open uni, RM125/hr if u teach undergrads and RM185/hr for master
azarimy
post Jul 16 2009, 08:33 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jul 16 2009, 03:04 AM)
Does a Polytechnic or IPTA lecturer considered as part time lecturer?

Mr Azarimy,could you please tell me more on the life of becoming a lecturer in polytehnic as compared to IPTA??what is the requirements of lecturer in polytechnic and how do they teach on? like is it more on pratical sides?

thanks !:)
if i have had experience teaching in both, i'm pretty sure i'd share it with u. but unfortunately, neither me nor my friends have ever taught in polytechnics, so i'm afraid there isnt much we can tell u.

but in terms of curriculum, poly will be more practical. just look at a typical degree syllabus, strip off all the theories, philosophies and research/academic subjects, u'll get practical subjects. the curriculum then will build around these subjects. to say they're more practical than a university is not entirely accurate, bcoz in the end it's almost the same level.
aamry
post Jul 21 2009, 09:58 PM

Senior
541 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Jul 16 2009, 07:03 PM)
open uni, RM125/hr if u teach undergrads and RM185/hr for master
wow its a high salary for lecturers there
ecVk
post Jul 21 2009, 10:19 PM

Can somebody say egg?
1,142 posts

So far i see all lecturers have PhD education. Why must they have PhD ah? Is it worth it to do PhD for 10 years then become a lecturer?
OMG!
post Jul 22 2009, 09:43 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Why not?

Phd is a way to ensure constant employability.smile.gif
azarimy
post Jul 22 2009, 10:39 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(ecVk @ Jul 21 2009, 02:19 PM)
So far i see all lecturers have PhD education. Why must they have PhD ah? Is it worth it to do PhD for 10 years then become a lecturer?
first, u must understand what PhD means.

a PhD is awarded if u have achieved a substantially original academic work, something that have never before achieved in the history of mankind. it means, at the point of submission, u are the sole expert of that particular subject in the world. in fact, it would probably take another 6 months before another person could come up with something more original, expanding from what u've established.

why would a lecturer need a PhD? it's so that they'd have something substantial to share with their students, university and the local academic community. ur work will be referred to by virtually anyone who's interested in that topic, which would mean u'd be highly sought after. especially if ur PhD produces an original product, for example, the cure for H1N1. ur PhD would be very valuable, where any country that seeks to cure H1N1 would have to ask ur permission to use ur cure. imagine how rich u could be.

so is it worth it? hell yes.

btw, it only takes 3 years. dont exaggerate, please wink.gif.
OMG!
post Jul 23 2009, 11:52 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Does all lecturers and professors in IPTA must involve in reseach?

I heard they spend 80% time on reseach and 20%on lecturing? is it true?

MyKy44
post Jul 23 2009, 12:16 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 19 2009, 10:59 PM)
there are two choices when it comes to lecturing: IPTA or IPTS. each has very different outcome, depending on how u see it.

at the moment, IPTAs will definitely turn u into an academician, as the government will automatically sponsor u for ur masters and PhD wherever u wanna go (yes, even to the most expensive universities in the world as long as u can qualify for it). then there will be a contract for 7 years, which normally u can use to get at least an associate professor title. by then, ur basic salary would reach about RM6k (add about RM1.5k for allowances etc). this does not include any consultancy jobs or practice u do outside (which most lecturers are recommended to do).

in IPTS, u're more of a professional who teaches. meaning it is always assumed that u will be working as a professional in the related fields while at the same time teaching the students. this would mean u will be less involved in research, hence there is no need for them to send u to do ur masters or PhD. but there are a few dedicated academics in each course, but their number is small. i do know that some IPTS sponsor a small number of their staffs for PhD, but i'm not aware of the duration of the contract.
that's just briefly. there's a similar topic in the Jobs section where this have been discussed in quite detail.
Gotta apply wan right?

hmm.gif i've got a senior from UTM whom UTM sponsors to do PhD in Cambridge. But yeah he's then bounded by the 7-year contract.

Got 6k that much ar? hmm.gif oh mai i really gotta think about this option then
Dennos
post Jul 23 2009, 01:43 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jul 23 2009, 11:52 AM)
Does all lecturers and professors in IPTA must involve in reseach?

I heard they spend 80% time on reseach and 20%on lecturing? is it true?
u are wrong.

50 % breakfast +tea time, 2o% percent lecture and 10% research and 20% meeting.
azarimy
post Jul 23 2009, 06:01 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Jul 23 2009, 05:43 AM)
u are wrong.

50 % breakfast +tea time, 2o% percent lecture and 10% research and 20% meeting.
well, most of my research only requires data interpretation. most of the time while the experiment runs, all u gotta do is WAIT. apalagi, minum dulu laa.
OMG!
post Jul 27 2009, 02:30 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

oh my goodness,since they have so much free time around, don't they never think of held an extra lecture to teach students who are not very academically well inclined.

i myself do face some problems in understanding the lectures but making an appointment with them rather tiring and equally impossible.
biggie
post Jul 27 2009, 03:26 PM

1,291 posts

I have been missing from this forum for quite some time. As I am also a lecturer (and recruiter) I will give what is and what is not of being a lecturer.

