 2009, 06:52 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Apr 29 2009, 09:21 PM)
My new BH 20' x 62' x 2 stories is in on track and will met my dead line and completed within 30 days and within my projected budget of RM25.00 per sq. ft. Thanks west wing and eng. Lee for all your input to help me achieve my target. Now planing another BH 24' x 70' x two stories same method and budget.
Uncle Ben, RM25/sqft for a complete BH is pretty amazing !! I wonder how you can achieve such a feat. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

aeiou228
post May 7 2009, 12:31 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 7 2009, 10:30 AM)
To build a building these days is getting rather difficult as the parking requirements can really prevent you for making one.

1. I don't know about other places but here we require a parking lot for every 500 sq meters and for a 20 by 70 x 3F, you at least need 9 parking lots .....and you only can buy 30% of the lots. Balance? you need to provide and how to provide if you only have land enough for a building and maybe an area enough for 2 parking lot. Even if you have the 70%, the balance lot costs Rm10K per lot..........

Alternatively, you can use the ground floor for parking and even then, you still need to pay for the balance of the parking lots if you meet the 70%...........udang udang baru apa!!!!!!

So, if you are planing to buy a piece of land in town and if the majlis is following the new guidelines, don't buy cos you can't build the building unless you have land nearby to surrender to the authorities for parking........cos we are facing this problem here and my friends have been appealing unsuccessfully for almost a year..... so, beware and if still no enforcement of the new rule at your area, better submit the plan for approval cos any delay will prevent you from doing one..............
Pheew.... sweat.gif sweat.gif That was a real piece of golden advice. This happened in MPK only or the whole state ??
Thank you for sharing.
aeiou228
post May 16 2009, 04:37 PM

5,867 posts

I went to jalan pasar (KL) yesterday to survey the latest sound system for BH. Wah lau, as soon as I stepped down from my car, I can hear the familiar bird chirping sound already. I felt like I was in Kota Bharu. They was one shop even installed tweeters at the shop entrance (the kaki lima) and played the bird chirp sound. About 70% of the shops I visited carried all sort of amplifier/player, tweeters, cctv, and etc specially for BH. Some shops even pre-installed various type of demo tweeters for customers to test the sound quality on the spot. I saw 2 swiftlet kakis testing the amps and tweeters in a shop.
The prices if you were to ask me.....much cheaper than ------
The ever growing BN's industry really gives the electronic merchants in Jalan Pasar a very big economic boost.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 16 2009, 04:42 PM
aeiou228
post May 22 2009, 11:04 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ykltpm @ May 22 2009, 10:34 AM)
I have come across a kind of 'food source generator' which in principle throws food into the air inside BH for swiftlets to catch and eat, thereby saving the trouble to go out to hunt for food. Do you think this is a good idea ?
How do you source the continuous supply of "food" (flying insects) sweat.gif sweat.gif If the "food" is not in life form and doesn't fly, it will drop to the floor, then another headache to clean the floor to prevent attracting predators. Care to elaborate further how it actually works ??

aeiou228
post May 27 2009, 09:35 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 27 2009, 06:27 PM)
One reader Pm me on SS99 that there is She She sound and the seller told him that it is normal and that the bird is OK with the she she sound. I haven't seen ss99  and I believe that the SS99 Amp are the same as others like SS66 or SS88 and they are infact made for human usage but we use them for the birds, right?

So far, among the SS series, I found that the SS66 is cheap, powerful and practical as one amplifier  for the whole BH unless you need another one for the night or 24 hours play. So far, so many BHs have been using this model and all are well and running. What's the opinion of our technical sound specialist/sifu comments and advices?  

Another small suggestion and not advice, never short the tweeter and better use tweeter capacitor to prevent damage to you amplifier. Once short circuit your tweeter,  kaput your Amplifier.

Went to Pasar Road again today to shop for Swallow Sound SS66. Bought a Swallow Sound SS66NEW (4 Channels) for RM380 and BGB AV-9550 (6 channels) for RM300. BGB AV-9550 (6 channels) and Swallow Sound SS66 (6 Channels) looks almost identical. But BGB is so much cheaper than swallow sound. Want me to post the picture ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 28 2009, 12:46 AM
aeiou228
post May 28 2009, 01:10 AM

5,867 posts

Pictures of BGB AV-9550 6 channels I've just bought today. SS66 look alike ?

By aeiou228, shot with DMC-TZ7 at 2009-05-27
aeiou228
post May 28 2009, 02:46 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Mykc @ May 28 2009, 12:35 PM)
Wow..cheap  drool.gif
Have you tried it? How is the performance? Kindly share your user experience here.
QUOTE(West Wing @ May 28 2009, 12:41 PM)
Yeah, it look the same and I believe that it is the same as in OEM using house brand. Must get a few for my BHs for backup.........Thanks alot and still have no time for Pasar street.  Any shop in particulal may I ask. We, in BH alway want the better one as we have spend so much money and time in our BH and so we will be looking forward to a brighter and better future. IshaAllah.
I tested the SS66 and the BGB side by side with both unit's volume knobs set to 9 o'clock, the SS66 have slightly louder sound. As for sound quality, my ears can't really distinguish the differences. The real test is its durability when put to fully operational condition.
You can get it at Darson. The displayed retail price is RM350 and there were 3 or 4 Darson shops in Pasar road. I was quoted RM340, RM330, RM300 from different Darson shops respectively.
I might be buying one more unit. Any one interested to bulk with me ? maybe can get cheaper price ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 28 2009, 02:58 PM
aeiou228
post Jun 7 2009, 08:36 PM

