Hardware The Best Compatible RAM for Macbook, upgrade to 4G RAM

jind86
post Jul 16 2009, 12:20 AM

1,507 posts

am using the macbook pro 13" 2GB RAM, just installed parallels desktop and am running xp and am noticing a little lag.. wondering whether upgrading to 4GB RAM would be significantly better?
aizad02
post Jul 16 2009, 01:01 AM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

ya'sure..coz u'll be reserving some of ur rams to your XP and yes,having more rams would significantly improves the performance of ur multi OS.
m|key
post Aug 11 2009, 11:34 AM

271 posts

im thinking to upgrade to 4GB RAM. but wondering if my macbook 13" white will be able to support up to 4GB?

My Hardware Overview:
Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook5,2
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

Pls help to advise.
deadman8836
post Aug 11 2009, 12:07 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(m|key @ Aug 11 2009, 11:34 AM)
im thinking to upgrade to 4GB RAM. but wondering if my macbook 13" white will be able to support up to 4GB?

My Hardware Overview:
  Model Name: MacBook
  Model Identifier: MacBook5,2
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 2 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Pls help to advise.
Hi m|key, I have upgraded my Macbook White 13' to 4gb on the first day of my purchase and it is running all smooth and sweet....
m|key
post Aug 11 2009, 12:13 PM

271 posts

cool.....

which ram u are using? looks like some have issue and some have no issue at all. luck? biggrin.gif
deadman8836
post Aug 11 2009, 01:07 PM

464 posts

I bought Kingston ram for my Macbook White.... so far i have never encounter any problem with it *touchwood*.. maybe like what u said, I am in all luck for this... hahaha...
m|key
post Aug 11 2009, 01:29 PM

271 posts

hehe... cool. will be getting them later. is yours 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM?

Cheers.

Added on August 11, 2009, 10:05 pm

installed 2x2gb kingston ram. working fine.. phew

This post has been edited by m|key: Aug 11 2009, 10:09 PM
cRazYee
post Aug 11 2009, 10:57 PM

2,642 posts

i'm going to buy Crucial RAM for my brother lappie
http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.asp...%29%20MB470LL/A

wanna ask, anyone think this higher price ram got any different compare to Kingston VR?
cuz it just said "Guaranteed-compatible memory upgrades for your Apple MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (15-inch DDR3) MB470LL/A Laptop/Notebook."
not Apple Certified RAM
tafrozone
post Aug 11 2009, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(m|key @ Aug 11 2009, 01:29 PM)

Cheers.

can u specify the exact model of the ram? n how much it cost u in total?where did u purchase it?

thank you in advance
nimrod323
post Aug 12 2009, 10:21 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Aug 11 2009, 10:57 PM)

wanna ask, anyone think this higher price ram got any different compare to Kingston VR?
cuz it just said "Guaranteed-compatible memory upgrades for your Apple MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (15-inch DDR3) MB470LL/A Laptop/Notebook."
not Apple Certified RAM
well the crucial rams are the closest to the Apple OEM rams,thats why they can guarantee maximum compatibility. you can actually get it way cheaper through ebay and the shipping is free too, http://cgi.ebay.com.my/CRUCIAL-4GB-2X2GB-D...p3286.m63.l1177

mel5582
post Aug 12 2009, 11:07 AM

None
777 posts

I just got my MBP 13" yesterday and installed Mushkin's DDR3 1066Mhz RAMs into it. Working fine so far, and Switch themselves recommended me Mushkin. According to them, they used to install Kingston but sometimes the MB cannot detect.. but after they changed to Mushkin, no problems so far.. not sure la..
cRazYee
post Aug 13 2009, 12:10 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Aug 12 2009, 10:21 AM)
well the crucial rams are the closest to the Apple OEM rams,thats why they can guarantee maximum compatibility. you can actually get it way cheaper through ebay and the shipping is free too, http://cgi.ebay.com.my/CRUCIAL-4GB-2X2GB-D...p3286.m63.l1177
thanks, izzit the same model as what i posted?
nimrod323
post Aug 13 2009, 08:52 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Aug 13 2009, 12:10 PM)
thanks, izzit the same model as what i posted?
yep and the one im supposed to do a bulk.
llsphinxll
post Aug 13 2009, 09:16 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Aug 11 2009, 10:57 PM)

not Apple Certified RAM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Aug 12 2009, 10:21 AM)
QUOTE(mel5582 @ Aug 12 2009, 11:07 AM)
I just got my MBP 13" yesterday and installed Mushkin's DDR3 1066Mhz RAMs into it. Working fine so far, and Switch themselves recommended me Mushkin. According to them, they used to install Kingston but sometimes the MB cannot detect.. but after they changed to Mushkin, no problems so far.. not sure la..
hey.
i can see that you have mentioned few brands of ram that is suitable for the mbp. just wanna ask where does corsair stand in the midst of these brands.
almost bought a pair of corsair 2x2gb ram for my mbp but later i read somewhere that the mbp will only use a maximum of 3.3gb of ram, so now thinking of whether i shud just get one stick, or still get a pair. any opinion?

mel5582
post Aug 13 2009, 09:51 PM

None
777 posts

I just switched to Mac myself and was speculating what sorta RAMS I should have gotten.. I personally was using Corsair RAMS on my Win laptop and desktop but I when I asked Switch regarding Corsair RAMS, they weren't so sure about the compatibility. They said Crucial is ok, Mushkin are the ones they use right now and Kingston was what they used previously.

I believe you should get 2 sticks for now, 1 because it would be cheaper and you can bargain, 2nd because Snow Leopard is coming out soon which is 64-bit and can support all 4gb of your RAMS.
deadman8836
post Aug 14 2009, 09:30 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(m|key @ Aug 11 2009, 01:29 PM)

Cheers.

Sorry for the late reply buddy.... yeaps, i installed kingston ram too... works perfectly and my Macbook White detected them... so no issue of compatibility I guess?
dvlzplayground
post Aug 14 2009, 11:31 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:51 PM)
I just switched to Mac myself and was speculating what sorta RAMS I should have gotten.. I personally was using Corsair RAMS on my Win laptop and desktop but I when I asked Switch regarding Corsair RAMS, they weren't so sure about the compatibility. They said Crucial is ok, Mushkin are the ones they use right now and Kingston was what they used previously.

I believe you should get 2 sticks for now, 1 because it would be cheaper and you can bargain, 2nd because Snow Leopard is coming out soon which is 64-bit and can support all 4gb of your RAMS.
there's an apple shop i know that use Corsair RAMs. i dun think they had any compatibility issues.
leelifestyle
post Aug 17 2009, 01:16 PM

95 posts

hey.
if i wanna upgrade my mbw's ram to 4gb but with higher speed, is that possible?
or need to stick with the current ram speed?
nimrod323
post Aug 17 2009, 05:41 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(leelifestyle @ Aug 17 2009, 01:16 PM)
hey.
if i wanna upgrade my mbw's ram to 4gb but with higher speed, is that possible?
or need to stick with the current ram speed?
theres a memory controller that will downgrade the speed back to 667 or 800 depending on which MBW you have.
leelifestyle
post Aug 17 2009, 06:20 PM

95 posts

latest and newest one. hehe tongue.gif

24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:57 AM