V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

aeiou228
post Sep 14 2009, 01:15 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(tan2020 @ Sep 13 2009, 11:59 PM)
Hi All,

This is to inform that the "copycat" video by Swiftletclinic.com was just removed by youtube.com 3 hours ago due to"infringing other
video's content and misleading or tell lair to the public."

The true is out there !
How did you do that ? U filed an ownership claim to Youtube ?? I never thought Youtube can act upon it so promptly.
aeiou228
post Sep 14 2009, 12:14 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(CWG @ Sep 14 2009, 10:10 AM)
Bird8888,

If you want to make any comments, why you need to specially create a NEW user name? Why you so scare about people knowing who are you? I like uncle West Wing, uncle Ben, CK and those people use 1 user name in this forum. No product is 100% good for all the BH. If somebody said something no good about certain product, please treat it as a good feedback for you to produce a better product in future.

For newbie,
I agree that you need to read from V1. You need to put a lot of effort yourself first before other people can help you. There is no Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) that can grantee 100% success in Swiftlet farming. But there are certain general guideline that you can follow to at least meet the average results. To get a very good results, then you need some secret recipe that differentiate your BH than other BHs which not many people will tell you. Otherwise if everybody using the same method, then birds have more choices and it would not be effectives anymore.

I am still learning and my BH still not good enough. There are still quite a number of problem to be resolved. I treat all the problem is an opportunity for me to learn and increase my swiftlet farming knowledge to a higher level. I share my problem in my blog. So that people can learn from my mistake and some people can recommend me some good methods to improve my BH.

http://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/[SIZE=7]
To say sifu in LYN swiftlet forum not helping is very unfair. As the matter of fact the sifu here have been providing loads of valuable info about swiftlet farming since V1. All the newbie have to do is to do some research. Also, I doubt any sifu can answer " Why my BH still no nest ?" kind of lazy question without futher details and descriptions.
aeiou228
post Sep 16 2009, 11:27 AM

5,867 posts

Stop playing the bird's chirp sound is a good way out to settle the dispute. No more sound means reduce in great extent, provocation towards anti swiftlet farming group to file complaint. Discourage new comers building new BHs in town area due to no sound rule will help preserving the existing town BHs.
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2009, 10:11 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Sep 17 2009, 08:42 AM)
Landed in XXX yesterday... noticed there was a stand alone BH just... erm.. maybe 150-200 meters away from the runway. Hmm... next Majlis to after the Sepang majlis... is XXXX??? To me, i'd say bodohnya BH owner... why build in such a provocative area (yes, i did say it isn't possible for swiftlets to be caught in the airplane engines... but why la give an opportunity for  them to take action?)

Aiya Bro West Wing, one wife also so hard... 4 wifes??? if like that i'd stay and live inside BH la. hahahaha! what medical condition are you in by the way?

my own BH sambung after raya. they are making a stockpile of light weight bricks. got around 1k, need around 4.5k blocks.

I can't understand the news clip...
The news clip was talking about the Melaka's Mayor is giving dateline to 24 BH onwers located in heritage area to vacate the BH by 3oth September 2009. The Mayor said only those in the heritage area are effected. The same happened to BHs located in Penang heritage area too. Thus, both BN or PR have same policy in respect of preserving heritage buildings.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 17 2009, 10:14 AM
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2009, 10:23 AM

5,867 posts

Dear CWG,

I'm your blog reader. you said in your blog that don't play external sound inside the BH. May I know the reason ?
I placed external sound in my 3 storey swiftlet bungalow at LAL and both end of the building for bird pulling effect. No ?
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2009, 02:27 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(CWG @ Sep 17 2009, 12:51 PM)
Normally, people play the external tweeter in the BH using the same Amp as the external tweeters. Cheaper and easier. According to the sifu, some external sounds if play together with internal sound in the BH will make the bird confuses. Remember, most likely we will change external sound every 3 to 4 months. If some external sound has "Stress Sound" inside, your BH will be in trouble.