5,867 posts

Wongtt,
Do several bird calls 1st to ascertain your shop is within the flying path of swiftlets before you jump in.
RM70-80K for 2 floors is exorbitantly expensive.
aeiou228
post Jun 7 2009, 10:16 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(htc @ Jun 7 2009, 09:55 PM)
hi,

being new to this forum, in fact low yat too, i like to pay homage to the sifus and veterans that have kept this discussion as informative as it can be.

i have read around regarding swiftlet farming and it seems that security is the biggest issue.

we have a family, ancestral land in Johor and certainly it is within the batu pahat - kluang flight path and nearest BH is probably 5kms left and 2kms right, hence i have no doubt that it is workable.

the problem is we have no one staying once farm is in operation (if we build it lar). is it going to be serious?

its going to be a double storey bungalow, hence, apart from main door, do thieves spiderman the walls? hack the walls?

thanks!

tempting to invest but can get over the security issue
No nest why worry about security? You only need security when you have a lot of nests and the revenue from the nests should be able to fund the best security for your bird house.
The best is allocate the ground floor for some one to stay there, be it you or your relatives or full time care taker or security guard.
aeiou228
post Jun 10 2009, 02:06 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(htc @ Jun 8 2009, 08:18 AM)
aeiou228,

Thanks for the reply. i do appreciate that someone living at the BH would reduce the risk, but assuming that once the BH is mature, and people are determined to come steal they would still come?

tie up the caretaker, relative?

thats the problem....Birds Nest thieves (BN), what kinda thieves are they? do they come in backhoe/ SUV and knock a hole in the brickwall? or if too hard, they give up. u know what i mean, some thieves can break into bank, tow away ATM machines, so BHs are relatively simple compared?

i hear of break ins and occasionally (rarely) some thieve dies due to electrification or fall...

thanks.
The only full proof security I can think of to avoid theft in BH is to stay away from this type of investment. doh.gif doh.gif
aeiou228
post Jun 10 2009, 08:10 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 10 2009, 06:53 PM)
You are very wrong...pardon me for objection, my friend.

Erm... I suppose my last posting was not clearly worded.
I was referring to htc who was very much troubled and concerned about BH's security (BN theft) even before having a fully operational BH. Since there is no full proof ways to prevent BN theft, stay away from trouble is one of the options.

QUOTE(htc @ Jun 8 2009, 08:18 AM)
aeiou228,

Thanks for the reply. i do appreciate that someone living at the BH would reduce the risk, but assuming that once the BH is mature, and people are determined to come steal they would still come?

tie up the caretaker, relative?

thats the problem....Birds Nest thieves (BN), what kinda thieves are they? do they come in backhoe/ SUV and knock a hole in the brickwall? or if too hard, they give up. u know what i mean, some thieves can break into bank, tow away ATM machines, so BHs are relatively simple compared?

i hear of break ins and occasionally (rarely) some thieve dies due to electrification or fall...

thanks.
aeiou228
post Jun 12 2009, 10:03 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Jun 11 2009, 11:33 PM)
Sure can build trove with fierglass with bottom drainage to collect the urine. There are many design to be found on the web.

Some design allowed the worms to feed in tray one then trove two is stack on the top with new bird shit. When the worms finish the bottom trove (one) they will migrate to trove no two that was placed on top of tray one.

Beddings in trove one will have been completly consumed and composed by the worms are then taken out and dried for sale or applied wet directly to your garden, any leftover worms found are placed back to trove two. Trove one is then place on top of trove number two and receive new bird shit for next round.

These are composing worms . Three specisis  are found to be most efficent they are the Tiger,Red Worms and the African Night Crawlers. sell excess worms or start another set.
Is it possible to mob PVC rain gutter (Larges size) for this purpose ??
aeiou228
post Jun 16 2009, 10:52 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(CWG @ Jun 16 2009, 03:10 PM)
[attachmentid=1026205]Last weekend I visited my friend's BH which has no nest after close to 6 months. I found out that there is no external sound? Then we checked the external Amp. He is using the exactly same model of BGB Amp as shown in the photo attached. I have seen the BGB Amp in the lowyat forum. Is is cheaper that Swallow Sound.

What happen is, the blue light at the Volumn node still there. The LED indicator at the thumb drive also light up. But the play LED (red) was not light up. It is not easy to find out the Amp is not working if you never pay close attention.

For those who use the same Amp, please share your experience. Thanks

http://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/
Interesting finding.
That BGB in the picture is mine and I've yet to test it out in actual operational mode. Does your friend play the amp non stop or on relay timer with another backup amp ? I will be going to Pasar road again these few days to buy another unit and I plan to use 2 units of 6 channel BGB amp to play internal sound 24/7 at 3 hours alternately using a relay timer (Hager timer). Will share my experience here if BGB amp failed me.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jun 16 2009, 10:57 PM
aeiou228
post Jun 17 2009, 06:38 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Jun 17 2009, 06:04 PM)
Cheap things no good. Good things no cheap.

My ss-99 running 24/7 non stop since 1 year ago still going. As I understand from james blog the internal parts are very important.
Well, hard to say. My newly purchased (more expensive) Swallow Sound SS66 (6 channels) also same problem as described by CWG. Luckily my good dealer refunded me 100% for the return of amp.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0684sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:55 PM