126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V9, wtf?! V9 already?!

TechnoDude94
post Feb 26 2009, 11:09 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 26 2009, 12:42 AM)
i want everything on that bike cept' the frame and fork
Why don't you want a Boxxer? blink.gif

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Feb 26 2009, 08:58 AM)
uhm..anybody wanting to swap their 2.3 with my 2.5 then...

Added on February 26, 2009, 8:59 am
guess its not readily available for purchase...hv to make em right?

Added on February 26, 2009, 9:02 ambike spam pic...hv yet to ran it on any course...the feeling is good when i sat on it.
Same fork as NS1993?
ober
post Feb 26 2009, 11:15 AM

1,431 posts

how bout we post about ridings? for xc'ers instead, how do u guys maintain ur cadence for a long time.

for dher's, how do u guys counter the fear of taking a drop or gap.

like dat lah. smile.gif

instead of just posting components.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2009, 10:54 AM)
So easily poisoned ker?
Like that post what?  hmm.gif
Broadica
post Feb 26 2009, 11:28 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(ober @ Feb 26 2009, 11:15 AM)
how bout we post about ridings? for xc'ers instead, how do u guys maintain ur cadence for a long time.

like dat lah. smile.gif

instead of just posting components.
hmn.. yeah.. those kinda discussion will be interesting.
i'm interested in how to be consistent in pedaling on xc especially maintaining the cadence when going through uneven terrain while going up.

on the flat, seem to be easy and efficient with the right seating heights... but when going up hill, if terrain is very uneven, trying to roll over the roots or etc seem to always affect my momentum. hmn.. any tips and sharing on this ?
TechnoDude94
post Feb 26 2009, 11:46 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

When I go for mild XC @ the forest around Lake Gardens, I just stand up and pedal at the middle gear. When I'm going up hill (higher ground), I use momentum to maintain my speed. When I'm going over tree roots, I *jump* (lift the fork up) and cross the roots.
sniper on the roof
post Feb 26 2009, 12:05 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Broadica @ Feb 26 2009, 11:28 AM)
i'm interested in how to be consistent in pedaling on xc especially maintaining the cadence when going through uneven terrain while going up.

on the flat, seem to be easy and efficient with the right seating heights... but when going up hill, if terrain is very uneven, trying to roll over the roots or etc seem to always affect my momentum. hmn.. any tips and sharing on this ?
It's kinda hard to describe it on a computer screen while not on the bike since most of it is like natural reaction.

What I do (or I think I do) is that I will move my ass forward of the saddle..semi-resting (not actually sitting but not actually standing either) the clenched (to avoid getting sodomised) asscheeks on the beak of the saddle.....arms will be in a L position so it reacts to the bumps and stuff better compared with the slightly stretched position while on the flats..... and when sense cadence dropping... will drop to the "effortless gear".

Because my routes are fixed... I sorta know what speeds @ what gear and at what point I should drop to go with my optimum cadence. Of course, it takes about 15 minutes for me to get into this "optimum" cadence in the sense of warming up.

ps: will try to make this as poison-free and stomach friendly as possible but lighter rotating weight helps a shitload. tongue.gif

Added on February 26, 2009, 12:13 pm
maybe can counter by thinking about how well insured you are and how your loved ones are going to have a pleasant life ahead with the compensations... ahahahhaa... Just kidding.. just kidding.

I have zero balls to do drops.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Feb 26 2009, 12:13 PM
ober
post Feb 26 2009, 12:31 PM

1,431 posts

okay. from my past experience.

what i do when i offroadd climbing is to set your gear at a speed u can maintain. let's say 2x4 would be the best for any terrain on offroad i guess. smile.gif

then god helps if there is no tire slips during climbing cause that will definitely lose the momentum.

of course breathing help you too.

QUOTE(Broadica @ Feb 26 2009, 11:28 AM)

haha. drops eh? easy ma. close eyes and hopefully ull not crash lah. wakaka.

no lah. do a drop with confidence and safely. but then those are the parts that always puts you on doubt to do a drop. it's just a matter that you know you can take it and do not think twice. hehe.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2009, 12:05 PM)
It's kinda hard to describe it on a computer screen while not on the bike since most of it is like natural reaction.

