4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

U-mobile Thread!, 9cents/30secs

preducer
post Jul 10 2012, 09:36 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(bkcheah75 @ Jul 10 2012, 09:26 PM)
Thanks. What will be the speed after capped?
200+ kbps, edge speed that is.
preducer
post Jul 16 2012, 02:33 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jul 16 2012, 02:14 PM)
help help...
my umobile left aside for 2 months and now cannot call  and sms...

i emailed...they replied... now still cannot...
what did umobile replied ?
preducer
post Jul 16 2012, 10:05 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(izzi_guy @ Jul 16 2012, 03:33 PM)
my postpaid u28 need to pay for data..syiat..i thought it is free,no??
have to pay rm 13 for 200mb..this is syiat man
u didnt get the sms ? they will refund back next month.
preducer
post Jul 22 2012, 06:04 AM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(haruyap @ Jul 22 2012, 04:04 AM)
Hi guys,

I'm thinking of switching my phone to umobile. May I know how is the line coverage (for the phone signal and 3G Internet) in KL compared to DiGi, Maxis and Celcom?

I usually travel around PJ, Subang, Puchong and Bukit Jalil area.

Also, if I were to take the postpaid plan, is there a minimum month contract (like a 2 year contract postpaid thing) or they just count per month? As in I can cancel the postpaid plan any time I want.

Thanks in advance for your help!  notworthy.gif
there is no min contract, u can port out anytime if ur not satisfy. as for the coverage, i cannot say for sure the coverage is good but when i was in those areas, i didnt remember having any problems with 3G.
preducer
post Jul 22 2012, 01:46 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(haruyap @ Jul 22 2012, 01:39 PM)
Hi! Thanks for the reply man.

What about line coverage for normal phone calls and SMSes? smile.gif
if there is no 3G, it will change/switch to celcom 2G/edge so u shouldnt have any problem.
preducer
post Jul 24 2012, 08:49 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(x.z @ Jul 24 2012, 05:58 PM)
just ported to postpaid.
apparently theres no way to check my data usage unlike the prepaid version -.-
anyone know how to check the amount of SMS i've sent?
as far as i know, u cannot check. maybe if u call their callcenter, they "might" tell you.
preducer
post Jul 24 2012, 10:46 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(CJGun @ Jul 24 2012, 10:25 PM)
From what I know is, you can check your Data Quota via sms: DATA to 28118
For SMS I ask them already, you can only check with their call center.
for U28 Postpaid ?
preducer
post Jul 31 2012, 03:39 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Jul 31 2012, 06:37 AM)
Nope, U Mobile charging 05 sen for this kinda sms.
postpaid free and prepaid will be charge 5 sen ? i tried, it shows "RM0". Im on postpaid.
preducer
post Aug 8 2012, 06:37 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 8 2012, 03:00 PM)
Hi, looks like this thread is the only one to ask about umobile postpaid... anyone knows whether we can freely (each month) switch between postpaid and prepaid? Because prepaid got nicer prices, but postpaid got international roaming...

EDIT: Looks like the FAQ which is at http://www.u.com.my/faq/new-postpaid-rate-plans says cannot switch from prepaid, sui... but anyway another question:-

FAQ says
4. There is no chargeable activation fee for registering U28, U58 and U88 plans?

There is a monthly commitment fee of RM28 (for U28), RM58 (for U58) and RM88 (for U88) per month which will be charged to offset usage charges for voice call, video call, SMS and MMS.

So let's say I take the U28, I have RM28 commitment fee. Then I use finish 200 SMS to non-umobile. If after that (still within the month) I use another 50 sms (RM6 total) do I have to pay RM28 or RM34 at end of month? My friend saying that is RM34, but unless I understand wrongly the FAQ, the RM28 is being used to offset charges. So as long as I use less than RM28 worth, I only pay RM28. Correct/wrong?
what u will get with U28 are 1GB data & 300 SMS (100 SMS for U Mobile to U Mobile and 200 SMS for U Mobile to Other Local Operators). If u use more than what is allocated/given in the above, u will get charge (except for the data as they will throttle ur speed down).

so in ur case, if u dont exceed the limits, u have to pay monthly rm28+tax=rm31 only. if u use extra 50 sms (rm6 total), rm28+rm6+tax= total u have to pay.