The best is to play the Pulling sound in your BH with separate Amp. So, when you change your external sound, you would not affect the pulling sound in the BH.
Thank you CWG, very good tips indeed. I used 1 amp for external sound only sweat.gif .
BTW, just to update the "endurance test" carried out on the cheap 6 channels BGB amp bought from jalan pasar. The amp was timed to switch on from 7am to 8.30pm (13.5 hours) everyday and it has been almost 3 months now the amp is still working fine.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 17 2009, 02:29 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 18 2009, 09:45 AM

5,867 posts

To all muslim readers, Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri.
To West Wing, Insyah Allah, semoga anda cepat sembuh dan sihat walafiat
aeiou228
post Sep 19 2009, 08:41 PM

5,867 posts

You can eliminate the pillars in the center by reducing the building width by 2', increase the thickness of support beam or add one more beam to 6 beams. Beams can be put to good used for colony divider and triple decker nesting plank.

Your LAL are rather small.

Your roving room is 4mx4m and that is the minimum comfortable flying path. The hole ( nesting room hole) situated in the center is a difficult entrance for birds based on your roving room's size. Unless your birds no need pusing pusing in roving area and fly straight into the hole from the top.

You really need such a big control room ?

Make sure lay double layer bricks at ground floor 4 walls for security reason. Now, thieve use hydraulic jack to break open BH's walls. No wall knocking sound at all.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 19 2009, 08:54 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 19 2009, 10:46 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Sep 19 2009, 09:50 PM)
Thanks so much for your response, aeiou228,
Ok,will consult an engineer again on how to get rid of the pillars
I will consider increase the roving area to 4*8, double it!! will it be ok?
LaL each floor at 2.5*2 m is still too small?
Points noted on control room size and double layer bricks.
Thanks again,your advise is highly appreciated.

Any more comments, please please?
If 4mx8m, then it should be alright to have 1 hole in the middle.

LAL. your concrete stair already occupied 1m width and your 4" to 6" side wall some more ? why not 3m x 3m or bigger ?
aeiou228
post Sep 20 2009, 09:51 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Sep 20 2009, 12:18 AM)
aeiou228,
Ok,I am convinced on bigger roving area and bigger LAL. 
Still cannot find a way to get rid of the pillars if I want to maintain the width, my engineer said in order to maintain the width without the pillars,the beam will be much bigger and that's expensive. He said to get rid of the pillars, the width should be reduce to 6 meter, then the beam can be just a little bit bigger. Will need to study further on how expensive and how much bigger on LAL.
This will be our first BH, need to do it right in as much as possible with our little knowledge on this area.
Thank you very much for your advise.
For me, it is not necessary to maintain multiple sets of 4m x 4m square for open nesting area concept unless you want to create partitioned rooms. Therefore your BH's width can be reduced by 1m and transfer the $ saving to lengthen the building by 2m. It will cost you the same based on area per sq ft. And you have a BH with no pillars !!

7m width no need middle support pillars still can. Ask Engineer Lee about it.

Some shop house BH I'd visited used only the staircase entrance as control room !!

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Sep 20 2009, 01:59 AM)
I'm thinking of the control room... one 'petak' would be kinda large. Unless i intend to make it a living quarter as well (which is not advisable).... mulling what aeiou228 said... doesn't need to be that big, and most definitely a waste of nesting area.

hmm... about the slabs... i hear the minimum is 4 inches. Reinforced with BRC + Y12 (or was it Y??). I think one of the forumers mentioned a long time ago... but just to remind, the slabs must be given attention. Also mulling about water proofing the rooftop slab with that tar like material, just in case the asbes roof leaks (it'll be a pain to repair leaks). Since i'm not from a construction background, there might be mistakes here and there.
Judging from the size of your BH, I guess you can have the luxury of bigger control room for storage purposes.