What I do (or I think I do) is that I will move my ass forward of the saddle..semi-resting (not actually sitting but not actually standing either) the clenched (to avoid getting sodomised) asscheeks on the beak of the saddle.....arms will be in a L position so it reacts to the bumps and stuff better compared with the slightly stretched position while on the flats..... and when sense cadence dropping... will drop to the "effortless gear".

Because my routes are fixed... I sorta know what speeds @ what gear and at what point I should drop to go with my optimum cadence. Of course, it takes about 15 minutes for me to get into this "optimum" cadence in the sense of warming up.
ps: will try to make this as poison-free and stomach friendly as possible but lighter rotating weight helps a shitload. tongue.gif

maybe can counter by thinking about how well insured you are and how your loved ones are going to have a pleasant life ahead with the compensations... ahahahhaa... Just kidding.. just kidding.

sniper on the roof
post Feb 26 2009, 12:57 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ober @ Feb 26 2009, 12:31 PM)

what i do when i offroadd climbing is to set your gear at a speed u can maintain. let's say 2x4 would be the best for any terrain on offroad i guess. smile.gif

then god helps if there is no tire slips during climbing cause that will definitely lose the momentum.

no lah. do a drop with confidence and safely. but then those are the parts that always puts you on doubt to do a drop. it's just a matter that you know you can take it and do not think twice. hehe.
You mean 32x16 with 2x4?

So.. to do drops... basically you mean must be confidence, shut of the brain... switch to think with balls mode instead? : flex.gif
TechnoDude94
post Feb 26 2009, 01:00 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Last time when I cycled @ 1 X 1 (gearing), uphill on forest/jungle terrain but quite steep incline using semi-slick tires that became full-slick. I lost traction and was stationery while my bike's rear tire was spinning. doh.gif
iman_210
post Feb 26 2009, 01:04 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2009, 12:57 PM)
You mean 32x16 with 2x4?

So.. to do drops... basically you mean must be confidence, shut of the brain... switch to think with balls mode instead? : flex.gif
i think for drop what i would do is maintain a speed i am comfortable, at the end of the drop, slight slant my body backward behind the saddle. On air, i would push the bike down and maintain my stance. Lastly ensure the springing action from my legs when I land on the receiver for comfort.

and i bloody hell make sure my footing is planted to my pedal and my hands are securedly fasten at my grip.
Lord_darkslide
post Feb 26 2009, 01:06 PM

537 posts

when go uphill... i sing/hum... i sing/hum in my head.. or aloud...
for what? so that i wont think about the steep hill in front me..just pedal...pedal...pedal... until " wahhh... i reach top edi arr" hehehehhehe

"just keep peddaling...just keep pedaaling..." like Dory in finding nemo... hehehhehehe

going downhill.....i switch to half brain.. half balls thinking mode... hehehhehehe.....
sniper on the roof
post Feb 26 2009, 01:11 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 26 2009, 01:06 PM)
when go uphill... i sing/hum... i sing/hum in my head.. or aloud...
for what? so that i wont think about the steep hill in front me..just pedal...pedal...pedal... until " wahhh... i reach top edi arr" hehehehhehe

"just keep peddaling...just keep pedaaling..." like Dory in finding nemo... hehehhehehe

going downhill.....i switch to half brain.. half balls thinking mode... hehehhehehe.....
Now that you mentioned the on-bike karaoke session... the Ipod helps also. biggrin.gif
Broadica
post Feb 26 2009, 01:15 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2009, 12:05 PM)

hmn... i try that... hahaha

QUOTE(ober @ Feb 26 2009, 12:31 PM)

i did engage to the gears that i think would bring me up the slope.

however, sometimes even with uneven terrain.. going up is ok.. as long my wheels can roll over them nicely.
the situation when a bigger obstacle are in front... they just break the cadence... that is the time when i stand up and add on some pump to the pedal... but often with narrower track... i get off balance with little room to correct ... that when i fail to pedal up.

sniper on the roof
post Feb 26 2009, 01:32 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Broadica @ Feb 26 2009, 01:15 PM)
hmn... i try that... hahaha
i did engage to the gears that i think would bring me up the slope.