This post has been edited by preducer: Aug 8 2012, 06:39 PM
preducer
post Aug 9 2012, 10:22 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 9 2012, 07:46 AM)
Thanks preducer. If like this, why choose postpaid over prepaid? Comparing RM28 plan for post with pre, looks like postpaid much more expensive for similar usage (advantage is just the additional RM500 GB data)? Unless you don't make calls at all or SMS is less than 200 to non-net (difficult leh).
it depends on ur usage. my bill havent exceeded more than rm40 for the past 8 months. I dont use much sms or calls, monthly on average 60-80 sms only. the rest i use data (imessage, whatsapp, viber, skype, etc).
preducer
post Aug 29 2012, 11:36 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 29 2012, 11:06 PM)
Anyone noticed that UMobile is no longer roaming with Celcom on 2G mode? Seems like they have their own, UMobile2G already. I wonder if it will affect the coverage because Celcom's coverage was pretty decent. 3G connection forever limited, only in major cities. :/
that "umobile2g" is most probably Maxis.
preducer
post Aug 29 2012, 11:59 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Aug 29 2012, 11:39 PM)
U Mobile have no gsm licence

UMobile2G = roaming on celcom

U Mobile = roaming on maxis

U Mobile 3G = their own 3G network

correction: it seems their own network dropped the 3G so U Mobile could mean either UM or maxis

some more just now for first time I got the maxis under both 3G and gsm mode
FYI - http://www.malaysianwireless.com/2012/07/u...xis-2g-roaming/
preducer
post Aug 30 2012, 07:46 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Aug 30 2012, 03:44 PM)
Excuse me,
but I'd like to ask if Umobile's 3G speed is ok in the following area?
Penang, BM near Kulim.
KL, Setapak area.

I did check Umobile's official website, shows that Penang doesnt have 3G coverage? and Setapak isnt listed as having 3G coverage, but I was hoping that they might be wrong and coverage is available and good there!

Thanks in advance smile.gif
penang/kedah has no 3g coverage at all and setapak ada signal, but speed wise in that area i dont know.
preducer
post Aug 30 2012, 07:49 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 30 2012, 09:59 AM)
Does it make our connection similar to Maxis line if we roam on Maxis? Because certain areas, Celcom has totally no signal at all, what more on 3G.. If we select Maxis, our network will label it as UMobile.
of coz it will follow maxis's coverage instead of celcom. u dont have to select anything, it will automaticlly done for you . U Mobile ur refering to is the 3G. if it is on 2G/EDGE, it will show as umobile2g. btw im using iphone 4.
preducer
post Aug 30 2012, 08:06 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 30 2012, 08:02 PM)
Not really. I chose manual settings instead because I want to test Maxis's line. I switched off my 3G connection, so should be on 2G. Now it shows 'UMobile', I assume is Maxis right? I'm on iPhone too.

on mine, only two
1. U Mobile 3G
2. umobile2g E
preducer
post Aug 31 2012, 12:07 AM

2,839 posts

no more celcom. only left umobile 3g and roaming partner (maxis - umobile2g). no such things as roaming on maxis 3g network.

under GSM, umobile2G = maxis
under 3G, U Mobile = u mobile

"U Mobile will activate its roaming service on Maxis 2G network starting 2nd October 2012. The roaming service will allow U Mobile customers to use Maxis 2G network for voice and data at no additional cost"

This post has been edited by preducer: Aug 31 2012, 12:12 AM
preducer
post Sep 5 2012, 12:46 AM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Sep 4 2012, 09:57 PM)
according to Malaysian Wireless the 3G sharing with Maxis may go live by mid-September
correction - not 3G sharing, its 2G sharing.
preducer
post Sep 5 2012, 10:56 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Sep 5 2012, 06:39 AM)
2G roaming on Maxis starting to roll out already

3G roaming on Maxis is coming soon*

* and since this a sharing agreement between Maxis and UMobile, I suppose Maxis user will benefit from access to UMobile 3G network when they need it

U Mobile already has a 10-year multi-billion ringgit agreement with Maxis on 3G radio access networks (RAN) sharing. The deal with Maxis allows U Mobile to expand its current 2,000 3G base stations to 4000 base stations by 2013. Both companies are already working on sharing some 1,300 sites in the coming months. At the moment, Maxis has some 5,200 3G sites and 7,000 2G base stations. The 3G sharing is expected to go live sometime mid-September.
i dont think maxis users will be able to access umobile 3G network. if you can then why did i move to umobile from maxis or vice versa.
preducer
post Sep 9 2012, 05:11 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(god2077 @ Sep 9 2012, 12:26 PM)
I have pay the u mobile bill through online banking by key in the account number as BAXXXXX. Will u mobile recognise it as my payment? its urgent Thanks for help in advance^^
which online banking are u using ? i use maybank and i dont think the account num starts wth BAXXXX.
preducer
post Sep 9 2012, 11:53 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(Max Soh @ Sep 9 2012, 09:29 PM)
UM unlimited mobile internet RM28 free 100 mins to all network.
Does "all network" means fixed lines and other mobile telco OR just mobile lines only?

UM normal prepaid voice call rate is 9sen/30secs to all network also?
from FAQ

"For RM28, you will be given 100 mins of talk time & 30 sms. These may be utilized for calls to any network, anywhere in Malaysia (except for special numbers ie 1800 numbers)."

for the call rate, it is for all network. sms rates are 3sen/umobile and 8sen/others.
(http://u.com.my/prepaid/free_sms_and_calls)

This post has been edited by preducer: Sep 9 2012, 11:54 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0211sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:38 PM