Hardware The Best Compatible RAM for Macbook, upgrade to 4G RAM
dvlzplayground
Jun 13 2009, 12:35 AM
just wanna confirm, the late 08 MBP is compatible with 8gb ddr3 memory rite? thinking of upgrading to 4gb but then feel like not worth it since no OS support anyway. so i wanna upgrade to 8gb once i get the 64-bit snow leopard.
what's the max RAM i can go?
dvlzplayground
Jun 14 2009, 12:33 PM
wah...meaning the max i can go is 6gb?
hey hey im not saying i wanna upgrade now hehe. of course wait till price go down la...
dvlzplayground
Aug 14 2009, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(mel5582 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:51 PM) I just switched to Mac myself and was speculating what sorta RAMS I should have gotten.. I personally was using Corsair RAMS on my Win laptop and desktop but I when I asked Switch regarding Corsair RAMS, they weren't so sure about the compatibility. They said Crucial is ok, Mushkin are the ones they use right now and Kingston was what they used previously. I believe you should get 2 sticks for now, 1 because it would be cheaper and you can bargain, 2nd because Snow Leopard is coming out soon which is 64-bit and can support all 4gb of your RAMS. there's an apple shop i know that use Corsair RAMs. i dun think they had any compatibility issues.
dvlzplayground
Aug 17 2009, 07:09 PM
then say u bought a 1066 Mhz RAM, ur memory controller will downgrade it to 800 Mhz. so technically it is compatible..but if u just went for a 800Mhz RAM can save a bit i think ;p
dvlzplayground
Aug 18 2009, 02:16 PM
there IS DDR2 1066mhz in the market. high end one
dvlzplayground
Aug 19 2009, 10:45 PM
oh ddr2 1066 only for desktops? sorry, my bad ;p rm120 for a 2gb ddr3 stick is the norm these days. do proceed
dvlzplayground
Aug 21 2009, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Aug 21 2009, 01:33 PM) RM120++?r u sure of that? my area they sell around this price. how much is it at urs?
dvlzplayground
Oct 12 2009, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(preducer @ Oct 8 2009, 05:41 AM) someone should do a list of ram that confirmed worked. it would be easier for ppl who wnts to upgrade. agreed. im looking forward to upgrade my RAM during the next pc fair. wanna know what brand is the best. seems like all are the same for now ;p
dvlzplayground
Oct 23 2009, 10:35 PM
i noticed they just went up. at my area at least. a 2GB DDR3 SODIMM was about rm120+ before. now i cant find em under rm150  Added on October 24, 2009, 12:47 amwhat's the best way to get crucial ddr3 sodimms? This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Oct 24 2009, 12:47 AM
dvlzplayground
Oct 24 2009, 06:56 PM
online order from Crucial website... i scared the shipping expensive ;p
dvlzplayground
Oct 25 2009, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(dr.is @ Oct 25 2009, 01:31 PM) I just worry one thing, supposedly Mac recommend to use DDR3 1066 MHz, but I only come to notice that my new RAM is DDR3 1067MHz, will this cause any serious detrimental effect to the machine? because sometime I experienced so called "hang" and have to restart the mac while doing multiple task at the same time. Any advice? thanks dont worry, the "1066" is actually 1066.6666666666... so if you round up become 1067. that's all ;p the hang could be cuz of something else. im not sure if samsung ram is stable for a mac
dvlzplayground
Oct 25 2009, 04:49 PM
Guys...any of u happen to know when the kingston hyper x ddr2 sodimm came out? how many months after ddr2 went mainstream? and any predictions when can we see performance ddr3 sodimms?
dvlzplayground
Oct 26 2009, 08:38 AM
if often get beachball? likely bcuz of what? hdd?
dvlzplayground
Oct 26 2009, 09:55 PM
the original unibody still need to open the back panel in order to install RAM. no need for HDD though
dvlzplayground
Oct 28 2009, 03:10 AM
i was considering mushkin vs kingston as well. from the link dr.is had posted, the 'non-apple model' mushkin was reported to have some compatibility issues with a mac. how about the kingston?
i was more towards mushkin for two bad reasons. 1) mushkin packaging looks better, and 2) i've always bought kingston rams...never had an issue but im just bored staying with the brand haha
dvlzplayground
Oct 28 2009, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Oct 28 2009, 08:38 AM) second this, and at the end of the day you want an something more of a peace of mind kinda thing go for crucial,they are the same suppliers for apple oem rams. i wanted to, but ordering from their website is too expensive. no more bulk?
dvlzplayground
Oct 29 2009, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Oct 29 2009, 09:25 AM) i remember i posted an ebay link here last time, btw even as a reseller i find it tough to bring in the rams cause shipping is high plus the tax sheesh. http://cgi.ebay.com.my/NEW-Crucial-4GB-2X2...22#ht_561wt_909do contact the seller regarding postage details, it should otherwise be free. that's the thing. thx 4 the link. he's in US so i assume postage will still be expensive :S. anyone from US/UK coming to malaysia soon? hehe
dvlzplayground
Oct 30 2009, 04:49 PM
can say around 300-320 for a pair of 2gb SODIMMs. i guess i'll just wait. will be having my 3 months holiday soon so i wont be using parallels much (which is the main reason i want more RAM).
This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Oct 30 2009, 04:50 PM
dvlzplayground
Oct 30 2009, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Oct 30 2009, 10:08 PM) If that's the price for Value RAM, you might as well purchase Mac RAM from Macsales (RM320 for 2GB*2). If the RAM doesn't work on your Mac, you'll be sure to get a replacement. im not familiar with OWC actually. what chips are they using? is it better to get 2x2gb, or 4gb+2gb? (my max is 6gb)
dvlzplayground
Oct 31 2009, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(preducer @ Oct 31 2009, 06:35 AM) owc is using nanya ram.. i bought mine from them. Nanya? wow never heard of them haha... any issues so far?