It has been the position of many established university to take only candidate with very good first degree result (3.5 and above). Then these candidate will have a year to find a placement in top ranked university for their masters and PhD.

For candidate with PhD then the first degree result can be slightly lower, however if its too low most unis. will reject your application, even though you have a PhD. If its IPTA then you will also need a credit in Bahasa Malaysia for SPM.

In most cases IPTS have much lower requirement then IPTA in term of results required. For polytechnic/community college lecturer the candidate suppose to be street smart rather then academically inclined (you might get in with second class lower degree with high co-curricular involvement) .

For a lecturer you will start as DS 45 at about RM2k ++. Upon completion of PhD you will get promoted to grade DS52 (senior lecturer), where your pay will be RM4K++.

From then on your promotion will be based on points system, where you need to accumulate points based on teaching, publication and some other items (management etc.2). To get promoted to assoc. prof. you will need 6++ indexed journal publication and 14++ cr hour of teaching or curriculum development and postgraduate supervision. For professor you need to get 12++ publication (on top of the 6 you have earlier) + teaching + research.

For teachers your salary scale will be on DG and its promotion are capped. You have to wait for a senior to retire before you can be promoted.

What is so hard about being a lecturer?
Most lecturer are not trained to lecture. The education of most lecturers are in their specific field, and not about teaching methodology.

Teachers will have to get at least a diploma in education before they can start to teach. A lecturer at most will get one week of teaching methodology course.

Most of the time you have to learn on your own about how to teach a subject, how to prepare materials for your courses and even how to design a new courses/programs.

Being a lecturer is about being independent, and most lecturers will rebel if the management try to control these 'rights'. A lecturer need to be able to manage their own time, and usually this cause many lecturers in Malaysia to lose focus after few years in the profession.

azarimy
post Jul 27 2009, 05:44 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jul 27 2009, 06:30 AM)
oh my goodness,since they have so much free time around, don't they never think of held an extra lecture to teach students who are not very academically well inclined.

i myself do face some problems in understanding the lectures but making an appointment with them rather tiring and equally impossible.
i'm being sarcastic.

anyways, if u need extra classes, then u arrange for it. this is not sekolah menengah where u need extra tuitions. each class would be about 2-4 hours per week ONLY. what else were u doing the rest of the time if not studying?

and u say lecturers have free time. sheeesh.
Dennos
post Jul 27 2009, 05:50 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 23 2009, 06:01 PM)
well, most of my research only requires data interpretation. most of the time while the experiment runs, all u gotta do is WAIT. apalagi, minum dulu laa.
this is researcher life style
maglurva
post Jul 28 2009, 06:58 PM

20 posts

Just wondering whether an Assistant Lecturer also need a PHD/Master qualification?
azarimy
post Jul 28 2009, 07:16 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(maglurva @ Jul 28 2009, 10:58 AM)
Just wondering whether an Assistant Lecturer also need a PHD/Master qualification?
assistant lecturer, or currently more known as a tutor, only needs a bachelor's degree.
maglurva
post Jul 28 2009, 08:28 PM

20 posts

Ok great! Thank you!
imiharrima
post Jul 29 2009, 01:00 AM

182 posts

Mr Azarimy,

i'm currently a JPA scholar at an IPTA. IT field. Is it possible for me to be a lecturer?..I'm 2 semesters away from my 1st degree and my CGPA quite good (still above 3,a bit under 3.5). My father told me about something called Skim Pengajar Muda or something like that where the people who apply it will be send overseas to pursue their masters. Is it true?

P.S: my father always say jadi lecturer bagus. boleh buat bisnes sambil mengajar blink.gif . As I'm gonna get my degree (hopefully) next year at 22, i think i can spend a lil time to study more tongue.gif
azarimy
post Jul 29 2009, 01:05 AM

10,672 posts

generally, it's correct. once accepted under the tutorship programme, u will be sent for ur masters AND PhD. so the "little more time studying" is actually another 4-5 years. meaning u will only really start working and earning ur own money at 27. (tutors have a pay too, but it's too measly for ur own good).
spikyz
post Jul 29 2009, 04:03 AM

1,341 posts

wow, this is a good post.. luckily i found it =D

guys, i just recently graduated from uni of nottingham, with first class degree. i got several offers to continue my study here in malaysia n UK. One of it, is an offer to jump straight to do PhD doing research on Support vector machines and Artificial Neural Networks.. I've been advised to take the NSF scholarship which will sponsor my study n gimme monthly allowance up to 2.3k. But it come with a bond to work in gov for 4-5 years (which i can apply to become a lecturer in IPTA)..

so now im in dilemma, whether i should study in UK n do my msc or take the PhD offer n do it locally here in malaysia?

For me, i prefer to do MSc in UK coz i never aim to do phd anyway. but the offer to do phd is really rare for degree->phd n its good opportunity.. i will have a more secure life (with monthly allowance n ppl pay for my phd n a bond to work with gov for 5 years as safety net)..but like other ppl reading this thread, izzit worth it to become a lecturer? i mean, if we compared them with msc graduate that will take the normal worklife scenario, what will happen in d future?

my age now is 23+(2-3years of phd)+5 years of gov contract = 31..n what my pay will be like this time? compared to my frens that are working from now till their age is 31 (7 years of working exp, what they pay will be like?)

34 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:27 PM