4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Swap engine for Kelisa, Creating a Kelisa GTi/Cooper...

TSKosumaledoko
post Feb 12 2009, 07:04 PM, updated 17y ago

65 posts

Dear LYN car sifu’s,

I am thinking of getting a Kelisa but wanna swap a more powerful engine to it. After Googling around and a visit to k2oc.com, the possible engines are:
0.66 EJ-DET?, from old Daihatsu Mira or MAX?
1.0 1SZ-FE, from Toyota Yaris/Vitz
1.3 K3-VE, from Myvi or Toyota Passo/Boon/Daihatsu Sirion
1.3 K3-VE2, from limited edition Sirion?
1.3 K3-VET, from Daihatsu YRV
1.3 4E-FE/4E-FTE, from old Toyota Starlet

For me, Myvi’s K3-VE seems to be better choice as the rest are rare and expensive or just too old.
Some questions:
- Engine mounting need to change (Kelisa mounting is fine but heard it won’t last long). Are these expensive?
- Will the engine compartment become too cramp with the bigger engine (make maintenance difficult or cause some component to clash)?
- Will the original Kelisa gearbox work well with Myvi engine? Can it handle the extra power?
- With bigger, hence heavier engine, does Kelisa suspension need to change/tune? Or the original can handle the extra weight?
- What about tire? Change to Myvi type?
- The cost to make it road legal (JPJ, Puspakom) in total roughly how much?

Lastly, though I never seen/heard this, is the new Proton Saga 1.3 Campro engine swap in Kelisa possible? notworthy.gif

kev da man
post Feb 12 2009, 08:21 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

why would you want to swap a campro in?
waste of time and money.
K3-VE not good enough?

answering your questions;
- you wont have to change engine mounting, even if you did to last longer, the mountings are those hard types and you will feel more vibrations in your car.

- AFAIK and IMHO there is only one in the list which really makes your engine bay look cramped = the k3vet.

- gearbox should not be a problem, there are kelisas running around with kancil gearboxes, go figure

- suspension change is definitely a must. brakes as well. you are fast with the transplant, but can you handle? whistling.gif

- 165/55/14 is not really enough, but no choice, kelisa/kenari wheel wells cannot fit 195 if you don't knock or roll the fenders. otherwise, knock the fenders and slap in some195/50/15 tyres and new, wider rims.

- cost? we're talking about......5k to 7k here.

This post has been edited by kev da man: Feb 12 2009, 08:21 PM
mADmAN
post Feb 12 2009, 09:51 PM

10,530 posts

i remember reading somewhere....think it was on the old kelisaclub forums...

someone mentioned that the Myvi 1.0 engine can be fitted....but the 1.3 engine cannot be fitted due to crossmember or something like that....not too sure...

another problem is, finding a myvi engine itself wont be that easy.

anyway, it all comes down to ur budget...if u have the money id say the K3-VET would be a real good choice... power to weight ratio will make the car really go and will give good fuel consumption.

otherwise, 1 of the 660cc DOHC turbo engines (forgot engine codes) would be a good alternative as well.

if ur car is a manual...want to make ur life easier? bolt on turbo kits. some say its not worth it due to the price...but it does save a lot of hassle with JPJ etc compared to engine conversions.
kev da man
post Feb 12 2009, 09:53 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

k3ve can indeed be fitted. a mod to the crossmember is available for kenaris, so it will also fit on kelisas as well.

as for BOT, sure you do not have to go to JPJ, but if they come find you, they can rampas the car. BOT is still illegal tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kev da man: Feb 12 2009, 09:54 PM
tommi88
post Feb 13 2009, 12:40 AM

275 posts

if u wanna b on the safe side...go for L7 turbo engine...will do u good enuf...hehehe...
Justme27
post Feb 13 2009, 12:48 AM

17 posts

Chassis so suck wanna change engine? go get some better car or get more bar lol
stormlcc
post Feb 13 2009, 12:50 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

y would u choose the crappy NA engines when u can go for turbo? get an L5 turbo and u'll sure be satisfied, don't waste your time transplanting another perodua engine
Zack Styler
post Feb 13 2009, 10:40 AM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

If your kelisa is the 1.0 version, its more than powerful enough, some minor modding will make it go faster...
TSKosumaledoko
post Feb 13 2009, 10:41 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Feb 12 2009, 08:21 PM)
why would you want to swap a campro in?
waste of time and money.
K3-VE not good enough?

answering your questions;
- you wont have to change engine mounting, even if you did to last longer, the mountings are those hard types and you will feel more vibrations in your car.

- AFAIK and IMHO there is only one in the list which really makes your engine bay look cramped = the k3vet.