however, sometimes even with uneven terrain.. going up is ok.. as long my wheels can roll over them nicely.
the situation when a bigger obstacle are in front... they just break the cadence... that is the time when i stand up and add on some pump to the pedal... but often with narrower track... i get off balance with little room to correct ... that when i fail to pedal up.
Forgot to mention that being "semi-seated".. can move back and front the saddle easier depending on front and back traction... and also easier to transit from semi-seat and seat...sorta like floating on top of the saddle. Standing only for that extra boost.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Feb 26 2009, 01:33 PM
TSNightstalker1993
post Feb 26 2009, 01:44 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(nern@h @ Feb 26 2009, 09:38 AM)
my current gear is 8 speed. thanx for the advice.
should be compatible smile.gif

just make sure u get ur shifter changed too lol...

and sometimes the chain too...

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Feb 26 2009, 11:09 AM)
Why don't you want a Boxxer? blink.gif
Same fork as NS1993?
long, heavy, overkill for a hardtail, not as nice as my durolux tongue.gif laugh.gif

1. Fill up ur iPod with ROCK songs
2. Create a 'Riding' playlist
3. Watch some riding vids before riding to get you pumped up
4. When doing it, think 'If they can do it, why can't i?' and 'I'm not gonna die, why am i so scared?'

so far helped me lots laugh.gif

and not to forget, watch MORE riding videos and analyze how they do the drop/jump or trick to get it dialed in ur mind lol...
TechnoDude94
post Feb 26 2009, 02:58 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2009, 01:11 PM)
Now that you mentioned the on-bike karaoke session... the Ipod helps also.
Actually, when you cycle on the tarmac/pavement/road. Make sure that you don't listen to music as you may not be able to listen to the environment (oncoming cars/behind you). Just my 2 cents.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 26 2009, 01:44 PM)
should be compatible
just make sure u get ur shifter changed too lol...
and sometimes the chain too...
long, heavy, overkill for a hardtail, not as nice as my durolux
1. Fill up ur iPod with ROCK songs
2. Create a 'Riding' playlist
3. Watch some riding vids before riding to get you pumped up
4. When doing it, think 'If they can do it, why can't i?' and 'I'm not gonna die, why am i so scared?'
so far helped me lots
and not to forget, watch MORE riding videos and analyze how they do the drop/jump or trick to get it dialed in ur mind lol...
Agreed that Boxxer is an overkill for HT.
PS: Time for you to upgrade to full-sus. brows.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoDude94: Feb 26 2009, 02:59 PM
sniper on the roof
post Feb 26 2009, 03:10 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Feb 26 2009, 02:58 PM)
Actually, when you cycle on the tarmac/pavement/road. Make sure that you don't listen to music as you may not be able to listen to the environment (oncoming cars/behind you). Just my 2 cents.
Agree.. but as long as keep the volume to reasonable and don't use noise cancellation headphones... should be ok.
monkey13
post Feb 26 2009, 04:08 PM

97 posts

1.study da jump and plan ur landing..estimate da speed needed...
2.with lots of confident,jus jump...i suggest to jump straight for biginner...
remember to lean back...bt dont lean to much as u might land on a wellie which is so unstable.
depends on da distance actually...
3.keep knee close during landin and try to absorb as much impact as possible....

*pls wear proper safety apparel

Added on February 26, 2009, 4:10 pmoh...b4 i forget...
pls try not to chicken out on da last minute of a drop..
u might really injure urself...

This post has been edited by monkey13: Feb 26 2009, 04:10 PM
dickybird
post Feb 26 2009, 05:05 PM

2,093 posts

Hey NS, how come my ride spec is not listed together with the other forumers? if i am not wrong i have with this forum since v5?
Lord_darkslide
post Feb 26 2009, 05:55 PM

537 posts

datawraith...

ipoh got place to jump around ar??
iman_210
post Feb 26 2009, 06:01 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2009, 03:10 PM)
Agree.. but as long as keep the volume to reasonable and don't use noise cancellation headphones... should be ok.
dun think can ride with the earphone on...if road riding ok...imagine dhillling and u got wires around ur neck to ur waist...bit distracted...

126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0189sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:15 PM