If I can rebuild my BH again, I will build the control room and the staircase outside of BH wall as a small rectangle attachment say 6' x 10' x 3 storey high. Every floor will have individual door access and a big glass window for periodical observation and placing cctv without having to enter the BH. Sound Equipments can be placed underneath the ground floor's staircase.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 20 2009, 10:03 AM
aeiou228
post Sep 24 2009, 08:30 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 24 2009, 04:43 PM)
Are we allowed to convert a residential apartment into a BH?
Morally, it should not be allowed. But it's your money. Blame yourself when things not gong as planed. But in Boleh land, who knows...you can.
Btw ... I heard some consultants recommend the use of ultra sound or something ( no noise bird sound )... for apartment BH. Good luck to u.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 24 2009, 08:35 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 25 2009, 10:58 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(swift4ever @ Sep 24 2009, 11:37 PM)
Whatever causes it, hopefully it's not by swiftlet farming. I for one was infected by diseases from the BH in the past and if any kind-hearted farmer(hard to find in those days) has disclosed the remedy earlier, I would have been healthier and stronger. Thanks a lot that we have EM come to the rescue! Do hope you have a speedy recovery.
Would you mind sharing what kind of diseases from the BH ? And the remedy as well ?
aeiou228
post Sep 29 2009, 11:40 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Sep 29 2009, 07:39 AM)
Sorry for asking eh Mr. Pang... i used to live in IM6, IM15 is it in the industrial area? The one we pass (on the right side) if using the shortcut to Cenderawasih?
If your coming from KL, left exit at the bulantan bunga cenkih, entrance of IM14 is in front of Astana Golf and Country Club (near JPJ Kuantan).
I think IM14/15 is a single storey "benkel" area if i'm not mistaken.
aeiou228
post Oct 5 2009, 03:07 PM

5,867 posts

Poor man's DIY Humidifier with minimum maintenance and trouble.

Materials

Sand bricks
Lorry canvas or other cheaper alternative as long as it last long and not easily broken.
Sand
Poly pipes and dripping nozzles

Method

Arrange the bricks on the floor to form several long rectangle shape along the side wall.
( for faster and cheaper set up, use the 2" x 2" wood discarded from the BH construction to form the rectangle also can)
Cut the canvas and lay it on top of the rectangle bricks shape to form a small pond.
Pour sand into the pond about 1 inch thick
Connect your piping and dripping nozzles to drip water onto the sand.
Adjust the dripping volume accordingly just enough to wet the sand only.

Extra

Since you just need to drip and not pressurised spray, water pump is not necessary as long as your main water pressure is high enough or you have good gravity pressured water coming from water tank located at top floor.
You can add on Hygrostat to control the water supply automatically based on preset humidity level.
The set up is reversible due to no permanent fixtures and fittings.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Oct 5 2009, 03:24 PM
aeiou228
post Oct 5 2009, 10:14 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Oct 5 2009, 07:59 PM)
You opened up my mind aeiou228. Lets say this method can also be applied using existing kolam's... we can consider the canvas as an 'additional barrier' besides the water proofing. i did request for installation of wall sided kolams on the ground floor as a standby/backup if the mist/humidifier fails temporarily. the sands function? i am assuming the drip nozzles are more of less like those used in the chicken coops like the ones below?

In that case, theres also a possibility that those black hoses used in agriculture can be used, since it applies the same concept. Eh, come to think of it, maybe you meant those agriculture ones ah?

*a minute of prayer for those fallen in Padang, contribute what we can. who knows when our time in need might come*
Why build permanent Kolam inside the BH when u can have portable Kolam Kanvas like this that never wet the floor ?

Rough pricing for polypipe and drippers

The use of sands is to provide more surface for water evaporation.