- gearbox should not be a problem, there are kelisas running around with kancil gearboxes, go figure

- suspension change is definitely a must. brakes as well. you are fast with the transplant, but can you handle? whistling.gif

- 165/55/14 is not really enough, but no choice, kelisa/kenari wheel wells cannot fit 195 if you don't knock or roll the fenders. otherwise, knock the fenders and slap in some195/50/15 tyres and new, wider rims.

- cost? we're talking about......5k to 7k here.
Campro 1.3 give 94bhp compare to K3-VE 87bhp, more powerful lo... But not sure if reliable la... tongue.gif

Wah... 5k to 7k just to made it road legal? So expensive?? shocking.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 12 2009, 09:51 PM)
i remember reading somewhere....think it was on the old kelisaclub forums...

someone mentioned that the Myvi 1.0 engine can be fitted....but the 1.3 engine cannot be fitted due to crossmember or something like that....not too sure...

another problem is, finding a myvi engine itself wont be that easy.
anyway, it all comes down to ur budget...if u have the money id say the K3-VET would be a real good choice... power to weight ratio will make the car really go and will give good fuel consumption.

otherwise, 1 of the 660cc DOHC turbo engines (forgot engine codes) would be a good alternative as well.

if ur car is a manual...want to make ur life easier? bolt on turbo kits. some say its not worth it due to the price...but it does save a lot of hassle with JPJ etc compared to engine conversions.
I prefer NA as the maintenance is cheaper lo, too much power might corrupt the reliability too... Furthermore 87bhp in a 780kg(roughly after swap) Kelisa give 111bhp/ton. Which is almost the same as classic Mini Cooper, so should also be really good fun (and mad) to drive... thumbup.gif

kev da man
post Feb 13 2009, 10:43 AM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(Justme27 @ Feb 13 2009, 12:48 AM)
Chassis so suck wanna change engine? go get some better car or get more bar lol
they do it for the lulz.
besides, chassis isn't THAT sucky as compared to other national cars.
TSKosumaledoko
post Feb 13 2009, 02:17 PM

65 posts

Any LYN driver drive Kelisa with K3-VE with ori gearbox? How's the reliability, any issue?

With K3-VE installed, the ori engine hood still can be use right?
detomaso
post Feb 13 2009, 11:06 PM

1,896 posts

Kelisa with k3vet

Kelisa k3vet

Kelisa k3vet.

kelisa 4e-fte

i give u idea about the engine bay after installing those engine u mention

the EF-DET or JB-DET are about the same as original engine
L512_armada
post Feb 13 2009, 11:57 PM

268 posts

i prefer K3vet...easy to put on kelisa.....
theanswer
post Feb 14 2009, 12:32 PM

1,024 posts

Since u'r looking for engine swap..why comsider campro 1.3? just look for K3-VeT..at least u got 140hp compared to campro 94bhp.
Alpha700
post Feb 15 2009, 02:22 AM

292 posts

TS, ppl have been swapping in K3-VE(T) since long time ago. It'll fit in w/o much mods to the bay but the front of your
vehicle would have an obvious sag due to the weight. Better to get those 1/2 cuts with transmission and brakes or
better don't even consider such extensive mods if you do not have the knowledge (like me tongue.gif ) to maintain your
vehicle after that.
TSKosumaledoko
post Feb 18 2009, 11:24 AM

65 posts

I prefer K3-VE than K3-VET. 140bhp turbo power is really enticing, will go extremely fast on such light chassis. But a much better suspension and brake will be needed and higher maintenance. Reliability of the car will also be compromise, especially the gearbox which originally is only to handle 55bhp.

I still plan to use the car as everyday car. So K3-VE, with better brake and suspension will do for me.

pknride
post Feb 18 2009, 02:44 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Feb 18 2009, 11:24 AM)
especially the gearbox which originally is only to handle 55bhp.

you can't use kelisa gearbox with k3-ve engine..

kelisa with k3-ve (from daihatsu storia halfcut)

This post has been edited by pknride: Feb 18 2009, 02:44 PM
kev da man
post Feb 18 2009, 03:50 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

k3-ve can also be had if you look for myvi halfcuts wink.gif
TSKosumaledoko
post Feb 18 2009, 04:33 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(pknride @ Feb 18 2009, 02:44 PM)
you can't use kelisa gearbox with k3-ve engine..

kelisa with k3-ve (from daihatsu storia halfcut)

What? You mean original gearbox can’t work with K3-VE? Or it will not be reliable? I knew the ori GB might not work, but no one in the forum or k2oc.com mention it can’t work with K3-VE… Sigh, GB also needs to change… rclxub.gif
kev da man
post Feb 18 2009, 04:56 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

it comes in the halfcut la LOL
unless you buy those 'enjin lantai' or enjin kosong

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:08 PM