34 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

become lecturer in Malaysia?

Pain4UrsinZ
post May 28 2009, 10:06 PM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(darren chia @ Jan 19 2009, 10:05 PM)
i'm quite interested with the idea of teaching at a university or a college, maybe becoming a lecturer. just want to know what field is this under and i want to know if there are any lecturers in lowyat. can tell me if this job got prospect? can make money? is it enough to support family next time?
still doing pre-u == arrgh forget about it
OMG!
post May 30 2009, 11:01 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

there is no neeed to take edu degree to be qualified as a lecturer as what arizamy has said.

but i wonder 1 thing: Do matric teacher consider as a lecturer? as i know, they need education degree like Bsc with edu or 1 year KPLI in oder to be a lecturer..
how is this be? blink.gif

This post has been edited by OMG!: May 30 2009, 11:02 AM
jhong
post May 30 2009, 01:08 PM

685 posts

As long as one earns at least a Master degree, There shouldnt be a problem to become a lecturer....Of course, it depends on that particular education institution.
azarimy
post May 30 2009, 07:00 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ May 30 2009, 03:01 AM)
there is no neeed to take edu degree to be qualified as a lecturer as what arizamy has said.

but i wonder 1 thing: Do matric teacher consider as a lecturer? as i know, they need education degree like Bsc with edu or 1 year KPLI in oder to be a lecturer..
how is this be? blink.gif
the title "lecturer" isnt exclusive to universities only. there could be lecturers in schools if all they do is "lecture" in the literal sense.

it's like being a businessperson. if u sell goreng pisang at the roadside or deal with landed properties worth millions of ringgits, u're still a businessperson biggrin.gif.
goahash
post Jun 10 2009, 08:44 PM

My wife's a lecturer in the Multimedia field.. she furthered her studies for her masters degree right after finishing her degree in MMU.. after getting her Masters, she could apply to work in any Uni quite easily, I suppose (no requirement or training in special colleges, Annihilux.. I think that is usually for those aspiring to be teachers) because most universities require a Masters Degree to become a lecturer nowadays. But as azarimy mentioned, you have to first choose which area you want to specialize in. The more higher your degree, the more you sub specialize, actually.
edennature
post Jun 10 2009, 08:46 PM

294 posts

most of the local colleges get lectures with low standard.
OMG!
post Jun 23 2009, 11:27 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

just curious, do JPA bonded us to become a lecturer?
arsenwagon
post Jun 23 2009, 12:14 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

most probably bond lah of course..
jpa aint for free yo
unless its for courses where output greater than needed.. e.g engineering

but look at it from another perspective and you'll see that youre guaranteed a job.

no idea
post Jun 23 2009, 01:43 PM

77 posts

my matric lecturer can support his family with 12 children.. lol
aamry
post Jun 23 2009, 02:14 PM

Senior
541 posts

ya rite dun choose some swasta UNIVERSITY dun want to say the name
but the salary so slow
cyclone2k1
post Jun 24 2009, 02:01 PM

48 posts

Azarimy,

I am taking master of Decision Science at UUM. If i want to be a lecturer, is it possible that i can be lecturing in UM, UKM or UPM which located at KL?
OMG!
post Jun 24 2009, 02:14 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

what is decision science? i know in malay we call it as sains pemutusan rite?

so basically what we study in this course?Job proecpects?

anyway, if u have the capabilities and a nice CV, no doubt IPTA will employ u to be the lecturers there, what better is get the scholarships there and study till phd, and u will get bond by them as a profesor in IPTA that u want.=)
cyclone2k1
post Jun 24 2009, 02:36 PM

48 posts

Yep.. Decision sc is called sc pemutusan in malay.
It covered subjects like Decision support system, Operation research, Simulation etc. basically it is a course to teach u how to make decision in scientific method.

Actually, i can be working in any field. Previously i was a QA Engineer in a automotive company for two years.

Right now using my own saving to further master at UUM. I am plan to be a lecturer after graduate. but i worried other uni would not accept me bz i was in dec sc, which other uni did not offer this course.

OMG!
post Jun 24 2009, 03:17 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

i think only UUM offer this course or perhaps UMK , UDM maybe oofer it too...check it out.

make decision in science? how is it ? mind to elaborate more? is it more to reseach like helping the researchers to make a firm decision??

well, r u malay? sometimes IPTA do follow certain quota when recruiting lecturers.
cyclone2k1
post Jun 24 2009, 03:27 PM

48 posts

Preferebly work in KL.

Can help to make decision in any field.. Also can help resercher to do analysis on his data..

Nope.. i am a chinese..
OMG!
post Jul 15 2009, 09:48 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Seriously, i need pieces of advices or any constructive opinions on the life of being a lecturer in polytechnic colleges in malaysia?

SO what does they do besides teaching? Do they have to involve in vocational trainings as well?

And what is the salary of being a lecturers there?

Would the time of lecturing is quite flexible just like teaching at private college or would it be like teaching secondary school?

Pls guide me. i am so interested of either embarking myself in becoming a lecturer in either polytechnic or IPTA.

This post has been edited by OMG!: Jul 15 2009, 09:51 AM
ronzai89
post Jul 16 2009, 01:44 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(darren chia @ Jan 19 2009, 10:05 PM)
i'm quite interested with the idea of teaching at a university or a college, maybe becoming a lecturer. just want to know what field is this under and i want to know if there are any lecturers in lowyat. can tell me if this job got prospect? can make money? is it enough to support family next time?
Yup....its enuff...even part time lecturers oso earn gud...

Part time lecturers oso enuff money to support family, full time? even more thumbup.gif
azarimy
post Jul 16 2009, 02:06 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

part time lecturers work based on available spots. meaning they're usually there bcoz nobody's in the permanent line up could/would teach that particular subject. so they're at the mercy of luck. also, it would also mean that they wont have any income during the holidays. no teach, no money.
OMG!
post Jul 16 2009, 11:04 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Does a Polytechnic or IPTA lecturer considered as part time lecturer?

Mr Azarimy,could you please tell me more on the life of becoming a lecturer in polytehnic as compared to IPTA??what is the requirements of lecturer in polytechnic and how do they teach on? like is it more on pratical sides?

thanks !:)
ronzai89
post Jul 16 2009, 06:11 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 16 2009, 02:06 AM)
part time lecturers work based on available spots. meaning they're usually there bcoz nobody's in the permanent line up could/would teach that particular subject. so they're at the mercy of luck. also, it would also mean that they wont have any income during the holidays. no teach, no money.
nod.gif

Its juz act as side incomes only.... brows.gif

34 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0856sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:06 AM