Hmmm, that's a great idea, but i don't DIY myself... Maybe ask "wei" in LYN. He offers MAC repair and upgrade services here in LYN. Unless our MAC is out of warranty, that is.
Hardware The Best Compatible RAM for Macbook, upgrade to 4G RAM
Jul 4 2009, 11:58 PM
29 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Malaysia |
Hmmm, that's a great idea, but i don't DIY myself... Maybe ask "wei" in LYN. He offers MAC repair and upgrade services here in LYN. Unless our MAC is out of warranty, that is.
Jul 5 2009, 01:33 AM
348 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Im using 2X2 Crucial RAM from Machines. Got it cheaper while there was a sale in Mac Discovery Week in JB. I think around RM400++
May I ask why is it better than most Kingston Value Ram?? |
Jul 5 2009, 02:10 AM
2,664 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Here and There |
QUOTE(ujoewong @ Jul 5 2009, 01:33 AM) Im using 2X2 Crucial RAM from Machines. Got it cheaper while there was a sale in Mac Discovery Week in JB. I think around RM400++ well cause of its nature of being very similar to the oem rams using the basic chips that hynix use,which is micron,those black square thing on the rams!May I ask why is it better than most Kingston Value Ram?? |
Jul 5 2009, 02:37 AM
348 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
@nimrod323,
I see thanks for the explanation. If you wanna know, my feedback on the Crucial Ram is excellent even though I got it in a more exp price. Hehe |
Jul 5 2009, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(ujoewong @ Jul 5 2009, 02:37 AM) @nimrod323, hehe i know, currently if im not mistaken only machines and myself offering crucial,theirs at 798 for 2+2GB configuration.I see thanks for the explanation. If you wanna know, my feedback on the Crucial Ram is excellent even though I got it in a more exp price. Hehe |
Jul 5 2009, 08:56 PM
2,706 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: sunway @ middle earth |
I'm happy with my KVR, cheap and readily available.
Jul 6 2009, 02:03 AM
2,839 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Jul 6 2009, 12:00 PM
273 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
i just received my parcel form Other World Computing 2X2GB ram package...it only took 4 days to arrive...will install the ram after this
Jul 6 2009, 12:12 PM
Jul 6 2009, 03:42 PM
828 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
guys.. how much is the shipping fees? i mean which 1 u guys chose? the cheapest 1? 15.99?
Jul 6 2009, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(preducer @ Jul 6 2009, 12:12 PM) not sure about that....i bought the 4GB set....will install later, now still in the office.... Added on July 6, 2009, 3:52 pm QUOTE(hapa @ Jul 6 2009, 03:42 PM) i paid USD 33.90 for the shipping....This post has been edited by ali86: Jul 6 2009, 03:52 PM |
Jul 6 2009, 05:40 PM
@ali86
oh ok.. i bought the same set as yours. @hapa u can opt for cheapest shipping that is usd 15.99 but u have to wait atleast 2-3 weeks i guess or even more. i took fedex, it's only cost me extra usd 10 on top of current shipping cost (15.99 + 10++, estimated, cant remember exactly) u can get it form nimrod323, he's doing bulk sale on ram. This post has been edited by preducer: Jul 6 2009, 05:46 PM |
Jul 6 2009, 07:04 PM
828 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(preducer @ Jul 6 2009, 05:40 PM) @ali86 thx dudeoh ok.. i bought the same set as yours. @hapa u can opt for cheapest shipping that is usd 15.99 but u have to wait atleast 2-3 weeks i guess or even more. i took fedex, it's only cost me extra usd 10 on top of current shipping cost (15.99 + 10++, estimated, cant remember exactly) u can get it form nimrod323, he's doing bulk sale on ram. |
Jul 7 2009, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(preducer @ Jul 6 2009, 05:40 PM) @ali86 i see oh ok.. i bought the same set as yours. @hapa u can opt for cheapest shipping that is usd 15.99 but u have to wait atleast 2-3 weeks i guess or even more. i took fedex, it's only cost me extra usd 10 on top of current shipping cost (15.99 + 10++, estimated, cant remember exactly) u can get it form nimrod323, he's doing bulk sale on ram. the installation is very2 easy....not more that 5 minute i guess.... now, my MBP run faster |
Jul 7 2009, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(ali86 @ Jul 7 2009, 11:43 AM) wait did you disconnect the battery ribbon before installing? cause if the battery is connected to the logicboard you might fry it by replacing the ram,since your MBP is fine i think its alright but to others dont take a gamble. Even replacing the HDD also the same step remove that pin there gently. and always remember to wear an anti static wristband,to avoid danger to the logicboard. can get from ACE hardware,3-4 bucks only.![]() This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 7 2009, 12:26 PM |
Jul 7 2009, 04:23 PM
it looks so troublesome to change the ram on the new mbp hehe.
Jul 7 2009, 04:28 PM
Jul 14 2009, 11:04 AM
784 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Gombak | Taiping @ Looking Through |
just for sharing,i'd just bought a KVR kingston from a shop in lowyat.they gives warranty to 1 on 1 change to other ram if it's not stable.just did the memtest last night,everything's working fine and seems like no problem until now lah..
btw,the removing battery ribbon only apply to latest macbook pro(the one comes wif internal batt)if older one,i think u just have to remove the battery and it's safe edi. |
Jul 14 2009, 11:48 AM
1,148 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Jupiter |
QUOTE(aizad02 @ Jul 14 2009, 11:04 AM) just for sharing,i'd just bought a KVR kingston from a shop in lowyat.they gives warranty to 1 on 1 change to other ram if it's not stable.just did the memtest last night,everything's working fine and seems like no problem until now lah.. the shop can replace for customer x bro? btw,the removing battery ribbon only apply to latest macbook pro(the one comes wif internal batt)if older one,i think u just have to remove the battery and it's safe edi. |
Jul 14 2009, 03:52 PM
784 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Gombak | Taiping @ Looking Through |
that part i'm not sure lar...i don't they provide that service for mac.nahh.... just few very easy steps maa...be gently and carrefull in changing the ram,and everything should be ok.
| Change to: | 0.0249sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:18 PM |