QUOTE(seeseng @ Oct 5 2009, 08:33 PM)
This method using natural evaporation to increase humidity. Some kind of passive humidification. BUT, by how many %RH? How much can this method increase the %RH for a BH where open area quite big compare to a bedroom. On days where the %RH is only 50% or lower and you want 70%-80%RH how? Will the gadget increase humidty of area a bit further than it say 10feet? In my humble opinion to generate enough humidity you'll need to make this type of side pond along side wall of whole floor. Probably need a lorry of sand bricks or more. "A small pond" is not enough since it's passive method.  Hygrostat controls by turn on and off electricity. Water supply can meh? What if I set 75%RH and the environment humidity never reach that with this method? Water keep dripping? Only this method alone is not enough to generate enough humidity for most BH. Those near river bank and natural humidity already high can lah.  This method can serve as humidity stabilizer like a pool inside BH without the worry of leaking. Humidity stabilizer= When our active humidification reaches ideal point then stop by hygrostat normally the environment %RH will drop at a rate faster than ideal. With a humidity stabilizer the environment %RH will drop at a ver slow rate.
Ha ha... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif poor man's cheap skate method ma....see seng... for sure can't be perfect like having mist spray or humidifier. But it definitely less problematic and durable than mist spray system or humidifier. It can also be used as supplementary method to reduce the expenditure of humidifier purchases and maintenance.

Hygrostat controls by turn on and off electricity. Water supply can not meh? I think it can be done brows.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Oct 5 2009, 10:17 PM
aeiou228
post Oct 13 2009, 09:22 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 13 2009, 07:01 PM)
I was at several Dawson outlets today. I have a pretty good idea now of the sound system components. I have 2 questions:

1. How many wattage does the amplifier for the internal sound needs to be for a 500 sqft BH? How many tweeters?

2. The wattage for the external sound? No. of tweeters?
They sell the BGB brand. Just buy the AV-9550 6 channels for your internal sound and a cheap RM100+ 2 channels Amp for external sound.

No of tweeters ? No harm to install more internal tweeters facing all directions since your BH is small.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Oct 13 2009, 09:24 PM
aeiou228
post Oct 13 2009, 10:12 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 13 2009, 09:41 PM)
Hey thanks. Why can't I use a 2-channel amp for internal sound? Why six?
Because the AV-9550 is not expensive, about RM350. Good for future expansion. But since your BH is small, buy 2 units 2 channels for internal would be good idea too, can play different sound at different timing.
aeiou228
post Oct 20 2009, 01:05 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Oct 20 2009, 11:11 AM)
Salutations to all on forum.
Have been thru V1 and now V2 for past 3 mths.
I do not own a BH yet and am now scouting for suitable locations to start a standalone on agri land. Am now concentrating around Ulu Yam area in Selangor. I grasp the additional difficulties (as posted previously) in securing a standalone in a generally forested area. I am especially taken up by the difficulties in preventing owl attacks.
Can a mist net (or jaring / drift net) strung up at night over the entrance not do the trick? I figure that it can be auto operated (rolled up like a shade) thru use of a photo sensor.
Owl attack ? install this gadget RM15 per piece only. It repel pigeons too.
By aeiou228, shot with DMC-TZ7 at 2009-10-19

aeiou228
post Oct 20 2009, 05:13 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Oct 20 2009, 04:37 PM)
where to buy it?Mr aeiou...thanks for infor
Bought it from Thailand.
Initially, I was planning to DIY this type of owl/pigeon repeler but upon see this cheap ready made available for sale I like it at first sight already and i know my BH friends would like have it too so I bulk purchased for sharing with friends and resell.
It is made of plastic and about 2' long x 5" wide each. The good things is the spikes would not hurt you if you accidentally touches it.
RM15 per piece excluding postage. Buy 5 pcs free courier to your home.
aeiou228
post Nov 13 2009, 10:59 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(CWG @ Nov 13 2009, 10:07 AM)
Hi WW,

I would like to know why you suggest full partition not half/partial partition?

I am using top down partition now (2 feet from the ceiling). In my opinion, it will help to block some light, create colony (I hope) and do not block the birds flying path.

Bro WW,
Same here as CWG. 1' top down nesting plank extension right below the concrete beam as colony separator. What is the reason that full partition is preferred by you ?

Another question.
I have observed less birds entering BH during the current monsoon. Where do birds go during heavy rain ?

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.3029sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:12 AM